paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DraXxuS Arctic Inferno Paintballs / DraXxuS Arctic Inferno Paintballs / DraXxuS Arctic Inferno Paintballs

DraXxuS Arctic Inferno Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DraXxuS

Buy DraXxuS Arctic Inferno Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DraXxuS Arctic Inferno Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Arctic Inferno is a pure Hard-Core Winter Formula made in Canada, the country that invented Snowmobiles, Hockey, and Ice-Fishing. Canada's hostile winters create the ultimate proving-ground for winter paint, and the proof is in: Arctic Inferno delivers the best cold-weather performance money can buy.

Other manufacturers have attempted to make winter formulas, but when it comes to real-world Research, Development, and Testing, an afternoon in the fridge is no match for harsh, cold, dry, bitter Canadian winter.

The advantage of actual Game-Day Testing in a genuine outdoor climate has proven invaluable in making ARCTIC INFERNO™ a winner. Make every hit count.
Product Availability 
The DraXxuS Arctic Inferno Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
VTjoeh Saturday, December 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, Expansion Chamber, 20oz CO2 w/ anti-syphon, Smartparts progressive barrell
Strengths: Works well in cold weather
Bright blue color shows up well
Weaknesses: Only comes in one color
Expensive
Review: Played with these paintballs today. Very good performance in cold weather. The temperature started at 27 degress F, and did not go above 32 degrees. I shot 1000 round with zero breakage. Other guys were breaking paint left & right because of the cold weather. I think my anti-syphon and expansion also helped with the cold weather.

As far as I can tell, cold weather balls are made from the same material as standard paintballs - only the shell is thicker since paintballs become more brittle in the cold. On the box it says "should be stored between 50 to 86 degrees F (10 to 30 degress C)". Therefore, you want to take the same precautions as you would with normal paintball. When you are playing, keep unused paint in a warm car or cooler.

I was worried at first when I saw the paint was blue. I didn't think it would show up, but it was very bright. I put two paintballs in the freezer the night before playing to see if they would freeze. They did not freeze, though one dimpled. Case of 2000 costed $59 from local paintball store.

***edit 1/25/04**** Used this paint again in 22 to 28 degree F weather. Excellent results. Shot straight zero ball breaks. Worked well in Tippmann's and Autococker

I am not sure how other winter paintballs perform, but the Draxxus Artic Inferno rock!
Conclusion: This is a great cold weather ball for temperatures at 32 degrees F. More expensive, but worth it when below 32 degrees F. I plan on using these paintballs for rest of the winter season.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 25th, 2004 at 6:34 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

chris in va Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Polar Ice
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5 cocker
CP 12" .689
HP, etc etc
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything mid-bore
Strengths: Very accurate, didn't chop in my marker, nice thick fill, broke nicely
Weaknesses: More $$$ than Polar Ice if bought at a store
Review: Tried out my new cocker today. Started out with the Polar Ice, but they just hooked like a drunk golfer. I think 2 out of 10 hit the 12" tree at 60 feet. At home they seemed to fit my barrel, getting slightly stuck...easy to blow out, but on the field no-go.

These Arctic Inferno's on the other hand were pure gold. I was extremely sad when my 500ct bag ran out. I did the chrono and testing with 'lesser' paint, then saved these for the real action. I used exclusively winter paint today (32f) and neither brand chopped. Very nice. I was the only one not having problems. Come to think of it, last weekend I got hit several times in 25f temps by the Arctic.

Fantastic stuff.
Conclusion: Great paint for cold. Not sure how they do in warmer temps though. I'm extremely happy with the consistent accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

therising Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other winter balls
Marker Setup: tippman custom 98 32* quiet riot barrel 7 inch pb drop forward collapsible stock and hyperstar bolt
Recommended
Barrels:
i used them in a 32* quiet riot
Strengths: breaks on target
hard to wipe
thck paint
Weaknesses: a little too thick of shells for long range shots in warm weather
Review: i used these at a freinds house and didnt know it was winter paint. we went to our local shop and split a box of 2000 for 50 bucks.i was using my custom 98 and he was using his all stock fenix. we were playing in 70 f but it still worked in the warmer weather but now that i know i will only use in cold weather
Conclusion: very good paint perfect for colder weather
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wallify Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Varying qualities of Paint, nothing specialized for winter though.
Marker Setup: Black ION
J&J ceramic
12V Revvy w/ X Board
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Red Shocktec Drop
Recommended
Barrels:
The Stock ION barrel shot great, No chops, but it is a little large for this paint.
Progressive on my Spyer shot good too.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review:
Pros: This paint shot flawlessly out of my stock ION barrel for more than a case! I played all day in 20-25* weather and not a single chop! Others chopped paint while my gun stayed clean. My Spyder only chopped 3 or 4 that day as well.

Cons: Though this is terrific paint it is a bit costly, though well worth the $. I paid 55 for a case, but I have seen it for as much as 70 and not at a field. Some dimples on it as well, but hey, nothing is perfect.

Conclusion: Over al I’d say its well worth the extra $ to spend the day on the field and not cleaning your barrel. I have already talked to my local proshop and they will be ordering this for me for the remainder of the winter season.

This is the best winter paint out there! Check the reviews, the only ones to have problems with it were the people who weren’t shooting it in the cold.

I gave it a 9 b/c nothing is perfect, but this comes damn close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chriswozA5 Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Midnights
-32 Degrees
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, (will be purchasing Flatline soon)
Recommended
Barrels:
Any, works well in anything.
Strengths: Fly straight and break with a very bright blue THICK fill.
Weaknesses: Don't always break, will bounce at long distances.
Review: Overall very good paint. Was extremely accurate and had very thick bright blue fill. If only they'd break on target. Is a bit expensive but worth it. I can remember shooting my opponent who was hiding behind a tree and only his forearm was showing. I picked it off from about 60' away, I was impressed.
Conclusion: Can't go wrong with this paint, the best Draxus paint there is especially for winter play. Would recieve a Ten if it broke on distances of 150'
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tornpony Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Polar Ice HA!
Marker Setup: Eblade Orracle, Center Flag 68/4500, B w/rip, Stiffi
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything with a medium bore
Strengths: These balls are totally AWESOME!! Very consistant quality
Weaknesses: Price and only one color choice
Review: These balls are so much better than Polar junk(ice) that RPS should give up the market. These balls are some of the truest to form and size That I have ever used. If you want to play in the cold and don't want to spend all day cleaning your gun than this is the ball for you. Extremely accurate, great thick fill that is bright enough to see and hard to wipe.
Conclusion: If you are using a chop doctor gun like a spyder or similar than these are a must when it is cold. You can not go wrong with these balls. They are a little more money but when you are out in the field it sure is nice to not have to kep cleaning out you marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 12th, 2004 at 6:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nrgkilla9 Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: 06 "Joker" Ego---Green/Purple
45/45 Empire Fuel
Velocity
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything. From what I've seen, this paintb shoots good through almost any type of barrel. The bore size may vary depending on how old the paint is, how cold it actually is, etc.
Strengths: Shoots great in cold or warm weather.
Weaknesses: None that I've noticed.
Review: This paint is great! My team shoots this in cold weather, and we all love it. It shoots much better in colder weather, but it also shoots very well in warmer weather. It is very brittle and breaks very easily; the same, if not better than hellfire. If you shoot it in those cold weather tournaments, you already have a huge advantage.
Conclusion: Shoot it in cold weather. Works better than any other brand of paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most every paint by RPS, Draxxus/Diablo and Procaps.
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K5'd GZ, Excalibur, Viking, Texas Storm, Ripper, Ripper 2 and Ripper 3 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire Reloader B (and now a Pulse) with a PMI Pure Energy or Crossfire Tank.
Recommended
Barrels:
I primarily use a CP Two piece kit but have friends who use Longbow Kits, Dye UL's, Redz Pepperstix and Stiffi's.
Strengths: Incredibly consistent, bright fill, harder shell.
Weaknesses: Honestly, none.
Review: This is probably my favorite paint for playing in the Winter in Virginia. Procaps/Draxxus makes this with a thicker than usual shell so that the cold, dry air doesn't make the ball overly brittle. They use the same tolerances for making inferno, hellfire, blaze which means that you get a perfect, consistent shell each time. An especialy important consideration as dimples and a thin shell in dry air means chops. The surprising thing is with the thicker shell you still get a nice break when the ball impacts a player. The fill is thick and is a nice, distinctive, royal blue. It's an unmistakeable color when the ball hits. This shell is way too thick for Spring/Summer/Fall play but is amazing in even the coldest temperatures.
Conclusion: Top notch paint that shoots well out of high and low end markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyballr Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rps polar ice
Marker Setup: 98 custom
flatline
Strengths: Super thick bright blue fill
Great shell for winter
Weaknesses: Does'nt like flatlines
Review: I bought 3 boxes of these at a local paintball store because they were on sale and most draxxus paintballs are good quality. that weekend, i played at my cottage for three days straight with some friends in the middle of the winter. I live in Ottawa Ontario so the thermometer hit -15*C at some points( about 8 degrees farenheight ). All of us own Tippman 98's but im the only one with a flatline. The paintballs seemed hard when i felt them through the bag at my house, but when they got cold they became more brittle. They shot great in the stock tippmann barrels, we did get a few breaks because the barrels shrank and burst the paintballs. the stock barrels for the Tippmanns are also very rough and unpolished which im sure had an effect on the balls also. I got the most breaks in my flatline though, i was constantly cleaning out my barrel. i was also using CO2 which was spiking like crazy, we didnt have a chrony with us but we could tell when we hit each other. The fill was amazing, it was super thick, especially in the cold weather, and is bright blue, very easy to see in the snow and on jackets. Polar ice isnt quite as good as this, i had more breaks with polar ice than i did with arctic inferno.
Conclusion: These paintballs hold up great in cold weather and are very reliable, i wouldnt recommend using them with a flatline or any other barrel that uses harsh contact with the ball to give backspin. these balls deserve 9.5 out of ten because of the flatline problems, so ill give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nickyjpaintball Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo
Marker Setup: pmi piranha

r6 eforce with 12 inch smartparts barrel

Recommended
Barrels:
Any basically because it is quality paint.
Strengths: These paintballs hardly ever break!
Weaknesses: I have sat here thinking for 2 minutes... None!
Review: Ok let me get started. I bought this paint at my local store because i was going paintballing with my new r6 eforce i got for christmas. I started using my older paint so i didn't waste them. I came to relize that that old paint chopped every time so i tried a differnt barrel but yet the old paint still chopped. So i cleaned all the crappy paint out of my gun screwed on my after market barrel and put the artic inferno in my gun. I didn't chop any balls until the next day when i was playing with my friend in his backyard ( i killed him ) I was using auto so it chopped paint a little bit. Otherwise this is great paint.
Conclusion: Great for all guns and barrels a weather conditions!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media