paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 303
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
diver Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years737 of 752 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spiders, piranha, tippmann m98 have used bigshot, jj ceramic, and stock barrels on all the before mentioned.
A freak barrel on the spiders
Marker Setup: A-5 tippmann with a flatline barrel and an e-grip on pure energy HPA
tippmann m98 with a JJ ceramic barrel on Pure energy HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs. (good)
evils (better)
big ball (the best) I'll explain below
Strengths: Distance, accuracy, does not break balls, flies real flat
Weaknesses: You have to have the right paint to barrel match and the speed set right.
Review: First off let me start by saying I have read a lot of reviews about this barrel and would like to put an end to some myths. The reviews go from real good to real bad. Most people who dislike this barrel have not given it a chance or do not own one just borrowed it for a game or witnessed someone shooting one. So here we go

Myth one. The barrel floats the shoots out to the target making the balls move slower. One person on a review I read even stated that the balls move so slow that he could “swat them out of the air” so when my gun/barrel showed up I when to my local range to test this out. I set my speed to 275 fps (deviation of 5 fps up and down) measured at the end of the barrel. I then backed off 30 yards (90 feet) and shot again speed average was 265 at 55 yards (165 feet) I was still going 250 fps and at 75 yards (225 feet) now I do not know about you but I would love to see a player try to swat a ball from the air at 225 fps I am not saying it can’t be done (I have seen people catch arrows at that distance) I would just like to see it. For comparison I did the same with my jj ceramic barrel the numbers are 275 at the barrel, 30 yards was 260 fps, 55 yards 240 fps, 75 yards 200 fps. Some of the reason that the jj was so much slower could have been the arc path it was following as it when over the radar gun.

Myth two. This is an inaccurate barrel. When my barrel showed up I tried shooting a five-gallon bucket end on from about 15 yards and sent 2 out of ten in the bucket. This bothered me. At the range I found out what was happening the gun was set to 200 fps as I increased the speed I was able to hit 5 out of 10 at 250 fps at 25 yards. Then at 275 fps I was able to send all ten into the bucket. At 285 fps I was able to hit a standard CD at 30 yards 10 out of 10 times, with the right paint. At 300 fps I could not hit the bucket at all. The speed that you set a flatline to is very important. So go to the range and find out what speed your gun likes the most and keep it there.
Paint is everything. I started with marbs. They were ok. I read that evil worked well, they did. All in all I tried 27 different paints from super swirls, and dusk (Wal-Mart), venom, inferno, maxim (1 and 2), nelson, etc. to platinum, evil, marbs. The one that worked the best in my barrel was big ball (lucky for me $45 a case at the local sporting goods store). Big ball placed 7 out of 10 hits on a police issue man size silhouette target at 75 yard (225 feet!!!!!!) my jj hit 2 out of 250 rounds. Note: my friends gun, an identical setup to mine, does not like the big ball at all. His setup liked the evils. So try them all and find which on works for you.

Myth three this barrel is an air hog. My jj ceramic gets 550 shot out of my pure energy 48 cu HPA set to a speed of 275 fps my flatline get 540 shots set at 275 fps. Is that an air hog I do not think so. Ten shots out of 550 has not won or lost a game for me yet.

Myth four. This barrel and the a-5 hopper are a “paint blender” in the effort to find the right paint I shot over 27 different paints from 14 sellers and 6000 round. Any ball bigger then platinum will come out the end of the barrel as a squirt of liquid. The old test of placing the paint in the barrel and looking for two half moons around the ball has never been better then here. Big diameter paint will come out of your barrel in a stream of liquid paint. The second it hits the top of the arc in your barrel it will explode. With that said. I have shot Marbs, Evils and big ball over 2000 rounds with out one break in the barrel. Even when set to full auto and 18 rounds a second.

Myth five the barrel is hard to get off incase of a break in the field. Well let’s get a little creative here folks. I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade. If you do not like something then change it. You customize every other part of your gun why not this one. Could it be because there is not a kit you can buy? I went down to my local nuts and bolts store and bought three thumbscrews (cadmium coated they are black to match the gun and will not rust when they come in contact with aluminum or water) that match the three bolts on the front of my A-5. All I have to do is use my hand to twist the screws two turns each turn the barrel one quarter turn and remove. Clean barrel and reinstall in reverse order. I have raced my friends, which have spiders, m98s and auto cockers. Only the 98 beat me the big threads on the 98s take a lot less turns to get off. The total mod cost me a dollar fifty.

Myth six this barrel does not like the wind. I was out playing in a mesa canyon with a 10 mile per hour wind and did not notice any difference between the wind affect on my flatline and ceramic barrels. With one exception when you shoot directly into the wind. The flatline tends to rise a little (one foot over 55 yards). But my ceramic was not even getting to the 55 yard mark so in trade the rise did not bother me that much.

Myth seven you can shoot around corners with this barrel. Not exactly but if you turn it on its side you can get it to throw on very useful curve ball. Just like in base ball the curve ball does not turn 90 degrees all at once. But it does let you hit a player that is behind a barricade or wall before they can get a clean shot off at you. The arc is about two feet at 30 yards. I can compare this to using the wind with my ceramic barrel to arc a shot around a barricade and hit someone. The only difference is I do not have to rely on wind to be there. Also for those shots in the wind where you need your ball to fly straight but the wind is making it arc. You can with a little practice tilt the flatline and compensate for the wind allowing you to get a straight shot.

I hope this helps some of you who are on the fence about this barrel/gun combination. Please do not believe the things you read out there about this barrel/gun combination go out and try one yourself, And not just for one game ether. Play with the speed setting and the ball combinations. if you put a little time into your set up you will not find a more accurate, flat shooting gun that will reach out and touch someone at 75 yards.

January 29 2004
I am adding a section because of questions I have received about the screw replacement.
The number one question I have received is where do you find the thumbscrews that replace the ones on the front of the a-5 so you can remove the barrel fast. The link is as follows: http://www.mcmaster.com/ then in the top left corner type in thumbscrew and do a search. You will come up with a page that has all the choices. I liked the knurled head shouldered screw with in Stainless Stee, part number xxxxxxxx in 10-32 with a 1 inch long thread. You can choose anyone you would like they even have plastic covered large headed t-handles.
I have been sent e-mails telling me that the screw part number are not right. so please give me some time to recheck my part numbers and get back to you on the right part numbers.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel. Those of you that play in a small area will like this barrel those of you like myself that play in large area like the woods, mesa, or town scenarios will love this barrel. Snipers and back players will love the distance and front players will love the short length, flat shooting (great for those tight shots thru trees and bushes) and fast shooting ability of this barrel. Put an e-grip on this thing and you will have a very fast (18+ round a second) long reaching (75 yards) gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 at 5:33 pm PST
I found this review  
56 Comments - Add Comment

BBjones Saturday, March 8th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month130 of 143 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares at all.
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline, 68/3000 nitro duck tank, remote cord.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any RPS balls. (use a small bore size)
Strengths: The good-

1. This is the most accurate barrel ever, and its consistant.
2. distance, distance distance.
3. serves as a great shroud.
4. DOES NOT BREAK PAINT MORE THAN ANY OTHER BARREL (some people say this barrel broke so much paint, thats a myth no matter how fast ur shooting)
5. makes it look like a HKsd (silenced) but when u shoot it gives it that nice loud, realistic submachine gun sound, its awsome.
6. made by tippmann
7. i can hit a soda pop can with 1 shot form 100 feet away. all u gotta do is line up the sights perfectly to the pop can and pull the trigger without moving the gun and it just giudes the ball to the taget, amazes me. just like a real fire arm
8. Flat Trajectory, this is the best part, because u can just aim it like u would a real rifle, this is much much much much better than triying to angle a regular barrel.
9. Takes me about 20 seconds to install (no kidding)
10. form about 200 feet away i can hit the size of a head 1 out of 4 times while still maintaining a flat trajectory. u can probably go further, but i dont have that much room in NJ where i live.
11. this barrel is so great for speedball, its about 10 inches, and its great close up, makes it super accurate. and form one side of a speedball field to the other u can easily just aim strait and shoot someone with one shot from one side to the other!!
12. This barrel is much better than the 98 version, the a-5 flatline is rougher on the inside to give the ball better backspin and is 10 times easier to intall, (litterally i timed it)
13. did i mention instalation is extremely easy? the barrel adapter is permanenlty attacked to the flatline, and all u do is losen 3 screws, pull the old adapter out, push the flatline in and twist it all the way to the right, and wha la, ur done. its perfectly lined up when twisted as far as it goes to the right
(gun facing at you)
14. theirs so much good about this barrel, i dont feel like typing it in sorry. i told u all the importand stuff already.

Weaknesses: the bad is..um wow, i just thout really hard about whats bad about this barrel , and out of all honesty, i cant find one single thing.
Conclusion: By putting this barrel on your gun, your A-5 is officially the baddest ass marker on the planet.
i spent alot on other 100$ barrels, and nothing compares to the flatlines accuarcy, consitancy and distance. and its many other great pluses.

Some people call them selves snipers (haha) , i thout this was funny until i got the flatline, then i realized that the flatline bassiaclly makes you a sniper when you compare it to any other barrel, besides another flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

ghilliesnipe Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months62 of 63 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 flatline
Marker Setup: A5/flatline/rt/palmers male/jcs rva/maddman spring kit/lapco side mount rail/3-9x32mm scope/20 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbilizers, evils, allstars, formula13 anything .689 or smaller and round with no seams
Strengths: 150 ft flat trajectory vs 50-70ft. Can aim like a regular gun.
Weaknesses: Shot pattern is a little larger than other good barrels. Price ($100)
Review: Ok, I owned and shot over 20,000 rnds through my old 98c flatline. At least 10000 rnds of it was target shooting. I have shot maybe 500 rnds through my friends 98 flatline. I have shot another friends A5 flatline for almost a year (1000rnds over a 9 month period). I have owned my own A5 flatline for 3 months now, and i have shot about 4000 rnds through it already. At least 2000 rnds of that was target shooting.

My review will first be a direct comparison with the 98c flatline and then a comparison with other aftermarket barrels using a few different criteria.

Part 1 A5 flatline vs 98 flatline I give the 98 flatline a 6 overall, so I will go from there.

Range- same (if you lob)
Flat trajectory range- slightly less compared to the 98flatline(30ft) -.5pt
Accuracy(precision)- generally the A5 is better, but with good paint they are about equal. 2 ft or less circle at 150ft +.5pt
Paint pickyness- The A5 is not as paint picky and will get a 3-4ft circle with relatively crappy paint that the 98flatline would only get a 5-6 ft circle with. +.5pt
Wind (how much it affects it)- The A5flatline does not seem to be nearly as affected by wind as the 98cflatline is. +.5pt
Velocity pickiness- If you shoot the 98flatline at much above 280fps, they will rise upwards dramatically(helicoptering). With the A5 flatline, you barely notice even at 300fps. +.5pt
"Floatiness"- The 98 flatline shots really do appear to float. It looks like you can shoot , then run to the target and catch the balls yourself. HEHEHE. The A5 flatline is not like that at all to me. +.5pt
Ease of installation- Once you install the A5 flatline the first time and make sure it is shooting straight, you never have to do it again. The 98c, you have to tune everytime you put it back on. +.5pt
Loudness- They are both loud. +0
Price- they are both the same price. +0
Total= -.5+.5+.5+.5+.5+.5+.5= +2.5 + 6(for the 98 flatline)= 8.5 rounded up to a 9

Part 2 compared to other barrels.
Range- the same about 150-200ft. Other barrels you have to lob to get that far though. +0pt
Flat trajectory range- 140-160ft vs 50-70ft +1pt
Accuracy- not as accurate as other barrels, but with the right setup(HPA) and paint(marbilizers or orange evil), close. -.5pt
Paint pickiness- more paint picky than other barrels or else accuracy goes down. -.5pt
Wind- wind does affect it more. -.5pt
Velocity pickiness- you need the right velocity to get the most accuracy. -.5pt
Floatiness- the A5 flatline only barely gives you that impression. -.5pt
Ease of installation- the flatline is more difficult to take on and off and to initially install. -.5pt
Loudness.- the flatline is not the loudest, but is louder than most other barrels. -.5pt
Price- the flatline is more expensive than most other barrels out there. -.5pt
Snapshootability- since you have to hold the barrel straight to make it accurate, it is harder to snapshoot with it than other barrels. -.5pt
Uniqueness- except for the Hop-up, there is no other barrel that shoots the same way. You can actually shoot it like a real gun rather than like an artillery piece at ranges beyond 50-75ft. +1pt.

Taking a baseline of a perfect 10 for the best "other barrel" here is how the flatline stacks up. 10 +1-4.5+1=7.5 Honestly, here I would round down to a 7 maybe an 8 for woodsball and only a 5 or 6 for speedball because snapshootability becomes much more important. Overall compared to other barrels a 7

EDIT: in woodsball, I havent really noticed that much difference overall between the A5 flatline and normal barrels in regards to accuracy, wind and most of the other variables listed. It is mostly about preference. I never felt that way about the 98 flatline(meaning I always felt at a disadvantage except for range). With HPA and Marbs or orange evil, you can expect a 1-2ft spread at 150ft.

This review will continually be added to as I gain more experience with this barrel.
If you think this review is good please mark it as helpful.
Conclusion: Definatly get this if you are an A5 woodsballer who doesnt mind the price and other disadvantages that I have listed. Even though it doesnt compare really well against other barrels using the point system I came up with, I still like my flatline and have no intention of getting rid of it. Edit: see my edit in the review body.

Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 10th, 2005 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

need4spd Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 - Recieved it as a gift. Returned it within a month.
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT, Stock Tippmann Barrel, Tippmann Flatline Barrel, 2002 All American 14" Barrel, Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Advantage Marballizer Paintballs
DO NOT use cheap paint with this barrel. It isn't that the barrel will break the cheaper paint (Although the risk is higher), it is just the cheaper paint will not take true advantage of the barrels capability.
Strengths: Distance and Accuracy all in one
Weaknesses: None!!!
Review: A couple of months ago I went out and bought a Tippmann A-5. The awesome thing about the A-5 and all the other Tippmann products, is the stock barrel wasn't all that bad. Unlike some of the cheaper marker brands that are around. After a couple of months I was in search for something that would help with accuracy and distance. Well I didn't look too far, I took one look at the Flatline and was almost sold on it. I drove down to the paintball warehouse and started talking to the guy behind the desk (who also was a huge Tippmann fan). Well, all I heard from him was praises about this barrel. I took it home that day, installed it within 2 min. and started shooting with it. It surprised me so much, this barrel was such a strait-shooting barrel! One of the cool things about this barrel is that you can install it upside down. I know that you are thinking, "why in the world would I do that?". Well if you are playing on a course that has a lot of trenches, you can aim and shoot at the people that are laying down in the trenches. With it upside down, you can arc the shot so hard. Nothing is more demoralizing then getting shot in the head when you think that no shots can hit you.
Conclusion: This barrel is so adaptable no matter what playing style you are...Speedball, Sniper, or a Front-line Grunt. If you are looking into getting a after market barrel, buy this one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Risk Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months36 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J 14" Ceramic (not really similar)
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, nitro duck x-stream 88/4500 w/remote, DOP Power tube, AIM68 Reg, JSC folding combat stock, red dot sight , E-Grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze or better, most RPS
Strengths: Long range and flat trajectory for rec/woods play.
Weaknesses: Heavy, cost. You will need a SWAB squeegee to do a quick field clean!
Review: Are you tired of using the "indirect fire" method of dropping a paintball on your opponent at long range? Or how about watching you shot break on leaves and branches as you try to angle a shot to go far enough to hit a target that you can see clearly underneath all that foliage? Then I recommend the Flatline barrel.

This barrel will extend the range on your A-5. I was using a J&J Ceramic (Which is a great barrel in its own right!) on my A-5 for some time. Then I went and bought a Flatline for a scenario game I knew would have some large open areas with little to hide behind. I thought, "With some added range, I can engage opponents that can't quite get to me." I was right. Only other "Flatliners" could get me with out shooting into the air to have their shots rain down all around me.

The Flatline also proved be be extremely effective in the woods. With the flat trajectory, one can shoot at targets that used to be "out of range" because angled shots would get lost to trees.

There is something I want to mention about the whole "increased range" thing. This is going to be a little lesson in physics.

We all know that the Flatline achieves its increased range by putting backspin on the paintball. This backspin creates an airfoil effect similar to the wing of an airplane. OK, so now the ball is going further. However, all paint guns are shooting at the same velocity, i.e.: 280-300 fps. By the time a shot is out to the maximum range from a standard barrel and air friction and gravity have finally forced the paintball to the ground, the flatline's shot is still in the air. However, the flatline paintball will still be traveling at the save velocity as the standard shot when it hit the ground. What does this mean? Well, first, you need to remember that the paintball starts to slow down as soon as the shot comes off the bolt. So the Flatlines extended range allows more time in the air for the paintball to slow down. We're only talking about a few feet per second over all that distance, but it can translate into whether or not the paint will break on the target or not. That's what is important.

Now how about paint. I've had the opportunity to shoot a few types of paint through the Flatline with a range of results. The best results I've had were from shooting Draxxus Blaze so I'm sure most paint on par with this in terms of brittleness and size will work just fine. I have also shot RPS/PMI Premium and had some good results with this as well. The Premiums however did break 2 or 3 time out of a case, but the conditions were not the best. I was rather cold and I think that was a big factor in the breaks. This happened at a FPO scenario game, and several other players who had flatlines were having terrible luck with the paint where other like myself had very minor problems. The worst results came from shooting Sever paint. This is usually a decent paint but for some reason my flatline turned those rounds into a paint-water gun!

Hey, what about speedball? I don't think I'd recommend the flatline for speedball for two reasons. First- Its heavy! This barrel, even though its short, will slow you down. Second- Flat trajectory. The same thing that makes this barrel great in the woods will kill it in speedball. With tall bunkers in close quarters you want some shots to come DOWN on your opponents and the flatline just won't do that. But- If you're a back player trying to hit the opposing back players...hmmm...

Well, these are just my observations. This barrel will suit some players style and not others. I like it.

EDIT 9/10/2004 -
I haven't followed up on this review in a while so this is a delayed response to LIKPhantom for pointing out an error I made in my original post. DO NOT USE A STRAIGHT SHOT ON THIS BARREL! It will ruin the coarse coating on the inside of the barrel. This coating helps impart the backspin on the paintball that make this barrel work the way it does. I reccommend a battle swab. Thanks again LIKPhantom!
LIKPhantom for pointing out a mistake!)
Conclusion: The Flatline barrel for the A-5 is an excellent choice for serious recreational and scenario players.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 10th, 2004 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rypper72 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All-american 14" barrel
Marker Setup: #1 - A-5, E-Grip, Flatline, PE regulator, PE 88/4500,remote
#2 - Typhoon #0708, homebuilt PVC suppressor, remote (my own personal PSG-1 ;)
Recommended
Paintballs:
small to medium size paintballs
Strengths: Distance, distance, distance
Easy to aim because of flat trajectory
Weaknesses: slight degredation in accuracy with poor paint.
Review: The bottom line -

Nice looking design, with the "shroud/silencer" look. Loud barrel. Short enough to be easily maneuverable (around 9").

This barrel really does extend the range of your marker by 40-50 feet. I played with it the other day, and was outshooting (at a vel of 285) everybody else on the field except other flatlines.

The ball leaves the barrel and does NOT drop appreciably for 100 or so feet. After that, it usually takes a pretty predictable fall.

This barrel is VERY sensitive to velocity, both in terms of ball breakage and also flat trajectory. It works best at a velocity of 270-290, which is convenient for obvious reasons. I would strongly consider putting a regulator on your A-5 (even with CO2) to improve shot to shot consistency. This will improve the consistency of the trajectory from shot to shot.

The barrel is fairly PAINT QUALITY picky. If the ball is out of round, it WILL break. This is because the ball is forced to roll at a rapid rate as it goes down the barrel. If the ball is not round - POP. (slightly dimpled balls are ok) If you break a ball in this barrel, you can kiss the accuracy good-bye until you squeegie out (a quick T handle squeege will do fine). You can NOT shoot out this barrel to clean.

anecdote - I played a few days ago with the flatline, and was using WCS (worst case scenario) paint - in other words - paint that was 4 years old (RPS) that I was trying to get rid of. Despite this abuse, the barrel maintained fair to good accuracy until one of the balls broke. When I switched to PMI premiums (average paint), the accuracy went way up, and the distance got even better. No breaks with the PMI's, even with e-grip assisted rapid fire. (and by the way - no chops whatosever with the A5, even with the OLD paint)
Conclusion: Overall a great barrel. Looks great, shoots great, but picky with paint and velocity.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 21st, 2003 at 9:44 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Umgar Friday, September 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 + Flatline (essentially the same)
Marker Setup: M98 and A5 with Flatline with lots of various upgrades for gas efficiency, looks, and ROF.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Generally the smallest size you can get but unfortunately this is not a universal truth on the Flatline.
Strengths: Range, the wow factor of the first time you shoot it.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, maintenance, and most of all CONSISTENCY - read my review!
Review: I was an early adopter of the Flatline barrel when it first appeared on the market for the Model 98 years ago. At that time I had not yet graduated to an electric marker running on HPA and was using a tricked out M98. I play a lot of scenario games and liked to play sniper so the Flatline seemed like a great choice, man was I wrong.

6 months later I was so frustrated with my M98 + Flatline I not only stopped using the barrel but I SOLD my M98 and all related accessories! I have since tried the A5 with flatline to see if it has improved and found it to be essentially the same. I have 6 months of play experience with this barrel - PLEASE if you are considering a Flatline purchase keep reading and think carefully.

There are a lot of 10/10 reviews posted on this page. They all say things like "Wow! Amazing range!" and "Great Accuracy!" but if you read carefully you will see the word "if" used an usually high number of times - and that, in a nutshell, is the basic problem with the Flatline barrel. The Flatline seems great when you are shooting it in your backyard under perfect conditions. The Flatline will shoot an acceptably accurate shot at slightly longer ranges than traditional barrels IF:

- You can keep your velocity at a consistent 280 FPS +/- 5 FPS at all times.
- You never break a ball in the barrel (God help you if you do)
- You have the exact right paint for your barrel (which can vary from barrel to barrel and can even change depending on the temperature outside!)

But these are just too many "if's" for a day of actual paintball. Good luck keeping a consistent 280 FPS all day long, especially if you are on CO2. Play somewhere where it gets hot in the afternoon? I hope you like frequent trips to the chrony. Is the field you play at or the scenario your are attending "Field Paint Only"? If so and if that is not the exact right size for you flatline you are in for an afternoon of comically inaccurate shots, or worse - spraying liquid paint out the front of your barrel most of the time. Did you just experience a barrel break? Hope you brought a sidearm! Have fun taking your gun apart after the game to clean it out while your friends kick back with a can of Coke.

Even IF all the stars line up for you - you have PERFECT paint match for your particular flatline, your velocity stays extremely consistent all the time (maybe you are on good HPA and have an awesome reg installed... why you would pay for that kind of hardware on an A5 or M98 is beyond me... but some people do...) AND you never have a barrel break ALL DAY, your ball-to-ball accuracy will still not be any more consistent (probably a lot less) than a traditional barrel - and consistency is ultimately the most important thing in paintball accuracy. I do not care if you can hit a coke can 25 yards away dead-on with flat trajectory 4 out of 5 times. A good player with a good marker will be able to do that 5 out of 5 times with an arced trajectory. Flat trajectory does not automatically translate into "accurate." Sure it looks cool, but is it consistent and reliable? No it is not.
Conclusion: If you buy the flatline you will probably be impressed with it when you set it up, chrony it to the right velocity, get the right paint, and play with it in your back yard. But when you take it to the field - you are in for a day of frustration. The concept of the Flatline barrel is insteresting and I commend Tippmann for coming up with a novel approach to delivering paint to a target, but there are just too many variables in paint quality, gun velocity, and field conditions to achieve CONSISTENCY on the flatline. Want to be a paintball snipre? Do yourself a huge favor and just buy a nice long high-quality traditional barrel and PRACTICE. Paint does not care if it was "floated" to the target or "lobbed", it will break either way. Marksmanship is about knowing where your shot is going to hit before you pull the trigger and not having to cross your fingers and hope for the best! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! ;)
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

NotoriousCheech Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi 16' carbon fiber
Smart Parts 14' Teardrop
Tippmann 14' sniper
Python insert kit
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Egrip w/Rampage board
AK47 expansion chamber
Drop Forward
Tech T Vortex cyclone upgrade kit w/squishy paddles
DeadOn Powertube
Shocktech Supafly bolt
Two finger trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
DXS (Draxxus) silver or gold (otherwise known as procaps) Bronze work ok 2
Marbs work ok
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I will try to keep this as simple and short and give you all the facts on the flatline as I see them.

If you put the flat line vs. any other barrel next to each other and hold them level, the flatline will out distance easily (This is due to the arc from the way the barrel curved up). This is a great thing if you are out in the Deep Woods and need to shoot through trees where you cannot arc you shots (Arcing your shots can get you lots of distance but depends on marker and accuracy can depend on your barrel). It also has great accuracy in short range (or as stated by the company: The Flatline (if properly tuned) will be more accurate within the standard barrel range than most traditional barrels.). But, in open field play (which happens to be 70% of the play) where you can arc your shots you can easily get out outdistanced. Let me explain: the Flatline while far shooting has a curve towards the end of its path (thats where you get the curve ball effect that ppl talk about) that can throw off your consistency and accuracy. The curve is not always consistent due to the rough finish on the inside of the Flatline (another reason ppl say it is a paint blender, as the rough finish is not good on cheap paint.) which affects each ball a lil differently. Using a straight barrel can get you a lot better accuracy and distance in open field play due to the fact that you can arc your shots and drop them in. As far as paint goes its really a game of pass/fail. Try out different kinds until you find the one that fits it best. Paint breaks and accuracy can be due to several key factors such as temperature, bore size, shell quality, velocity and feeder. Also, it is heavy so you have to be prepared for the weight add. As far as looks go It does look very cool
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Flatline has many great benefits. It all really depends on your play and shooting preferences. Its a great Deep Woods barrel (I can lay in the brush and shoot from between logs and out shoot most ppl) and for inside bunkers its awesome but in the open field and long distance play I prefer the straight long barrel so I can arc my shots n drop it in on guys behind bunkers from far away. Its the best at what it is so ppl need to stop talking bad about it and try to understand what its made for. People who dont like it just usually dont understand what kind of barrel they are buying and ppl who say its the best ever dont usually explain why they like it. I dont know if I would call this the best barrel ever but its the best at what it does!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evalha07 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5 stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with Flatline and tactical harness.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus scorch, Big Ball
Strengths: INSANE RANGE. Good accuracy!!! COOL looks.
Weaknesses: None....maybe cost. A little picky.
Review: I got my flatline online for $100 bucks. That aint cheap, but it was worth it!!! The range on this baby is incredible. I was shooting with my marker turned up to right about 300fps and it was firing 90 yards with a FLAT trajectory. The problem was, that after 60 yards the balls would turn a random direction about 70 degrees. This was because the gun was turned up too high and I was using crappy paint!
IMPORTANT! You must use good balls with this barrel, and you must have your fps between 280 and 300 for it to shoot accurately. If this is done, it is perfect. With good paint and the gun shooting around 285 I was putting every round in a 2" diameter circle at 60 yards, without elevating the gun at all, and this was just messing around, I wasn't really trying hard to aim. Hitting people at 70 yards or even more isn't very hard to do during games. Truly amazing. And no, the balls don't slow down once they get downrange. Btw, the stock barrel is totally ineffective past 50 yards, and it is crappy that that range.
It is a little loud, but I thought the stock barrel was louder. What I did was take off the end of the shroud and fill the case around the barrel with spray expanding foam insulation. It comes in a spray can, you can get it a Lowe's. This cut the sound 33-50%. The performance was uneffected, since you are altering the barrel itself in no way.
It looks darn cool too...just like a Mp5 SD
It is heavy compared to most barrels, but if you are over age 8, you should be strong enough to handle it.
It takes some time to take of the barrel and clean it, but you can get thumbscrew kits online to make it easier. Since mine has yet to break a ball when I was using good paint, it hasn't been a problem. That right: at least 8000 rounds witout a break. Be sure to use Draxxus Scorch!! You can get it at Wal-Mart for 20$ a 1000.
Conclusion: Get it now!! You are wasting your A5 if you don't!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 19th, 2005 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

airtoxin Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing like it to compare! I have used many great barrels (dye, AA).
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, Palmers Stabilizer.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have never broken a single ball in over 10 cases. Better paint does get better accuracy, but even egg balls will not break. I like Draxxus for dead straight shots, but mostly I use Zap Rec Series.
Strengths: Range!
Very accurate.
Not paint-picky.
Unique.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Loud.
You become enemy's #1 objective.
Can be tricky to adjust. (co2, velocity)
Review: I was very worried about my flatline purchase at first, and tried to change it at the last second to a Dye Ulralite. Fortunatly for me I was too late, it had shipped earlier in the day. This is the biggest break through in barrel technology since the barrel itself. I have waited a good while to post my review since it takes some time to get an accurate "feel". After being used to a standard barrel's arc the Flatline is quite amazing. Just when the ball is supposed to drop it seems to float on, this gives an illusion that the ball is slower than normal. I am the only one around my area to own an A-5 or a Flatline, and it is very funny to see their reactions upon firing it for the first time. "Holy crap! Look at that ball fly! It just Floats! Can I try again!?" The accuracy of the Flatline depends on the paint you are willing to buy for it, and also the consistency of your shot to shot velocity. Even with Zap rec series paint my accuracy is very good, as long as my pressure is right. It is perfect at 270 fps, under 260 is not enough and over 280 is too high. This is a pain with co2 being unreliable, so I have bought a Palmers Stabalizer.
I find that you can't get it to curve very much around corners or trees, but you can put it on upside down! Talk about dropping balls, they zoom straight down after 60-70 feet...very useful. Some say they have difficuties removing this barrel. It seems that anyone that says it take 3 bolts does not have this barrel. It only takes 2, and if you want to leave 1 semi-loose, only 1. If you want to be able to switch to upside down mode quickly just leave them semi tight. Or have an allen key and some cover fire (15 secs)
After owning the Flatline a while you get used to the new arc or lack of it, and the novelty seems to wear off. All I have to do though is just switch barrels and see the difference. After alot of cases the Flatline loses its sand blasted surface and must be re done, that is a pain but at least Tippmann does it for free. All you have to pay is shipping The best part is watching unsuspecting people stealth up to you, because they are out of range, then shooting them in the back as they run! This is not a camper's gun however, it gives you the confidence to stand right up and watch everyone.
Conclusion: This barrel owns anything out there! It will kill any other gun in the bush. It is revolutionary, and amazing. Do not let any one talk you out of it, it is the best bush-ball upgrade, and is great in scenarios (building window to other building window etc.) If you want a speed-ball barrel get a Lapco 8' or 12' Bigshot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media