paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Pure Energy THOR Regulator / Cradle / PMI Pure Energy THOR Regulator / Cradle / PMI Pure Energy THOR Regulator / Cradle

PMI Pure Energy THOR Regulator / Cradle Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Pure Energy THOR Regulator / Cradle

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Pure Energy THOR Regulator / Cradle
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 6.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This Pure Energy Adjustable Second Stage Regulator is specifically designed to operate in conjunction with a preset primary regulator found on PE HP bottles. This combination of a Preset primary and adjustable secondary regulator provides the consistent, unvarying gas pressure and high flow demanded by the pro player. When used with a preset primary regulator, this adjustable regulator can be set to between 300 and 600 psi. Lower pressures can be achieved removing an internal shim. Comes with a sliding mounting rail that fits in the standard screw holes found in a standard grip. The sliding rail is adjustable so you can move the bottle forward or back.
Product Availability 
The PMI Pure Energy THOR Regulator / Cradle is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
wmedlen Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
MaxFlo, BL Torpedo
Marker Setup: Timmy and an Impluse as a back up - nuf said
Strengths: Excellent regulation.....
Weaknesses: a little heave specially for a timmy -
Review: Get one----MSRP is over 100 bucks, but you can pick a good one up on ebay for 60. use it as a primary set at 300psi that feeds a Genx set at 200. I use a low pressure volumizer on the timmy and can push 295 +/-2 all day long
Conclusion: Super reg for the money - beats paying 250 for a max flo reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xballr50 Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: B2k3 w/PDS Vaporized, CP drop forward, PMI THOR REG, 68 4500 Nitro Duck, CP two piece, EVO-2 Loader PMI THOR REg
Strengths: drops the tank nicely, and allows u to adjust the output pressure on a tank
Weaknesses: doesn't regulate well, and is pritty heavy
Review: well it did do what i bought it to do and that was just to make my preset tank adjustable since i have a bushmaster you must have a low output pressure and i didn't feel like paying anohter 250 dollars for a compressed tank so i just bought this, though it did do the job i needed it for, it really didn't regulate all that nicely, the FPS varied by 10-15 i would usually shoot between 295 and 280. other than that its a nice reg, also theres one other probleme, it does pack some weight with its small size and will add about 1-2 extra pounds to your gun.
Conclusion: like is said does the entended job but nothing more or less and is heavy, yet PMI does have good AIR products such as its tanks, so im sure this will last a long time.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mark_426 Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
AGD regs, cocker regs, centerflag regs, miniregs
Marker Setup: Currently have two guns:
1. Dust Red Speed Demon - A+ dust black low rise, Black shank volumizer, black trigger, black breech cog, black WS statch, black DZ2, intellifed egg 2 (black and red), stiffi barrels and ultralite.

2. Gloss black ULE-emag - X-Valve, Ule frame, Ule body, C&C battery pack, CCM no rise, centerflag 420 68/45, Z-board Egg 2, Kaner, Stiffi Switch, and Freak kits. (soon to have black magnetic detents, fireblade trigger)
Strengths: Consistant
Weaknesses: no on off
heavy
ate orings
Review: I hated this reg.
My minireg was gutted before I bought it, and I was not lucky enough to recieve the parts.

This has no on off, which I really disliked.

This is heavy, and ugly.

I would tear the piston oring, and/or the piston would stick, and not regulate down. You could tell wehn you aired it up, but on a day that you intend to shoot 10000 rounds, as a back guy, you dont really need to concentrate on changing orings on your super great aftermarket reg.

It (or something) was very consistant though. 295 +/- 3 all day. This is all that kept me from paying the $15 for a new minireg kit.


I would pay 15 for someone to take it.




EDIT! As suggested by the guy giving it a 9, I advise against triple regulation, unless you shoot very slowly. It will starve the marker of air (drop off) over strings. ;)
Conclusion: I hope the new style is better, this one sucks.

It is consistant, so I give it half credit (Also about the amount of times it worked)
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 30th, 2004 at 4:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ozzy/omen Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first adjustable I have used
Marker Setup: 2K4 Black Alien Species
70/4500 crossfire
AKA 2 liter reg and soda can mod
Evil pipe
egg2 w/z board
RMR Ramrod
Strengths: Um its adjustable
Weaknesses: Made poorly
Review: I guess I got a bad one because it wasn't machined right. When they drilled the overflow hole half was on the treads the other half was beyond it. I had to use three o-rings to made it seal. And it ate o-rings all the time. When I screwed in the pressure adjustment it would slowly go up to 500 psi. after that I would have to screw it in about 6 turns before it moved and then it would jump to 900 psi. I am very unhappy about this second stage
Conclusion: I would not buy it when I did get it working it was horrible! DO NOT BUY
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hr34 Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
various other regulators
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimdator
Empire 10 piece barrel kit
eVlution II
Crossfire 88ci/4500psi
Strengths: cheap cost
good consistancy
Weaknesses: not on par with regs like max flo
Review: WooHoo! I got first review. Anyway, this is a really nice reg if you have a nitro tank that pushes air at 800psi and want to control it a little better or want to lower it to 400psi or below. Since it works as your bottomline you can just put a gas-thru grip if you're using a marker that can use one. On the other hand, it's probably better just to put on another reg to completely ensure consistency.
Conclusion: Get this if you can't afford bottomline regs like the max-flow
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 2nd, 2003 at 5:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nkatzboy Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman regs., CP Shorty
Marker Setup: Ion:
-CP Reg, ASA, Lightening Drop, Trigger, Macro line
-NDZ QEV
-T-lock feedneck
VL Revy with X-Board
Smart Parts:
-Progressive, Freak and ION stock barrels
Strengths: Holds consistant pressure, mounts fairly well on rails
Weaknesses: Heavy, Style
Review: I swapped this reg. out for the stock one that comes with Spyder AMGs. This thing holds the pressure you set very well. I have to make very minor adjustments if any everytime I go out. I got mine on Ebay for only $20 so the price was good at the time.

The negatives are fairly obvious. It looks like a block of Aluminum with a gauge slapped on the side and it's heavy.

Conclusion: Reliable, repairable... Heavy and ugly. It's gonna come down to your price range and personal preference
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pro Rookie Friday, August 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: 03 Shocker, Max-Flo, Halo.
Strengths: Reliable.
Easy to maintain.
Easy to use.
Weaknesses: Weight, I guess.
An On/Off would be nice.
Review: I had this reg on my Shocker and it worked great. Also, before I had one on a Bushmaster 2K. These regs really saved my bacon because they were an affordable alternative to buying a whole new LP tank for these markers when I coudn't afford a new air setup.
Conclusion: If you have an HP tank and an LP marker and can't or don't want to but a new LP setup, look for one of these.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allforspeed Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
torpedo reg, WGP reg, too many regs to list
Marker Setup: 12 bps mechanical cocker, basically everything
Strengths: Cool mounting, guage, uh, nothing
Weaknesses: Heavy, breaks constantly, not consistent, chops O-rings, expensive, ugly
Review: This reg sucks a big fat hairy one in your mouth, absurdly heavy, i have had to rebuild it twice and then just threw it in my bag after it blew its internal seal a third time! garbage, bought a torpedo and its a million, million times better, this thing also chops your O-ring every single time you take a tank off it, and it doesn't have an on/off, and its stupidly heavy and also not that consistent. doesn't flow enought to triple reg a gun without starving the marker of air, its ugly too and it stinks.....and its very expensive tooo!! what a sweet product huh?
Conclusion: Dont ever buy this, i wouldn't use it if it were free
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media