paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Tru-Flight QB Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight QB Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight QB Barrel

CMI International Tru-Flight QB Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Tru-Flight QB Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Tru-Flight QB Barrel
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Dual Bore .688 & .6925
Extreme Accuracy
Tighter Pattern
Greater Distance
Spin-Free Projection
Quiet Performance
Product Availability 
The CMI International Tru-Flight QB Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
pflo 16 Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just the stock barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with CMI Thunder Pig QB barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
big ball paintballs work well
Strengths: accurate, good distance, and doesn't chop balls
Weaknesses: So far...none!! But when or "IF" I do I'll be sure to post.
Review: My friend gave me some old brass eagle balls that were sitting in his garage for me just to shoot around the yard and whatever...anyway...you all know about brass eagle. They are the CRAPPIEST paint I think you can buy!!! And just to make it worse, EVERY ball had a huge dent in it!!! However, despite these terrible balls, the QB didn't break ONE paintball...absolutely AMAZING!!! However it didn't shoot them accurate at all... but could any barrel shoot these dented brass eagle balls accurate? I don't think so!!! So anyway, so far I love the barrel but I haven't owned it for long so I guess we'll see.
Conclusion: Right now, I would recommend anyone buying the Thunder Pig QB barrel. It looks cool, it's accurate (with a better ball than brass eagle), it has good distance, and it DOES NOT chop balls! Even though I haven't had any troubles so far, I give it a 9 because nothing is perfect. I hope you found my review helpful. C YA
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

leif52pickup Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Victor barrel (good barrel for being so short)
CMI Tru-Flight 16"
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor
14" CMI TruFlight QB
removed "venturi" (it isn't technically a venturi at all)
Polished internals
Palmer Stabilzer
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Medium Bore Paint
Strengths: Shoots straight
doesn't break balls
Cheap
Quieter than standard CMI or stock barrel
Weaknesses: Mediocre finish
Needed some work?
Rifling might cause gas inefficiency on LP
Review: Due to recommendations on this website I did some preliminary work on this barrel before using it:
-I beveled the rear edge of it to create a "loading ramp"
-I ran super fine steel wool through it to smooth out the "straight rifling"
-I put steel wool in the muzzle brake and turned it back and forth many times to dull the knife like edge of the ports
-I then polished the barrel with chrome wheel polish

After I did all of this, this barrel shot very well. I would high recommend getting one of these over high priced single piece barrels, since paintballs are inherently somewhat inaccuracy. I was surprized to see the straight rifling works. Shooting balls with 2 color shells I could tell they weren't spinning.
Conclusion: I would high recommend getting one of these over high priced single piece barrels, since paintballs are inherently somewhat inaccuracy. Shop around to find this barrel for under $30.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

SWATpunk Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Night Stick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" CMI Tru-Flight QB Barrel
Response Trigger
Inline Expansion Chamber
M4 F/X Stock
Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight
Modded hopper to allow for sights
20oz and 9oz CO2 tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Draxxus or Afterburners(cheap, fly straight,for woods)
Strengths: Add a good 20 yards to shot
Makes no spin on ball
So very cheap
Weaknesses: Guess it could chop balls, but I have a Cyclone Feeder
Review: Everyone wants a new barrel with the A-5 because the stock just leaves one wanting more. Unless you play CQB then its just plain perfect, never heard someone say that did you? Anyways, this was so very cheap and just plain looked awesome, note that the 16 inch can have an M4 handgaurd put on it. This is an essential for any person that wants a barrel that can be used to snipe to perfection and doubles for assault is in luck. When installed on my A-5 it added roughly 20 yards to my range, a BIG plus for back players that like to push forward every once and awhile like me. To add to the great this barrel looks badass and has a cool muzzle that actually helps with the shot. To just mention this, other reviews pointed out that it chopped balls ALOT. I have an A-5 and experienced not ONE BALL CHOP!!!
Conclusion: If you have an A-5 and are interested in a great performing barrel that competes with the best of the best this is it! Oh yeah, its almost free to!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Mokal Barrel, Diablo Reincarnation stock barrell
Marker Setup: Mongoose 2, Crossfire/Carlton 88/3000 HPA, Halo Frontman TSA, 14" J&J Ceramic.
Recommended
Paintballs:
The barrell seems to work better with the medium to larger diameter paintballs.
Strengths: Inexpensive. Quiet. Shoots straight.
Weaknesses: Hard to find a supplier
Review: The Mokal stock 12" barrel and the Diablo 12" stock barrel are pretty sound. I just bought the CMI QB to be sure I'd have a spare. Wow was I surprised. It is a little quieter than the stock barrel. The paintballs definitely have less spin, and seem to curve less than the stock barrells. However, with some of the smaller diameter paintballs there seems to be a drop in accuracy. The large porting in the end of the marker is very hard on queegees.
Conclusion: If you don't want to get alot of $ wrapped up in a barrel, this is definitely a great choice.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 11th, 2008 at 11:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Funkmaster Rex Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14'' Thunder pig Tru-Flight QB barrel
Double trigger
Verticle expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
I always use Dusk by Draxxus
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Doesn't break paint
Weaknesses: None that I know of
Review: I bought this barrel for my Tippmann and it shoots beautifully. I have never broken a ball(that also might be because I am shooting a Tippmann). This barrel is really quiet. I have shot people and they didn't know where it came from. I got a 14'' so you might have a problem smacking it into the ground or bunkers/trees but that is true with any long barrel.

The rifling in the barrel makes it so the ball doesn't spin. This improves accuracy and distance. When you put this barrel on your marker, it increases the velocity by 30 or 40 feet per second.
Conclusion: I would suggest buying this barrel. It is farely inexpensive and plenty of bang for the buck.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 14th, 2004 at 8:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Tuesday, March 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just stock barels
Marker Setup: Dioblo Mongoose II Reincarnation LED (blue black fade)
CMI True flight barel
Hallo TSA Front man (Smoke)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Oder Paintball house paint and most of it seams to work well.
Strengths: Light and acurate what else is there to say about a barrel
Weaknesses: none that I have noticed.
Review: I have used this barrel for most of my paintball carear and it has worked well. The paint goes farely strait when it comes out of the barrel.

The only thing is that when you first get it you need to smooth the end or it will cut your paintballs.
Conclusion: Get it, it does every thing it is supposed to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JammyDodger Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: Paintball Inc CTF Custom
16" CMI Tru Flight QB barrel
Bottom Line
JT Headshield Mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Cheap
Looks cool
accurate
Silent (ppl dont know wot hit them)
rifled
Weaknesses: sticker that comes with it leaves residue :(
Review: I have bought this barrel a) cus its cheap b) cus me stock barrel isnt accurate and c) cus this is very accurate and has great reviews. I have tested the barrel and have noticed a vast improvemnt in performance on my gun. The balls go straight meaning when i go to my local place all the people with the places spider 1's or infernos wont hit me but ill hit them. Also it being silent means i can hit some1 where it really hurts and they'll not know who to take it out on.

Also the rifling thingy magigy is good from what ive heard. This grips the ball preventing spin and thus preventing your balls going everywhere except the target. This barrel was made for the sneaky person in mind.
Conclusion: Buy this if your beginner like me or if you cant afford the other overpriced metal tubes out there. Brilliant barrel at a brilliant prive.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 11th, 2004 at 3:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SniperWolf69 Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empires are the barres that closest compare to this one.
Marker Setup: I use the tippmann A5 fully customized
Recommended
Paintballs:
Striker, and zap work perfect for being cheep and good
Strengths: Quiet, extremely accurate, looks good
Weaknesses: None that i have found yet!!!
Review: I used this barrel and it was one of the best barrel i have ever used. i sold my empire twister for it and i am so happy with my results! I have used it in four games so far and it is so accurate i can shoot them out from half way across the Field! and i love how quiet it is , they don't even know what hit them! i love it way more then my old empire twister barrel.
Conclusion: It is a perfect barrel for this price!! its even better then some high priced barrels
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cliffy Miracle Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Ice Cold and Terminator both Chrome.
Marker Setup: Pilot ACS and TLX custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any medium grade
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Quality and finish. LOUD!!!
Review: I have always used chrome/nickel plated barrels for the mirror like finish. This barrel has a bunch of potential but lacks machining QUALITY. Why chrome a roughly finished item only to have a shiny rough product? This barrel is as loud as the stock barrel and of stock quality. I cannot recommend this barrel to the average paint baller.
Conclusion: Again, this barrel design has a bunch of potential but the inner barrel finish just doesn't have a fine polished finish. I'm sure if the finish were smoother, the noise this barrel generates would be lessened. For $35.00 I expected more...so if you want a "roughly" finished barrel that is loud...this is for you. Stick to 32 Degrees and above...

*UPDATE* I chronographed a stock "Pilot" barrel, 32 Degrees Ice Cold barrel, Terminator barrel, and lastly the CMI True Flight QB...results, the CMI was an average of 6 to 10 F.P.S. slower than all barrels tested. I shoot at an average of 270 F.P.S with my setup and I could tell the difference immediately that my range of fire had decreased, thus the loss of F.P.S. The other thing I noticed is that the CMI did not fire at a consistant F.P.S. and was to say the least, eratic.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 29th, 2005 at 3:17 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

23pnut Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
14'' cmi tru-flight (same barrell but doesnt have porting), 16'' cp barrell (crap doesnt even compare at all)
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra , replaced trigger return spring to give it a lighter pull and a few more bps, 14'' tru-flight barrell (just got it love it)
Recommended
Paintballs:
it is dual bore so i think most any paint should work pretty good for it, heck i even shot some 5 year old brass eagle crap through it and it shot perfectly fine
Strengths: cheap(price not quality), comperable to higher end $50+ barrels, dead accurate
Weaknesses: my reg one(not qb) chopped every 3rd ball -fixed it with steel wool
Review: well my brother had bought the normal tru-flight and i thought it was pretty tight so i decided to get one like his, and my dad also wanted one so in order to distinguish between the three i convinced my dad to spend the xtra 2 or 3 bux in order to get this one with the porting. i didnt think it would make that big of a difference but just to see after i got done shooting my barrel i put his on.... it is almost completly silent..... it really scared me. besides being almost completly silent it is extremly accurate i was hitting a six inch wide tree from 50 feet almost every shot....id say about 9 for 10 or so. what is even more crazy about that is i was shooting some brass eagle pieces o crap that had been laying around the garage untouched for like 5 yrs. If that doesnt tell u about the accuracy i dont know what will. Now my barrell which doesnt have the porting shoots just as accuratly but it is louder. To be honest though i think that most any gun no matter what the barrel if u shoot they are going to know about where u are. All in all i liked this barrel and i wouldnt mind mine to be a little quiter but i dont really care that much, but maybe u do. If you dont really care about sound then i would get the regular tru-flight barrell which goes on ebay for around 20 plus shipping but if you want/need the quieter one, then buy the tru-flight qb which goes for about 23-25 plus shipping on ebay... either one is a good choice in my opinion
Conclusion: buy this if you want the quieter one but if you dont care about how loud it is and only care about the accuracy and distance then i would go for the regualar tru-flight barrell (this one is the tru-flight qb) both are cheap and pretty good looking but great barrells
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media