paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag / Airgun Designs E-Mag

Airgun Designs E-Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs E-Mag

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs E-Mag
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its trigger is actuated by magnets, it has a
dual selector (switches from Electric to Manual
operation), operates with 18 volt rechargeable battery or
2 9 volt batteries, L.E.D. display features countdown
timer, shot counter, plus many other features, and it was
tested beyond 20 shots per second without shootdown but
is restricted to 13 shots per second (to comply with current industry standards.) Comes in power feed (for use with Warp Feed)
or vertical feed.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs E-Mag is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, October 3rd, 2001
 
88 out of 94 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I am a paintball pro shop owner and I have shot almost every marker ever made. When we purchased an E-Mag for the shop it sat on the wall for a long time. Everyone was interested in it, and asked many questions about it's performance. Seeing as I had never used one in prolonged tournament or rec ball use, I didn't have many answers to all the questions. This forced me to buy one for myself and give it a good trial by fire.
On my E-Mag I have a Air America Armageddon 88 ci 4,500 psi nitrogen system, AGD Warp Feed system, Viewloader 12 volt Revolution, Dye drop forward, macro line with slide check, and a Smart Parts freak barrel system. After everything is hooked up, gassed up and loaded with paintballs it weighs in at 12 pounds 3 ounces. For a paintball marker that you will be holding all day long, it is heavy.
The opperating pressure of an E-Mag is reccomended between 600 and 800 psi. I set the pressure to 600 psi, and checked velosity over a radar chrono. It had a +/- 5 fps fluxuation at the most. Not too bad over all. With that set, I adjusted the trigger. This is the single most awesome feature of the E-Mag. The trigger has magnets instead of springs. By removing magnets in the main body above the trigger, you decrease the resistance of the trigger pull. I have one magnet with a small spacer under it to give me a super light pull, yet very quick return. The other magnet is on the back side of the trigger itself. This is the magnet that "trips" the hall effect switch that sends the signal to the circut board to fire the marker. A hall effect switch uses magnetic force to create an electrical signal. basically, when a magnetic force is close enough to the hall effect, it will "click on" like a micro switch. This magnet is adjustable with a small grub screw. By moving the magnet closer to the grip frame, (where the hall effect switch is located), you can adjust how far the trigger pull will have to go before the marker will fire. I didn't have to fool around with this too much before I found a very nice trigger set up. Now to set the trigger pull limit, all you have to do is adjust a small grub screw on the "manual/Electronic" lever. Turn the screw in, and you get less pull length, very simple. After all was said and done, it took maybe 15 minutes to get the trigger excactly where I like it. Another benifit of the magnets is the "feel" of the trigger pull. Due to the magnets, the trigger pull get's lighter and lighter the farther it travels. Other triggers that use springs get harder and harder to pull due to you compressing a spring with the pull of a trigger. Pretty sweet.
Ok, now to address the other features. This marker is actually 3 in 1. First you have mechanical mode. In all respects it opperates 100%% like a Auto Mag R/T. It has the reactive trigger, and no use of the electronic's. Next is pure electronic mode. This is where the short, light and crisp trigger pull is. In all respects it is just like any other electonic marker. Now you have the totally revolutionary and unique "Hybrid" mode. This is a mix of both manual and electronic mode's in one. The trigger is the short electronic, but the "kick back" on the trigger from manual mode is present. In this mode, shooting 14+ balls a second with a warp feed is totally possible. I have done it on many occations!
Another great feature is the charging of the battery pack. By removing a thumb screw the battery slides off the grip frame and can then be put on the car charger. No need to leave your nice new, expensive marker in your car for all to see...and steal! Heck, you can play a few games in mechanical mode while your battery is charging in you car! Try that with an Angel LCD!!!
To dissasemble the marker just remove on thumb screw in the back of the grip frame. The whole valve assemble then slides out the back. Very easy, very fast.
Ok, now out to play on a field with it. With the warp feed system and the ability to shoot faster than any other marker ever made, the E-Mag is unstoppable. With the rate of fire and the trigger adjustments, 14 balls a second was possible 100%% of the time. Simply an amazing piece of equiptment.
Weaknesses: A few things are worth mention here. The weight is a major factor to most people. I got used to it very quickly. It's sort of like driving a compact car for your whole life, then trying to drive a 18 wheeler. You can do it, but it will get some getting used too.
The electronic "Kill" switch is a plastic pin that is inserted into the battery pack to break the electrical connection. I put a lanyard from a nitrogen fill nipple dust cap on it, and connected it to my macro line. A switch would be much better then this "key." I could see it being lost very quickly if not attached by a lanyard to the gun.
The owners manual was a bit dissapointing. AGD has always been a company to let nothing be less then perfect. The owners manual is just a photo copied stack of paper stapled together. A nice spiral bound, full color manual would be appreciated.
To really take full advantage of this marker a warp feed system is almost a must. But then again, the warp feed is something I will never play without!
Conclusion: After playing with this E-Mag for about 3 months, I can honestly say it is my favorite maker I have ever owned. Like I said before, I own a paintball pro shop and have played with just about every marker ever made. Now if that doesn't say something for the performance of this marker, I don't know what else will.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

phrenologyfiend Monday, April 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months38 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic Automag - same reliability, consistency, and ease of use, but slower rate of fire.
Proto Matrix 6 - Smaller, lighter, easier to fire quickly, and just as reliable and easy to maintain.
Marker Setup: -Proto Matrix 6 (Olive)
-14" St!ffi Switch Barrel Kit
-Critical Raze Trigger (Blue)
-Lucky Un1tech Board with Spitfire software chip
-Halo B
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 Bolt (if not equipped already)
ULE or Tac-One mainbody
Fireblade trigger (if you can find one . . . rare!)
Strengths: Rugged
Dependable
No paint chops
Consistancy
Innovative
Weaknesses: Heavy
Archaic
Trigger
Cost
Review: When the E-Mag came out in 2001, I was a loyal Automag supporter, but sadly I was also a dirt-poor college student. I was so excited to try one. How could I not be? My beloved Automag was coming out in an electronic format that promised to fire faster, but I had to wait until the end of 2006 to do that when I purchased one from the manufacturer directly. I shelled out the money to try one, and while I was greatly impressed over the improvement from my Classic Automag, I was not by comparison to the electro-pneumatic monsters of today.

Strengths

Dependable: If youíve never used an Automag, youíll not understand, but for those of us who remember the Automag vs. Autococker debate of the 1990ís, you know what Iím talking about. Airgun Designs (AGD) has a history of making some extremely reliable equipment. Even if a part breaks or needs maintenance, it was always easy to do. The E-Mag is no exception to that. Itís almost a simple tube with a spring and some wiring. Maintenance is easy and the marker requires only one Allen wrench to work on any given part or adjust velocity.

No paint chops: AGD outdid themselves here. With the introduction of the Level 10 bolt, they even took the electronic eye off the gun (It was briefly used). The Level 10 bolt stops its forward travel if it meets any real resistance. The founder of AGD Tom Kaye even did demonstrations of its gentleness on paint by sticking his tongue in front of of the bolt and firing. Again, for those of us old enough to remember the old ĎMags, this is a scary thought, but the new bolt stops and vents the gas. Iíll admit that I stuck my fingers in the breech and tried this experiment. It works.

Consistency: I have no empirical proof of this beyond my brief trips to the chronograph and my own observations of play, but the velocity seems to be at least as, if not more, consistent than my Proto Matrix 6 (PM6). Again, though, this is just anecdotal. I have not run controlled tests.

Innovative: Not only does the inclusion of the Level 10 bolt bring this ahead of the Classic Automag, but it has several features that also make it stand out. The trigger modes are a wonderful idea. The E-Mag has several trigger modes: manual, electronic, and hybrid. Manual operates like an Automag RT and has the reactive push on the trigger. Electronic operates by magnetic activation of a Hall sensor in the grip frame and has magnetic return. Hybrid operates by combining the two. It gives magnetic actuation of the solenoid, while still offering a mechanical push on the trigger.

Weaknesses

Heavy: While Iím a big guy and I didnít mind the weight at the time, once I started using other high-end markers that are out there ...well, I became spoiled. I applaud AGD for including a rechargeable battery instead of the standard 9-volt that is needed, but it feels like half the weight of the marker. Fully loaded, it weighs noticeably more than my PM6, or even my classic Autocockers. While the addition of the ULE part line has helped, it's still heavy by today's criteria.

Archaic: While AGD tried many innovations on this marker, they still kept the basic design of the Automag. Iím not saying I donít like that. Like I stated before, I love ĎMags. What it means is that the basic blow-forward, mechanical design that was introduced in 1991 is still used here. The electronic solenoid simply trips the mechanical firing pin faster. It also gives the E-Mag just as much kick as its predecessors.

Trigger: Initially I was exited about the trigger and its innovative features, but itís not as smooth firing as the other triggers on other electro-pneumatic markers. It's a classic double-finger trigger, and beyond that its shape is blocky and less intuitive to walking. Itís possible to walk it, but it took practice in my case. Also, while it is mechanically capable of firing 20 shots per second, it's very hard to achieve. Not so much on other high-end electro-pneumatics. In hybrid and mechanical mode it also had no rear-travel limiter, so while the reactive push was nice, its travel path was longer and therefore achieved a slower rate of fire. In mechanical mode itís also possible to short stroke, if anyone even knows that term anymore ;-). But to be fair, the addition of the mechanical mode in case of electronic failure was inventive and ingenious.


Cost: All previous criticisms would have been taken with a grain of salt had the price of this marker dropped at a rate comparable to that of the Autococker. It didnít. To purchase a marker new from AGD costs approximately $1000. For that kind of money you could afford quite a few of the top-end electro-pneumatic markers out there. My PM6 cost only $750 new, so I still would have had money to buy a small compressed air tank and a Halo.
Conclusion: As much as I'd love to recommend this product, and as much as it pains me to say this after years of Automag loyalty, this is a product that's past its prime. It's alright for Woodsball, but not speedball. And for the cost, you could make a Woodsball monster out of a Tippman A-5 with plenty to spare. You could also buy a different electro-pneumatic marker that would be more competitive in today's playing environment.

Final rating: WIth 5 being the average and 10 doing everything advertised with no suggestions for improvement . . . 6. It possesses some novel features, but it's just not as competitve today as it was in 2001 when it came out.

Also, along the lines of dates, don't forget to look at the dates of reviews to make sure that the rating of 10 on an item you're wanting to buy now wasn't written in 2002 and may or may not be valid any longer for the given item. That's just smart thinking.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 10:09 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BourneKiller Thursday, December 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have extensively used nearly every high-end gun, and while many come close, I have to say that the Emag, coming stock with the anti-chop Level 10 bolt, and an incredibly consistent inline regulator, very low profile, and the 2nd lowest ball pressure (2nd only to Matrices) really stands out.
Marker Setup: Emag w/ Level 10
Chrome Warp Feed Left Body
CP 2-Piece Kit
Warp Feed w/ 12V Mod and on/off switch
EvoII w/ Y-Board
Center Flag DynaFlow 68/4500
Custom Products Lightning Drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you got an E-mag used, and it doesn't have Level 10 (LX), then I would strongly recommend that. With LX, it is unbeatable, but without LX, you run the risk of a chop. Unless it's very finely tuned, that may happen more often than you'd like, and the unfortunate thing about Automags in general and E-Mags in specific is that, due to the bolt system, a chop will get paint shell and paint all over the bolt, spring, breech, and possibly the power tube. Needless to say, this will turn any idea of accuracy into crap, and you'll need to spend at least 1 FULL minute getting it all clean... You rarely have one full minute on the playing field.

Other than LX, you have the option of getting a ULE Body (cocker threads, and very light) and upgrading some cosmetic things, and you could get an X-valve (much lighter, and made of aluminum). However, I would only recommend LX. The rest are personal preference only.
Strengths: Very consistent regulation (280 280 280 280)
High quality (AGD)
2 star warranty system
Weaknesses: The weight - Easily solved by getting a ULE Body and an X-valve
Review: I was extremely impressed with my E-mag. Like I said above, the very high-quality inline regulator ensures consistency. In addition to that, it is a very low-kick marker, and very low-profile, in addition to being extremely fast, and quick recharging (26cps without measureable shootdown). The latest software available for it allows up to 24bps in semi.

AGD has always made incredibly high-quality products, and with the warranty system of "Stars," it's very nice to be able to send in your mag for a free rebuilt (redeemable by one star). The E-mag has two stars.

Easily adjustable trigger, very light pull, and doesn't change with use. You do not have to constantly keep adjusting it, and fine tuning it.

Very low cyclic mass - Very low kick. I can put the E-mag's back right up against my mask and when I fire, I will barely feel the kick. I could put it to my bare forehead, or temple, or anything really, and not suffer any pain, nor feeling at all.

Very small profile - One tube gun means that it's very short (heightwise) and it also is very short from front to back.

With the addition of LX, this gun is unstoppable!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for any player who wants to spend the money. I would nearly demand that the tournament player use an E-mag, due to the extremely high qualties that it embodies.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Reo5th Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Impulse, RT Mag. The angel had a nice feel to the gun, however, I was never able to get a good feel for the trigger. The Impulse always felt like its trigger had too much slack, and though I could rip on it, it felt sloppy. The RT mag had a similar return force to the trigger, but obviously nothing like the magnet trigger on the emag. I have yet to chop in my e-mag, and out of the other listed markers, the angel chopped the most.
Marker Setup: Level 10 Black Teflon Hopper Right E-Mag
Chrome Shocktech Long Drop
68/4500 MaxFlo
10" Freak Teardrop System
12v VL2000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 Bolt. I really can't tell you how amazing this is. You can watch the videos, or listen to the hype, but once you use it, or see it in person, it really is amazing.

Obviously a new hopper. With level 10, any simple agitated hopper will work. My VL2000 works greak and never has trouble keeping up.

I haven't had a chance to try out the stock barrel but I have heard amazing things about it. I've tried an All american (which I loved), a Progressive (wasn't quite as good), and currently use the freak system which is obviously the best.
Strengths: The trigger. It was so strange to pull the trigger the first time I fired the gun. Having a trigger completely controlled by magnets is great. Especially because of the fact that you can adjust the trigger so much. Some people love to stack magnets and play in hybrid mode so they get amazing trigger bounce. I however am a man that likes a nice light trigger with a crisp response. The emag's trigger was the first marker that could really offer this for me. I put a small o-ring under my magnet stack to make the trigger extra light.

ROF. It rips. My second day owning the emag, I did a sound test to see how many balls per second I could pull. With my tank only outputting enough gas to recock the trigger (but not fire the gun), I pulled a 12.56 bps string continuously for a little more than 2 seconds. (Keep in mind this is my first electro marker, and the trigger was easy to learn.)

Reliablity. Automags have a name for themselves. They're reliable and very easy to work on. I think many paintballers are turned off by mags because they are almost too easy to work with (and therefore go with the 'pneus and back block' autococker.' The gun really holds up well. I've put tons of shots through it and have tinkered with everything on the marker as well: bolt, power tube, springs, battery, and solenoid. (amazingly enough, it still seems to function!) What shocked me the most was, after messing with the battery, and causing the main board to smoke, I was sure the board was fried; I connected the battery correctly and it functioned fine! The emag is really hard to break.
Weaknesses: I'm not sure if this is a general problem for all emag owners, but when I got my emag (used) the magnet secured in the top of the trigger came out after 200 or so shots. All I had to do was remove the trigger and superglue it back on though.

When I installed Level 10 (an absolute must) my efficiency went down a little bit. I'm still satisfied with its gas performance, and know that on a properly installed and configured level 10 system, the efficiency drop should be hardly noticable.
Conclusion: It really makes me mad when people judge the emag off the start by one of two comments:

"The thing is just too heavy."

and

"The emag is a blender."

I was very worried about both of these factors when I decided to get the emag. I must admit, I was suprised by the weight difference between my emag and most other markers, however, I found out later that It was simply and issue of battery placement. I now prefer the balence of the gun and think that having weight distributed more to the front of the gun is perfect for an electro marker, as your fingers are usually busy ripping away at the trigger instead of supporting the heavier rear of the marker. Also, as stated before, the level 10 kit really works. I can't stress this enough: my gun does not chop.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

barneygun11 Friday, August 16th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the ff guns,97 proteam custom cocker, shocker 4x4, automag with electro grip(centerflag), 2k bushy with vapor internals and zip chip, Warpedsportz 2k angel lcd, 2k1 angel LCD. If i am to compare the e mag with these guns, it doesnt even compare with my ANGELS, also i think my bushy with the vapor upgrades is still a better marker than my V 1.31 e mag. That is why I sold it for half the price i bought it for.Might as well turn it into cash than suffer another day knowing that i own 1.
Marker Setup: 2k1 LCD with the ff.
DYE 12in ultralite boomies
DYE MIZERS
DYE siterail
WARPED GRIPPER
WARPED lo-rise
KAPP 15 DEG reg adapter
WDP lo PRESSURE internals
WDP CUSTOm BOLT
68ci 3k pure energy and THor system
Kapp KROME STUBBY DROPfrward
12v revvie with x board
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast hopper, preferably HALO A or B, or a warp feed. One of the main reasons why i really didnt like my e mag was because it virtually turns into a blender whenever i use it. Chops paint like crazy so i figure if you have 1 at least invest on a good hopper or warpfeed system.
Strengths: The good about the e mag is that like all of AGD's products, they are virtually indestructible. maintainance is a cinch, just replace your o rings and you are ready to go. I firmly believe that automags are constructed to last and the e mags are no exception.Another good thing about the e mag is that the electonics package of the gun is not cluttered with useless electronic features like my angels, e.g. vibration modes, temperature, etc.etc. it only comes with the features that you will actually need to play effectively and not those features that you wont even use. Lastly you get two guns for the price of one when you buy it because unlike other electros, you are in deep Sh#t when the electronics fail, while with the e mag, you can always switch to RT mode so that is a big plus if you only have 1 marker but totally worthless if you have 1 more in reserve.hehehe
Weaknesses: THE BAD, well here are the reasons why i didnt like my e mag, First of all , it is too d#mned heavy, compared to it, my angels feel like stockguns. A heavy paintgun is a big turn off if you play front like i do. Secondly, it chops balls like a blender, for all the times i used it, i can never recall a time when i did not chop a ball in a single game, thats right in a single game not in a single day. AGD should start shipping these with a complimentary squeegee of good quality because people buying it would surely make good use of it. HEHEHE.
Lastly, the charger that came with my e mag was busted, i dont know if this was an isolated case but for whatever reason it was a big inconvenience because i had to wait 2 weeks before a new charger was sent to me by my paintball dealer.
Conclusion: I purchased my e mag last year because like most players i had high hopes for the very first electro marker that AGD came out with. I guess i expected too much from it that when i actually used it, i was totally disappointed with the results because i expected it to at least perform as well as, not to mention better than my ANGELS. For the price you have to pay to get an e mag, i think its more cost efficient to buy a custom bushy or impulse, that way you get a better marker while saving quite a lot of money in the process. Therefore i cannot in good concience give it a better rating than a 5 because its just too expensive for a heavy, ball chopping machine that will make you spend more time cleaning out your barrel than actually playing the game.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

Brian68Mag(AO) Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All high end electro's and pretty much everything else.
Marker Setup: 68 mag' pwr feed Level 10, J&J ceramic, retro valve aswell as AIR valve.
Emag Level 10 Stock/ Halo B
Pro-Carbine
Nitro duck 90ci 4500 tuffskin
Smart parts 20 oz Anti siphon Co2 with smart valve.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10, Halo B, warp, new barrel.
Strengths: *FAST! Woah, when i first gassed this thing up i was ripping 12 bps with the stock trigger without issues. With a trigger job and a trained finger 14+ bps without runaway is possible!!!
*Consistant. +- 3 over chrony.
*Stock barrel actually isnt that bad! Shoots straight giving its for the most part a featureless tube! Its so good i havent bothered to buy a new one because i hit what i aim at!
*TRIGGER. OMG The trigger is out of this world!!! The magnets put it in its own league!!!! You have to pull it to understand!
*No breaks with level 10! cycling the gun 15 times a second with a revvy? You wont be shooting 15 bps but you sure wont be chopping! Get a warp/halo and push your finger to the limit, the gun wont let you down!
*Reliable electronics. Ever hear of a emag board going down like a angel or timmy's? I havent.
*Beefy solinoid! This isnt some weak solinoid like most electro's. This is built for alot of use and its clearly visable...
*Simple. For a electro, it doesnt get anymore uncomplicated then this. Also comes with a video for people who need a little more help.
*Small!!, When i opened the box and found the 10" barrel is longer then the gun i was amazed! Playes extremely tight even with a big tank.
Weaknesses: *Weight, its heavier then pretty much all electro's, but the quality of the build is clear when you hold it. The X-mags fixes this completely.
*Battery pin. Easy to lose, ive lost one. Can be remidied by using something to tie it to the hose or trigger guard.
*Doesnt come with wall-charger. I hate having to charge it in my car :(.
Conclusion: This electro is everything i could want in a paintball marker. It does everything i want it to do. Its fast, accurate and reliable.
Thanks Tom Kaye, Jon, and the rest of AGD for giving me this experience.
I would recommend this marker to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lee101 Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic Automag, RT, Angel
Marker Setup: Virtical Feed body.
Centerflag With Dropforeward
revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
*Halo B
*Level 10 is a must
*New barrel
Strengths: Insane Rate of Fire (easy trigger bounce)
Small and Compact
Reliable
Weaknesses: Heavy as Mags Go
Paintball Blender
On/Off pin easliy lost
Stock barrel stinks
Review: Well I bought this gun before the level 10 or the Halo B was out. Sadly I chopped so much (by so much I mean multuple times every game) with it that I let it go. I am a real mag lover and it was not an easy decision. At the time virtical feed barrels were difficult to get a hold of too. Thus I learned to hate the crown point stock barrel provided.

Huge progress has been made with the Emag since I let it go. Probably the most important is the creation of the Level 10.

YOU MUST BUY THE LEVEL 10!!!!
MUST BUY!!!!!

Now they make hoppers that can keep up with the Emag, Cool, I wish I still had the gun.

Battery 8
The first thing I noticed about the Emag was the battery pack on the front of the gun. I looks pretty uncomfortable but actually was not too bad. I was a little heavy and jigled around a little. The battery pack must be removed to rechang every time. This was annoying because my compressed setup got in the way. The removable battery is a good idea if a secondary battery wasn't so expensive.

Charger 10
I had some trouble chargin the battery the first couple of time, I got allot of half changes that didn't last the day. After several uses the charger seemed to work better, weard. A nice feature about the AGD charger is that it can take a simple 12v wall wart plug. No need to buy an expensive wall to car adapter so you can charge the battery inside.

Grip Frame 10
The Emag is the fat heavy grip frame. I is heavy because it has an over sized Selenoide to pull the mechanical trigger. This both good and bad. Bad because it is heavy and makes the power requirements higher. Good because it makes it more reliable than other electronic grips. The frame also has a LED display, this is easy to read in all conditions. Not sexy but it works well.

Triger/Modes 10
The magnit trigger is different. I liked it. Electro mode was nice and snappy, easy to shoot fast when learned. Hybrid mode... "the thing shoot on it's own". Manual mode shoots just like an RT but the double trigger is very nice. I used manual several times when I first got the gun. charging problem.

Body 8
Just like any other mag, rugged/heavy. Well not so rugged when you friend picks it up by the barrel and drops it on the feed neck. I had the polished body, it quicly lost it's original shine because of numerous small scratches. Also my friend dropped it and the feed neck broke off. Guns get abused and they should handel it.
Conclusion: Overall I like this gun. It should be very useable now that the level 10 and halo B are out. The gun shoot pleanty fast, plays tight, performs right. It is bassically an RT but electoronic. I think the new aluminum X mag should be a much better replacement, but the Emag is a solid(heavy) gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brett24 Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Shockers, other mag products, and any other low end guns
Marker Setup: AGD Emag, Teardrop Freak barrel system, 68ci 3000psi nitro duck tank, Evolution 2 hopper, Shocktech dropforward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, preferably an ID matching system. Halo or Evolution 2 hopper.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, durable, trigger magnets (hey everyones using them now)
Weaknesses: heavy, costly (what high end isnt though), stupid barrel nubbins, on/ off pin.
Review: This is the greatest gun out there. Well except for maybe the Xmag. Its insanely fast. I cant even get the thing to put out the RoF its capable of. It gets 750 shots out of a 68ci 3000psi tank which isnt horrible. To all those out there that say it chops, get a real hopper! Try the halo or Evo 2. If you had the money for the gun you should of had the money for the hopper too. I didnt chop much before but I never chop with my Evo 2 now. Dumped 1500 rounds through the gun 2 days ago and didnt even get a barrel break. Did I happen to mention that was even after the steel nubbin broke in my barrel. Oh and no lvl ten bolt in mine either. It even shot Zap paint sold at a huge chain sporting goods store. Not to mention some Brass Eagle paint that had to be cleaned because of a bunch of broken balls in the bag. The only thing I really dont like is the wieght, but what yah going to do, and the activation magnet screw in the trigger stripps out very easily. Oh one last thing electronics stores sell wall chargers for like 20 bucks. So while your out getting your new hopper so no one has to listen to you whine about chopping any more pick one of those up too.
Conclusion: Over all a beautiful marker. Think I'll have to get the c&c body when it becomes more available, but thats just out of vanity. Also because I hate chrome. Other than that save yoru pennies kiddies its worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

dyslexiapaintba Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Intimidators
Karnivor Autocockers
Ego's
about all high end electro markers really
RTPro
ULE Custom
And I got to hold an X-mag once
Marker Setup: Black ULE E-mag with Empire Revolver barrel, Redz rail and on/off, CCM mid rise feedneck, and X-mod software.
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-mod
Good Barrel
Strengths: Low Profile
Mechanical Override
AGD relyablity
LX antichop system
Weaknesses: Air efficiancy
Alittle heavy
No eye LX makes up for it though
Review: First off, I've used about every high end marker out there and can definatly say this is the best marker I have ever used. The level 10 works great at avoiding chops, I actually break less paint with my E-mag then I do with my Intimidator. The marker marker has a mechanical over ride so if you batterys go down you just flip a switch and keep on going. I have used Mags for years and my origonal one from about 1995 still works great so relyablity from them is awsome plus AGD has what is probably the best customer service out there. It is alittle on the heavy side, it doesn't weigh a ton but it is noticeably heavier than my Timmy. Now, this is a high pressure gun and while I still get about one hopper for every 200PSI out of my 68CU tank which isn't too bad at all you can only go down to about 600psi befor the marker flat won't shoot anymore so you can't shoot very deep into your tank. Both of these are minor problems but they do need to be addressed. Really I love this gun and like I said it is definatly my favorite.
Conclusion: I would highly reccomend this marker to anyone who is looking for a high end electro. It shoots great is extreamly relyable and an awsome preformer. The Trigger is great, very similar to the trigger on the Karnivor Autococker but I like the mags better. Like I said I would highly reccomend.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sactownslappies Wednesday, October 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Karnivor - E2 (accurate, fast,not as reliable as the automag family)
Shocker - nerve board (very similar, not as consistent with velocity as a mag)
Nerve (one of my favorite guns, but requires more attention to keep working properly)
05 Ego - virtue board (ego is the best, but still does not compare when it comes to ease of use and reliability)
68 automag (one of my first guns over 13 years ago - still kicks a**)
Marker Setup: Nerve - nerve board (obviously), freak kit, halo "boarded", 68-3000 x-fire)
05 Ego - virtue board, empire loader, dye boomstick, 68-4500 x-fire, etc)
Micro E-Mag 3.2 - eggy boarded, dye boomstick, 684500 x fire
68 mag - don't really use anymore
Recommended
Upgrades:
New programming (depending on what yours came with) - recommended 3.2 or the predator board if you want ramping
Strengths: Low Maintenance!!!!
Consisent Velocity
Fast (if you have fast fingers or ramping) 26bps
Looks good

Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Hard on paint
upgrades hard to come by
Battery pack is heavy
Review: After 12-13 years of paintball I've owned or used every type of marker from pgp's to egos, and the mags and cockers are the only two that still haven't been outdated, or needed much improvement to still be competative.
I love my e-mag, always will. I may not use every time I play, but I will still take it up against other timmy's, ego's, angels, and hold my own. The e mag is still just as fast as any other gun (provided you have the software for it).
If you want to compete using an emag you just need to:
*relocate the battery pack (it is way to heavy)
*get a predator board (so you have ramping)
*put a foamy on your bolt (because it is hard on paint without)
*make sure level 10 bolt is installed (never chop a ball again)
*install eyes (if you don't trust the level 10)
Conclusion: Awesome - This gun will never let you down. New/ young players will always be asking "hey is that an old shocker or something??" You can tell them, this is where shockers came from. Or tell them, "don't you know that this is what Oh Pawlak uses??? ":). anyways, buy one!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 18th, 2006 at 11:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media