paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Afterburner / Brass Eagle Afterburner / Brass Eagle Afterburner / Brass Eagle Afterburner

Brass Eagle Afterburner Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Afterburner

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Afterburner
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Afterburner sets the standard for value priced, metal, semi-automatic markers with features that include a lightweight aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a newly redesigned field strip pin, a self-locking velocity adjustment, vertical feed, two panel grip, double finger trigger, laser engraving and newly redesigned top cocking bolt. The Afterburner is designed to play a defining role in this new semi-automatic marker category.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Afterburner is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
moparfury67 Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray(pretty bad)
Marker Setup: pmi sts pf g3 , stage 4 expansion chamber, drop forward, j&j ceramic 14'', 12oz , on off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel , front grip or expansion chamber, dropforward
Strengths: cheap,materials are good and strong, egronomics, stock features
Weaknesses: barrel,trigger pull,. being a brass eagle youll get made fun of
Review: the gun broke 5 balls out of the 200 round hopper, the trigger pull is long which precludes to slwer shot rates, the guns is durable and the bottomline helps with egronomics
barrel is loud and not too good but it is ok to play with if you are a casual player
Conclusion: if this gun is upgraded it could become a very nice piece of equipment,if upgraded properly you can beat all the people who have made fun of you bc of it being a be
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

kyng kajun Monday, September 29th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
triton 2, marauder, stingray 2, i have used most of all the brass eagle material
Marker Setup: my current setup is a spyder elite w/ a compact trigger frame, 14 ounce tank, 14 inch. view loader barrel

have the after burner as a back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel(most viewloader barrels fit), and a bigger tank then the stock 9ounce
Strengths: pretty accurate, gas conservity is great, cheap
Weaknesses: other than the silver barrel not much, pretty good for Brass eagle
Review: this gun is a great piece of material for the price, it shoots well, looks pretty good and is great on gas consumption. you might want to buy a longer barrel but the stock one works great. the marker is only 100$ at walmart and works great. thats right Brass Eagle finally made a marker that works well
Conclusion: i think if u want to get into the sport of paintball and dont want to spend alot for a descent gun this is the one for u. it comes with a electronic hopper which is cool
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

dude14 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL orion( same price, little better)
any cheap spyder
Marker Setup: VL orion
20 oz c02
14"PMI razzor
VL200
Recommended
Upgrades:
DEFINETLY, a new barrel ( PMI razzor, sp teardrop, something....)
An electronic hopper if you have quick fingers
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
Gas efficient
Accurate with new barrel
Decent range
Weaknesses: Cruddy stock barrel
Low feed rate
Loud
Review: ok, this is actually a decent gun. The stock barrel on mine was unbeleivably crummy. It broke lots of balls. If you are too poor to buy a new barrel, use tough paint like blue streaks. If you do have the money to buy a new barrel, get either a PMI razzor or some kind of cheap barrel ( Demon, various sniper barrels) off ebay. The feed rate is crummy, if you shoot more than 4-5 a sec, you will break paint on the bolt, thanks to brass eagles wonderful feed design. I think that an electronic hopper, even a cheap one, would help greatly. This is an accurate gun with a PMI razzor, and it has a decent range, i'd say further than the average 45$ BE. I like this gun. shoots great with new barrel. Great backup.

*EDIT*- reliability is a problem. The thing had to be cocked back every time yesterday, dunno why, it wasnt the co2. It still shot far though, even though it was single shot. It was weird. I just fixed it by taking it apart, oiling it, and changing the 0-rings. Actually, im beginning to get a little annoyed with this gun. Its low quality and weird. Oh, and i got a spyder stock barrel for it. It shoots great, but loud. I thikn im gonna lower the rating of it, its not reliable and the stock barrel sucks.
Conclusion: This is a good gun for beginners and intermiediates alike. It shoots nicely and very accurately with a new barrel, and it is kindadurable. There are better guns out there though, but i like it anywayz. Just change the o-rings and oil it alot.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 12th, 2005 at 7:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jarlath Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Avenger - Almost Identical.
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 w/o RT
Flatline Barrel
Collapsing Stock
Remote Coil - 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - SP Progressive is good for that.
Strengths: See Review.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: Strengths:
1. Lightweight
2. Cheap
3. Overall Strength (Metal body)
4. Decent looking
5. Excellent grip
6. Holds loaders solid in vertical neck
7. Quick Pin stripping for fast cleaning.

Weaknesses:
1. Accuracy, stock barrel is pretty poor
2. Needs a drop forward if using larger tanks (20oz is in the way)
3. When it chops paint, it is all over. Ball detent leaks paint, barrel ports drip it.
4. Cocking lever cycles in front of view making for a possible annoyance when using.

Hey looks alot like my Avenger review. That is because the Afterburner uses pretty much the exact same internals and barrel as an Avenger. The major differences are as follows. Quick pin internals release allows for much faster internal cleaning but I recommend a full takedown every couple thousand balls or so. Color is better now with the black versus Avenger's bright red (personal preference). The cocking lever is in motion during firing right in you field of vision which may be a distraction to some players. Also the Vertical Neck is a bit higher than the Avenger's so has a slightly larger profile. So it's both better and worse that it's predecessor.
Conclusion: As I only used this in testing I cannot say if the newer layout would be superior to the Avenger or not in quality or reliability, but since all the insides are basically the same I will give them the benefit of the doubt and say that it is on par with the Avenger. A good starter marker for beginners and for indoor arenas (Non-Speedball), with a cheap but better barrel it's most likely equal to well used Tippman 98 rentals at most fields. Another solid 8 from me for it's cost/performance/intended market.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

graham802 Wednesday, May 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel G7
Dye DMC
E-mag
NONE COMPARE
Marker Setup: BE AfterBurned,24oz Nitrogen, dye ultralite, dye stickies, anti-chop lv 10 bolt, duel optic custom laser eyes, custom regulator, custom metal frame, sweet spot trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
All of the above
Strengths: Fast, accurate, quiet, easy to customize, never chops
Weaknesses: NOTHING, this gun can easily sqish an Angel, DMC, E-mag, etc
Review: Omg, this gun looks SO cool first, off, i called it love at first sight. When i took it home, for cheap, i tested it out, and immedeatly knew she was the one. She can hit anything i can see, i took her out to the ocean and hit a guy in the ass that was walking along an oil barge three miles out. I can walk her alot easier than any Angel ive owned, and i cant even hear her when i fire, it is the most amazing gun ever. It is impossible to scratch, i threw her off a building, she wouldn't even scratch.
Conclusion: ZOMG buy it, it will be amazing for you for ever!! This is the gun Jesus would use if he had to Light people up in speedball

I give it 100,000 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 10th, 2006 at 8:14 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

bobisntmyname Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: afterburner
co2
spyder stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel FOR SURE
Strengths: Accurate wit new barrel
Powerful
Gas efficient
Weaknesses: Horrrible stock barrel
Review: I got this gun asa bak-up and i like it alot. It holds its own agains spyders and other higher-priced guns. its the first good BE gun since the rainmaker. Good job BE. haha, well the stock barrel is unplayable, get any new barrel. i slapped a spyder stock one on there and it shoots awesome.
Conclusion: Get it anda new barrel. i like it alot. JUST GETA NEW BARREL AND YOU WILL SEE A WORLD DIFFERENCE!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

v555ryan Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
super soakers
Marker Setup: Orracle with some stuff on it
Recommended
Upgrades:
a garbage can to put it in
Strengths: people might think it was in Top Gun cause of the name
Weaknesses: everything Ice Man
Review: This gun is hilarious. My friend bought one and i think he shot it zero time before it started to fall apart. And i mean literally fall apart, co2 was coming out of cracks and screws would shake loose from the earthquake force this thing produced. What else can i say, this thing is a piece.
Conclusion: The only reason this gets a 2 is cause it was so funny watching him play and the way he threw it into the woods at the end of the day. Wait no, it still gets a 1.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

GoatWarrior Wednesday, July 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion- basically same gun
Spyder victor- Same performance, more popular and upgradable
Spyder aggressor-same performance, popular
BE Stingray upgraded-better
Marker Setup: - CCI Phantom -
-completely stock

- BE Stingray-
- Lapco Barrel adapter, PMI Razzor
-acrylic ball detent
-starfire bolt
-camoflauge paintjob

Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL
good paint
Strengths: cheap
Unpopular
upgradable
decent on Co2
Weaknesses: Bad reputation
terrible, poop-launcher stock barrel
Review: My dad bought this gun in one of those started kits at wal mart years ago. He played with it a few times and then forgot about it. I use it as a backup and as an extra gun for when people need one. All i can say is, it performs quite well with a new, better barrel. I put a PMI razzor on there, it shoots wonderfully.
With the stock barrel, this gun is an inaccurate, ball-breaking peice of poop. If BE would of had the brains to put a halfway decent stock barrel on there, I'm sure the rating for this gun would be much higher. The gun itself is great. It's kind of awkward to put back together when you field strip it, but other than that, the gun itself is great. I honestly beleive it is the same as or better than any of those spyder victors or aggressors my friends shoot. It has for sure, FOR SURE, outlasted them. Its still going strong years later when they have had to replace their guns, and it does get used a lot.
All you have to do to make this a good, reliable, dangerous gun is to FIRST- get a new barrel, a decent barrel not over 12-14". SECOND- make sure you are using a good hopper( VL 200) THIRD- Take it apart and oil it well, change the o-rings when they need it. FOURTH- Shoot halfway decent paint. If you shoot mid-grade paint with this mid-grade gun, you will be quite satisfied.
Conclusion: There are better guns than this out there, but my afterburner is pretty old and has held up quite nicely over the years. It's right at almost 5 years old now. Don't assume because it is a brass eagle that it is trash. The stock barrel is trash. The gun itself is reliable and durable. Slap a Razzor on there or something decent. Use decent paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoyJigga Saturday, May 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray (Not so great)
Tipmann 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: VL Orion
20 oz c02
14"PMI Razzor
VL200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel.
Better Tank
Strengths: Adjustable Velocity.
Durable tournament grade frame.
Accurate.
Gas Efficient.
Nice Range.
Very Affordable.
Weaknesses: Crud Stock Barrel.
Let's face it, most guns come with crappy stock barrels.
Review: All-in-all, this is a very decent gun. I mean, it's not the best gun out there, but it's a good starter and backup gun. And with it's price, it makes it an even better gun for people who just don't know which gun to get, If you get yourself a new barrel, this gun can become very lethal.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to starters and Intermediates out there. It's cheap, durable, and gas efficient.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 24th, 2009 at 8:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Weapons Master Thursday, November 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder Xtra, brass eagle raider
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R with folding stock and electronic trigger i use the stock afterburner as a backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, new spring kit.
Strengths: Very CO2 efficient, dosn't break balls much, easy field striping. lightweight, strong, durable, cheap.
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull, slow shooting, inaccurate, can be weak, have to oil a lot.
Review: I once went to play paintball with my friends for about 4 hours and i used about 16oz of CO2 . It is a very strong durable gun made mostly of steel (except trigger). the stock barrel can be very inaccurate highly recommend a new one. it never really shot very hard with me. i then got a spyder spring kit and it worked fine after that. i bought it for about $100 and it came with a 9oz co2 tank, mask, and squeegee. its very reliable.
Conclusion: Its good for how much you pay for it. Recommend for beginners and a little for intermediate players. Good long lasting gun. Not rated that good because it seems to be a primitive gun now that i own an electronic gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media