paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel LCD / WDP Angel LCD / WDP Angel LCD / WDP Angel LCD

WDP Angel LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel LCD

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel LCD
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 170
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
WDP have released a Limited 2003 edition of the Angel LCD. This sleek new design is scheduled to hit stores in January and as the pictures show is possibly the coolest cut ever to be seen on an LCD. WDP have used the same new laser guided CNCís which carve the awesome IR3 to give the LCD a heavenly new look, the 03 comes with a dust finish in Silver, Black or Blue variants. As with any WDP product it does not stop with the looks; The 03 includes the IR3ís gated feed system, a chain frame as standard, complete with custom trigger, and utilizes the IR3ís smaller and more efficient 14 way valve and Supa-glide ram. The new LCD also has the strengthened board, with hardened Vibes and Micro-switch connection. Altogether an awesome package. The most surprising part we have left until last, the LCD 03 actually retails at well under a thousand dollars, which makes it the most affordable Angel out there, and a terrific option for those players who cannot afford to step up to get the Angel IR3.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
joker99 Wednesday, July 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
(these are the guns I have owned and played with) Bob Long Intimidator, Custom Cocker, ReTroMag, minimag, Model 98, VM-68, P/T Enforcer, Nightmare Longbarrel. I also compared the IR3 & GZ.
Marker Setup: 2001 Silver LCD Angel, Gladiator Reg, Freak Barrel, Cobra stick trigger, Crossfire 88ci, volumizer (does nothing), warp feed & x-board 12v revvy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Right away, you need nothing. I chose to add different accessories for varying reasons. A Freak is a real good investment in my opinion, it allows you to shoot any size paint, and matches the size of the ball for good accuracy. Warp feed, it's sweet, never have a problem with it, and man it rocks... but it is pricey.
Strengths: 1. ROF - yeah it is capped at 13 in its multi-fire modes, but in semi, it can go as high as 20 bps. The marker shoots WAY FAST, even with a slow trigger finger, it is easy to bang out 8 or 9 bps. This cannot be stressed enough, the LCD is FAST FAST FAST.

2. Accuracy/Range - I have (and swear by) a Freak. It provides superior performance to the stock barrel by allowing you to fit the barrel directly to the paint. It also allows you to shoot any type/size of paint big ball or hellfire. The Freak is also pricey though. The stock barrel (an Infinily Jacko) is decent for a stock barrel, and I have teammates who still use their Infinity barrel, so replacement is not absolutely necessary, but I have found superior performance with the Freak.

3. Low/No Maintenence - You put a couple drops of oil into the exhaust port when you first get it, and that's it (then wipe the bolt after you dry fire it a few times). To clean it, wipe it down with a damp cloth. Occasionally you'll need to charge it, but the charges last a long time.

4. Reliability - It shoots, and not just sometimes, it shoots EVERYTIME. You take it out of the box, adjust your velocity, and shoot.. it works, it always works, and is the most reliable gun I have ever owned.

5. Style - I am not into buying guns for the style or intimidation points you get from them, however, I get tons of comments about the LCD.
Weaknesses: 1. Ok, the bad.. I can think of 1150 bad things about the LCD (it cost me $1150). The gun is expensive. If you want to accessorize it, expect to spend a couple hundred more.

2. The little buttons on the handgrip are difficult to push if you wear any type of gloves when you play. This is a huge pain in the ass. I recently was told that Custom Products makes buttons (nickel plated) that look better than the red, orange and green AND they stick out a tiny bit further, making it much easier to push the buttons.

3. The breech knob, the LCD comes with this little plastic P.O.S. breech knob. Mine stripped off the very first time I opened the breech. They only cost $12.95, and I got a matching annodized aluminum one from KAPP, but you would think that when you spend $1150 on a marker it'd have a good knob. My teammates have no problem with their breech knobs.. maybe I just got a bad one, it happens.

4. WDP Minireg, it is too short for a good grip (I'm a big guy). Understand I am REALLY nitpicking here.. the mini-reg works for everyone under the sun, but I thought it was simply not for me.
Conclusion: I have shot and compared my 2k1 LCD to virtually every other tournament level marker out there, in particular the IR3 and GZ. I recommend the 2k1LCD, it shoots amazingly fast, accurately, and it ALWAYS WORKS. It is comfortable, and chic. Plus I never have to do anything to maintain it. Prices are dropping on these puppies, pick one up now. Also, on a related note, everyone who complains about chopping paint should understand you cannot set your Maximum rate of fire (MROF) faster than your hopper can feed you, or you risk chopping paint--end of story. I have a warp feed.. I can't outshoot it, I don't chop, skip, hiccup, or anything. It is awesome. If you use a 12v revvy.. set your MROF to 11 BPS and you won't chop a thing. This is the only marker I have ever owned that I can say I am completely happy with--it is truly deserving of the rating I gave it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarCry9 Friday, January 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Electros
Marker Setup: 2k1 Red C+C
Too Much Stuff to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast Loader like an EvoII
Wont need a new barrel right away, stock is fine
Strengths: As a given this is a very fast marker.
As long as the dwell and rof are set correctly this thing rips no matter what.
Very simple design, as compared to more confusing guns.
Not too tall or too wide.
Very effecient battery.
Head turner, very many comments made about my particular angel.
Quiet
Shoots nice strings of paint
Accurate
Efficient
Very rugged, and strong
no maitinence
easy field strip
easy clean

You have one and your opponents dont.
Weaknesses: A little heavier than some, but its not heavy.
If its set wrong u r screwed.
Thin anno, scratches easily.
Conclusion: A great gun, absolutely amazing, always a head turner. I would recommend it to anyone moving into the tourney scene, who has some extra cash for an incredible gun. Im so happy with it :)

(--|)
====------ . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
/ |
(== )=|
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 12th, 2001
 
5 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun looks great. Probably the coolest looking gun I have seen in paintball. Other than that I have no other good things to say. Game timer is good. Very quiet gun!!!
Weaknesses: First off the price, Its outrageous!!! You can pay this if you want but I'm telling you there are electronic guns out there that are less expensive, as fast as, and probably less likely to break paint than an angel. I see more angel owners spending time cleaning there barrels. I don't know about you but I like to play the game and clean my gear in between games than during them. I found that having all these modes of fire are good for nothing!!! How many tournaments do you go to and play in full auto or 6 shot zip? The LCD screen and electronics don't do much for you. I will say the game timer is nice but thats it. I don't care to see how many balls I shot through it...That just reminds me of all the paint breaks I've had:-) They finaly woke up and put a decent battery in it for 2001. This gun has no range. If you are a back player, this gun is not for you. for this much money they should be able to give you a "good" stock barrel and a decent looking barrel plug? I have seen many problems with these guns and have not jumped on the Angel band wagon. And no I am not Jealous...I just call them as I see them!!
Conclusion: I would not recomend this gun to anyone unless you are attending a airtech school. Over priced, poor shooter (compared to other electros I have seen) Paint breaker. I am not basing this review on one gun, I have seen this in many degrees!!! The new Emag is a good choice if you want a high end gun. It is relatively new, but I have seen good things including the Name of quality (Airgun Designs) and the new Matrix is a good one!!! It is totally up to you what you want, but think if you need all the modes of fire, A LCD display, and the name of angel (probably 30%% of cost). Or are you looking for a gun that has more range, less paint breaks, and shoots a paintball at 290FPS without all the gadgets??? Think about it?
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

007 Thursday, August 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker STO
Impulse
Shocker
Marker Setup: 12 inch Dye Broomstick (for speedball)
16 inch Freak Barrel (for woods)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel if you want to get something extra out of gun. Even with stock still the best gun out there.
Strengths: -Very Fast
-Accurate
-Quiet
-Trigger is like a mouse click
Weaknesses: Easy to overshoot other players (not always a bad thing, can always claim they called themselves out but there where still 11 balls in the air.)
Conclusion: This gun is not for everyone. I love it, why? I'm one of those sick people who love seeing friends running away with their guns over their heads yelling "Ow-ow-ow-ow-ow-ow!!!" . Or the panicked scream of a newbie yelling. These things make me happy. There are plenty of people who will knock this gun, but most of them can not afford one. Ask anyone at your local field, it may not be as accurate as other guns. But it's close and a lot more fun. Isn't that the whole point?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gsxrmike Saturday, June 12th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Karnivore
WGP 2004 Stock Cocker
Marker Setup: 2002 Blue Cut and Carved LCD
Evolution with Z Board
Centerflag Product 68/4500 420 reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
a corporate FedEx account to ship it back to service
Strengths: Simple design
high ROF
Stock barrel is deadly accurate
tons of upgrades
no recoil
Weaknesses: CHARGING SYSTEM SUCKS!!!!!
Review: Before I get into my review, I want to say that when the Angel LCD is working, it's an incredible gun. It shoots darts, you can rip out a sick amount of ammo with it, and hit exactly what you aim for. The first year I owned this gun I loved it.

The problem I've had with my gun is the charging system. I have had 5 charging problems since I purchased the gun, all starting about a year after owning it. The warranty on these gun is garbage, you are on your own.

I have sent my gun back to angelparts.com on 3 seperate occasions. I have compiled a arsenal of batteries, charges and boards that have all failed. I have 2 boards at $75 each plus installation and shipping, 4 batteries at $50 each plus installation and shipping, and 2 chargers at $40 each plus shipping.

I wish they made a simple 9V conversion kit for this gun. The charging system is garbage and will haunt you for the life of this gun. WDP sucks when it comes to fixing your gun. You have to mail it to service centers like angelparts.com, who take a month to return your gun and charge you at least $130 each trip for shipping, parts and labor.
Conclusion: When I went to the Tampa NPPL Super 7 in May, I went to the WDP tent to see if someone could help me. Sure, they had plenty of strippers walking around in sexy shorts and tops, but no one was interested in helping me out. I even went to the repair tent and all 5 of the techs sitting there told me to go to hell.

It made me really feel like sh*t for buying their product. I was even debating buying a new A4 Fly, but when they treated me like that and ran me around, I put my angel back in the duffel bag, walked over to the WGP booth and dropped $1500 on a new Karnivore, WGP 70ci/4500 Peanut Tank, and clear zboard viewloader. I was litterally 2 minutes from buying a $1400 Fly until they jerked me around.

They could have cared less about me or my 2002 Angel LCD. I asked where I could get it repaired, and they told me "same place that has been fixing it all along, next!"

Thanks to the WDP folks at the Tampa NPPL Super 7 for turning me on to a new Karnivore with a lifetime warranty. Sure, WDP advertises with tons of sex and women, but all that a$$ doesnt do you any good when you are at home trying to get your marker to work. No wonder countless teams are dropping this company

Mike

Tampa, FL

Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

condog22471 Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Angel Lcd 2k3 with freak barrel system, smart parts 4500/68cu in max flo system, odyssey halo b, custom products volumizers,cp low rise feed, cp breech knob,and kapp 15 degree vertical adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, and definitly halo hopper or evo 2
Strengths: fast,accurate,easy maintnence
Weaknesses: shaky trigger but doesnt really get in way
Review: I love this gun, theres not that many flaws, its fast and accurate, what more can i say, its the best gun that ive had an im not gonna sell it, hey if it breaks too,two words: lifetime warranty. apparently i have too few words so im just gonna bs the rest of this by adding sentences that has nothing ot do twith the angel. lets go pens steelers and pirates, hooray for everything.
Conclusion: i think if oytur looking for a good cheap angel you should get thje 2003 model.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lmcp_10 Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4 Fly And ICD Freestyle
Marker Setup: This is the best marker that i have ever tried.Its fast and accurate and super light.Ive likend it so much im even gonna buy one.
Recommended
Upgrades:
NO UPGRADES THE GUN IS TOO GOOD.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Silent
Weaknesses: You need to know a lot about paintball to use this marker.
Review: The fisrt day i used this gun i fell inlove with it.First i wanted to buy a Shcoker but when i tested this angel i sended my shcoker to hell im getting my angel.Now i have my angel and its super fast,super light,super accurate and super silent.
Conclusion: Try this marker im not kidding.If you want a shocker send it to hell it buy the angel 2002 lcd.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sep Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: 2001 Lcd Angel-($1000)-(Bought it in 2002)
evo2-($60)
88ci-crossfire 4500-(free)
dye ultrilight-(free)
4inch drop on/off-(free)
volumizer-($10)
new litheum battery (lighter to the stock batteries)-($30)
twist-lock low rise feed neck-($15)
new stainless steel ram head-(ebay for $10)
Evil twist bolt-($25)
Door seals-($10)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel is a good barrel but recommend an upgrade.
Evil twist bolt.
Strengths: Anyone can rip on this angel.
shoots nice
quiet
balanced
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Heavy,cost
Review: The 2001 Lcd is a great gun for a tourney player or even today in 2005 WDP has came out wiht many other styles of angel some much faster and some even with sensers. best thing to do is go to a field look around if u find an angel ask somone if u can fire it try it out find one that u like and try them all
Conclusion: Check around fields and stores try finding some guns you might want to buy and test fire as many as possible
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elvispudge Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel ir3
Angel fly
e-autococker
Marker Setup: 2001 Angel LCD
smart parts tear drop barrel
angel air
halo LED Backman hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper
Strengths: -FAST
-doesn't chop paint -easy to clean barrel and internal area
-easy to use
Weaknesses: None
Review: this is a great gun not for beginners, but if you are looking ino starting to play tournaments and things like that then you should upgrade to this marker. this gun is over all the best marker i have ever owned.

if you decide to purchas this gun you will need a fast hopper to keep up with the fire fate.
some of the reviews say that the gun breaks paint a lot. they are wrong. this marker has never broke paint on me before and i dont think ever will. my friends and i started a team and we all have angels(not the same type) i have never seen any of them ever break a single ball( unless the wrong barrel size was used, or balls were warped)
Conclusion: in conclusion the gun is
-easy to use
-easy to clean
-fast
-looks cool(will turn lots of heads)
-doesn't need many upgrades(volumizers and hopper that is it)
-stock barrel is pretty good
-don't break the bank buying this gun. i went on Ebay and got one for $450 no scratches or anything and works great. buy used you will get your moneys worth.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 at 5:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SKIZZEL Sunday, May 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
armotech mars evo, pmi pirhana e-bl
Marker Setup: angel lcd, 88ci tank, 12v revolution, infinity 8 series
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: fast
easy to use
low matinence
easy to use lcd
Weaknesses: barrel
air consumption
Review: this marker is very nice and i have no complaints except for the barrel but that is easily fixed. i bought mine used and he showed me the gun and i was blown away because i had never seen an angel before. i knew it right away that this was the right gun for me and i would never buy another marker again.
Conclusion: i reccomend this to anyone with a "big pocket". If your looking for a great marker here it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media