paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster / Splatmaster

Splatmaster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Splatmaster

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Splatmaster
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This single shot plunger action pump is fed by tubes which are inserted into the front (top barrel) of the gun. It is powered by a 12 gram CO2 cartridge.
Product Availability 
The Splatmaster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
TZX-ZX Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ-1000
Nelspot 007
Nelspot 707
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, Taso 14" Nickel barrel, LAPCO grip block and drop, Hand-polished internals, CAR stock with RVA. (Main Gun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, upgrades are tacky and worthless, really.
If you want however, you can get a barrel extension if you can find it (very rare).
You can also get a direct feed mod, which you need to physically cut your gun to use.
Strengths: Indestructable.
Range.
Accuracy.
Weaknesses: Little aftermarket support.
Parts hard to come by.
Fickle CO2 piercer and Gasket.
Review: Where to start? The splatmaster was more or less the first mass produced widely available paintball marker made specifically for the game of paintball. Other guns of it's time such as the Nelspot and the Crosman 3357 weren't originally designed for paintball. The first thing you'll notice when handling the splatmaster is that it's made of a brittle, thin polymer plastic. Don't worry though, it isn't going to break unless you actually try to break it. It is an extremely sturdy gun, it can be caked with mud and still force out shots.

The way the gun operates is fairly interesting and hasn't been copied by any other paintball gun out there (excluding the GZ-1000, as it was made by NSG who also made the splatmaster) The 'Push-in' pump system is very user friendly and conveniently placed in the rear of the gun. Theres only one problem with it, and that is that you can't fire the gun as fast as an autotrigger pump gun. However if you are using the splatmaster as a sidearm, that really shouldn't be a problem at all.

The range and accuracy of the gun is extremely impressive, seeing as the gun's barrel is rather 'different'. The barrel is completely made of plastic and offers little compared to most barrels most markers today use. However, that really doesn't stop the splatmaster. At ranges even further than one would attribute to a sidearm, the splatmaster performs extremely well. Of course accuracy is relative, and the more shots you take, the less range and accuracy the gun will have. The splatmaster isn't exactly known for it's ability to get a lot of 'good' shots out of a 12g co2, which is all you will be using. Talon or Jackal CA Adapters will not work in a splatmaster, so really, don't even try it.

Even the splatmaster isn't without it's downfalls however. If it breaks or causes problems, you best know paintball guns and know how to make replacement parts yourself, otherwise you are pretty much screwed. I have on a few occasions seen GZ-1000 parts kits on ebay, which are compativle parts with the Splatmaster. There's also little to upgrade on the splatmaster.

The biggest complaint I've heard from splatmaster users is that the co2 piercer doesn't always work great with the plunger. Sometimes you can screw your co2 powerlet in all the way and it works absolutely fine, but other times you can screw one in all the way and the gun will hiss and gurgle until the co2 is all out. Most leaks are caused by a faulty gasket, they seem to detereorate after all the years the gun has been in use.

A minor problem depending on the person, is that if you are using 10 round tubes, the tubes often times fall out after a few shots and while running around a lot. Also, you can shove the tubes in too far, and have to grab a stick or something and stick it through the view window to jarr the tube out.
Conclusion: If you're looking for an inexpensive, extremely reliable pump sidearm, there really is no better choice than the Splatmaster (PGP compares, but when splatmasters are readily available for 2-40 dollars US, there really is no comparison.) The splatmaster may have some annoyances, but the advantages far outweigh them, and prove to make a rugged, timeless gun that can still hols it's own today.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Masterkillaz2 Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: A SUPER GUN THE BEST I HAVE YET TO SEE
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Cool. Fun. When out of ammo good for pop shots
Weaknesses: Its a pistol DUH
Review: I brought this gun off of ebay. I carry 2 10 clips with me and a hopper full in my gun. I use it as a S-I-D-E-A-R-M when I run out of ammo I use it to get pop shots. When my gun stops working I throw it over my back (I got a shoulder starp) grab my pistol and fight my way out of the field.

STORY TIME
One day i was playing a huge game 20 folks a team. I had my Eradicator. I was a cover guy. I looked down no balls. I grabed my pistol and fought my way out of there to repair my gun. I also gave cover.

I was in the woods. Then I ran out of air. I had 2 12 grams a 2 clips. I laid down and waited. Saw no one and run for it. I had the pistol shot all 2 clips off and was able to hit 3 enemies.
Conclusion: A good protection gun when in a gang area. I ain't weak but I ain't lookin to make the odds fair. In a fight ill use whatever i got. But pullin it is risky if the other person got a real one. I give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 6th, 2004 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

STcOcker Sunday, July 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: range, accuracy, efficiency I get about 30 shots before I get velocity drop per 12 gram, trigger pull ( it has a pull comparable to an angel or bushy 10 yrs b4 they came out!!) taking apart, putting back together ( i dont know whats so hard I found it extremely easy) color great for woods ball, compact easy to bunker people with
Weaknesses: i havent found anything yet
Conclusion: I just got mine a couple days ago off ebay and I love it, it now resides next to my cocker and is my sidearm and sometimes even my primary. this gun is gret not to hard to pump! get it dont buy a talon or anything this is much better its better in everything even efficiency and ummm it works great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobVsWorld Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G2
Marker Setup: Black-Orange Ripper 2 with VP bolt, pistons, and hoseguard, a function ASA, katana style techna, m3 infamous board, lucky 15 and hybird grips.

Dust black dm6 all stock...soon to have lime green accents or a lime fade.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dont think there are any, and i wouldnt want any for this marker, its good as it is.
Strengths: -See review
Weaknesses: -See review
Review: Well one of my friends let me borrow his NSG Splatmaster for a few games.

Key Strengths:

Weight/Profile/Design- The Spalmaster is a well made marker for its time, and even for today. The design is what I'd call reverse pump action in a way. Rather than pumping the gun back forth, you simply press a black that loads a paintball into the breach, etc. Not as easy as it sounds, the button is fairly hard to push. The barrel is built in to the gun, which is made of plastic. Making for a much smaller barrel, and therefore shaving off the weight a normal aluuminum barrel would have. The gun, as said, is plastic, but this makes for a very lightweight marker. It has the ruggedness of a Tippmann, and the weight of well......anything that weighs a bit more than a pound.

Reloading/Shots off Twelve Gram- Reloading is a snap. Just carry a few plastic tubes with you, a twelve gram or two, any your all set. Reloading is very simple; for paint just pull out the empty tube, and pop in another. For your twelve gram(s), just unscrew the bottom cap, put in another, snap the cap back on and your good to go.

Trigger Pull- Very Light, nice and easy action.Not so short you get misfires, but not so long that by the time you pull the trigger you've been gogged.





Key Weaknesses:

Kick- One of the only that really bothered me about the Splatmaster, is the kick after every shot, which greatly throughs off your accuracy. Other than I never really minded the kick.

Accuracy- Pretty much from kick. ^
Conclusion: The NSG Splatmaster is a well made marker. I highly recomend this marker to those who want a change from traditional play with trixes, timmys, egos and the like to pick one of these up, and enjoy the single shot action thrill of old school paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irregulator Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster
PGP-pump
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
Another Splatmaster for replacing the original, when it breaks.
Strengths: Small
Precise at close range
Strong "put-down" generator when opponent is hit
Durable
Weaknesses: Leaky CO2 reciever
This product is durable but it will break when used regularly
Review: THE GOOD
The tight, compact frame of the splatmaster is very comfortable and capable.

It is easy to load and reload this gun with both ammo and CO2 charges. While not
designed with quick re-arming in mind, with practice it is possible.

It is VERY effective at close range (20 to 40 feet).

THE BAD
The leaky CO2 assembly is the main problem with this gun ( or marker, whatever your choice ).

While impossible to eliminatethis problem, the occational cleaning is a good start.

Be sure to screw the butt-cap in to the proper depth. You pretty much have one chance at this so make it count. If you screw your CO2 cartridge in too far, it leaks. If you screw it in too little, it leaks. However, if you've made each of the above mistakes, your problems are almost over!
Examine the ends of the two, failed, CO2 cartridges. One should have a big hole and the other a small one. Remember how deep you drove them and aim for the middle. Once you get the hang of this, until you have a different CO2 reciver, you'll get it perfect almost everytime.

When your Splatmaster breaks, go buy a new one if it is fiscally sound nowadays. I would do this and play-on for only 25$ when I used these things. When the replacement broke, I would combine the parts and make a single working splatmaster, with parts to spare. Repeat the above as neccessary to continue play!

MANEUVERS
When you're trying to eliminate your opponents, be stealthy and fast. Otherwise, with a Splatmaster, you don't stand much of a chance.

Final tip, if you run out of CO2 while playing and a ball just trickles out, pick it up and throw it at your intended target HARD. He'll have heard your Splatmaster's last gasp and be willing to take a chance looking around the bend.

Good luck!

Conclusion: The only good reason to buy this product now is to tag someone with a round and then rub it in their face as to how they were eliminated by a relic!

Save a Splatmaster, for history

Rated 7/10, because it served me so well for so long.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007, PGP, DSDS Pump, Sidekick Semi, Eagle 68, PTX, Sydarm, Crossman 3357. As far as pump pistols go I enjoy playing with the Splatmaster most of all. The Nelspot is harder to change 12 grams with, the DSDS is nice and light but made of plastic and has cracked in several places and it leaks CO2, the PGP is amazing but I prefer the rear cocking of the Splatmaster.
Marker Setup: All of the above pistols plus several others including a Pirhana, Carbine, original Pirhana (It's like a long barrel PGP). I've also used Automags, an Angel and most Tippmans, Infernos, Spyders etc.

I have the old model PGP with all the goodies. Quick changer, speed loader, adjustable velocity, red bolt, aluminum pump to replace the delron one, rubber grips, brass trigger shoe.

I've had an extra 10 round magazine tube fastened to the top of the Sydarm that feeds into the original 8 round spring fed magazine. A machinist made the appropriate hole for the balls to drop down when I tilt the marker forward. Unlike all other 12 gram pistols I've tried this one has consistant velocity right until the 2nd last shot (# 29 at 265 - 270 FPS) which tells me it's time to change CO2. I've also had it modified to accept constant air whenever I want (a 3.5 oz tank works nicely). Right now I'm having it polished to remove all scratches and nicks and it should look like it's chromed. The AGD Sydarm is the best 12 gram pistol ever made.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Years ago I found a large knurled knob that scews in the 12 gram and it is easier and faster to use than the origional.
Strengths: It's light, surprisingly accurate, shoots any kind of paint in all weather (we play in -30C & +30C up here in Winnipeg and it breaks way less paint than a metal marker in the winter). I have two Splatmasters, one of which I purchased in Minneapolis almost 15 years ago as my first marker. It gets about 40 shots in the 250 - 260FPS range and the other gets about 25 per twelve gram. I have no problem taking them apart or reassembling them.

The bolt and valve are slightly different in the two. The one with the higher efficiency has a bolt that fits into the barrel snugly and has a concave tip. The other is not as tight and is flat on the end.

Easy to clean. Keep it gassed up and dunk it or rinse it under the tap, squeegee, swab and it's done.

I like the feel in the hand, and the extension on the trigger guard where you can rest your middle finger. I much prefer the rear cocking knob to the front slider types. I can pump and fire much more smoothly than with my PGP or other pistols. It works for me.

I made a plug out of a paint tube that fits into the magazine and I pull it out to load each new tube and then put it back in place. That way I don't need to put tape on all of them to keep them from sliding out during play.

You can leave it gassed up in the holster all day and it doesn't lose any CO2. And yes it is practically indestructable.

Play a lot of rec games with this, improve your snap shooting, aim and other skills and when you pull out your big guns for the tournaments you feel like a god.


Weaknesses: In 15 years the only mechanical problem I've had is that in one Splatmaster the piercing pin that punctures the 12 gram wore out and I had to grind it down a bit to make it completely spherical again.

It's a shame they stopped making them. A new model with adjustable velocity would be great.

On one marker the valve has so far been impossible to take apart. I'd like to see if the inside can be tinkered with to work as well as the one that gets 40 good shots.
Conclusion: Great as a light weight, carry all day in a holster backup that will be there for you when you need it. Fun to play with in rec games as my primary. I'll carry the Sydam as my back-up to unload quickly if I'm the last player on my side and they think they can charge or bunker me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FlukeyLukey Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Holster (drop leg, too big for a sholder.)
-Spray it to match your kit!
Strengths: -Durability
-Accuracy
-Power
-Cheap
Weaknesses: -Manual refresh on every shot
-Tube loading
Review: Where do i start?

History
.....I was offered one of these while i was at college, i said yes because i was into paintball and it was only a tenner. It was really cool. I took it home, shot it a bit and looked at pbreview to see what i could do with it. Most people said it was hard to take apart, but i gave it a go. It is so simple inside i thought it was missing some parts! I washed all the parts and put it back together with no problems.
I brought a Viper drop leg holster and cut it to fit the marker. I went off to my feild and everyone thought it was sweet and wanted one. I went back to the bloke a brought it off and brought all that he had, that was 19 splatmasters. Since then i have sold and modded so many of them.

Opinion
This gun is sweet, you can take it apart and put it back together with ease. It is powerfull when the gas is new, and most of them were very accurate considering they all had heavily scratched short plastic barrels. You can up the power on it by swapping the spring or putting washers in it. Only one of them broke, and that was because the fool kept juggling with it and dropping it! These guns are as old as me and have been used and abused for years but kept on going. The plastic easily accepts spray paint for that custom look.
The only problems i have is i have no tubes so i put paint in the top and tape the end shut, this is fine as i only use it as a back up.

Conclusion: Buy the gun, its cheap and cheerful and keeps on going. You can mod it to bits and it works well, my total kills with it so far is 7, which is good because i have only used it in a game 3 or 4 times.
Amazing for a stock weapon.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pbkid39 Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP cocker w/ ups

NSG Splatmaster (side-arm)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, I think there's a company that used to make aftermarket barrels for them but im not sure.
Strengths: * Good accuracy ( for an old gun)
* Fits in holsters
* Nice addition to any collection
Weaknesses: * Can be tricky to take apart..
Thats about it..
Review: The NSG Splatmaster is a great addition to any collection. They are considered as the first marker ever made specifically for the sport of paintball. These markers, even though they're old, shoot surprisingly well. Back in the day, me and my friends all had splatmasters, we used to have big wars and it was pretty awsome. Ahh, those were the days. Anyway, the splatmaster has a nice short trigger pull which is really nice but after awhile the top of the trigger can wear out making the safety not usable, but its always a good idea to carry a broken splatty for extra parts.
Conclusion: If you can find one... then yea get one they're pretty good.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 8th, 2004 at 12:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatmaster14 Sunday, August 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon and Blade. They don't even compare. The Splatmaster is made of a stronger polymer, and the internals are easier to understand and assemble.
It shoots just as far, and obviously lasts longer. (20 years and counting!)
Marker Setup: Stingray II. Bottomline, venturi bolt, 16" barrel, machined foregrip, red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Have a barrel and plunger machined. Find a knurled co2 knob if possible.
Get a Ronin Gear holster.
Strengths: If you put a few washers in the plunger, it works as a shim and gives the gun much more velocity. This also adds to accuracy. The Gun is perfect. Lightweight, accurate, and good on co2. What else do you need? A metal frame? Not necessary.
Weaknesses: There are few mistakes with the marker. One is that there are no aftermarket parts for sale anymore. There used to be. There used to be plenty of parts. Most of them looked funny and were not neccessary, but it made a gun owner feel like if he ever wanted to just buy something to try out, he could. Now, we're lucky to even find the gun.
Conclusion: Buy One. They are easy to find (ebay) and inexpensive when found.
Look also at garage and yard sales.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a talon and a splatmatic and this guns kicks the living crap out of both of them.
Marker Setup: Mine splatmaster is pretty much stock except mine has a special elbow that came with it that lets me use a 65 round hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you can find this hopper and elbow system that was to my knowledge made for this gun and if you find it FOR THE LOVE OF GOD BUY IT!
Strengths: This gun is my favorite gun out of my vast collection of guns. I like this gun because it will shoot very far if there is no wind and it gets many shots out of one 12 gram.It is the greatest pump gun ever made.I wish they still made them.I payed very little for mine and got it used.
Weaknesses: This gun has very few problems. One is NEVER TAKE THIS GUN APART.IT TOOK FOUR OF MY FRIENDS TO PUT IT BACK TOGETHER. In the wind the gun shoots paintballs straight but the balls tend to fly down and to the right.Also the balls don't always pop.And they don't hurt very much i shot my friend in the arm by pressing it agenst it and shooting he didn't even flinch.If possible use brittle balls like hellfires.
Conclusion: THIS GUN ROCKS IF YOU EVER SEE ONE YOU MUST BUY IT.IT will save you one day. And it will provides hours of fun and it will amaze your friends that you will get them out with a pistol while they are using there best guns!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media