paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube / Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube / Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube / Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube / Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube

Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube

Paintball A-5 Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Dead On Paintball has improved on the stock Tippmann power tube and front bolt. It's very smooth because of a precision Teflon insert running on a precision CNC machined billet power tube. This upgrade will improve air efficiency and should increase cycle rate.

This is compatible with the Tippmann Response Trigger System.
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball Pro Seal Front Bolt & Power Tube is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
wc! Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock power tube
Marker Setup: A5, Benchmark Expansion chamber, RT, 14" Freak, PB Drop forward
Strengths: -Its tough.
-The velocity adjustment screw is better than the stock one.
Weaknesses: -Too big.
-It doesn't have a smooth finish.
-Slower cycling.
Review: -You have to split your gun to put it in. Its just a little too big so it won't slide in/out like the stock one.
-It doesn't have a smooth finish. There are little grooves that make it make a "zzzzzzzzzzz" noise like a small zipper when you slide it. Teflon is great for reducing friction but the surface has to be smooth first people. Picture Teflon on a saw.
-I can tell a difference in my cycling speed...for the worse. Somehow it actually slows down the bolt movement.!

The velocity screw works better than the stock one though...since its bigger and fills the hole better :)
Conclusion: Basically its not worth the money. I ended up paying $40 bucks for it and only used it for the velocity screw. Dont waste your time. If you have tube problems, get a new stock one.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

way2fast59 Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Power Tube I guess
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5; Lapco 8" Big Shot, Lapco Suppressor, R/T, Polished Internals, RVA, Dark Horizons Hammer, Lapco DF, Double Trigger

Pro/Carbine ... You would not believe it anyways
Strengths: The front bolt does slide very well
Weaknesses: It kills you marker ! Tippmann does not recommend using this in your A-5
Review: This product just sucks. First, the power tube is extremely tight and does not slide in easy. Second, you end up scratching up the internals and third, it leaks like there is no tomorrow.

I installed the tube and could not figure out for the life of me why I was leaking out half of my CO2 tanks from the tombstone. Well, Tippmann wanted me to send it to them and they ended up pulling out the thing and stating that they seriously do not recommend you installing these into your A-5. I guess that when the part is made, the tolerance is off just enough to cause the tombstone to leak.

Conclusion: You are better off with the stock. Save your money and keep the stock tube.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Raiders32 Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech, Starfire, all kinds of different aftermarket bolts
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip w/ W.A.S Board
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
TechT Vortex
X-7 Hopper
Core 11 Stage Expansion Chamber
PMI Remote Line
Pure Engergy 20oz Co2

Strengths: Easy to install
Light Weight
"Cleaner" Cycling
Durable
Weaknesses: Velocity Scew is a bit tight
EDIT- Cyclone Misfeeds
EDIT- Air Issues (see edited review)
Review: First off, after doing the research...something needs to be pointed out. Many reviews are several years old and discuss the "older" version of this combo. The Powertube/ Bolt combo is very different from that origional release. DoP has done several things to improve the design. Most obvious is the Delrin Bolt in favor of the older aluminum/teflon bolt that many had issues with. Many older reveiws comment on a problem with sliding the tube in, but most of the newer reviews say that this isn't and issue. This is also an improvement on DoP's part so it would seem (PLEASE SEE EDITS)....

So, moving forward...

Simple upgrade. I wasn't thrilled that the velocity scew is much harder to turn on mine then the stock one. Installation is very easy...10 mins if your versed in A-5 teardown. I wouldn't say I noticed a change either way at this point, but I know many Tippmann users in the Pacific NW swear by this bolt/ tube combo alone. I bought it based on that and a local shop I go to recommended it over the others based on the positive feed back they have recieved.

The added durability is a plus, though I have never cracked a stock tube. Even with my WAS board set on "Turbo" in 40 degree weather and shooting fast enough that ice actually formed around the top of my Co2 tank (yikes!).

I noted that with mine, the stock bolt will NOT work with the DoP tube...the bolt is to small diameter to slide over it.

EDIT 3-3-07: Okay, so after using it for a month, I have run into problems! My velcoity would often climb...and even with a spring kit, I couldn't get it lower than 320 fps at times (thus sidelining my A-5). Also, under heavy fire about 350-450 shots into a 20oz the cylcone feed wouldn't cycle?!?! And to top it off, the marker would act like it was low on air and I would only be 400 shots into the tank (3 documented cases of this!). SO what did I do? I reinstalled the stock tube and bolt while my friends played a game...the result? My A-5 didnt have ANY of these problems and shot like a dream. In fact, that Tank I thought was empty? Nope, marker shot with it PERFECTLY. The only thing I changed was the bolt and tube, thus the only thing that could have been causing these issues had to be the those. I am really sad, because I really wanted this product to work. I previously rated it a 10 because initially it really seemed to work great...but do to the circumstances I can not justify anything even close to that.


Conclusion: EDIT 3-3-07. Stick with stock internals. Studies show it is the best, the other pro shops I go to say the stock internals are the best, and my personal experience now opens my eyes to the fact that, YES...stock is ubah. $30 bucks avioded here and put it into your cyclone feed or trigger.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 7:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cheesemaster Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C pro seal
Marker Setup: tippmann 98C, responce trigger, flatline, 32 deg. night stikk, double trigger, star fire venturi bolt, tippmann exp. chamber, aluminum pro seal, coil remote
Strengths: more dourable
better venturi bolt
more accurate
Weaknesses: LOUD LOUD LOUD it sounds like a rifle
Review: this thing is ok it is not as bad as the other reveiwers made it out to be. they're just haters. it really isn't a bad product. the only thing about it is it is so loud, some times it makes your ears ring, just kidding. it is loud though. but by the time the other team knows where u r, u have allready shot them, it makes your gun more accurate even with a stock barrell.
Conclusion: if u don't care about how loud it is then get it, it is only $35. i think it is worth it as long as u move alot the noise is at your advantage, people think u r still in 1 place when u have moved.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Moosehead Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro Seal on Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: a-5, pro seal w/delrin bolt, jcs rva, jcs folding stock, response double trigger, crossfire hpa, remote, Palmer inline, flatline, dye xcel 12, lapco 7.5, ... Custom sear and trigger stop.

Tricked out 98C with same setup as A-5, ricochet.
Strengths: Aluminum vs. plastic and the high rated delrin bolt.
Weaknesses: None that I saw. Dead on must have improved the product.
Review: The delrin bolt had received high ratings on the A5OG board so I rolled the dice despite less than glorious reviews over the last few years. I have one on my 98C and it is flawless. Best strength is the aluminum vs. plastic. I've been working to up the rate of fire and the new setup had no negative effects. Smooth as ever and no breaks on the first 2500 shot in a day of advanced play. I loosened the body before pulling out the old tube and the new one slid right in with no issues. Total install was less than five minutes and I went slow. Fired it right up and went full auto to check it out. Found the best price at Action Village / Amazon.
Conclusion: Glad I bought it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LuCkybOB Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT , Flatline , Intruder Foregrip
Strengths: Fixed My Broken Stock Tube. Very good with RT . Shots have less recoil on it.
Weaknesses: YOU NEED TO OIL IT! THATS WHY THEIRS SO MUCH COMMOTION INSIDES FINE AFTER OILING!
Review: Buy this if you stock is broken which is popular. Its really good with Response Trigger and helps on accuracy and efficiency in the air. Just greast up the insides of the gun before you paintball on that day. Only once a day is what I do with Angel XT Grease , but its not neccesary. Thats the reason why theirs a commotion in this review.
Conclusion: Buy this if you stock is broke but i would keep the stock if yours didnt break. Good advantages but not enough if your stock is fine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kog Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just the stock bolt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with R/T- 14"Dye ironman boomstick / e-grip
Strengths: seems to be a little better on co2, but not too much
Weaknesses: you dont realy gain much for your money spent
Review: I'm editing my review on the bolt. I originally got it for my A-5 with the R/T. At first I thought that it made little difference but after a long days use I could tell that I lost some balls per second(bps). I didn't think It helped anything --- but I have since sold the A-5 with the R/T and got an A-5 with the e-grip. It is much better with the e-grip. I may still lose some bps but the e-grip is fast enough I can't tell it. It also definitely helps on air efficiency because with it it is hard for me to turn the gun down below 290 fps. I got an end adjuster to go with it so I could loosen the drive spring and opened the bolt up a little more. It made a difference I could tell on the CO2 efficiency. I didn't see any ball pattern change on either gun with the new bolt(good or bad). The bolt will easily go into the gun if you keep the front piece of the bolt slid af far forward as the heavy rear part of the bolt (which you don't change) will let you. If you don't do that it seems too tight and won't go in.
Conclusion: if you have the response trigger do not get this - but if you have the e-grip it is a little better. I still don't know if it is worth the money I paid for it but at least there is more good than bad. Buy an expansion chamber of another upgrade and wait for a better bolt to come out.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 18th, 2003 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmbientShadow Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt/Powertube
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Pilot
Black Check-it Assault Block
SIlver '04 Mac Dev Gladiator
Custom-Painted Black/Alu. Dead-On Drop Forward
Nylatron Bandit Bolt
14" Black All-American Back/Silver Freak Front
Maddmann Rocket Valve
Dye '05 Black/Blue Tank Cover
Mac Dev Spring Kit
68/3000 Pure Energy HPA Tank
Custom-Painted & Z-Boarded Viewloader Evolution II
Black Java Feed Neck
Mac Dev Gauges all 'round
Strengths: Indestructible
Higher FPS
Weaknesses: Loose Velocity Screw
Tough to Install - if you haven't polished your internals
Lowers BPS
Review: The marker setup above is my new setup... Ive donated my A-5 to my brother... the review is still valid, don't worry :D

This thing is alright. The best statement I've read yet is "you don't get much for your money" -- which is true, all you get is an almost-indestructible spare. The best thing about this assembly is that you get higher FPS out of it (I don't know how -- maybe a larger orfice in the front of the powertube? Haven't checked), which probably leads to increased gas efficiency. Other than that, you get a few small lows, and one BIG problem.

The powertube/front bolt, while it is more difficult to slide in (because it's METAL and metal doesn't BEND/SHRINK like plastic does) should NOT pose a problem, because you SHOULD have polished your internals! But even when you have, it is a bit tougher than the plastic one. If it's that bad, take the gun halves apart and do it that way... Just make sure you line up the tombstone slot (which is easy enough if you unscrew the velocity screw and set it in before putting the other half on).

I have noticed no extra noise with this setup, nor have I noticed a reduction in BPS ability (though I don't have an RT/E-frame so I wouldn't fully know).

I've found that while the Velocity adjustment screw is "better" in that it's easier to turn, it's also looser, and anything further out than two turns from all-the-way-in gives you 300+ fps on CO2. The extreme downside to the looseness is that just from the recoil shock the screw can (and i have taken the brunt of it) unscrew itself, raising velocity over the course of the game.
After 2 hours of recball, my brother, who was using the A-5 at the time (and who chronoed in at 240bps at the game start) hit me in the bare arm once and clothed back twice, drawing blood on my arm. I had him chrono in again and he was shooting an unbelievable 365 fps. This is NOT safe at all, and it hurt like nothing I had ever felt before. If I could post pictures of my arm wound, I would. It looks like a sunburst tattoo. Anyway, MAKE SURE you put teflon tape on the velocity screw before use, and just to be safe the first couple of games, chrono in a couple of hours post-start to be sure you won't be wounding anyone.

Other than that, It's alright. People that complain about "reduced bps" should slap a heavier spring in. Works great. Like you can actually shoot 15 constant bps on a mechanical trigger anyway... Has anyone tried modding the e-frame to shoot faster than 15bps and find out how fast the Cyclone can REALLY go??? :D
Conclusion: It's a good "replacement" (read: NOT upgrade) to an already quite acceptable bolt/powertube. While you may notice increased efficiency and FPS, be sure to wrap the new V. Screw in teflon tape to avoid shooting 350fps+ paint-bullets at people.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UGADaWgSmAn14 Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock seals
Marker Setup: Dm4 with halo-b victory board, crossfire 70-4500 low pressure nitro tank
Strengths: i guess smoother action.some people say it increases fire rate
Weaknesses: waste of money
Review: in my experience when i owned an a-5, this product didnt perform any worse or any better than the stock seals. It was a wasted $40 for me. i didnt realize any changes in the rate of fire. Just stick with the stock one. This product isnt terrible, it just isnt any different than the stock seals but with a higher price tag. Another annoying thing i noticed was that this seal makes it exreeeeemely hard to screw in and out the velocity adjuster. i had to buy a rear velocity adjuster because eventually i couldnt turn the velocity screw at all.
Conclusion: if you NEED a replacement, just call tippmann and theyll send you a new seal for free. if you need 30 replacements, call tippmann and theyll send you them for free. Dont waste ur money on this there is no difference between this and the stock one besides the extra hassle.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 2nd, 2004 at 3:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snoopy56 Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Powertube and Bolt.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Dead on RVA, 16in' Boomstick, Pro Seal, RT, GTA Double Trigger, Dead on Front Grip, Polished Internals, Dead on Universal Mount, and Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward.
Strengths: More Durable
Few more shots off tank
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I have heard a lot of complaints about this product, but have experienced nothing but good. I decided to purchase this after three cracked power tubes. This is a lot more durable, no cracking or breaking this. I have noticed that you get a few more shots with this product. I believe most of the problems came with the fist ones that were made, then were later corrected. I have heard about it not fitting, for me it slides in and out just as easily as the stock power tube. I have polished my internals, and am not sure if perhaps this has affected how easy it is to take out and put back in. I have not noticed any decrease or increase in rate of fire.
Conclusion: If your stock power tube is broken, I would recommend getting this product. I get about 40 more shots off a tank than before. Very nice product, I think DOP did a good job with this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 11th, 2004 at 6:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media