paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal / Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal

Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Dead On Paintball has improved on the stock Tippmann power tube and front bolt. It's very smooth because of a precision Teflon insert running on a precision CNC machined billet power tube. This upgrade will improve air efficiency and should increase cycle rate. It comes with the Response Trigger boss plugged via loctited set screw.

This is compatable with the Tippmann Response Trigger system.
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball Custom 98 Pro-Seal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Rojoamick Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degree Star bolt
Marker Setup: 98 Custom With X-core chamber and D.O.P. Pro Seal and other misc.
Strengths: High fire rate. Reliability. Powerful, Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I found that the D.O.P. 98 Power- Seal's performance was outstanding. The

increase in fire rate without ball breakage is wonderful. It Provided that much

needed power and accuracy. The Smoothness of my markers operation was

greatly increased do to the precision used in the manufacturing process. This is a

very high quality product . As with all their products I have used quality is obviously

in mind.
Conclusion: It is a great way to get power and precision for little cost . You may have to tune on it a little bit at first but the results are well worth it . Have a little patients because this product Kicks A** If you need help the people at D.O.P. are willing and able to answer your questions.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8punk24 Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock plastic crap.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Dead On Pro Style Drop Forward
GTA Double Trigger
GTA Expansion Chamber
Polished Aluminum Internals
Strengths: Not Plastic
Increased rate of fire
Weaknesses: Kind of expensive.
Review: I love it. It was very easy to install. I had to get this because i cracked the stock plastic one trying to put on the dreaded vertical adapter. As soon as I put it on and started to shoot it I realized an increase in the rate of fire. I read the other reviews that all said that this adds alot of weight, but i didn't notice any weight change at all. I think this is the best upgrade that you can put on your marker. It also makes my marker sound different. It isn't quieter, it just sounds different. The only thing that i dont like about it is that is so expensive. But other than that, its good.
Conclusion: This is a great product, if you have the cash. I'm gonna give it a 9 because of the price, but other than that its a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 at 7:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Draken91 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve tube.
Marker Setup: 98C, Empire Twister barrel, CP flame dropfoward, AIC expansion chamber, Starfire delrin bolt, Dead On proseal valve body....#2 Psycho Ballistics Lighting, full 14" Freak kit
Strengths: Not plastic
Better, more uniform seal for bolt and hammer
Weaknesses: Haven't found any
Review: Shortly after getting my 98c, I found this on ebay, bought it and installed it, and very glad i did. If you are running an RT or cyclone feed system this is already tapped for the fitting in the side, it seals much better then stock, and doesn't have any seams on it.
Conclusion: I would say go ahead and get it, if you are tossing an expansion chamber or lp kit you can crack the bottom of your power tube, this negates that issue, pretty good upgrade imo.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guns Gone Wild Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt and power tube
Marker Setup: 98 Custom:
Flatline/14" Dye Ultralite
Tippmann X-pansion Chamber
Remote Coil
DOP Pro Seal
CAR Stock
Custom Lite Titanium Hammer
ADCO Sure Shot/ Sight Rail
Strengths: Increase in velocity for renegade paintball (puts the hurt on opponent), more gas effecient
Weaknesses: Powerful...weakness?
Review: When I got my Dye Ultralite, I was dissapointed when I saw a very noticeable arc as the paint left the barrel, I (a flatline owner) was very mad at the drop in range and velocity of the balls. I bought the DOP Pro-Seal because I heard it would increase velocity, and therefore increase my range. Of course, the Ultralite wasn't going to get me as much range as the Flatline, but with the Pro-Seal I immedietly saw a difference in velocity. At maximum velocity I could barely see the paint as it left the barrel (it was very fast); by the way I was using Marballizers. With the Ultralite I was getting very accurate and precise shots, and with the Pro-seal I increased my range. I play a lot of wood paintball and last round we play is always surrender, with this baby I could seriously lay the hurt on people.
Conclusion: Good product to buy if you got and extra $33 bux to spare, got mine at action village. I bought it anyway cause I'm a paintball freak, and this definitely made my game a lot more interesting.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 21st, 2003 at 1:35 am PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

RyanK Friday, April 30th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock PowerTube
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Crossfire 70/45
12V Revvy
Double Trigger, Rocket Cock, DOP Bullet Drop
Strengths: It Makes your Wallet a little Lighter, Metal not plastic (like stock)
Weaknesses: High Costs, 2 Different ones Didn't Work
LOSS of ACCURACY when Sanded to fit
Review: When I bought this I thought it would be a vast improvement over the stock plastic (and had seen the reviews here) where they all said this thing was the greatest since sliced bread. NOT TRUE FOR ME!

The Initial one I bought my rear bolt got STUCK when trying to shoot... I'd cock the gun, pull the trigger, shoot one paintball... and listen to the gun hissing that's right stuck far enough forward that it was still pushing on the valve.

So I though ok... just a defective one, talked to DOP and they sent me out another one (no charge - Which was nice)

I go and install the new one... after their tech had said he checked it before shipping it out... and same problem, rear bolt got stuck.

Talked to DOP again... they said they would send me a third one, and have not heard or gotten anything from them since. (this was over 8 months ago)

I borrowed a dremmel and decided to file off some of the metal where it's catching the rear bolt... wasn't too hard and polished it after so it's nice and smooth so it wouldn't damage the rear bolt (or O-ring)

Put it in the gun and went out a few days with it to see how well it preformed... did not work at all like it should... the balls would go for a little while (30-50 feet) and then suddenly veer off in a random direction, taking a closer look the front bolt dose not fit right and wobbles around, So I think when fired it dose not come out properly and is not contacting the ball properly which makes it spin.

I took the Pro-Seal off and suddenly my balls are shooting straight again... 500 balls and have not seen one take a spin like with the Pro-Seal

It does NOT make your gun any quieter... replacing something that dosn't make any noise with something else that dosn't make any noise... how is that supposed to be quieter? The noise in a tippman is from the rear bolt hitting the valve, the air escaping, and the rear bolt resetting. The Pro-Seal makes your gun about as much quieter as replacing the grips would.
Conclusion: I gave it a 2 because the customer support was really helpful when trying to find the problem... well that was until they decided not to send me a working Pro-Seal.

Both of the pro-seals I got (NEW) had the same problems... the rear bolt gets stuck and the front bolt is too loose and spins the balls.

DID NOT WORK!!! I had to sand out the inside for my rear bolt to fit... and the front bolt was wobbley and spun the paintballs.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 30th, 2004 at 3:43 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Oneglia82 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock power tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" JJ Ceramic
DOP Pro Seal
DOP Rocket Cock II
DOP Drop Forward 5525 Bullet
Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Hammer
GTA Double Trigger
Polished Internals
Strengths: Increase in velocity
Durable aluminum
Works with Response Trigger (If you have it)
Weaknesses: Adds a little weight compared to the stock power tube
Review: This thing is worth the money. I broke the cheap plastic power tube trying to remove the hose from the valve. I read a few reviews and decided to get this. It fits in perfectly no tinkering necessary. It's Response Trigger ready which is a plus if you decide to get it.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone. If you happen to break your power tube get this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 12th, 2004 at 8:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MarineCorpsDW Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock tube and bolt
Marker Setup: 98 Custom w/ expansion chamber, maddmann spring upgrade, CMI 21" Thunderpig and/or 14" Smartparts Teardrop, Remote Line, DOP Powertube and bolt.
Strengths: Durable aluminum
Stronger
More accurate
It's shiny
Weaknesses: Holy crap is it louder
Review: Not much to say, took me 5 minutes to install, no joke. Installs very easy if you have a vertical adapter. Bolt also moves so much smoother on the tube, you can feel the difference when you put it on. You can hear a distinct difference in the way it hits the ball as well. Its both louder and smoother at the same time.
Conclusion: Kickass
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paragon1777 Thursday, August 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock power tube
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c, Dodge Viper Blue paintjob, BSI e-bolt kit, GTA lp kit, CP flame drop;ASA on/off, Bob long torpedo reg, Dye sticky grips, Aluminum power tube and front bolt, Polished internals, Blade Double Trigger, Lapco direct feed, sight rail w/Tasco reddot sight, EvoII hopper, Crossfire 68/3000, Evil Pipe Barrel kit. Custom trigger guard
Strengths: Made of aluminum instead of plastic
Weaknesses: Old style nylon insert on front bolt. Now replaced with new style delrin insert
Review: The original front bolt had a nylon insert. After 5-6 thousand shots. The insert swelled up and stuck on the power tube. I emailed DOP and they "VERY QUICKLY" sent me out a new front bolt with a delrin insert. I have had no problems since then. I've shot over 10 thousands balls thru and it still works great!
Conclusion: Much better than a stock tube. smooth cycle more durable. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! Thanks again Greg
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viper118 Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Superfly Bolt, compared to the one this comes with
Stock response powertube
Marker Setup: 98C with D.O.P. Double trigger, GTA X-chamber, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Custom Proseal, Response Trigger, 14 Stiffi Carbon Fiber Barrell, Rocket Cock II, Remote system.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This thing ROCKS. It defineatly increased my rate of fire, Made my marker sound a bit different. I lost that signature Response Trigger sound. The RT made my gun really loud. I liked that it was pretty easy to install, the hardest part was taking the valve assembly out of the old powertube...I just used a light banging on the table as far as it would come out then a tiny screwdriver to push on it through one of the bolt holes lightly. The best thing about this is that its METAL, I cracked like 2 power tubes from unscrewing my RT screw....I was pi55ed. Tippmann always sent me one free but it just made me mad to keep killing them. This thing definatly increased my accuracy and performance. I got rid of the bolt that came with it and installed a shocktech one...it is much better.
Conclusion: Awesome product, its metal, light, works with RT, solid performance, got mine on ebay for like 27 bucks shipped. Im giving it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dpc Friday, March 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock power tube
Marker Setup: 98c
flatline barrel w/ metal shroud
rear velocity adjuster
maddman spring kit
dark horizon lite titanium hammer
double trigger
pro seal power tube
adco e-dot
Strengths: Faster cycle rate
Smoother
Increase in velocity
Shiny
Weaknesses: It's a little expensive
Review: This is so much better than the stock tube because the stock chopped a lot of the balls and so i bought this and i havent broken one since my gun is a lot quieter and my cycle rate has gone up and it looks a lot better than the plastic and stronger of course.
Conclusion: I gave this a 10 because this is a really good upgrade.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 25th, 2005 at 8:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media