paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame / Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame / Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame / Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame / Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame

Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame

Paintball Autococker Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Extensive research, design, prototyping and hardcore tournament field testing brings this hinge frame with an amazing list of features. Silky smooth, lightning fast trigger pull, adjustable forward and rearward trigger stops, and interchangeable trigger styles. Put your present grip on this frame, and you're set to go. The Nickel frames look great on Cockers with lots of chrome.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Axis Hinge Frame is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Wheelman Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, WGP, System X, Shocktech & Eclipse hinge frames, slider frames
Marker Setup: Angel iR3
Scepter Barrel
68/4500 Angel AIR

product was used on my old Spanky Cobra Cocker
Strengths: Lightwieght
very adjustable
can interchange the trigger shoes
FAST!!!
Weaknesses: The saftey is hard to operate with dye sticky grips on it or with gloves
Review: This is hands down the best hinge frames I have ever used, When coupled with a Dye PMP 3-way you have an extremely short, light and quick trigger pull. I have tried other fames out there and they all felt to long or to stiff. That is not the case with this frame.
The saftey on it is flush with the frame also so no need to take it out with worry that you would hit it while playing, my only complaint(not a big one) is that if you are using older style Dye sticky grips part of the grips cover up part of the satey button, doesn't really effect performance but can be difficult with gloves on. Beyond thatthis is an absolutley awsome frame
Conclusion: I would recomend this frame to anyone and I plan on making this my first upgrade if I ever get another Mech Cocker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

alexballa14 Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock wgp 2002 frame-smooth, very long, not very adjustable, short strokes more, single stigger

stock wgp 2003 frame-not as adjustable
Marker Setup: 2002 black wgp vert autococker, black shark drop, empire 7 pcs barrel kit, powerlyte axis frame chrome
Strengths: Very adjustable front and back stop, smooth, timing rod hole instead of slot, different triggers
Weaknesses: Cannot adjust trigger without taking off shoe, hard to find
Review: This is a very good blade trigger frame for autocockers, it is very smooth and almost never short strokes. i have an under 1 mm pull using the stock 2k2 wgp 3-way. if you want to, you can take the blade trigger shoe off and put on a double trigger . very good hinge trigger frame, i am very happy with it and you cant get it for $60 or $70 which s cheaper than many other hinge frames which arent as adjustable.
Conclusion: This is a very good hinge trigger frame which you should consider strongly when looking into a new trigger frame for an autococker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mantis9 Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ans 45 quick fire
dye hinge
wgp hinge
Marker Setup: ans choas gen-x 3
powerlyte hinge
14in freak kit
orracle bolt
shocktech back
system x on/off
68 4500 pmi tank
system x beavertail
Strengths: light . great pull haven't broken a ball yet. i love it
Weaknesses: is rather large. also needed to buy a new beaver tail for my frame.
Review: in my review i found many strengths and very few weaknesses. the drag is short and very very adjustable. affordable. all around a great trigger. i find that the trigger guard does come out a little to far it is only about 4 cm away from my ans regulator so i need to put a 15 asa kapp on it.
Conclusion: i think that this trigger is great. the actuall trigger part. the guard is a little excesivebut still nice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RichardinAZ Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Hinge Frame: The Dye was decent, but the pull was not as smooth as the Powerlyte.
Marker Setup: 2002 AUTOCOCKER

REGULATOR: Palmer Stabilizer - Great for both HP and CO2.
AIR SOURCE: PMI HP 68ci/3000psi - More consistent than CO2 = Better Accuracy.
VALVE: AKA Tornado Valve - High Flow valve helps you run your gun at lower pressure thereby making it quieter and, arguably, a bit more accurate.
HAMMER: Jackal - Nice, heavy plus it's got the set screws and suffers from less friction than most other hammers because of the milling.
BOLT: AKA Lightning Bolt - Looks good, high flow, probably a little louder than some, good for low pressure.
BARREL: Powerlyte Speedline 14" Stainless Steel - Heavy, works good, quiet, scratches easy, looks good.
3-WAY: Shocktech Bomb (black) - Very short trigger pull.
FRONT BLOCK & NEUMATICS REGULATOR: System X Vengeance Front Block Kit (chrome) - Only used the Front Block and Regulator since my Bomb 3-way and Ram work just as well if not better. Doing it this way also provided an opportunity to mix black and chrome in keeping with the rest of the marker. Good design, looks different.
ASA ADAPTER: KAPP (chrome) - I got the one that is angled 15 degrees. It looks great and offers several surprising benefits. One, I can take my regulator off without having to remove the trigger frame due to the pressure gauge getting in the way. Two, I can get more leverage on the CP On/Off knob to pressurize or depressurize the marker. Three, It makes the gun more comfortable to hold.
DROP FORWARD: Custom Products Flame (black) - It looks great, and positions the tank comfortably.
HOPPER: Ricochet - Keeps up with my rate of fire, looks good, nice view window, loads from top. Doesn't hold as much paint as some hoppers.

Strengths: The trigger is adjustable both forward and backward making the pull shorter with less play.
Weaknesses: Had to buy a new beavertail because the Powerlyte frame is wider.
Review: The front and back adjustable trigger stops make for a shorter trigger pull. Plus, the trigger shoe looks good and feels comfortable on the finger.

The weight is about the same as the Dye. The nickel plating looks good and the lines and shape are pleasing to the eye.

It comes with everything needed including the body screws but doesn't ship with a grip.

It's easy enough to adjust the two set screws for the trigger, but if you're not looking you could miss them. One is at the top of the trigger and the other is in the middle.
Conclusion: I would buy this over a Dye Hinge. My rate of fire has increased and this frame is very comfortable to hold. Plus, it looks good, nice and clean.

I read that some people had a problem with the timing rod falling out as they fired. My KAPP ASA adapter has a set screw that would keep that from happening to anyone's autococker for any reason regardless of frame used. It's that good.

I'd rate it a 9.5 if I could, but since I can't I'll round up and give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003 at 9:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP stock hinge frame
Hybrid hinge
Many sliders
Eclipse Hinge
Marker Setup: Phantom - RF, undercocking, bottomline.
TASO Sniper II - WWA kit, Edge kit, Bob Long humpback frame.
2k3 Black Magic - Axis hinge, ergo reg, bomb, tickler, ANS ram, CCM bolt + feedneck.



Strengths: Very adjustable
Smooth when tuned
Short pull
Low price
Comes with tools + screws
Pretty
Weaknesses: Factory quality (?)
Not as good looking as Eclipse frame
Needs some tuning
Review: I just received my Powerlyte Axis hinge frame from an online retailer. It was a great deal, at about $35 US. Packaging was excellent, and the small manual was informative. It comes with a tube of allen wrenches and screws to put the frame on the gun and to adjust the pull. Bonus, you get an Axis sticker. Yeehaw.

When I tried to put it on my gun, I noticed that the front frame screw hole had not been properly drilled out. It was sealed over and annodized. I had to dremel it out so that I could put it on my gun. No biggie, any damage incurred to the finish is covered by the screw. Overall, it's a great looking frame. I'm not a fan of how it bends inwards at the front of the trigger frame, as it almost looks a little tacky. If you compare it to the Eclipse trigger guard, you'll know what I mean. Regardless, I'm damn happy with the looks.

Adjusting the trigger pull is a breeze. It's one of the most customizable frames I have ever seen. The forward and rearward trigger stops exceedingly simple to operate with the frame attached to the gun, and for that last bit of customization, you can place the blade trigger shoe wherever you feel more comfortable.

It felt a little stiff to my tastes at first, (I'm used to heavenly roller sliders) so I took out the front trigger return screw, replaced the sear spring with a lighter one and put in a DYE roller sear. Much better. It almost seems walkable now. I noticed during reassembly that the trigger pins need to be punched in pretty hard for them to stick. If you forget to do this, they are liable to pop out during cycling. I also noticed that instead of the 3way rod slot that many frames come with to make timing more reliable, it has a hole. This is great for tight, high ROF timing jobs, as it takes all the slack out of the 3-way activation.


[edit] I have now had the chance to test an Eclipse MKIII Hinge frame to compare it against the Axis. Although the Eclipse is of slightly better quality, and is easier to adjust, (no having to take off a trigger shoe on the MKIII) i found that the Axis puts my hand in a much better firing position. I can get going much faster with it that I can with the Eclipse. Although the Eclipse looks a bit better, I'd recommend the Axis to anyone who wants more speed.
Conclusion: It would be an excellent frame at $100, and you can get them for much less than that. The Powerlyte Axis hinge is definately a great upgrade to any cocker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 10th, 2006 at 4:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

elcoman Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS hinge eclipse hinge jackal hinge and kapp hinge frames.
Marker Setup: Aim body cocker CCM lpr,Palmers 3way,eclpse ram,kapp hinge frame, fatty stabilizer,CF doolie reg,CP 2 piece barrel
Strengths: Looks,Price,Ajustability, it has A safety wich is always A nice thing to have
Weaknesses: None
Review: I wanted A ANS frame but couldn't afford it so I opted for the powerlyte axis cuz of the price. It's the best choice I made I like how smooth and short the trigger pull is and it's A good looking frame. This is in the same class as eclipse,ans,kapp jackal and ccm hinge frames.
Conclusion: If your looking for A cheap frame with awesome performance then this is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 13th, 2006 at 6:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media