paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix / Generation-E Matrix

Generation-E Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Generation-E

Buy Generation-E Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Generation-E Matrix
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
CONSTRUCTION FEATURES: - Electronic Triggered, with multi-mode dipswitch adjustment. - Fully Pneumatic operation. (No hammer, no sear, no main spring) - Performance Centerfeed. - Interchangeable forebreech: Standard forebreech - AutoCocker threads. Optional Forebreech - Angel, Right Feed, Spyder, Model 98, etc. - Double trigger with Custom MATRIX rubber grips. - Uses one common 9V battery, available anywhere. No recharger needed. ACCURACY FEATURES: - LOW Pressure operation for phenomenal accuracy and performance, enabling use of highest performance brittle-shelled paints. - Dual ball-detent for maximum ball-centering accuracy. - Fires during closed-mode of bolt's travel for superior accuracy. - (Statistically, the most accurate marker ever made in the History of Paintball). PERFORMANCE FEATURES: Gas consumption: Approximately 1250 shots per 88 c.i. tank
Product Availability 
The Generation-E Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
DagNasty Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmy's come close, never shot an angel that could compete with this, viking is really close in design
Marker Setup: 2k2 LED matrix, freeflow bolt, Halo no rise, AKA SCM lpr, torpedo hpr, cherry switch, Tadeo 4.0, blade trigger, cp rail and cradle
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt/kit for efficiency, lpr (PBR, AKA, trininty), cherry switch, new board, eyes if you can afford 'em.
Strengths: Speed, no kick, accuracy, efficiency (once you get a new bolt), ease of use
Weaknesses: Weight, maintenance, stock internals
Review: I've gotten a few reviews in for various markers. Everytime I write a review, I try and focus on the positive because most of the time, the negative is user error and not marker fault. This is case for most higher end markers, so spyders and such I won't comment on.

So to start things off, the negatives.

Weight - no lie, this is heavy marker unmilled. You can get aftermarket bodies, but these are typically completely up'd and then you're no longer shooting a gen-e trix, you're shooting a nyx, tequila, whatever it might be. With Halo and tank, it weighs quite a bit. this takes a little getting used to.

Maintenance - we've all been there. you get your first trix, there's a problem, you freak out but then you lube the bolt/replace some o-rings and everything is back to normal. You have to be patient, you have to do your homework, and you have to ask questions in order to get to a point where you're comfortable doing all the work yourself. The bolt lubing process is not hard, but can be screwed up really easily. The orings are a plenty, and getting them mixed up is pretty easy. these are all first time owners mistakes that most of us go through. The upside is that almost every problem is an oring or lube problem. Got a leak? lube it.. leak gone. bolt sticks.. lube it.. stick gone. You get the picture.

Stock internals - ok, don't get me wrong. The stock internals are better then you'll find on any stock marker out there. But in order to get rid of piss poor efficiency, the occassional chopping, and some bolt stick problems.... you'll have to shell out for a nice bolt, lpr, and maybe board. It's a small price to pay for something which helps so much

So there, the bad in my opinion. I'd say price, but I honestly believe you get what you pay for with a matrix.

The good:

Speeeeeeeeeed.. walk, walk, walk, walk.. walk all day. The matrix is a fast marker. It's really fast and has no problem shooting however fast you'd like it to. With a little trigger work and a decent lpr you can lay ropes of paint down like you were on full auto. I try and let everyone test fire my trix who wants to because there is no way of describing how fast it is. I've owned timmy's, I've owned angels, I'm owned imps, I've even owned custom ebladed cockers and I can shoot a matrix faster than all of them. Maybe I just found my perfect fitting marker, but many people say this about their trixs which leads me to believe that the matric just cycles that fast. I read somewhere that this is the fastest recorded cycling marker, but I don't remember where or have the link so don't quote me on that.

No kick .. um yeah, pretty self explainatory. But I have no kick on my matrix. Dangle it with your pinky and fire it. it won't move. This is nice for keeping consistent shots.

Efficiency.. ok, with the stock bolt, expect 700-900 shots from a 68/4500. Put in the freeflow bolt or evolve kit, and you're looking at much better numbers. I have the freeflow personally, and I get 1300 or so shots per fill. Not too shabby.

Ease of use.. so maybe this contradicts my maintenance section above. but not really. Once you get used to the little lubing querks....and the oring changing, it's really a simple marker to use. The spool bolt system is the only real moving part, the breach is easily interchangeable, frame upgrades are a snap. There isin't much that can't be done to a matrix yourself.

Chopping - it won't happen with the right lpr setup. just having the right lpr isin't enough. it needs to be set correctly and depending on the lpr, will need to be checked and set every few weeks. But when set right, the pressure is just too low to chop.

Hope that helps a perspective buyer. I don't feel the need to write a review for all you people who already own one. But the information above will maybe sway some of you into trying one and you will like it.
Conclusion: It's got everything people want. speed, accuracy, and with some upgrades efficiency. It gets lotsa looks, especially when you're done railing on the trigger. All in all, it's one of the better markers out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 at 8:38 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Rinus Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freeflow autococker, angel speed, Angel Ir3, shocker 4*4, angel Lcd, Alias.
Marker Setup: Gen-E pushbutton LED matrix, armageddon air, armsonstealth barrel (freak set soon to come), evolve boltkit, gun 20, CP 15* ASA, CP norise(halo version), tons of stickers, and a Empire Reloader B to feed it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
From stock: Evolve (or equal) boltkit, new barrel (e.g. freak scepter, pipe), other feed neck (original is a bloody chimney), and add some bling, black is just black.
Upgrades comming up: Tadao V5.0 (at the moment of writing not yet released) TMC (or other) eyes, freak or pipe, tophat mod, leethal mod V2.
Strengths: Speed consistency silent sweet on paint ultimate ghettomarker
Weaknesses: Weight, efficiency (stock)
Review: Ok my matrix.
Got it second hand and it had already been borken in and tuned nicely.
Ofcourse i just had to tincker with it.
Did a Tophat Ghetto mod on it.
15* ASA, new barrel, norise and het presto, all it needs is some nice stickers.
Took an evil sticker sheet and didn't stop untill all of the stickers where on my trix.

How it shoots, well can you say fast?
Walking it i can get around 12/14 (its me, not the marker)
Sweeping it i can get easily to the max @ est. 25
Conclusion: This isn't a marker, its addiction.
It takes some time to make it you own, but oohhh goodie then it rips!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 5th, 2004 at 9:17 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr Murderdoll89 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4/5- Lighter and come stock ACE'd.
Other DM3's or just M3's with Tadao- A lot faster...because this is stock.
Marker Setup: Silver LCD Gen E Matrix
CP Roller
CP Regulator
Aardvark Trinity LPR
Dye Stickies
ShockTech Drop
CP Unimount
No Rise Halo Feedneck
Z-Board Egg

Black Spyder Imagine
Evil Driver
Dye Stickies
12 Volt Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel and an LPR.
ACE...not really needed but its a good upgrade to have.
A CP Roller. Smoothest trigger ever.
Strengths: Fast as hell
Accurate (ball on ball)
No kick.
Weight (personal preference)
Weaknesses: Weight(personal preference)
FSDO
Review: After I got my Matrix I took it outside and got used to the feel of the trigger. I loved it. The gun has no kick what so ever. The consistancy of shots and accuracy at high ROF was incredible. I definately loved the way this gun felt. The wieght was a bit heavier than guns today but who can't go to the gym?Honestly.
Conclusion: I loved it! I would definately recomend one as they go extremely cheap used. I'm giving her a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supraman1120 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, Ironman Timmy, Dye DM4
Marker Setup: Generation-E Matrix LCD (Gloss Black)
Aardvark Slam Bolt
Ultralite w/ Stiffi Tip
Toxic Eyez
Dye .45 Gel Grip
CP Handle
Empire B
Crossfire 98cu 4500psi (low pres.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt (slam bolt)
Barrel
Trigger Job

Strengths: Accuracy, ability to shoot ropes of paint, no kick, quiet
Weaknesses: Slight air hog, factory trigger spring suks.
Review: I stepped up from an A-5 to a Gen-E Trix' about two months ago. All i have to say about this gun is WOW. The accuracy is simply amaizing due to the fact that there is absolutely no kick from the bolt. You can hit a 3" target from 50' consistently. The gun is aso remarkably quiet. Two minor problems are that it is a slight gas hog (slight with the slam bolt kit, major with the stock bolt) and that the stock trigger spring suks. Other than these very minor problems, this gun is flawless.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome. Accuracy is amaizing. Go buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Weezer Thursday, December 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bob long millenium, black dragun, 2000 angel lcd- modded out to the max, dye ultralight autococker, e-blade cocker, angel 4.
Marker Setup: 2k2 led matrix- aardy bolt kit, aardy lpr trinity, torpedo reg, gun 20 chip, 14 inch freak kit, halo b, thor regulator, 68/4500 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
definite lpr, bolt kit, fast hopper, n2,- maybe an eye
lpr and bolt kit are most important
Strengths: looks, speed, accuracy, distance, quiet, low pressure
Weaknesses: air effeciency, price, weight
Review: When I first bought the gun, I made sure that the bolt had matrix muck on it.
After that, I just aired it up, and it shot just as good as any gun on the market.
This gun is worth spending the extra dollar because you will get unleashed performance as soon as you pull back the trigger. The only upgrades that you need is an lpr and bolt kit. All the upgrades are there if you feel like you need them. If weight bothers you then maybe you should work out. Air is not that bad because of a bolt kit and big tank. The performance makes up for all of that.
Conclusion: I would just spend the extra dollar and set up your matrix with a bolt kit and lpr. The matrix is a solid, reliable gun that is perfect for any play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drift or die86 Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, Abomb, pds BKO, custom cocker, dynasty shocker, 05speed, BB Bushmaster, mag, cyborg, SP visions shockers
Marker Setup: Black 2k2 Gen-e. Gun 20, Torpedo, PBC, Ardvark red bolt kit, angel LCD grips, Unimount, CF Peanut.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Defeineately get a CCM clamping feedneck. Stock rises do not fit halo.

If effecientcy bothers you, try to grab an image or evolve bolt kit.
Set the gun up properly, and you WILL NOT have chops.

Strengths: Accuracy, speed, price
Weaknesses: Effecientcy
Review: I loved this gun, even though i only had it for two weeks and used it once. I traded it along with my dm3 for an abomb. I will eventually come back to Matrices though!

This gun was reliable, fast, and CHEAP! I traded my BROKEN PDS bko for it. (Guy knew my bko was broke, but neglected to tell me Matrix was broken.)
I was the third owner of this gun and it still ripped once I got it up and running. Gun 20 was easy to use and the PBC was easy to set. Effeceintcy did not bother me since the fill station was right behind the field and entence and all day air and i have a 70 4500 tank. i managed to pull off nearly 800 shots per fill, BUT did not let the tank get below 500 and the fill station only filled to 4200. With a halo, unimount and my very heavy tank, i found the gun to be perfectly balanced over both of my hands. The feedneck sits directly over the HPR. BEcause of this setup, you do not feel the full weight of this gun. I hold my friends shockers and ULE mags, and i find all the weight is on the back of the gun. Even though both of these guns are some of the lightest on the market, they feel almost as heavy as the matrix. And when playing, your adrenaline kicks in and i doubt you will even notice the weight.


This is one of the fastest guns i have ever shot. Once you set the pulses right, gun 20 will let you rip up to 21 BPS. Some people do not know how to maintain this gun. I was talking to some guys at a tournamnet and they said they never lube their bolt kits since they find it to confusing. It is very simple to do this, just go into the matrix forums on pbnation.com and there is a sticky that explains everything to you. Keep in mind if you do not lube the bolt every 10,000 shots, you run the risk of breaking it.
Conclusion: I will be hoping to come back to matrices in the future since they are such great guns. Take good care of them, and they will take good care of you. I have never had a major problem with this gun (other then how it came to me broken which was not my fault, but was an easy fix)
I tell this to everyone with 400-600 dollars that is looking at paintball markers, get a matrix, you will not be disapointed.
I give it a 9, because the only gun that could receive a 10 is an entity matrix and because all early matrices that have no milling are kind of ugly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Blue Baller Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse- Matrix is much faster, and much less kick
E-cocker- Matirx is easier to keep a rhythym on
Timmy- Matrix feels better and has less kick, but timmies gots better effeciency and are lighter
Bushmaster- Again, less kick and easier to shoot fast
Marker Setup: Generation E pushbutton matrix
Arrdvark red bolt kit
Shocktech delrin sleeve
Evolve ASA
Evil detonator inline regulator
AKA SCM lpr
Shocktech micro drop
Custom products on/off bottomline
CIP clamping lowrise feedneck
New Designs Breech
Gun 20 chip
Cherry switch
14" 2 piece Custom Products barrel, .693
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt kit, clamping feedneck, TMC eyes
Strengths: Fast, quiet as hell, no kick, easy maintenance, easy troubleshooting, low pressure, no choppage
Weaknesses: Heavy, ineffeciency.
Review: I'd like to start off by saying how happy I am with my matrix. It's blind, but it almost never chops. And with the setup I have, I'm getting decent air effeciency- close to 1300 shots per fill on sa 68.45.

This thing is insanely fast. If you suck at walking (like I once did), don't worry. You'll quickly become used to the matrix trigger. I sucked at walking as was easily holding a constant 13-14 bps just walking.

It has almost no kick. Because the only moving part is the bolt, it has very little moving mass during the firing sequence and therefore has little kick. Great for shooting ropes, and believe me, it will shoot ropes.

Low bolt pressure (with a lpr). You can fine tune your lpr to bounce off of good, fresh paint. Along with eyes, this gun will never chop and most likely have very few barrel breaks.

Easy maintenance. Every 3-4 cases re-lube the matrix bolt kit. Every 10-15 cases relube the lpr and inline regs. Do this and your matrix will almost always sing. I haven't had to replace an o-ring since I've gotten it due to proper lubing.

Immensely quiet. This isn't too much of a necessary quality, but matrices really sound cooler than most of the guns out today (I'm a sucker for the timmy's clapping sound too).
Conclusion: Get a bolt kit, lpr, clamping feedneck, and fast loader, and you have a rockin setup. It's definitely a good buy for any tourney balla. Gets a 9 because gene e's don't come stock with eyes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grape Ape Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trauma Matrix, Strange Impulse, Texas Storm Intimidator, Dark Angel LCD
Marker Setup: LED Matrix, Trinity LPR, 14in Dye Ultralyte, Torpedo regulator, Evolution hopper with Y-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity LPR, either a Torpedo or Sidewinder regulator, Dye barrel, Evolution
Strengths: Accuracy, speed, price ($650 makes it the poor man's Angel).
Weaknesses: Gas hog, kind of heavy.
Review: The Matrix is a wonderfully designed gun. It is simple to field strip for cleaning, and just as easy to reassemble...just remove the single, large screw in the butt plate to remove the plate, bolt, breach, and barrel. This makes the gun easy to maintain.

With it's duel ball dentents, the Matrix is the only electronic gun out there that can rival an autococker for accuracy. Since you can shoot such tight groups at long range, you'll find yourself killing more opponents off the break...I play back, and was gogging one or two opponents per game in the last CFOA.

Because there are no external parts, and the body doesn't have any holes milled in it, it is nearly impossible to gunk up the gun's internals. The Matrix is a gas hog, but it is also very consistant. You should be able to shoot about 15 bps with it, and an Evolution hopper will feed fast enough to prevent chopping paint...I've never chopped a ball in good weather, but sometimes it will chop in weather below 40 degrees.

Even though this last point is rather trivial, due to the Matrix's black finish and smooth sides, you can feel free to cover the gun in your favorite stickers...I know I do.
Conclusion: The Matrix is a fantastic gun, especially for the price...you can get by with a minimal number of upgrades, thereby giving yourself a great gun without having to spend over $1000. Make sure you have at least a 4500 Nitro tank or else you'll find yourself running out of gas before you empty your pack...back players, this means you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coy Parks Thursday, September 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Indian Creek B2K2, Fly Angel
Marker Setup: GenerationE matrix 14in Freak with All American front 88ci 4500psi hp Crossfire air system Tasso 3in on/off drop Imigane bolt kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
low pressire regulator find an eye
Strengths: good range,accuracy, speed, quite, little kick, interchangable fore breach
Weaknesses: air efficiency but can be fixed
Review: this is a good marker for all styles of play and you do not have to buy all new barrels all that you have to buy is a different fore breach. tournament players and scenario/ woods players can all benefit from this marker. The speed, quietness, and range make it an advantage to have if you like to play different positions because you do not have to change markers if you will be shooting farther shots , or don't have to change if your style is to play silent the marker is very quite.
Conclusion: all areas of play can benefit long range for back quiet for woods, fast for all speed-ball and senerios
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WoOdStOcK Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
lasoya timmy
nyx trix
angel speed
Marker Setup: TMC edition matrix, pbc lpr, image bolt kit, cp inline reg, cp rail, cp asa w/ on/off, 68ci 4500psi pure energy tank, 14" dye ultralite boomstick, check it no rise, evoution II, haloB, gun20 chip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
the pbc lpr if you dont have an eye, and the bolt kit.
Strengths: shoots VERY straight/flat
FAST
Accurate
quiet
Low Pressure
Low kick
Weaknesses: air effeciency
weight
das it.
Review: people say this gun chops too much, well thats not true beacause if you have an lpr and a fast enought loader you dont chop at all, you might chop if your using brittle shelled paint such as ultimate chronic, draxxus hellfire, or ultra evils, otherwise you wont chop at all. this gun is just as fast as any angel and timmy out there. plus you get the super flat shots unlike any marker and it doesnt have a hammer like angels do so you have REALLY REALLY low kick.
Conclusion: this is one of the best markers out there on the paintball market today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media