paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Eagle .68 / Brass Eagle Eagle .68 / Brass Eagle Eagle .68 / Brass Eagle Eagle .68

Brass Eagle Eagle .68 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Eagle .68

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Eagle .68
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 3.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Has a 8 round feed tube and takes CO2 cartridges.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Eagle .68 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
destrega Monday, June 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I guess maybe my blowgun or a slingshot with no rubber band.
Marker Setup: you cant upgrade it. but thats okay because you would waste your money if you did.
Recommended
Upgrades:
you cant upgrade this peice of trash
Strengths: The good is well i'm not sure if there is a good but maybe you could use it to hold open a door. But its to fragile to hold open a door. Or maybe you could try to get a newbie to buy it for 40 dollars.But the most promising thing about this gun is you never have to worry about it working because it never will.
Weaknesses: Its overpriced first of all. It could not even be taken apart for spare parts. Its made by brass eagle. It will break if you look at it wrong. you are guranteed to be laughed at if you take it to the feild. And it looks like garbage.
Conclusion: Probaly the most useless thing in the world. And guranteed not to work out of the box.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
This gun is kinda 1 of a kind
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 with Beaver Tail, 6 stage Chamber, Venturi Bolt, Electro trigger and laser sight---- Brass Eagle rainmaker Full Auto with 68ci PMI Nitro- DYE barrel and dropforwards----
Recommended
Upgrades:
Unupgradeable
Strengths: Okay. This gun isn't half bad, just never use it as a main arm. I Always play with mine, but it stay under my jacket in a pistol holster with 1 12g loaded with 10 balls. If sh** happens, like my gun breaks (never with the model 98, impossible to break) or if my tank goes dry, or i run out of balls, this this will keep my opponents head down while i dart to safety and get out of the hot zone. Also it looks kinda cool, and hey, being laughed at isn't that bad (remember, i play with a rainmaker) n e wayz, this gun makes a wonderful side arm and a "get me the heck out of here " gun. Worth about $20
Weaknesses: Lots and lots
It breaks a LOt, but can almost always be fixed with dohickies from the self service aisle of the hardware store. if you have any friends, plan on them making fun of you because with a gun like this, it's a friends obligation to beat up another friend who buys one. ( I'd do it for my buddy)
Conclusion: If you can grab one of ebay for less than 20, go for it, but NEVER, under andy circumstances, use this as a main gun. only use as a side arm and if you are in over your head.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Deadshot Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DSDS Wolpack, Sidekick Semi-Short, AGD Sydarm, Core ZX, Armotech Zeus G2 RIS, PT Extreme, PT Proffesional & Delta .68
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic .68 w/ MP5 Body Kit
Mako Storm Electro Frame
Werm Undertow Bolt
Apocalypse Titanium Hammer
32 Degrees Springs
Macroline line-Bottomline
Mini Custom Expansion Chamber
Thunder Pig Remote Coil
& Eagle .68 Sidearms (2)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good Paintballs, Electrical Tape, Lots of Lubrication.
Strengths: Accuracy - (when well maintained)
Inexpensive
Intimidating
Fun Factor
Weaknesses: Fragile Plastic Body
Heavy
Dummies usually buy it & don't know how to use it.
Review: First off, Please allow me to dispel all the bad press this Sidearm has received. Its actually a decent marker when you know how to take care of it. The price was the first thing that caught my eye, when it came out was around $45 about ten years ago and for the first semi-auto pistol that ever came out it wasn't all that bad. (PGP were still about $99 at that time) After purchasing 2 of these babies in 1994 I tested them right out of the box and was amazed at the feel and accuracy of the pistol. At 60 feet I could hit a 12" grouping out of every clip (8 competition paintballs). It was a bit heavy, but back then since I had nothing to compare it to at the time the weight felt about right for a semi-auto pistol and it was well balanced too. After a few field battles I averaged at least 1 kill per outing with the pistol with the use of only one cartridge per draw (22 shots average per co2 cartridge) (This was Great considering I only needed to draw the pistol once or twice a session) But after 150 rounds the accuracy dropped and so did velocity. Being a newb then I was afraid to take apart the gun so I used the second one I bought for a few more months until the same problem occurred. I finally decided to take apart the guns and lubed up the bolt and hammer/spring assembly and the accuracy/performance did return. After that I had ritually maintained my pistols after every 200 shots and they still perform excellent to this day. I have tried many other pistols since then (since I'm sort off a cowboy and like the dual pistol "Akembo" shooting style) But beyond the Sydarm & possibly the Delta .68 this pistol performs as well as any of the others. I have experienced CO2 leak problems with the PT's and the SideKicks. As well as manufacturing defects with the Zeus & Core pistols. I always come back to my Eagle .68 for reliability. Yeah the body is made out of cheap plastic but if you don't throw your maker at walls and it won't break apart on you. It will develop stress cracks that need electrical tape or super glue to fix. But thats about it. Other than that its a beast and looks like Dirty Harry's paintball pistol so when you draw it, you actually get wide eyed expressions from other players and you feel like you are overcompensating for something.
Conclusion: The Eagle .68 is accurate and reliable but it needs to be oiled & maintained like a real paintball marker to keep up performance. The barrel bore is pretty small (0.682-0.685) so use Competition paintballs for optimum accuracy (you will only need 8 or so per session anyway). The body plastic is not very durable so check for stress cracks and have lots of electrical tape handy. Other than that, this gun is pro and will serve as your faithful sidearm for many years. Mine are over 10 years old. (9 out of 10 because of the cheap body) (10 out of 10 for performance and price)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

forestflash Wednesday, November 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: PMI PIRANHA SRT
-E Force Trigger
-Shock Tech Super Fly Delrin Bolt
-Viewloader Revy

SIDE ARM
-Brass Eagle 68
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ten shots isn't much to work with at all. I carry two ten ball speed loader tubes on the field. If you can find ABS with the right ID, they're very easy to make. Also a good leg holster is the only thing that keeps this tank of a gun from flopping around when you're on the run
Strengths: ACCURATE! Reliable! Compact in comparision to a full set up, great for bush ball
Weaknesses: Very few shots, and
weak plastic frame required much repairing
Review: This was a gun passed down to me by an uncle after he got bunkered a few too many times. It was a good gun to bring me into paintball, but using it as a primary I suffered the same fate. Its more accurate than most entry level markers and its always good to go when you're other marker is on the frits.

The plastic frame is useless! I've machined out almost every screw hole on thus gun and replaced them with new threaded holes using J-B Weld. As far as functionality goes tho it stills works perfect, but in the odd instance of a break you have to take apart the whole gun to clean it.
Conclusion: Accurate
Reliable when maintained like a proper marker
Weak plastic frame
One of a kind, you have to love it to not hate it
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CorporateSlave3 Friday, December 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP - superior
Core ZX - somewhat superior
Marker Setup: Tippmann Carbine68
Tippmann A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Are there any? Electrical tape. A new pistol.
Strengths: At the time - only spring fed magazine pistol available
Weaknesses: Fragile.
Fragile.
Unreliable.
Fragile.
Review: Although I did manage to use it to avoid getting bunkered upwards a couple of times (my gravity fed primary did (obviously) not fire while aimed directly up), overall I have a hard time imagining a more worthless marker.

The spring fed magazine was fragile and the plastic shattered after a few uses. I replaced this with a piece of wooden dowel, which worked OK.

Entire body of the pistol was constructed out of VERY fragile black plastic, which shook apart over the life of the marker. It is currently held almost entirely in together by electrical tape which can never be removed or else the body will fall apart. The action of firing the marker actually caused this damage, not accidental dropping or impacts. Granted it still will fire paintballs, but having to use an e-tape wrapping to supplement the casing?!?

The cocking knobs are screwed on and had a tendency to also shake themselves loose and fall off.

I suppose some people would say it was too loud an inaccurate, but I never used it to fire at any distance, and the other weaknesses made me forget about if it was loud or not.
Conclusion: I would not recommend getting one - ESPECIALLY not a used one, as it is likely either falling apart or about to.
There are far better markers out there. A used PGP would still outperform this lemon, pump action and all.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact is better than this gun.
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle .68 with 5 paintball bullets and cobra co2 cartridge. One paintbrush and a bucket of paint to paint people which is something this gun is not able to do.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a paintbrush and bucket of paint.
Strengths: Its good because you can tell people you have a gun or sort of gun...oh just say its something.
Weaknesses: The gun, cost too much for a piece of crap my dog can make for free. Its homosexual and shoots to slow and the feedback hurts your hands.
Conclusion: This gun is the best...best gun to shoot people at 1inch away, and will rip you off and take your money to places it has never been 1 inch away. This gun deserves a negative rating, no wait negative times 2 rating minus infinite rating.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Anarchist4life Friday, September 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all the PTs, Zeus, I&I Sports pistols
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse, 68ci tank, back up:20 ounce tank, Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
not much, not a lot of upgrades for this
Strengths: accuracy
weight
ease of use
Weaknesses: distance
velocity
Review: -I got this from a friend for like 10 bucks. I used it once and thought it was horrible I just screwed around a bit and changed the inside with a newer spring. I thought that was the best thing I have ever done to this thing, it enhanced the accuracy but the speed lessened to about 240 fps. I love it though, I did use it as a main arm once. I made a mistake there. But as my best friend turned the bunker to shoot me, I threw it at him and it nailed him in the nutz making him fall, and letting me pick it up and shoot him, thank god he didnt report it, just change the spring heh
Conclusion: Hurts when hit right
Speed is alright
I love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Lark in Pink Saturday, July 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: --AGD Minimag, Blade Trigger, 12v revvy, Ultralite 2 piece, drop forward, Crossfire 48ci
Strengths: Funny looking
Weaknesses: Large
Heavy
Expensive
Rate of fire
Accuracy
Velocity
Review: I like the kids that have never shot any other gun and think this one's amazing. Hahaha they make me laugh. I suppose you could use it to throw at a poor defenseless kid outta air and paint and nail em in the back of the head, thus giving you enough time to grab a paintball off the ground and squirt on him, but the gun would probably break on that too...
Conclusion: Hahaha i tested this product way back when and it still makes me laugh. Brass Eagle so silly.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

K-Red Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I can't really put this into any category of pistol.
Marker Setup: Stock, except that the magazine is missing and a pipe-plug is an improvised stopper. (See Review)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remove the metal internal pieces, get some supplies and a shop, and make a new pistol from scratch.
Strengths: Fairly light weight
Fairly good CO2 efficiency
Fairly accurate
Kind of quiet
Weaknesses: Plastic
Bulky for it's weight
Chops paint without magazine
Crappy velocity (Non-adjustable)
Review: Here's the ground work: A close friend of mine got one of these a few years ago, it did not have the magazine with it, and no way to hold the paint in (I don't think he paid anything for it.). We managed to improvise something to hold in the paint, but a cork wasn't going to do it. After using it a few times he set it in a box and left it for two years. He lent it to me to try out, oil up, and make some kind of attempt to recreate the magazine (which I have failed to do). This is the set up I'm operating off of. It currently uses a rubber ring to hold in the paint, and the marker needs to be tilted forward periodically.

Ok, now I've got a few things about this marker that I actually like. This makes a nice panic-button gun for when someone is getting too close and your primary marker jams, or the tank runs out and you don't have any spares. It'll possibly save you from being tagged. Among this, it's easy on CO2, and It's as accurate as can be expected. (You'll hit a mask from 10 feet away with perfect accuracy.)
I don't know what many people are complaining about when they say it's loud, I find it to be quieter than most other pistols. In the pandemonium of a firefight, I don't think anyone is going to notice you unless they are looking right at you or they see where your shots are coming from.

Now for a few flaws. To begin I would like to say that the plastic construction will be problematic if you remove the screws too many times: They strip out the marker, so eventually it WON'T be able to go back together.
For how much it weighs, this marker is very bulky. Jacket pockets don't like it, and half the pistol holsters out there don't hold it comfortably. (If you rig one up yourself, you could probably get some good use out of it.) Small hands will find this marker annoying.
Probably because the magazine is missing, this thing tends to double-load and chop paint when held slightly downward. (If you are shooting down a hill, this may play a role. I tested it out of a second floor window.) This gets annoying after the third time in 20 rounds.
The last flaw that's significant is that it only has one velocity setting, and it's pretty crappy. Anyone farther away than 30 feel is going to see your shots coming, and they can dodge them easily. If you use this marker STEALTH IS YOUR FRIEND.

Aside from all this, I have a feeling it can be useful. Though I would recommend that you remove the metal internal pieces, get some supplies and a shop, and make a new pistol from scratch.
Conclusion: I can see how this would be useful to someone playing rec ball in the woods or a scenario game, but only then if you don't pay much for it and use it only as a panic-button/last-resort device. I still maintain that it's better to use as a springboard to build your own pistol... or not, who knows? Who cares? Choice is yours... if you can find one.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Anteater1717 Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus g2, palmers pursuit pistols of several varieties
Marker Setup: a-5 with stuff on it
Recommended
Upgrades:
more magazines
Strengths: Accuracy, high velocity
Weaknesses: Weight /size
Review: Ok before you tell me I am a retarded noob let me tell you I own a paintball course and I have shot nearly every gun out there ranging from angels to blades. I also fully understand that brass eagles are usually sub par from all aspects of performance and quality. I have shot two of these markers and I was impressed both were rather accurate and were loud thatís a plus in my book. The one I have the most experience with is my cousins. It was and I kid you not as accurate as my well tuned a-5 using medium grade zap paint. It had actual recoil similar to a .22 pistol just barely enough to feel. The trigger pull was heavy but not unbearable. Magazine capacity was normal for a paintball pistol. The gas efficiency was good two magazines to the 5 gram cartridge. The consistency hovered between 280 and 290 fps witch is good but not great. I played one game were it was my side arm and it served its purpose. I was stuck in a bunker with no ammo in my a-5 I could tell the player was about to bunker me because he had stopped firing and he slowly was advancing on my position. I saw him suddenly jolt he ran up and stuck his body over my bunker I shot him three times once in the mask and twice in the upper chest. The second game I played with it I was able to shoot a sniper with it who had ambushed us I shot him in the elbow from about thirty feet away. I will not compare this too any other long marker because that is unfair. It probably is best compared to a Zeus g2 though not as good. The other one I tried was very inaccurate and generally a pour performer when I tried shooting some targets. Given the poor quality of brass eagles I think the high performing one might have been a fluke but it was a good fluke. So buy it if you can get it for cheep but it might not be as good as the one I shot. I give it an extra point for being the first semi auto side arm.
Conclusion: I give it an 8 but that is based on the high performing one I shot the poorer performing one disserves about a 3 I will give it the benefit of the doubt and give it the 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media