paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel

Hammerhead Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hammerhead Barrels have Internal rifling, angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. Comes in sliver and black in various sizes.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mradventure888 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested85 of 140 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: old school autococker, prolite (with a taso SS barrel that i used to make one shot kills at over 300 feet), spyder, mag, and a tigershark (i can't get rid of because it was my first marker)
Recommended
Paintballs:
allstars (because of the small size they tend to break less)
Strengths: nice job on the porting.
nice craftmanship.
good milling.
tack driver at under 15 feet.
Weaknesses: throws paint "off" target at long range.
doesn't clean well.
Review: OK, would the owners of the company and those sponsored by Hammerhead please stop writing reviews on this product. This website is supposed to be for players by players. Thank you.
------------------------------------

Since 1986 I have seen every kind of paintball barrel come and go; brass, nickle, aluminum, steel, rifled, ported, spiral ported, different internal diameters, slotted, etc... And I can tell you guys with all sincerity that internal rifling doesn't work for the following reasons.
1) You can't rifle a round paintball and expect it to go straight, when spin is induced on a paintball it spins unpredictably. Thats why curve balls in baseball work so well. A bullet is different, that is a cylindrical object that stabilizes in flight.
2) How are you suppose to shoot thru a break if paint is trapped within the groves of a internally rifled barrel. Remember ARMSON, they tried something like that in the mid 90's and when you broke a ball (which was every other time because of the stress imposed on the shell as the rifling DUG into it) you "had" to squeegee it.
3) Paintball's are not perfectly round and have fluid in them. How can a uneven water balloon fly straight if it is spinning?
4) There is a "Video Clip" circulating on the Internet that shows the hammerhead being shoot right after a break. Well you will notice that the next 10 or so balls are ALL over the place then "mysteriously" the barrel fades into a different part of the screen and the trees are blowing harder and the barrel shoots good again. The reason for this is they squeegeed the barrel and then did a little video fade work to make you think that it was shot clean?!?!

NOW lets get down to business----->
A friend of mine got this barrel because he heard all the hype on it (despite my objections). I told him to get a powerlyte but he didn't listen. Oh well, such is life....
We tried it out last Sunday, and needless to say it didn't flip my skirt.
First off don't even think of using brittle paint like diablo or maxim 2's (suck) they will break always! To much friction.
Second, the ball's have to be seamless or have a very smooth seam. Otherwise they will wander at about 40 feet.
Third, I actually noticed a decrease in accuracy at long range when compared to my friends boomstick.
Forth, don't EVEN think you can shoot the hammerhead clean, after a half of a hopper we still noticed a slight paint residue between the groves causing the paint to zip around below 30 feet!!!!!!
Fifth, we tried allstar, bigball, borrowed some diablo, worr-paint, premium, and slam. All had the same results: Sucky....
-------------------------------

And now a few words from Tom Kaye creator of the automag (taken from Airgun Designs Web page, in the tech section)

It was asked in another post what effect do riffled barrels have on spinning a paintball, not drilled holes, actual rifling like in real guns. This is a good question and one that was explored by our research team.

In theory spinning a projectile on the axis of flight adds gyroscopic stability as well as averages out any imperfections in the surface air flow. Paintballs leave a bad turbulence wake behind them that "walks around" the back of the ball as it flies through the air. This is the main cause of a paintballs inaccuracy as the turbulence tail drags the ball around sideways in flight. Spinning the ball should create a tornado like vortex in the back of the ball thereby evening out all the turbulence so the ball is not pulled any particular way.

So great you say lets do it and get more accuracy!! Well if it was possible it would already have been done. The problem is the liquid fill, when you rotate the shell, the liquid tends to stay where it is. The best example of this is a glass of water with ice floating in it, when you rotate the glass the ice stays in the same place (you have all seen it). So if you can grab the ball hard enough to go from 0 to about 10,000 RPM's in 5 thousands of a second (remember TechTip #1?) Yes the shell is spinning but the fill is not. When the ball leaves the barrel the viscosity of the fill slows the shell down but the fill's rotation is speeding up from the shell too, so you get an almost instant reduction of the RPM's out of the barrel. The balls rotation does not come to a complete stop because the shell does impart some spin to the fill. In order to test this properly we actually developed a gun that spun the barrel, with the ball in it, up to 30,000 RPM's and then shot the ball out.

In this way we knew the ball and the fill were completely up to speed when it left the barrel. We had visions of a spinning barrel paintgun that would make that high speed turbo wine! Unfortunately this didn't improve the accuracy because the ball is still too light.

As a final test we developed a barrel that had three razor edged knife blades running down the length of the bore. Using our plastic paintballs they wedged in the blades perfectly and we spun up the barrel and fired more test rounds. Because the knives would cut the ball we could examine them after the fact to see if they were rotating in the barrel etc. Again unfortunately we saw no improvement in accuracy and gave up.

Based on this data we believe round paintballs are too light and have lousy aerodynamics to expect any more accuracy than what we are currently getting. When the military came to us and wanted a more accurate non lethal system we made a bullet shaped, spin stabilized paintball that far outperformed any equal weight round projectile. Accuracy by volume has been, and will remain, the best way to score eliminations.



Conclusion: This barrel is just like the Armson of 1990, it sucks. The only difference is that it has nicer porting, maybe in another 13 years we will see a better internally rifled barrel that will make a slight improvement in accuracy over the last one. haha. But still not up to the good old straight porting with no step that I have grown to love.

Do not buy this barrel, if you don't take my 16+ years of experience, go ahead and throw down $125.99 ;-) My friend said he might sell his on ebay, so keep your eyes open.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
75 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballGuys Sunday, May 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak w/ 14" AA Front. The Hammerhead is noticable more accurate and the marker uses less air with this barrel than the Freak with both adjusted to shoot at 285 fps.
Marker Setup: ANS GX3 'cocker, HPA, WGP Hinge, Hammerhead w/ Fin, Revy w/ Turbo X board.
Recommended
Paintballs:
You can shoot anything with this barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy, Accuracy, Accuracy.
Weaknesses: You'll have no more excuses.
Review: Three of us used the Hammerhead w/ a Fin this weekend for the first time. All of us shoot ANS GX3s but play different positions and styles.

We were shooting 10" Hammerheads on 1 1/4" fins. (The fin acutally measures longer than this - this is the "active" length). This makes the overall lenth 11 1/4". We each have a "Fin Kit" which gets you three Fins - Hammerhead lets you pick the sizes you want in the kit. We've added a fourth fin to provide a slightly broader ball diameter range giving us: 0.690", 0.688", 0.066", and 0.683" Fins. (We also tried a 14" Hammerhead on the practice range. Accuracy was also excellent although not quite as good as the 10". It also seemed to take a bit more air - which should be expected from the longer barrel.)

First of all, the materials, machining, and fit & finish are all excellent. The barrel has a fine spiral rifling and angled porting near the tip. This is some of the nicest machining I've seen. It's clear that they've taken time to get the product "done" before they sell it.

Four cases of paint (different makes), speedball and woods games, front-back play, attack-defense: no barrel breaks, no chops, lots of kills.

We've been shooting Freaks and AAs for some time. The Hammerheads are very clearly more accurate. On the practice range, I found myself focusing my shots not on a particular target, but on a bolt on the target - and repeatably putting paint on the bolt. In speedball, I'd post on someone and be able to consistently put shots right where I wanted them - about an inch off the edge of the bunker - shot after shot after shot. In the woods, the accuracy at long range was also excellent (defending a hill). This is even more impressive considering the compact package: 11 1/4" overall lenght.

We took turns firing the markers and also being down-range, and switching between the Freak and Hammerhead. The Hammerhead was louder to the shooter, but quieter to the guy being shot. It seems that the angled porting helps direct part of the sound back toward the shooter, making it quieter down-range ... and it works.

I was a bit skeptical at first that anything could significantly out perform my Freak. OK, I was wrong, the Hammerhead/Fin combination is clearly more accurate than my Freak, used less air, and cost less.

Conclusion: I've never shot anything as accurate as this setup. If you have the money to buy a milti-part barrel kit, buy a Hammerhead and a Fin Kit. Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

zeroeswing Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
GTA 14" Sniper (so quiet!)
32 Degrees Carbon Fiber
GTA Flatline
32 Degrees Terminator
(read every single review for barrels of 9.0 and higher(if that means anything))
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
14" Hammerhead Battle Stikxx
Pro Team f/x Sniper Stock
DOP Rocket Cock
Pro Team Hyperstar Bolt (it does work!)
Dark Horizon Lite Titanium Hammer
ACI HPA Coiled Remote Deluxe Pro (I got this when I paid for a $20 cheaper one)
BSA 3-9x 50mm Scope (longer than my marker!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever size fits best. Get a ball gauge to test. Mine is .688.
Matching paint to barrel is the best way to get more accuracy.
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Not the lightest but very light
(continued below)
Weaknesses: (see below)
Review: By the way, I am not part of Hammerhead. I feel sorry for those who think I am.d

First of all, let me say that this barrel is not, I repeat, NOT an average rifled barrel made to trick you into thinking it works. It DOES work. The whole concept behind it and the point of making it is that it is shooting paintballs, not bullets. Paintballs have liquid inside. It is NOTHING like an ice cube in water and the cup is the shell. The paint in a paintball is much more viscous, you will notice (If you get hit by one). It is more like yogurt or somewhat watery yogurt. The makers of this barrel, if you read more about them, had this liquid in mind when they wanted to make a barrel that spins the paintball. The barrel gives only a slight turn to the paintball, which DOES work. People say it only works with bullets. Pffff. Rubbish. It does work on paintballs. You can spin any type of ball like that, so why not a paintball. As seen in the Hammerhead, it does make a much more accurate marker.

This barrel is so accurate it's crazy. It goes exactly where I want it to go ball on top of ball hopper on top of hopper at any distance a marker can shoot. I can't begin to explain my amazement at its accuracy. Another very useful thing is that the ball will always break on target. The company promises 99% percent of the time. That is definitely true provided you keep it clean.

There is a bad point. After a while of playing and the minuscule amounts of ball breaks you will get, you have to clean it. A squeegee will not do. Crud gets stuck in the little grooves in between the rifling that is hard to get out. I use toilet paper or a clothe scrub head thingy that I have.

A very convenient thing is about ball breaks. If and when you get them (I've never heard of a barrel that didn't break once), you simply keep firing and it will start to fire like new again. Of course, over time, if you do not clean the crud that builds up in those grooves over a dozen games or so, the barrel wil suck. You will notice how much more ball bounces you will get and a sharp decrease in accuracy. Once again, keep those grooves clean, and the barrel will be the best.

This barrel is pretty dang quiet if you ask me. It directs the noise back towards the shooter. The effect of this is downrange people hear you a lot less than you hear yourself. It might not compare in quietness to a good amount of others, but it is still up there in the ranks of the quiet barrels.

This barrel adds barely any weight to your marker, so don't worry about that. It is very light. There may be a lighter barrel, but it is definitely not nearly as accurate.

When I first got this barrel, it was 12". I ordered 14". I didn't notice until just recently. Guess what. I called Paul Judson (President of Hammerhead), told him about the problem and he replaced it no questions asked (except "what size did you want", etc.). Now I have a brand new, better than before Battle Stikxx. I think it looks so much cooler.

I say better because Mr. Judson noted that the manufacturer for his company had changed and that no defects are possible because of the quality. I can vouch for that because the quality of the barrel he sent was so much better than the first.

When I first decided this barrel, its rating here was 10. After I purchased it, the rating declined rapidly to 9.0 or something that scared me. There was nothing I could do because I had already bought it. However, when it arrived, I was definitely satisfied and content with my purchase. It far exceeded my expectations.

For anyone who bought this and was not happy, I strongly believe you got a defect. Simply call Mr. Judson, and tell him. He will be so happy so send you a replacement.
You will definitely be happy with the new one he will send.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this barrel to anyone who holds accuracy to be the most important trait of a barrel. Along with that is it's always break on target ability. Remember to clean it, though. I gave it a 10 because it's such an awesome barrel. The good far outweighs the bad. The customer service is so frigging awesome. After 6 months, they replaced it for a much better quality one. I am so very content with this barrel and anyone who buys it now, I know you will be content, also.

The price may be high, but I think it is completely worth it.

Sorry I couldn't be more specific. I am just too happy with this thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 25th, 2004 at 9:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Eyecare Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No rifled barrels.
Use Scepter, CP-pro, Freaks, Boomers, etc.
Marker Setup: Adrenaline Angel LCD
Warped Sportz CLASS iR3
Classic Intimidator SE (WAS/PBK upgrades)
Eclipse Shocker
LOE FF (Cocker)
Carter Buzzard
Recommended
Paintballs:
Roundest paintball you can buy
Strengths: Imparts a slight spin on balls that permit them to stay on course better.
Weaknesses: Balls will "wander" if out-of-round or wet.
Review: BLUF: More hype than fact. Results may vary by user.

While in theory, this barrel may be able to improve on accuracy over non-rifled barrels, most any barrel is accurate as any other from 35' on in. At over 35', this barrel can be perceptibly more accurate provided the balls are in good shape and there is no paint on them, it's not raining, and there isn't a big fluctuating crosswind. Under the later conditions, the normal barrels will work better.
The mini-fins are also incredibly expensive for 2" or less of SS. These are really ball sizers and have no rifling in them. Not sure why they didn't opt for less expensive aluminum mini-fins.
The internal smoothness of the barel itself wasn't impressive and may explain why I had so much trouble shooting through paint. 10-15 shots after a break my balls were still flying everywhere.
One final grip is with customer service. I contacted the owner after I found that the barrel wouldn't thread on the .693 mini-fin easily. He said he'll send a replacement out immediately but I have yet to see it. (I may have to retract this if t shows up on my door one of these days. Nonetheless, a promise is a promise.)
Edit: (4SEP03) The new .693 sizer finally arrived and it screws on perfectly. I found that it's much more helpful to talk to father (Robert) than the son (Paul) when you have a problem. The communication is much better and leads to quicker resolution of problems.
Conclusion: Like most paintball products, there's a lot of hype and a lot less fact. While some reviewers have had excellent results from their Hammerhead, it's performance to date has not impressed me enough to prefer it over the other barrels I own. This barrel may be "the most accurate" under selected controlled situations but there's room for improvement in my book. I would give it a "7" for above average but when considering the expense, the poor internal finish, the inability to clear breaks easily, as well as the mating problem between the mini-fin and the barrel this requires something less.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 4th, 2003 at 2:06 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

tigerspyder Saturday, February 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Virtually Everything Available
Marker Setup: 3 Spyders (Shutter, Imagine and Original Spyder). Pa;lmer Regulators and custom made components.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only balls that end up hitting your target.
Strengths: Craftsmanship, attention to detail, reverse porting, company's customer service and honesty!
Weaknesses: Price is a little high but you get what you pay for.
Review: First off, I would like to address the most recent negative post on this product. Seems a little bias to not be working for some other barrel company! Some of the tests he mentioned are kind of laughable and the physics he mentions are not accurate.

Listen folks, the proof is in the pudding and no words are going to do this product or any other product justice. You have to see it and try it to believe it. I spent a great deal of time on the phone with Hammerhead and other companies, and did a ton of research before getting my barrel. The video clips are what eventually won me over and are not altered despite what others are trying to claim. The latest video out proves how accurate this thing is and shot in such a way that it can not be altered.

This company has done their homework and truly understands the physics of paintballs, gun characteristics, and ball flight. They took the time to explain to me (even reveal) the crucial rpm numbers and other physics that it takes for shooting a paintball straight. Some of the stuff they mentioned concerning turbulence, ball regeneration and other physics of ball flight truly impressed me. They also made clear the misunderstanding so many people have concerning the physics behind liquid spinning or not spinning in the ball.

I am not going to waste a bunch of time detailing test results and so on because we all shoot in different conditions with different paint and different guns. I will however tell you a little of what I experienced with my 3 Spyders that I use (Shutter, Imagine and the original Spyder). I am a back woods ball player like a good number of you are and I use crappy cheap paintballs. I have been playing for over 8 years now and the only aftermarket part I use besides the barrel is a Palmer regulator on my Shutter. I will say that since I have owned this barrel, I have only had a handful of balls that strayed way off target and almost zero busted paint in the barrel. The key is doing what the company recommends and setting your gun close to 280fps. Any legitimate people that posted something negative about this barrel probably were shooting hot.

The key to having fun at paintball is winning or at least hitting people. When you constantly miss and get shot by others, then the game can become boring and frustrating. I recommend that if you spend any money on an upgrade, to get a good barrel and a regulator especially if you play in cold weather. I highly recommend this barrel especially if you like to play the SNIPER. I love picking people off with only 1-3 rounds at long distances without them seeing me and this Barrel is the key to doing it consistently!

Again, do not fully trust any forum post or reviews that you see out their. Do not even trust this one if you do not want to. Money plays to much a part in this industry now and you get to many bogus posts by people. Take a look at the hammerhead videos on their website, talk to others that use the barrel and try it out yourself. I can guarantee you will be amazed with this barrel. Seeing all the tournament teams that are winning using this barrel is also something that you should consider. Now I am sounding like a salesman.
Conclusion: ATTENTION ALL SNIPERS.......
Get this barrel if you like to play the sniper position. This barrel is the best I have used in my 8 years of play. This company has done their homework and has put a top quality barrel that actually works on the market. Great Job HammerHead!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

CARLTON COOPER Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wgp kaner barrrel system, Freak
Marker Setup: 2003 Cocker all oracle parts.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any shoots all of them well
Strengths: Quiet,air efficient. And very accurate
Weaknesses: only comes with three backs would like to see a fourth.
Review: I have recently aquired this barrel system,I was sceptical at first. Especially since it is a rifled barrel system.So i put it up aginst a Wgp Kaner barrel system,a Freak barrel system. I shot all the same size inserts to keep the comparison fair,and I chroned after each barrel change. The first thing i noticed was that the Hammerhead system was more air efficient. about 10 more balls per 100. I shot this barrel at different ranges. I was shooting 32 degrees team colors that I had left over from a scenario game back in feb. It was out of round and dimpled. The reason i chose this paint is, I figured if this new barrel could shoot crappy paint good it should be able to shoot good paint even better. well anyways I shot at three distances, 35yds,50yds,and 85yds. All the barrels were accurate at 35 even though i got a few more hits on the target with the hamerhead. then I shot the 50yd target I shot 10 balls a piece at the same target from each barrel if your wondering. Anyway at 50yds.the freak was 7 out of 10 the kaner was 7 out of 10 and the hammerhead was 9-10. yes this was a fixed position on the gun.
anyway I took a box and sat it on a fence post about 85yds away and begin the process all over and to my surprise the kaner had 2-10 hits and the freak 3-10 hits and the hamerhead tended to regenerate the balls for a lack of a better word it tokk the curve out of the ball and i did not have that hovering up and down side to side look and it flew straight with no arch like a bullet , any way i managed 7-10 hits and remember i was shooting really crappy paint . The other thing I noticed was the hammerhead barrlel was loud but i later figured out going down range and listening to all three barrels being shot that it was the quieter one of the three because the majority of the sound was projected back at the shooter so that made me happy being a scenario player. Well any way thats my take on the barrel system.
The only thing I would like to see in the barrel system is four backs instead of three. But other than that i give it a 10 out of 10 rating. U gotta try out. Here is a link.

http://www.hammerheadpaintball.com
Conclusion: I would recomend this barrel to any of my friends, even though the Fin kit by Hammerhead is $240.00 I do beleive it is well worth its weight in gold.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

MADMANINDC Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, pipe, SP progressive, Titanium Longbow.
Marker Setup: 2003 imp, nd stub bolt, pin, rip valve, ult combo, slik shot, rathole ss hammer, evoii
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything if you can get it to shoot straight.
Strengths: sound down range is minimal, light.
Weaknesses: rifiling, backs are too short in my opinion
Review: I was skeptical about rifiling. I read all teh reviews here and the testamonials on thier site. I was sold that this thing would be the answer! Boy was I wrong. This barrel is very accurate upto about 35 feet. After that, the balls corkscrew, curve, drop...not in a consistant pattern, but all over the place. I tried it out with marbs, big ball, hellfire, evil, blaze, ultra evil, ultimate chronic, I really wanted to see this thing work. All balls shot about the same give or take a few inches in the patterns at closer range. Just for comparison, I put on the stock Progressive barrrel and out-shot it by a mile. Very disappointing. The fit and finish was very good, very well made, but not worth it. I bought it on ebay for less than 1/2 the selling price, wouldn't do it again for 1/2 of what I paid. Buy a thunderpig, you will be much happier.
Conclusion: It doesn't deliver on the promise of ball-on-ball accuracy. Don't buy it.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

satin Thursday, July 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stainless Freak System (14", 16" 18")
JT 2-piece barrels (14" & 16")
14" Titanium Boomstick
Marker Setup: E-Bladed-'02-MacDev Sonic Cocker (real WGP)
Belsales Evolution .44 Magnum Ram
Belsales Titanium Actuator and Cocking Rods
Eclipse D.A.R.T. Delrin Bolt
Eclipse Rex Dialer Kit
Maddman Rocket Valve
Palmers Micro Rock
Palmers Prototype "Fatty" Stabilizer
Air America Apocalypse 2K 68/4500
Hammerhead Paintball ProSeries Fin Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever you can get... doesn't really matter with this system
Strengths: light, dead accurate, rifled, backwards porting, not everyone has it yet, & great customer service.
Weaknesses: a little pricer than others
Review: i called Robert (president of hammerhead paintball) on his personal cell phone. he posted it on another forum for anyone who had doubts/questions about the barrel. he's even willing to let you "borrow" and try out the barrel to see if you like it. of course, you'll need a credit card as collateral and pay shipping charges.

anyway, i made the call friday afternoon. he was at the IAO. i told him i was interested but i wanted the setup the next day... saturday. he said no problem. while at the IAO, he shipped me the 14" fin kit (+3 inserts) with saturday delivery. now thats customer service.

the barrel is great. the back is stainless steel and less than 1/2 the length of the freak back to make it really light. there aren't any inserts to ding and dent on accident. the front is aircraft aluminum, reverse ported, and rifled. i didn't know what that meant until i actually played with it. over the chrono i had to lower my velocity. it was setup at 285fps with my freak. just changing to this barrel i was shooting almost 300fps. is that cool or what?! the efficiency of this barrel is amazing. you do get more shots per tank. the sound the barrel is different. i don't know if it's quieter.. but it sure is different. the rifling makes this thing deadly accurate, even from across the field. i'm more of a mid/back player, so my job is mainly to provide cover. with this system, i was actually shooting hoppers and feednecks from my position. thats pretty good considering i was using 2 month old paint that had been sitting in my closet. i broke a ball in the breach and 4 or 5 shots later, i was shooting straight again... no problems.

the coolest part... everyone was asking me what kind of barrel i was using. nobody knows about it yet, at least not over here in SoCal.
Conclusion: buy it, you won't regret it. it's a little pricier than others but you get what you pay for. i'll never use another type of barrel again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 13th, 2003 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DynastyPaintbal Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomsticks....not really any for this price to compare...for higher price, the freaks
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP VF Autococker, 14'' Hammerhead Barrel, Halo TBA LCD Frontman, Dye Bolt,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Its really depends on what jives with your gun... but i wouldn't shoot any less than PMI premiums
Strengths: Accurate, Cool looking, Rifling, Price and all the different fins..(bore sizes)
Weaknesses: Manufacturer's slow (took forever to get it), little hard to clean..but worth it
Review: I was going to get the boomstick for my first upgrade for my gun, but the dealer talked me out of it and said to get the hammerhead... i was unsure, but since i read some of these reviews i felt a little better....

this is a grate barrel mostly for its accuracy... i was shooting 25 yards with PMI premium and and the range of hits was 6 ins.... when i tested it from 50 yards the hit range was 11 ins...

If i was to pick the Inch size of the barrel i would look at ur gun... anything over 14'' isn't really worth it unless you have a good gun that can put the ball out that fast to see any difference... but i wouldn't recommend anything less than a 14'' no matter what gun you have
Conclusion: Over all I really think this is a great barrel, better than more of the others for its price... and one of the beauties of the barrel is that it will shot great on almost any type of paint... I give it a 10 for the quality... Of coarse there are better barrels out there but this is best for its price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Count Crimson Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive, freak kit, spyder stock barrels, and tippman stock barrels. The Freak kit shoots the closest to the hammerhead but at long range the hammerhead pulls ahead. But there is no competition between ANY stock barrel and a Hammerhead with 5 fins.
Marker Setup: 2004 Impulse w/ Disaster Bolt. 2004 Hammerhead 5 fin kit, and I still use Co2 )-:
Recommended
Paintballs:
In my experience large to small bore paint works just as well in the Hammerhead, the only paint I haven't tested is the brittle paint which I will soon and update my review with my findings. But so far all paint has shot great the better the paint to bore size the better!

Strengths: Accuracy Accuracy Accuracy
Quiet down range
Air effeciency
Weaknesses: Hard to clean initially
Expensive
Review: I'm here to refute all of the myths surrounding the Hammerhead barrel, I came to this site for guidance in my search for the most accurate barrel and decided upon reading the mixed bag of 10s and 1s that this barrel was either the most accurate on the market or just hype.

After actually shooting A hammerhead barrel on inflatable course called PSI on a 2k2 timmy most of my fears were put to rest as I lit up a pole from 150 feet away near ball on ball!

It appears that there was an older model of the Hammerhead before 2004 sometime that occasionally chopped balls at a high rate of fire, but my local paintball shop owner assured me that the 2004 revision did not share this problem.

Getting that out of the way, the barrel shot excellent! My good friend and his dad both have impulses with freak kits, nitro, disaster bolts, LPRs, etc and the hammerhead still outshoots their guns up close and at a distance, Even my neighbor's GX-4 Choas Autococker with nitro and a Lapco barrel can't outshoot my Co2 impy's Hammerhead!

It helps to have a low pressure gun like an electro when shooting brittle paint I believe but that goes for all barrels. I can say this with all honesty, the Hammerhead has never chopped a ball in my impy, although i've only shot about 2 thousand rounds through it so far.

My only complaint with the barrel is that a traditional squeege isn't going to get the job done in cleaning the Hammerhead, it just made it more dirty in my experience! You must use an all cotton/wool/ non abrassive squeege to get all of the condensation/ paint out of the barrel.

Even with condensation in the barrel it shoots great! On the field I got a great shot through a myriad of branches into this guy's neck for a one shot kill, while he was trying to unload on my with a stock impy, his balls were deviating ever so slightly into thin branches on the way to me, however the Hammerhead shot a straight trajectory to take him out!

Everyone who has shot this barrel on my gun wants one, I don't know for a fact that the rifling does anything but what I do know for a fact is that the Hammerhead barrel gets results, shooting from my porch to my fence (105 feet) I can hit a 3 inch fence board 3 out of 5 times! now while that may not sound that great the 2 that miss are within 2 inches of the board!

If you have the money ($229 for a 5 bore sizer kit .679, .683, .686, .690, .693, and one unmarked sizer lol!) go out and buy this barrel! I will say this the bore sizers make about a 4 inch tighter shot grouping at 105 feet when sized correctly, without a proper size like using .693 on .679 balls I get noticably looser groupings, but still great!

Don't just take my word for it! Don't take anyone's word for it, Shoot the hammerhead yourself and if you don't like it send it back cause Hammerhead has a money back guarantee.
Conclusion: If you have $180-229 to spend on A hammerhead do it! why? Results, if you are an accuracy enthuseist like myself you won't mind the investment, It may even save you money in the long run with all of that paint that won't be missing it's target!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media