paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Game Face Bone Daddy / Game Face Bone Daddy / Game Face Bone Daddy / Game Face Bone Daddy

Game Face Bone Daddy Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Game Face

Buy Game Face Bone Daddy

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Game Face Bone Daddy
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Game Face Bone Daddy is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
YoBoneDaddy Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
4 years8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Tippmann Model 98 Custom (rental, absolute swill)
- Tippmann A-5 (honestly similar speed, less accuracy, more durable and way too expensive)
- Spyder Victor (Very comparable, except much more annoying to bottomline, longer trigger pull, but less kick)
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
- Green Delrin Bolt
- Delrin Ram
- Green Delrin Sleeve
- CP 2 Piece Barrel
- CP Inline Regulator
- Macro line
- Shocktech Microdrop
- Smartparts On/Off
- 47ci 3000PSI C5 Concussion
- Ricochet Apache

GameFace Bone Daddy
- CP 1 Piece Classic
- 9 Oz CO2
- Gravity Feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New Elbow for the hopper
- Barrel
- Agitating hopper like a Revvy
- Trigger Mod
Strengths: Style, Simplicity, Upgrades, Paint, ROF
Weaknesses: Upgrades, Noise
Review: I personally love the way the Bone Daddy looks. It's simple, black and chrome. If you put any parts on it it's easy to create a nice look. It comes with a vertical bottle stock and I'd recommend keeping it that way. Ever since I bottom lined my Bone Daddy, even after antisiphoning my tank it still gets mad velocity fluctuations. Also with vertical setup the gun is very compact. I'd recommend a 9Oz, even though you'll have to fill often. I'd imagine less than 400 shots. Lately it has started to tick me off on how this marker is not as much of a Spyder Clone as you'd think. Sure it's a clone, of a Spyder from the late 90s. The striker guide and striker pin are some weird tiny version of a Spyder's. The pin is like a nail and the spring is like a long pen spring. I lost my original striker pin and had a heck of a time getting it replaced. I didn't call GameFace though, EDIT: If you do they are very helpful, I'd recommend it.


Anyway, the good in the Bone Daddy far outweighs the bad, just don't dump too much money into it (like me). I wouldn't go further than a new elbow (a must cause the stock WILL break) and maaaaybe a barrel (EDIT: that's a big maybe cause the stock barrel is really good) if your next marker will be Spyder compatable. I have destroyed opposing teams with this marker, I've outranged, out shot and out played more than my fair number of opponents. Oh, use whatever paint you like, the Bone Daddy NEVER CHOPS unless you mod the trigger. It's easy to clean and it's cheap as HECK. I also did some research and found you cannot put an ESP trigger on this gun but you ca replace the valve with a Spyder aftermarket one. Really it's just the striker and pin that are not spyder compatible, which sucks. Don't forget that it comes with a Skul mask, which is amazing.

EDIT: Well people have been slagging the Bone Daddy like crazy lately so I figured I'd come to the rescue of sorts. The last time I played with Bone Daddy (that sounds terrible) the only problem I had was outshooting my hopper. I'm not kidding, I can make this thing shoot so fast now I race a gravity fed hopper. I can't quite walk it but I can let go some pretty fast bursts. I basically just added a magnetic back-stop to the trigger to create a magnetic "response" effect at around the point where the sear trips. Now I can easily outshoot a non-R/T A-5 or most other stock blowbacks. I did have a problem with a loss of power with the bone daddy only shooting at 200FPS so I had to send it back to Crosman (turns out the local shop screwed up my CO2 tank when they a/sed it) but they were really good about fixing it and gave me no hassle whatsoever. My first few months I treated the gun terribly (unbeknownst to me) and it still behaved fine. Either way it's a great starter gun especially if you don't own a mask already.
Conclusion: This is not an Autococker or Angel, it isn't even an A-5. However it is 69.99 with a great mask. For that price your only other options are a Brass Eagle. For the marker mask and hopper that's a steal. Use this as your first gun, but don't upgrade it much. Get a feel for the sport of paintball, have some fun, smoke everyone on the field with a rental gun, then if you think it's something you're going to stick with, start thinking about your next gun. I'd say it's definitely on par or better than a stock spyder or piranha, but without the ease of upgrade that they have you'll probably never keep up with them. It's accurate, easy to clean, and loves all kinds of paint but don't forget it is just an excellent starter gun, not an excellent gun. However for it's price it's definitely a great way to get into paintballing and it will serve as a steadfast backup marker for years.

EDIT: These days I'm using an upgraded Diablo Wrath which pretty much destroys 75% of the markers on the field, but I still take out my BoneDaddy on occasion and you know what? It still works great, almost 5 years later.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 19th, 2007 at 5:56 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

beschissen Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom (Field Rental)
Tippman A-5 (current, and love it!)
Marker Setup: Cheapo to transition from rental to better marker if got into playing over time. Stock—inc. mask, hopper, marker, etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replaced barrel to $50 “14 one based on reviews of this product. I HAD to upgrade the blasted arm because the one I got from action village did not have one of the screws. Of course I tried to close to the size of the one and it broke the POS arm. I needed to buy a new arm, and that whole setup was unstable. The V shaped arm design s*cks.
Strengths: You'll know what a POS is like.
Weaknesses: Everything about it.
Review: 1 game, then marker will die. I even cleaned the gun fairly well, but the lousy marker has the machine pressed bolts so I could not get inside the trigger mechanism to oil or clean it. If you are using this, got a ball hit by the trigger, forget about being able to really clean it. Thanks Game Face Bone Daddy for letting me down.

In its second (attempted) use, air would not pump through the gun. I took the tank off of my A5, this marker didn’t work. Checked and replaced o-rings, nothing. The tank does the ‘shuup” when then connection is made to the air system and sealed, but when it shoots it does not do anything as all. Total waste. Thanks Game Face Bone Daddy for letting me down.

Mask that came with marker…prior to playing I sprayed some anti-fog stuff on it and cleaned, fogged up like a bad day in London and screwed up my game play. I was so p*ssed I went to the proshop and got a $50 mask, no issues since. Thanks Game Face Bone Daddy for letting me down.

V shaped arm is a flimsy POS prone to breaking out in the field. Of course my OEM arm did not have both screws, so I got shafted there. Thanks Game Face Bone Daddy for letting me down. That cost me more $ for a new freakin arm.


Conclusion: Moral of the story: buy cheapo get cheapo, you get what you pay for. If you are serious about the game, quit bargain hunting for new markers and buy a used well known and durable marker if you are on a budget. Also, just buy the industry standard well reviewed and reliable markers.

If you want equipment failure, cheap parts, and a bad experience, then Game Face Bone Daddy is your #1 choice!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ace6160 Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All spyders
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c w/ 14 in teardrop Halo TSA Backmen LED 2x trig
Backup and first gun bone daddy
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel such as a progressive. A freak doesn't really help an open bolt marker that much.
Strengths: Accurate, shoots well, and it has a very nice price.
Weaknesses: This marker doesn't like the cold, and it has a very slow rof.
Review: This really is a great beginner marker. I have found it to be much better stock then most of the guns in its class (open bolt blowbacks = spyders and piranas). My gun broke, and I just sent it back to Diablo. They fixed it right up and sent it back, FOR FREE. I would highly recommend this as a cheap, durable, and accurate marker. I would definately choose this over a spyder compact. This gun isn't the best in it's class, but it is close to the top. A spyder electric frame will NOT fit this marker, pirana trigger frames fit. A solid 8.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone. This gun is very accurate, reliable, and durable. The advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 29th, 2004 at 3:28 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

chubbydork Wednesday, September 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom (Field Rental)
Lower end Spyders
My beloved Stingray II :) - Bone Daddy is better than the Ray
Marker Setup: Primary: Black Sinister TP
Secondary: Bone Daddy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a bottom line or remote, if that's your kinda thing. I personally like using the bottle vertical, it make the gun very compact.
Strengths: Read Strengths Below
Weaknesses: Read Weaknesses Below
Review: Strengths
1) Cheap on Ebay! Total of $58 came with Mask, Hopper, and Gun all Brand NEW!
2) Shoots strong! The velocity adjustment is all the way out and the gun is shooting 260fps.
3) Very easy to field strip! Just unscrew the back and pull.
4) Decent quality for the price, gun is all aluminum (Handle is plastic)
5) The mask that comes with the gun is my favorite mask to date! It fits snug and the field of vision is large. And no fog (so far)
6) Pretty good stock barrel. Well ported and relatively quiet.
7) Good rate-of-fire 7bps. I can't shoot that fast easily, so I don't know if it really can, but it does fire quickly.

Weaknesses
1) Trigger pull could be shorter.
2) Screws come loose sometimes; have to tighten them down often. Adding LocTite would probably solve the problem.
3) My bolt is getting scratches from the inside of the gun. Polish gun and internals before using. That will fix the problem.
4) Don't use cheap paint... But that is the rule with most guns.
Conclusion: This gun is great for the price and the strengths out weigh the weaknesses! With a little work and TLC you can fix the guns problems and have a nice marker that will serve you well.

It's fifty dollars for a gun! You can't beat it! The gun is very nice!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheBob Friday, May 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have Used the Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: I currently use the GameFace Bone Daddy Marker, with an ACI Expansion chamber, Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber
New Barrel
Strengths: Its is very cheap and reliable, also easy to clean
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as i like.
Review: Over all I beleive that this is a very good gun for beginners, its very light and cheap. Its takes most every kind of paint and doesnt hardly ever have problems. If you are looking for a gun that is cheap and reliable, you might want looking into getting this marker.
Conclusion: A very good gun for a begginer, very cheap, and not many problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Z315 Thursday, September 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Sypder aggressor XT
Marker Setup: Expansion Chamber. rifle CO2 feed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger, but then again, it's such a cheap gun. I say have the expansion chamber and your good to go.
Strengths: Cheap, reliable, good firepower. doesn't sound or look cheap.
Weaknesses: Kinda loud, kinda heavy. Don't like vertical Co2 Feed. Cheap stock hopper
Review: Good:
Cheap
INSANELY Reliable (been using it for 3 years and still haven't had any problem with the gun yet)
Fair/good arm,
nice silver and black color.
The pack gets you everything you need for paintball. Except for paint and Air.

Bad:
Only think I can complaine is the stock Hopper, Wich cracked after a times of used,
The feeder thing ( the part that connections the hopper to the gun ) falls out reasily and you need to have extra screws ready.
Heavy, or maybe becuase i'm weak. Or i added the expansion chamber.
Conclusion: I say this is a very very good entry class gun. with less than 100$ could get you into the game and acutally have enough firepower to take out the compition. Insanly relieable, been using for 3 years now and I haven't feel that I need an upgrade. And I play speedball too :) So if you want a new gun, Forget about a spyder and get this bone daddy!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 17th, 2004 at 8:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VWjetta025 Monday, March 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, better than Bone Daddy.
Marker Setup: I use a Spyder Victor with a 9 oz Co2 bottle and a regular view loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom line, longer barrel, sight rail.
Strengths: Accurate, VERY dependable, external velocity adjuster, Iight, durable, easy to clean.
Double finger trigger.
Weaknesses: Hard to balance with the vertical bottle connection.
Plastic trigger guard and trigger.
Review: It's a great entry level gun. It's surprisingly accurate, even with such a short barrel. Add a bottomline to it to improve the balance, add a longer barrel if you have some money left, and you're set. An expansion chamber couldn't hurt since it uses Co2. It fires pretty quick, considering it doesn't have an electric trigger. I enjoyed it when I used it.
Conclusion: Add a bottomline kit to it and it's a great gun for a newbie like myself.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 1st, 2003 at 9:42 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SirJono Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion (I like this better)
Spyder TL Plus (bigger and heavier, shoots marginally better than this)
Spyder Imagine (better than this)
Marker Setup: Game Face Bone Daddy
16" demon barrel, also the stock barrel
Spyder Esprit Bottomline/Foregrip/ small drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Bottomline with foregrip
maybe a barrel, (spyder threads) the stock one is actually decent compared to most stock barrels.
maybe a new bolt, to get higher FPS.
Strengths: Price
Size (smaller than a TL or imagine, kinda cool)
Did I mention price?
Weaknesses: shoot below 300 FPS
7 BPS max (no prob 4 me)
Review: This was my first gun. immediately after buying it, I bought an aftermarket barrel to put on it. This wasn't really needed, as it was 16" long and took some of the FPS off. It was shooting between 273 and around 288 at the chrono, never hit 300. With the stock barrel it would shoot noticeable faster, and the accuracy was actually great for a stock barrel.

The next upgrade I bought is the foregrip and bottomline... and I'm glad I did. It makes it a lot more balanced (at least with a 20 oz c02) and hy hand would stop getting hit from being wrapped around the big c02 tank. definitely get this upgrade.

If you buy the kit, you also get the Skul mask, which I still use today. It looks really cool and is a great mask to buy. I got the gun, mask and hopper, barrel glove and elbow for $70 shipped to the door- great deal! considering for what they want for a marauder (plastic gun) at K-Mart.

Conclusion: Overall I'm very happy with it, it was a good first gun, and I would recommend it to anyone. It's better than most other guns in it's price range. Giving a 9 because no gun is perfect, the main problem that bother me was no bottomline and low FPS. oiling the internals and making sure the tank O-rings are fine fixed this.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Myxomatosis Monday, February 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Espirt (Tested), Spyder Victor (Tested), Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: My bone daddy is currently collecting dust but i have a bottom line, vert feed, and the rest is stock.
I just got my Rodeo, I have Poor mans lightening bolt and a tighter spring, rest is stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, X chamber, new bolt.
Strengths: Decent stock barrel, cheap,nice entry-level gun.
Weaknesses: Bolt scratches, freezes w/o X chamber
Review: My first gun, the bone daddy was a good entry-level gun. It is a decent gun allround. The stock is fairly accurate and the gun is durable. I loved the grip. It was comfortable yet perfect sized for my hands. The double trigger is alittle harder pull than most others but otherwise good. The ROF is slow. . After less than a month's use, the bolt was pretty badly scratched up. One time the gun was firing 2-4 round burst. I feild stripped it and it fixed. Overall, this gun is a nice entry-level gun which i would reccomend to new players. If you buy this gun as a starter package, you get the Gameface Skul mask which is a great deal. The mask has prevented 2 or 3 marks becuase of the rubberyness and provides good coverage.
Conclusion: Cost efficient gun, good for starting out. Im going to give it an 8 for its class of gun (entry-level). Its much better than some of the starting Brass Eagle I've seen.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 22nd, 2004 at 10:30 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GoodOldPenelope Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2-1, To close to call
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2-1
Expansion Chamber
18" Thunder Pig Barrel
E-Marker Trigger Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Bottom Line or an Expansion Chamber
Anything to quiet that Junk down
Strengths: That gun will make my balls go FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: It depends what size tank you have, anything bigger than a 9oz weighs it down
Review: I first got this gun thinking I was going to sell it for 2x as much as what I got it for(Really Cheap!). I unwrapped it saying "Wow thats pretty", but I didn't know what I was getting myself into. I took it outside and shot it across my Field just testing it, I feel in love with it. It shot far and accurate WITH A STOCK BARREL! further than my gun with all my upgrades. now I am trying to figure out which one I want to keep!
Conclusion: If you are a newbie or even know a friend that wants to start playing, This is that gun. Ok it may be loud from were your standing but when your opponent is getting eaten' alive with paint, it will be so far away that they won't know where your at.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 27th, 2004 at 9:57 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media