paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan

JT X-Wind Mask Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT X-Wind Mask Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT X-Wind Mask Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This high speed fan is uniquely designed to extract hot humid air from inside the goggle, exchange it with cool fresh air and de-fog the Elite, Spectra or Flex 7 goggles.
Product Availability 
The JT X-Wind Mask Fan is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Free_Agent2 Friday, September 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Battery lasts a long time.
Weaknesses: I have used this fan for quite a while. Never seemed to do much to help. It is noisy enough that you can't hear what people are saying to you if they are talk even kind of quietly.(Makes sneaking around with team mates hard because you can't communicate). A few weeks ago, my mask kept fogging up and the fan was doing no good so I took it off. My mask didn't fog up the rest of the day. I think it restricts more airflow than it supplies. All I know is that I havn't had much of a problem with fogging since I took it off. I was using it on a JT Proteus mask.
Conclusion: It is my personal opinion that this fan is a waiste of money. I am very dissapointed.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

folder504 Monday, September 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Stingray II
12" Eagleworks barrel
Venturi bolt
plastic ball detent
vertical adapter (made out of a Duckbill)
X Core Expansion Chamber
Bottomline using a Lapco A-5 universial mount (fits perfectly)
filled grip
Rear Cocking
12V Revvy
Quake/ Sugar Ray trigger job ( one of the most important mods)

Rainmaker
Psycho Ballistics drop forward

2 other Rays stock except for a changed detent and a trigger job.
Strengths: Turn it on. Vrooooooooom. 30 seconds later, no fog. And I don't have a thermal lense. I have a single lense JT nVader. I am so glad I bought this. I used to have the thing fog up all the time, but now I don't have to worry if I see that it's starting to. It is also very inexpensive, only about 25 bucks.
Weaknesses: Loud. It makes this incessent buzzing noise when you have it on, but you usually don't have to have it on for more than 30 seconds.

Kind of hard to install, but once you get it in, you don't have to worry about it popping out.
Conclusion: I would highly reccomend this to anyone who has a single lens, or even a thermal one. No more games where you can't see a foot in front of you because your mask is fogged up. A good, inexpensive solution to a really annoying problem. I give it a 9 out of 10 because you can't hear very well with it turned on, but thankfully, it usually wipes out the fog in less than 30 seconds.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Wednesday, September 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Home Made Fan
Strengths: Convenience, fits JT Masks
Weaknesses: Durability
Review: I live in a cool damp climate. This product is definitely worth it. I wear glasses, am a heavy breather, and sweat a lot while playing paintball, The fan is the only product I''ve found that really keeps glasses clear without an anti fog solution - and even then there are times when you will need an anti-fog solution for glasses.

The fan works much better in combination with a thermal lens and anti-fog solution (for glasses) as a complete approach to defogging.

I found that I wished the fan blades were over my right eye instead of the left. Many shooters have a right master eye.

The battery location is a pain making removal of the fan necessary to change the battery. If not careful it is easy to break fan blades on re-installation.

Modification:

I soldered wires to the battery connection and ran them out of the right hand vent slot in the rear of the fan casing to a AA battery case (from Radio Shack) which is mounted in the side of my JT helmet. I drilled two holes in the plastic battery case and ran a twist tie through it so that I could attatch the battery case to the inside of the hemet. I've performed this same mod for friends changing the battery over to a single AA.

This makes changing the battery much easier. I've even carried spares into the game and changed them during the game by mounting the new battery case outside the helmet. I juiced up my fan by running it at 3 Volts using a dual AAA battery case. The fan, running at 3 volts is more effective at clearing out the air inside the mask.

Long before I made these mods it didn't take long for the fan to become noisy on its standard 1.5 volt battery and make hearing some conversation difficult. It is even louder at 3 Volts. But then I'm older and my hearing is not what it was. Players often remark "what is that buzzing" when the fan is running.

A single pane lens will not always stay clear under adverse conditions: say cool October air with damp fog under a tree in the woods is not the ideal drying weather.

02/03 The fan took a couple of direct hits near the switch and cracked the outer casing. The screws came out of their mounts. the fan mounting was also broken - bummer. The buzzing got really loud so I patched the fan back together and stuffed some scrubby pad around the fan motor to make it stop vibrating. It still works...but it looks like its days are numbered.
Conclusion: I wouldn't play paintball without one but they aren't nearly as durable as I would like. I'd pay more for the case to be made out of aluminum. JT should also make this product more durable and configure it to blow air on the right side, or perhaps allow the user to switch it around. While not as quiet at 3 volts it blows a lot more air through the goggle.

I did experiment with making a home made blower from a computer cpu fan running on a 9 volt battery. This I mounted on the top of the goggle with cable ties. This project while cheaper blew more air into the mask than the JT Fan but it didn't fit the mask well at all and wouldn't survive a single hit. I couldn't use the Visor that came with my mask.

The best thing about the JT fan is that it fits the mask perfectly, it does clear most fog out of the mask and off of glasses, and you can use the visor.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 10th, 2003 at 8:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BourneKiller Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: -Black Piranha EXT Pro G3
-10" DYE Titanium Boomstick
-White Wolf "Blitz" Delrin LP Bolt
-KAPP "Twisted" Autococker cocking rod
-Maddman "Rocket" Valve
-Custom milled striker
-Chrome CP Lightning Drop
-Chrome KAPP Railmount On/Off ASA
-AA Vigilante w/ LP Spring
-Black HALO-B
-Clear Warp Feed w/ 12V mod and on/off
-Centerflag 68ci/4500psi
Strengths: Batts last a long time
Weaknesses: Doesn't really help as advertised, and it's loud to you
Review: It really didn't do jack squat. It was merely a nuisance. With a tiny little fan such as it had... you couldn't expect it to be that helpful. In my experience, it was a waste of money and I rarely used it, for when I did, it was just loud (to my ears) and had no tangible affect. :(
Conclusion: Buy a better mask, like a VForce Shield or Morph. It was not a good upgrade, at all.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eyeless0486 Friday, August 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None... hope to buy a Vortex
Marker Setup: I have a Shocker with lots of stuff.
Strengths: It is definitly effective at preventing your goggles from fogging up during a game. Its the best thing out there by far... better then thermal lenses. Though they don't really cool you off at all, they are excellent at keeping the airflow moving through the mask and clearing/preventing the fogging in your googles. Mine worked in 90 degree weather with high humidity.
Weaknesses: Cheap! And I dont mean price... in fact its not really worth the price. First off it's a pain in the ass to install onto the top of your goggles without breaking it or your mask. Also, it likes to crack as mine did.
Conclusion: Its probably the best thing on the market to clear the fog out of your goggles. However, its hard to install, expencive, and tends to break. If you have the money and patience to install it, it definitly won't let you down. I gave this product a 7 because it works, however it can be a pain in the ass.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camo_warrior Sunday, January 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Wal-mart special
Marker Setup: Doesn't really matter here, does it?
My mask is an olive Spectra (thermal) with woodland goggle skinz and x-wind fan
Strengths: When your mask starts to fog, which is rare with my spectra thermal, you just switch on the fan, and just like that the mask is fog free.
Weaknesses: Surprisingly hard to install & a bit loud.
Conclusion: An overall good product, good price, (the $80 is wrong on this site. got mine for $25.), but if you have thermal lesnses, it is probably not a necessity. If u got the extra cash, go for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

commandman10 Friday, August 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
vortex
Marker Setup: E1 Black Dragun 12v loader all stock
Strengths: Well it makes you face feel cool and nice.My mask is thermal and they have only fogged once and when they did I switched it on.Vrmmmm.In a matter of seconds all the mayjor fog was gone.It took about a minute for my googles to become totally clear again.This thing can also take a hit but not more than one.I dont have a visor so it got hit.Its aslo very cheap 25 bucks.
Weaknesses: Well I guess the battery kinda hrad to put in but no that hard.
Conclusion: A great product.I would highly recomond to anyone. Also if you dont have a thermal mask I would get this before I blinked again.(I suppose)Anyway its a great product at a great price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Magman505 Sunday, June 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: SF hr Mag // Z-grip // Kapp 4grip extender and grip // df // 12" Boomie // 14" AA // 12v Rev // Crossfire 45/4500 // Jt Spectra thermal
Strengths: have used it only once, but during a hot and muggy July night in Central Florida (daytime summer paintball in Florida is for the insane). I have glasses I use under my JT Spectra's. They have thermal lenses so I was mainly concerned with my glasses. I don't like the distortion I get off of my glasses after I put the no fog spray on. With the fan they would remove any fog off of my glasses inside of 30 seconds. I found that if I kept it running the whole game it kept my glasses fog free. The noise to me was negligible. I was able to install in about 10 minutes, but I haven't changed the battery yet.
Weaknesses: Battery looks like it my be hard to exchange, but since I haven't done that yet I can't complain about it.
Conclusion: Overall great buy at $20. I would recommend for any glasses wearers who have similar fogging/distortion problems and who play in hot and humid weather.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:28 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mills86 Thursday, June 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing directly related
Thermal lenses
Marker Setup: piranha sts
armson stealth barrel
expansion chamber
dye stickies
ADCO iMp sight
many smaller things
pt extreme
Strengths: It is honestly the best thing i have bought for paintballing besides my stealth barrel. It instantly cools off your face and makes you feel better. Totally clears all fog in about a minute but gets rid of the major stuff in a few seconds. Cheap I got mine for $25. With thermal lenses there is no chance of fog being a problem for me( and I don't really have a good mask just the right system).
Weaknesses: The instillation is a issue for some people, the first time it will probably take 20 minutes after that it will get easier. But for me i take pride in having the cleanest and best kept paintball gear on the Field, so I clean and maintain my mask and gear weekly. It is sort of loud, the loud i am referring to is the sound inside of your mask. The outside sound is very minimal.
Conclusion: Myself and 2 other friends purchased this fan since it was soo cheap. Both of my friends fans are very quiet not much more than a mosquito buzzing around. But i got stuck with the louder one. I took apart my fan and noticed that the motor and battery rattled around quite a bit in my fan, so i put foam in places where plastic would rub against plastic. This reduced the sound of my fan alot. This is a very good purchase. The most important thing to your game is sight, and if you have fog/steam you can not see. I am looking forward to more and more fogless games. This product is not perfect so i will give it a 9.3 but the closest to that is 9 on the scale. Remember 5 is average.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dover Sunday, August 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The new JT "Vortex" fan
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, sixteen (16) markers and counting:
DYE DM4 (dust black)
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
4 WGP Autocockers (2 E-Cockers)
3 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Strengths: Light weight, vents stale air, or sucks fresh air in
Weaknesses: Sound of fan when it is on (buzzzzzzzzzz)
Review: The JT Spectra was my very first goggle / mask, I bought a black JT Spectra for $50 US from Skanline paintball in California.

It was the very first piece of paintball equipment I purchased because instead of using a rental mask which was sweaty and scratched up

I later upgraded to a Flex-7 in 1997, with the floppy lower mask

I also found a rare JT Flex-7 IZE in tiger eye brown on PbNation

You can totally customize your frame, straps, add a fan
Conclusion: It works so if you want to, buy it and use it. I do, works great!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media