paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel / SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel / SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel

SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount SITE Inc.

Buy SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 119
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $109

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Stiffi barrels are available in 12, 14, and 16 inch lengths, with bore sizes ranging from .687 to .695 in .002 increments. Featuring a stepped bore .002 at 5 inches, and a precision engineered MicroJeweled bore for exceptional accurary, and weighing only 52 grams (1.7 oz), Stiffi barrels ounce-for-ounce are stronger than steel. Featuring zero-thermal expansion, meaning they do not expand or contract with temperature changes the way metal does, Stiffi gives you consistent performance and straight shooting all the time.
Product Availability 
The SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
BDX Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months78 of 83 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
LAPCO BigShot Stainless .689
LAPCO AutoSpirit Aluminum .686
Marker Setup: 2K2 AC (Polished Internals)
Palmer Stabilizer
Stock Bolt & Valving (Ported Valve & Bolt)
Cammed Hinge Frame
Bomb 3 Way
Stock Ram (Internally Polished)
Lightened Cocking Arm
Evolution II Loader
Anti- Siphon CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium or
Any good .689 paint
Strengths: Lightweight, Mirror Finish Bore, Extremely Quiet, Highly Accurate with good paint
Weaknesses: Its three figure price
Review: Well I have not been a big barrel collecting proponent but when the Stiffis came out awhile back I started checking out various reviews and talking to folks. I called Site and spoke with their GM for Paintball Operations and liked what I heard. I just wasn't prepared to spend 103 bux for one which is the minimum price Site has set on a full length barrel.

I scoured ebay and finally scored the .689 caliber i wanted for 60 bux. Unfortunately it was a 14" inch unit and i wasn't thrilled about that. 12 inches is about as long as what makes sense to me in general paintball.

The barrel is extremely light; like an oz and a half or so. After slogging a 2 lb stainless LAPCO Big Shot around for a year I was already impressed. The thread milling on the thread adaptor is a bit skimpy I'd like to see a few more threads but actually it is plenty strong enough.

In the first generation of Stiffi's the porting cuts weakened the muzzle area and a few barrels started coming back to the factory with cracks and broken tips. Site rapidly replaced the barrels with redesigned units that corrected this flaw. Its the kind of response you expect from a good manufacturer and i was glad to see that Site behaved in a fast proactive manner.

My barrel happens to be of the first generation and SIte assures me if anything goes wrong they'll replace it with a 2nd generation unit. I have a feeling from talking with them that if I pressed the issue they'd replace it now but I'm cool with the situation.


The barrel is vented on three sides beginning at about the same area as where the shroud hump is on a standard cocker barrel. I was a bit worried I'd be bleeding off CO2 unecessarily with such a long venting train. I neednt have. I'd chrono'd my marker at 290 with the LAPCO the same day and realized about a 10 fps increase by simply switching the barrel to the Stiffi. I suspect its simply the smoother finish on the barrel as opposed to design configuration.

The barrel is INCREDIBLY quiet. I was amazed to be listening primarily to cocking noises as opposed to the typical "crack crack crack" of the LAPCO.

The balls i used initially were just some old rec paint and the dimpled ones were pretty obvious; they spun out of pattern pretty fast. I switched to my usual PMI Premiums and I was absolutely slack jawed...it was throwing absolute darts at 30 yards and I could reliably adjust to hit a tight group at 40 yards.

I'm pleased to say the least. Site has definitely improved on the ceramic barrel concept with composite materials.

A maintenance item: Site requires the use of a rubber squeegee so that the hairs from a cloth or fleece battle brush don't get caught in the front porting which is very sharp. (The porting exposes cut ends of the composite fiber material at the inner edge of the barrel which could potentially catch on cloth or fleece. If the fibers were pulled free of the bonding matrix and protrude into the bore they would be sharp enough to break paint.) If one is stupid enough to ignore this warning and ends up with this problem call Site as they do have a remedy for the handy pballer that may correct this.

In my initial test I deliberately broke a few balls in the barrel and it readily cleaned itself . Since then I've run about 8 cases of paint through it. Were it not for short stroking a ball now and then, the rubber squeegee is almost unneeded even when one does break. The use of a rubber gasket squeegee is a small concession for a great tube IMO

Conclusion: This is a great barrel. I dont count the mandatory use of a rubber squeegee against it. If you can score one at a good price you wont be disappointed. A better price would have it earning a 10. This barrel readilly deserves a 9.9 rating, I'd discount any of the earlier reviews that rated it less than 8.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 23rd, 2004 at 10:18 am PST
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

need4spd Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year46 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All-American Barrel
Smart Parts the Freak Barrel
Dye Boomstick Barrel
Dye Ultralite Barrel
PlanetEclipse Shaft Solo Barrel
WGP STO Kaner 2-Piece Barrel
Marker Setup: 2006 PlanetEclipse Ego (Red w/ Black), 2006 STAR Frame w/ Maniac Board (Red), 14" .693 CF Stiffi Barrel, CP On/Off w/ Purge (Black), CP Sling Blade Trigger (Black), AKA 2-Liter Plus Regulator (Black), PBWarehouse Titanium Rammer, Kila Products Instinct Magnetic Detents (Black), Pure Energy 45cu 4500psi Compressed Air, Empire Reloader B (Black), Dye Rhino Cover (Red)

2004 WGP Vertical Feed Mini Orr-acle (Blue Matte), 14" .693 CF Stiffi Barrel, CP Rail, CP On/Off Valve w/ Purge (Chrome), WGP 70cu 4500psi Worrgas, Pure Energy 45cu 4500psi Compressed Air, Empire Reloader B (Smoke), PlanetEclipse E-Blade 2 (Chrome), Nexus Complete Upgrade Kit, Dye Rhino Cover (Blue)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Top-Level Paint
Strengths: Weight (Super Light), Quiet, Accuracy, Strength, Zero Thermal Expansion
Weaknesses: Price, Can only use only a rubber and/or silicone squeegee to clean the barrel
Review: Weight:
The SITE Stiffi barrel is one of the lightest barrels out on the market only being 53 grams. When I placed the 14" Stiffi barrel on both my 2006 PlanetEclipse Ego and 2004 WGP E2 Mini Orr-acle there was a significant weight reduction from the front half of the marker. One thing that you need to take into consideration before purchasing this barrel is how it will affect the balance of you marker. However, the weight reduction aides you in being able to move your marker into a position so you can lay down a lane of paint in a specific area faster.

Quiet:
The porting on this barrel allows it to be one of the quietest barrels out on the market. However, don't worry about the porting effecting the distance of the barrel. I didn't notice a huge change with the Mini Orr-acle in sound, but I did notice a huge drop in dB with the Ego.

Accuracy:
Stiffi barrels are among some of the most accurate barrels out there. SITE Manufacturing has made a barrel that has a seamless carbon fiber wrap, smooth "mirror like" finish on the inside, along with excellent porting, to make it a really strait-shooting barrel. It takes one to two shots to line up the barrel, after that it is really easy to keep a stream of paint flowing into one specific area.

Strength:
Carbon Fiber is one of the strongest materials ounce for ounce. It is 3-5x stronger than steel but is lighter than aluminum. As for the rumors that are going around that these barrels will "shatter" when struck against the ground, these are all false. Stiffi's showroom along with their moving tent that shows up at tournaments, have Stiffi barrels being held up by 2x4's or metal. They tell you to grab onto the barrel and do chin up's or just hang on it. If you happen to break one, they will give you a barrel for free. Now if a company is tempting people to "try and break" one of their products, do you really think that the product will break?

Zero Thermal Expansion:
Zero Thermal Expansion means that this barrel is not affected by temperature changes, hot or cold. This can be good and bad. The good is that this barrel will not be the reason that the paint is flying the wrong way. The bad is that paint is effected by thermal expansion. This had me worried at a tournament I just played at. The temperature was 93 degrees with 80% humidity, horrible conditions for paint. I was worried that the paint was going to expand and the barrel would chop the paint. The tournament had .689 paint and I was shooting it out of a .693 barrel. I was relieved when I didn't chop one ball thought the tournament. I would recommend that if you do purchase one of these barrels get at least a .691 barrel.

Maintenance:
The maintenance of a Stiffi Carbon Fiber Barrel is really strait forward and is really similar to cleaning a regular metal barrel.

Field Maintenance:
If you are out on the field and you chop a paintball in the barrel, follow these steps.
1. Turn the marker on its side/upside down (so there are no paintballs in the feedneck).
2. Shoot a rapid succession of shots.
3. The air should clear the barrel (The "mirror-like" finish on the inside makes it easy to clean).

Off Field Maintenance:
1. If there is paint in the barrel/porting, run the barrel under warm water. Do not use any cleaners in the mix. The cleaners can over time deteriorate the carbon fiber.
2. Make sure to use a rubber and/or silicone squeegee (soft/hard).
3. Do not use a battle swab or any swab that has fibers in it. The fibers break off in the porting and can deteriorate the barrel.
*A barrel that is deteriorating by fibers is NOT covered by SITE's return policy, voids warranty*
Conclusion: After viewing the extreme build quality and experiencing the excellent results, I highly recommend this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kurama Monday, March 28th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested22 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CCM Carbon fiber Barrel
Freak Stainless Kit
All American old-styled glued tip
Warped Sportz Lucky 15 kit
Dye Ultralite
Dye Boomstick
Dye Titanium Boomstick
Evil Pipe
CP 1 and 2 piece
Empire Barrel kit
Etc. I've owned, tested, and used many barrels.
Marker Setup: Pewter Freak Factory Impulse #206 (Silver Highlights)
Maxflo Manifold w/ 68/4500 tank
EggII
Pewter Freak/Stainless barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends on bore.
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Before I begin, I would like to say that I will try to keep this review as unbiased as possible, and that everything in this review is the truth as I have experienced or seen it.

To begin, this barrel shoots great. Its nothing more than the other high end barrels I've used, but it was definately even with them. The carbon fiber also looks great, and its surprisingly quiet for how little porting it has. The efficiency because of this porting leaves a little bit to be desired, but its nothing insane like the All-American tip for the freak which is nothing but porting. It was also amazingly light weight. I'm a firm believer in balance over weight, so a light barrel is the exact opposite of what I look for when purchasing a barrel, but most people like light weight over balance. Or they use very light tanks or drops in which case this would augment that and balance the marker out better. At first, I thought it was quite amazing. It wasn't my barrel; I shot it on an Alias Intimidator which was a treat of its own.

Now, I was skeptical about the use of carbon fiber in barrels. My judgements beforehand were correct about several things. They are fragile barrels. While they're great barrels, there is much left to be desired in my opinion. For instance, you can not use fluffy squeegees with the stiffi barrels, because if the fluff gets into the porting it can unravel the carbon fiber and ruin your barrel. This means that every ball break that isn't conveniently shot out will make you have to either sacrifice accuracy or unscrew the barrel and run a rubber pull-through squeegee through the barrel. Still, with this turnoff, I still liked the barrel. Now, with that said, it could be assumed that if a piece of shell from a broken paintball got into the porting and then you shot, that it would likely tear the inside of the barrel apart aswell. The good news is that CCM and SITE are working together to fix this problem with the porting. The bad news is that the current stiffi barrels still have this problem. Also, about two weeks after shooting the stiffi barrel, I saw another one on the field. This kid just got his new stiffi, and I was on his team playing game of hyperball. Being a backman, I saw him dive into his bunker while being the target of their backman as I tried my best to keep him behind his bunker. The front of the stiffi barrel hit the hyperball bunker first, and the barrel pretty much shattered like a shard of glass falling onto a cement floor. While this is probably a one-time thing, I'll also consider it a problem since I've never heard of a conventional aluminum, steel, or brass barrel doing this.
Conclusion: So, overall its a good barrel with some kinks to be worked out of it. The good news is that SITE and CCM are working hard on it. Still, until the new versions of the Stiffi and CCM barrels are developed and released, I wouldn't purchase one. Once these problems are fixed, I will edit my rating and review to properly reflect the barrel in its improved state.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 at 2:34 pm PST
I found this review  
49 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ok...
Boomstick- Nice, heavier.
UL- Nice, heavier, lighter than boomy at least
CP- My favorite besides the St!ffi; light and excellent performance.
Marker Setup: Viking
14" St!ffi
Smoke Halo
45/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends upon what bore size you get the barrel in; as long as it's high-quality paint.
Strengths: -Light
-INCREDIBLE performance
-Looks shweet on Vikings
Weaknesses: Price, if you don't buy one used
Review: I've always been rather skeptical of the actual performance variation from barrel to barrel. People will hype the Dye, CP, etc barrels until they're blue in the face, and while they're all excellent products and well worth their respective prices, I just couldn't seem to find all that much difference in accuracy and precision from barrel to barrel.

Then I came upon the St!ffi. I'd always been intrigued about the lightness factor, but then was turned off about the cracking and squeegee problems...luckily they were fixed, and so my interest was rekindled.

I finally traded my beloved Ultralite for a St!ffi, and I am astounded.

First off, the weight...or rather, lack thereof. With a St!ffi, the marker feels as if there is no barrel at all. Weight is not really a problem for me, but to have that much of a weight loss with such a gain in performance is incredible...well, I'll discuss performance next.

Like I said, I've always been rather "bleh" about the difference in quality between barrels. Let this be said- it is the best shooting barrel I have ever used (aww darn, now I have to go edit that same phrase out of my Ultralite review ;o) ) I was able to place shots ridiculously close to one another, so that from a fair distance away an entire hopper's worth of paint was placed within a 5-6" radius.

I could talk all day about how nice it is. Looks awesome on Vikings (gee, no wonder like 90% of Viking/Excal owners have either single or St!ffi kits), is very quiet, well machined, with excellent customer service, etc etc etc...
Conclusion: To be honest with you, I would not be surprised if the St!ffi became the reigning king of barrels in the next few years. It's just that frickin good.
10/10, and believe me, it deserves it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

abunkerer Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts All american
Dye boomstick
Marker Setup: ule e-mag
stiffi
evo2
Dye Throttle preset 71/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
Match the paint to the bore size, and this barrel will blow you away
Strengths: lightest barrel, quiet, very accurate
Weaknesses: not supposed to use the swab type squeegees
expensive
Review: I have the Stiffi on my emag and it rocks. It is the lightest barrel out there, and the super smooth bore makes for very consistent shots, and is forgiving on paint ( I shot some oversized paint through it and it didnt break)
The barrel is very quiet, and that is good because my mag is otherwise pretty loud. The barrels come is different bore sizes, so you can match the barrel to your favorite paint and have a set up that will always shoot straight and never break balls. If you are really insaine you can collect the whole set! I got the .687 and I shot a few cases draxxus through it and have not broken a ball yet.
Conclusion: The stiffi is a great barrel, very light and looks great. Its carbon fiber is cool, no fluctuations with temperature. Bore sizes are printed on the barrel so that you don't try to fire golf balls through it...
All high end barrels are basically the same, they are just tubes with really smooth insides, what makes the stiffi so nice is that it is the lightest barrel, and is really quiet without negative effect on air efficiency.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 30th, 2003 at 5:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iEl-Ricx! Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all barrels are similar to eachother, but none compare to this
Marker Setup: WGP 2k1 vf autococker, 14" stiffi, wgp hinge, hybrid grip panel, shock tech drop w/ on/off, pmi 88/3000, ans 3-way, and cp reg, red halo b.
Recommended
Paintballs:
fresh gap, anything from draxxus. well u can get these in any bore so which ever paint u use most
Strengths: +light
+accurate (with good paint match)
+excellent ability to shoot through breaks
+strong
Weaknesses: cresent shape muzzle braek is kind sharp, lack of color options for those into cosmetics
Review: this barrel is extremely light. the plastic tube it came in weights more then the barrel. with my 12" excel barrel i had a grouping to about 4-5 inches at 20yrds. then i swapped out barrles and the grouping was reduces to about 0-2 inches. 3/10 where actually on top of another, 4/10 where an 2 inches off from the inital shot, and the remain3/10 where all less then 1inch from the intial shot.

if u want to try this out for ur self make sure ur first shot is a different fill color then the rest so u can keep track of it bc by the end u'll have only one giant spot of paint.

in my test i was shooting 275fps, +\- of 2fps. i had a 14" stiffi, with a bore of .687 and shot fresh gap [orange fill, orange shel(initl shot purple shell pink fill)]. test was onducted in my backyard with no wind. no breaks where experianced during testing.
Conclusion: i feel $120 is well worth it, but if u can find it cheaper its a bargin...check ebay
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

STORYTELLER Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye ultralight, freak, eclipse shaft
Marker Setup: 2008 planet eclipse ego with 14" 0.691stiffi barrel, Stako tank (0.7kg not allowed in the U.S :P), 4500 guarilla air FUKU reg, empire magna.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything to be honest
Strengths: -Super light
-Very accurate
-shoot good through chops
Weaknesses: - Cant use polishers(fluffys)
Review: Great barrel! iv used it for 6 months now and i cant say anything bad. i got it in .691 due to the fact that were spnsored by tomahawk paintballs and the maximum ball size they come in is .691 or very rarly .692(max sizes)

whats great about this product is that it takes of all the weight from the front of the marker so you dona have that extra weight on the front, personaly that helps me with "off the berak shooting", "snap shooting", "diving" and running of course. very accurate barrel.

another thing that i was amazed by was the way this barrel can shoot so accurate even when you chopped a couple of balls, alot of the time i might not even clean the barrel during game cos it really aint that bad (unless iv got time, or enough live players).

also durabilty of carbon fiber, iv dived and hit the barrel a couple of times and also got run over while it was in my bag by a small car(dont ask how). Still like new

The only problem i find is that its not recommended by stiffi to use a polisher(fluffy) cos it might damage the barrel, how? i really dont get why but anyway....

Price in europe is a bit high, but all good quality products are expensive i guess. you get what you pay for....

as for paintballs, we have been using zap spank for practise and nelson hemorage/tomahawk paintballs for tourneys, and the accuracy on both for the type of balls they are is very pleasing. i live on an island in the mediteranian(cyprus), so by the time the balls get form the "states/canada" to europe and get down to us there not exactly round but this barrel dont understand a thing!
Conclusion: Great barrel recommed it to any tournament player if they can afford it. need some extra care than most barrels but worth every penny.... it gets a 9 from me for the reason not been able to use a polisher and the extra care it needs(cracking, snapping, and thread tearing apart due to mis use)

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 13th, 2008 at 2:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbN00B Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe, freak, all american, progressive.
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse, lpr, new hammer, pin, bolt etc...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends on what bore size you get with your barrel.
Strengths: Pretty Quiet, Light as can be, accurate, looks good.
Weaknesses: Price, cleaning.
Review: Well, i got the pipe barrel set for my impulse, i play mostly rec, the occasional tourny, and the thing made my impulse sound exactly like a hammer smashing a wood plank. It was very accurate but so loud i couldnt stand it. I personally prefer woods and so i needed a barrel that would be quieter. The Stiffi company advertise that their barrel while being one of the lightest is also one of the quietest so i figured i would try it. Not many people know about the Stiffi barrel yet. Not widly anyway. I have used it about 6-10 times and i can say, it makes my marker alot quieter, very accurate, same as my pipe which is just fine for me, and its as light as can be. it feels like a freak insert only its suppose to be stronger than steel. I didnt try to break it though after the $130 dollar price tag which is very expensive for a single 1 peice barrel. Its $140 for anything above a 14 inch incase your wondering. You may think the 1 peice is bad, but its really not, if you have ever used a 2 peice for awhile and kept unscrewing the front and back after awhile you can wear the threads and cause a gap creating another place for stuff to go into your barrel causing breaks or curves. The back of the barrel, the threads, are glued onto the barrel itself which i dont personally like, im afraid when i screw it on one day its going to just pop off. nothing some friendly epoxy can fix if it ever happens. Feels sturdy enough. Cleaning, you CANNOT use any type of cloth squeegie you must use the rubber ones. Slider squeegie is what i use. I dont know why but it says not to in the directions. Problably can scratch the porting. You can select from a number of different bore sizes which people will like, but you are stuck with what ever you chose. Very good barrel.
Conclusion: Ok, its the most expensive 1 peice barrel you can fined. However, its lighter than titanium but stronger than steel, you can shoot through breaks easly, it quiets any marker down considerably, and its just as accurate as any barrel kit. You pay for what you get, and you get very good quality. I get alot of questions about it at fields from people asking what it is since it does have a unique look. Again they are still rare. Im pretty sure tournment players, both pro and those just coming onto the scene will start to take notice of this barrel in the next year. Its picky about what squeegie you can use and expensive but its the single best barrel you can get.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

nbossi1 Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak barrel - not a reasonable comparison, but about as good, certainly heavier and louder
Marker Setup: Gold 2003 Shocker w/ Vision
Main barrel - 14" Stiffi
Backup barrel - Black Freak barrel system with gold AA front (14")
Black CCM clamping feedneck
Black PHAT Flame drop and on/off
Black CP Reg
Black NDZ 15* ASA with SP 300 psi gauge
Black NDZ Roller-Bearing Trigger
Black NDZ Stinger v3 bolt kit
Black custom anno'd bolt guide (from Punisher's PB)
Virtue Board (HOLY CRAP, it's SWEEEET)
PMI Pure Energy 88/4500 HPA tank
Halo B with v35 board, and Zenitram delrin drive cone
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium work well (my personal top choice)
Mid-Evil is ok
Proto Darts were not as good
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Single bore (not adjustable)
May FEEL fragile (is NOT)
Review: I bought my Stiffi about a year ago, and have been loving it ever since!

STRENGTHS

Weight

Quite simply, this is the lightest barrel you will ever hold, unless someone makes something out of aerogel (haha, google it, this stuff is genuinely cool, for us science nerds). I has the approximate heft of a good metal pen (or heavy mechanical pencil). To compare it to something you may be even more accustomed to, it feels about as heavy as an ALUMINUM freak insert (lighter than a stainless one). If you have your gun setup perfectly balanced with your current barrel, then this may throw it off. If you are like me, and are competent and coordinated enough to adapt to a lighter front end, then you will notice a pleasant difference in the overall weight of your gun.

Accuracy

This barrel, with a good (doesn't even have to be perfect) paint match, will shoot circles (except ropes) around my freak, even with the perfect insert. With decent paint, EVERY shot will be ball on ball.

I do disagree with the people who claim that this barrel shoots extremely well through breaks, as I have found it to be comparable to when I break paint in my freak. You are not going to get back that squeaky-clean accuracy after breaking paint, especially if you are using decent paint (a thick fill is not just going to be cleaned out by shooting more paint through it). That said, it certainly is no WORSE at shooting through a break, so it's more of a moot point (that is, not a truly important aspect).

Noise Level

This is bar none the quietest barrel I have used on my shocker, there is no doubt in my mind. I don't have any sort of fancy sound level measuring device, but my ears are still pretty good. This barrel will be quieter than your current barrel, simply due to the nature of carbon fiber (low resonance tendencies).

WEAKNESSES

Single Bore

To clarify, and to keep people from thinking that I am retarded, yes I know it is a stepped bore barrel, where it increases in diameter partway towards the business end. What I mean is that it is not a "kit," with multiple bore sizes for different paint. I only list this as a drawback because if you go to a place that is FPO (field paint only), and YES they still do exist, you are not going to have the luxury of being guaranteed to find that perfect fit. If you play someplace that permits you to bring whatever paint you like, and you have a reliable source of paint that you like, then, again, this is a moot point. You will not have any problem finding paint that fits this barrel, and you will love it as much as I do.

The field I play at has a pretty good selection of paint, and I have not had any problems, to date, finding a good match for this barrel.

Other issues

The only issue I ever had with this barrel was when I somehow managed to get a piece of shell lodged in the porting (yeah, I don't know how...). It would cause every other ball to break right at the end of the porting. I tried to pick at it to no avail, and thought (mistakenly) that it was the carbon fiber unraveling. I brought it to my local pro-shop, and they ran the barrel under some hot water, dissolving the shell enough to dislodge it. I had tried everything BUT that, and was at my wit's end, but with the piece of shell removed, this barrel shoots just as sweet as it did when I first got it.


In other words, in over a year, I have had NO (zero, zip, zilch) serious problems/complaints with my Stiffi barrel.
Conclusion: In case you couldn't tell from the review, let me break it down for you:

Strengths:

-Light
-Accurate
-Quiet

Weaknesses:

-Um, nothing, really...

If you want a lighter, quieter, and overall better barrel than whatever you are currently using, BUY THIS BARREL. It will run you under $100, comparable to most other QUALITY barrels, and it will be one of the best upgrades you make. And you can quote me on that...

-NB
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

karni2 Friday, July 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Big shot (good barrel,really loud, decent accuracy, pretty cheap)
Flatline(RANGE!, accuracy is pretty good,heavy, loud)
All-American (cheap, Very good accuracy, pretty quiet, too much porting)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12 in. .691 stiffi barrel
GTA expansion chamber
collapsable stock
r-t
and flatline barrel

2003 Black Shocker:
Max-flo 68/4500 system
14 inch stiffi Switch
Black Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pmi premium- works exellent with the .691 size
Marbalizer- good paintballs, but just alittle small
dusk- worked well could be better
xball- Awsome paint shoots far and accurate but just alittle too small
inferno- got a old batch it worked ok
Strengths: LIGHT!
Very Accurate
Ok price
strong
Weaknesses: None really
Review: ACCURACY:
With my A-5 and expansion chamber I can hit a trash can from 40 feet away with about a 3-4 inch grouping some times closer. At distant ranges with pmi premium or xball I can hit maybe a 5 inch grouping at about 70 feet away.(one day it was doing like 3 in from 75 feet with the premiums)

DURABILITY:
Very durable, havent hit it with a hammer like some people have but it feels very strong

NOISE:
For me it hasnt been super quiet like everyone says, but for some reason one day I was at the shooting range and I couldnt hear my gun shoot it was that quiet! Full of potential

DISTANCE:
I can get very good distant grouping up until about 150 feet maximum range
Conclusion: For some reason my stiffi performs oddly with my A-5 not anything bad but it will be alot more quiet and alot more accurate some days even at same velocity and paint. Definetly get this barrel if you want superior performance. CANT WAIT TO TRY THE SWITCH ON MY SHOCKER!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 3:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media