paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask

JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 264
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Thermal chrome lenses, comes with clear thermal lense, comes in a variety of colors and has a flexible lower half.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Team Flashfire Tuesday, October 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
*JT nVader: not nearly as comfortable, inferior field of view, hard plastic makes drinking paint a common occurrence with goggle hits, fogs often.
*JT Spectra Thermal (pro-shield): not quite as comfortable, no wetex foam, no mask bounces, same great lenses, a bit more inexpensive.
*JT Proteus: no throat protection, no mask bounces, same great lenses- equal in all other aspects.
*DYE Invision: less throat protection, no mask bounces, lenses tend to warp vision at edges, doesn't come with an extra set of lenses, lenses are much easier to remove.
Marker Setup: 2000 V/F Divine Shocker w/ 88/45 Max-Flo, a few barrels, 12v X-board.
Strengths: *The mask includes an extra set of clear lenses in addition to the tinted IZE lenses that come with it, which is an excellent feature if you are playing indoors or in low-light conditions.
*Overall, I think that this is the most comfortable mask I have worn; I am not sure if they still ship the IZE's with the wetex foam, but I love it- it keeps your face dry and it is the most comfortable goggle foam out there.
*The soft lower portion of the mask has never broken a paintball in my experience, which keeps you from being elimated due to goggle hits and also stops you from drinking paint.
*The thermal lenses have never fogged in my experience, and the clear ones do not distort or warp your vision.
*The mask does not seem to muffle your voice as much as some hard plastic masks.
Weaknesses: *The tinting on the IZE lenses is somewhat uneven: the lenses are the darkest in the middle and are lighter towards the edges. I would not consider this more than a minor annoyance.
*The foam pieces that seperate the ear protection from the sides of your head come of rather easily, and are easy to lose in the staging area during a day of play. I lost mine ages ago, and it is slightly uncomfortable when I am not wearing a hat; if you wear a hat, these should not be a concern.
*The lenses are the most difficult to install and remove of ANY I have ever experienced. They are kept in place by seven tabs which squeeze into the plastic around the lenses. Switching lenses is a lengthy process, and even after you have been through the process a few times, it may still take you a good 10 minutes. Do not plan on taking your lenses out to clean them after a day of play unless you're willing to invest the time and abuse your fingernails (taking these things out can be quite painful).
*The seal on the thermal layer inside of the lenses can come loose over a long period of use; I got some paint under mine and it eventually caused the glue to detach, rendering my clear thermal lenses useless. After this, I merely peeled the thermal layer the rest of the way off and they are now single lenses.
Conclusion: I think that this is one of the best masks currently on the market, and the fact that JT still produces it is a testament to this fact. It is much less expensive than the Proteus or DYE Invision, but in my opinion it is a better performer. The durability, overall quality, and looks of the mask overcome the drawbacks of the difficult to remove lenses, which in my opinion is the only major problem with the mask. You will appreciate the bounces you get off the soft lower portion, even if you do get a couple of fat lips in the process, and the extra neck protection is a big plus. If you're looking for a tournament-quality mask that won't fog and will last you a long time, go for the Flex-7.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

justin14_ Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees head case- its ok, but get something else if you have more money
PMI X-ray goggles- pretty good actually. I've had mine for over a year and I haven't needed to replace the lense or anything.
JT spectra- very good. very similar to this one
Marker Setup: an upgraded piranha g2 vtl, a 2002 rebel, and a tippmann model 98 custom with a 16' taso winforce barrel........
Strengths: -doesnt fog
-lense is like sunglasses
Weaknesses: -the foamy part in the back comes off real easily and makes it uncomfortable...
Review: -comes it a lot of colors
-very nice lense
-doesnt fog
-reasonable price
-made by a well-known and respected company
-comfortable
-colors arent too bright....i was playing a rec game and i have the blue kind and nobody saw my mask even though i thought i was going to stand out really well
-the paint can be wiped off the lense really easily
-easy to wear a hat with it
-the visor can come off
-the lense curls over pretty far so it gives you a pretty far look at everything around you without turning your head over
Conclusion: its kind of annoying when the foam in the back of the mask comes off. it makes the side of the mask pokey and it bugs but thats not something too serious. the mask also makes you sweat which bugs. it also muffles your voice a lot....i was in a back man in speedball and i was yelling out where everyone was on the other team and nobody could hear me even though i was yelling as loud as i could. ive sweated like a pig in this mask and it hasnt even started to smell funny yet. there arent many more things that are more of a b**** than to change lenses on this thing. believe me its MUCH easier if you take the strap and plastic you slide the lense on off of the mask part.


overall, I'd say its worth the money. Its not a perfect mask, but none are....get it if you have an extra $60 laying around and need a new mask.

***THAT WAS BEFORE***

today i was carrying it in my gear bag on the way to paintball and i heard a crack. i waited till i got to paintball and took a look at it and it turns out the lense cracked straight down the middle. ive had this mask for 3 weeks and it was already broken. the lense is crap. maybe it was just the way i had it in the gear bag, but still it shouldnt have cracked from being bent a little.........now i have to order a new 25 dollar lense to replace the old one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 11th, 2003 at 8:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

automagsrock68 Sunday, June 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Badass- not even close
nVader- ok
brASS "SEAGULL"- @$%^#@!
Marker Setup: 68 automag classic, ricochet Ak , 32* precision barrel , Dye Xcel 12 inch, site rail, drop forward, 47 ci 3k nitro, JT Flex 7, JT camo Jersey, a propower harness, My 98 had a Taso Winforce a site rail and a drop forward
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I got the moss green mask for $40 online and my first experience was changing the tinted lense to the clear one. The tint would be bad for woodsball because the woods are dark. The tints would be great for speedball to reduce glare. I thought that I would never be able to change the lense on this, and I actually cut my finger trying to put the clear one in.

The first time I played with this mask I noticed how clear the lense was, and how comfortable the foam was. I have never had this mask fog either, in 90* summer days to 35* December days. The ventillation is top notch and I have had no trouble keeping cool.

My favorite part of this mask is the bounce factor. I have been hit in the visor several times and most times it ricoched right off. Also the lower mask is flexible and I have had bounces with it. The only problem with the bottom is that a paintball can bounce from it right onto your chin which hurts, but it isn't horrible.

One thing woodsball players will appreciate is the mask's ability to blend in. This is because the material is translucent, or light can pass through it. This allows the mask to be darker in low light areas and brighter in high light areas. the green mask will only be camoflauged well in areas of abundant vegetation, because green is the same color as leaves (duh).


Conclusion: In conclusion buy it. It's not perfect but darn near close.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 16th, 2005 at 8:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Be0da0o Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
closest- Pmi radar, jt spectra(same except colors), Gameface masks, v-force, etc
Marker Setup: New 04 impulse vision
Freak(stainless steel inserts)
evo w/ z board
shocktech bolt
On the break Frame
Psycho drop forward
Lpr
cricket board
tapeworm
91/45 Dye Compressed air tank
Strengths: color, durability, snug_fit, flexable, protection, and a good feeling mask
Weaknesses: Lense scratches
Review: This is a great mask from jt! IT is comfortable and fashionable. it has all the charastics to fit my needs. It is pretty, it is flexable, it is sturdy, it has a snug fit, and it is a great mask.. The only weakness is that once i set it down, and this jerk kid scratched my lense with his co2 tank.
Conclusion: this is a great mask, but it might be a little too expencive for begginers.
I give it a nine, because there is always room for improvement, and the lense scratches
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paint_Maniac Thursday, June 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT nForcer (not nearly as comfortable as the IZE)
Marker Setup: Gun: Tippmann 98 Custom
Barrels: 16" Armson Stealth, 11.5" Lapco BigShot (aluminum)
Stock: Jet City Specialties (aka Blackpoint Engineering) Folding Stock *nice*
Tank: 20-ounce CO2
Remote: Thunder Pig high-pressure coiled remote
"that's all folks!"
Strengths: * JT quality and durability

* COMFORT! I doubt you can find a mask much more comfortable than this one.

* Plenty of mouth room for breathing. This is important, folks, believe me!

* Vortex fan just slips right into it like a hand into a glove.
Weaknesses: Not a whole lot. The only real problem I had was the flexible mouth cover, which is actually a strong selling point for many others! I have not been shot in that area yet...and let me just say "I hope it stays that way!"

*One other petty detail: my mask was this really emasculating (not a good thing) shade of purple, which I did not like but that's all the store had left for the great price ($29.99). Made me stick out clearly in the woods! So I simply got me a black permanent marker and changed the color...all set!
Conclusion: Really a top-of-the-line mask. You cannot help but be impressed by it once you try it on and actually play with it. I recommend it without hesitation...especially if you can still get it for $30.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Caleb98 Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tons of mask, Nvaders, V-force armors and shileds, X-fires...a bunch of them.
Marker Setup: Tell me why this matters, but it's a mag
Strengths: cool looking
pros use it
can get bounces
provides adequate neck protection
Weaknesses: it might hurt when shot in the flexy part
kinda wide
Review: I really like this mask it's uber comfy, haven't took any bounces with it yet.
So comfortable and light
My hat's off to Jt for making such a great mask.

This word limit is so dumb
Aarg!!!! did I tell you the one about the pirate???
This word limit sucks.
Conclusion: I love it...and you should to.

If you have an old computer you shouldn't store it in the basement because mice might get on and run your internet bill up really high, while they're looking at naughty mice stuff.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chimpu Saturday, December 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
JT ALPHA (I think that is what it is called)
It doesn't even compare. I bought it at Wal-Mart and now I use it for target practise in the back yard.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine (black), VL 12v Revy Hopper.
Strengths: - The flex on the bottom reduce ball breaking when getting shot in the mouth.
- (Paint tastes bad + Protection for mouth shots = YUMMY tasting mouth)
- The visor and entire goggle system can be taken apart quiet easilly for cleaning.
- Two LENSES!!!!!
- REFLECTIVE LENS!!!! ..(*drool*).. makes you look hardcore!
- Been shot in the face and didn't hurt one bit.
- Smells alright...
- Soft... oh so soft... Mmmmmmm the foam is soooooo nice.
- Fog? What? Never heard of it.
Weaknesses: - I still haven't figured out how to get those dang lenses off.
- Lens aren't stratch resistant.
- Take good care of your lenses or they will be the death of you.
- Tastes like rubber... Mmmmmm... It's not really a problem though.
- Ear pieces fell off when I first put it on, I got really worried I had already broke it. When I play I use a BALACLAVA so my ears don't rub against the plastic.
Conclusion: - I found it to be WELL worth the money.
- Comfortable and strong.
- Light as a feather, stiff as a board.
- Buy a good mask like this before you buy your gun.
- I'd rather have a mask like this and a pump, than a crap-tastic mask and an autococker.
- NEVER FOGGED!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several Vents Predator (still the best IMHO), other JT's.
Marker Setup: Well tuned and totally modifyed basic black CF Autococker with all the best parts I've collected over the past 12 years, another old square front 'Cocker made up of all the leftover parts (c: 1994 vintage Automag with all the goodies from back then and a level 10 kit, Tippmann Factory F/A, PGP, VM 68, Nelspot 007 etc etc ...
Strengths: Protects your eyes, fits well over small framed eyeglasses.
Weaknesses: Nothing major ... but see below.
Review: I bought these because the price was reasonable, and I liked the older Flex 7 I have. my major concern is fitting over my eyeglasses since I can't see without them and contacts don't work for me. They *do* fit nicely over smaller framed glasses and the venting is decent so it should keep your eyeglasses from fogging easily ... although they will fog without a good fan installed. I must say, I'm a little disappointed in the overall quality of the mask. JT used to be a great company, but it seems since Brass Eagle bought them up they're pinching pennies and the quality has slipped. When I picked up the mask and tried it on the first thing that happened was the foam over the earflaps fell off. Not a good omen. Then there's the cheesy chin strap they added as an afterthought. utterly useless and uncomfortable. It's pretty pathetic when you throw away 3 mask parts in the first minute. the next thing I noticed ... or I should say felt ... was some excess glue on the foam around the lens. Not a big deal, but sloppy nonetheless. The plastic and rubber of the mask also has a few noticeable casting flaws, such as inconsistent color. The last thing I've noticed is that JT has decided not to include a goggle bag anymore. how cheap can you get? None of these things by themselves are of any great consequence but put all together it's left me feeling a bit *under*whelmed.
Conclusion: JT used to be a great company but now under the tutalage of Brass Eagle the quality is slipping ... perhaps due to pressure from Wal Mart, who knows. It's a shame since JT masks were the best quality once.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Kazi Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
not really any. I had a craptastic PMI x-ray that kept the paint out of my eyes, i suppose...
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse #FRF0066, Blue fade, eVLution II, 14 in freak, 68/4500 Crossfire, Vert Max-flo.
Strengths: Doesnt fog.
Weaknesses: the only one that i can really think of is the fact that mine cracked.
Review: Heres the deal...I was playing a "tall grass field". which had an industrial sized spool on say...the 40, yea thats about right...anyways, This frickin guy was talking to his buddy...so i yelled "DEAD MEN DONT TALK! SHUT UP!" and then the guy he was talking to didnt move/shoot at me anymore, so i kinda forgot about him. Well, there were two n00bs stuck in a small bunker together, being short, i had to jump uup and down to try and shoot em. Well, onetime when i came down,a guy was waiting for me and shot about 3 balls into my mask, which promptly cracked and cut my face. It literally knocked me over, then he proceeded to run by shooting me. but thats beside the point..the nose piece of my mask actually CRACKED and cut my face...i was bleeding quite a bit too. once i was bandaged and everything...i took a look at my mask, about 2 inches from the bridge of the nose, there was a crack. Bad. bad bad bad bad.
Conclusion: Great mask. maybe mine was defective...i really can't tell you...what i can tell you is that im going to buy a DYE Invision now. It really is a great product, but...man, when something cracks...wow...buy it if you can find it cheap.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

WGPplayer42 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Masks at Fields
JT Radar Mask
JT Proteus Mask
Flex 7 Mask
Dye Invision Mask
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Vert Feed 2004
Proto 2 Piece Barrell
Drop Forward Cradle
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
HALO TSA LED Frontman Loader
Pure Energy 68ci 3000psi N2 Tank
Dye Rhino Tank Cover
Strengths: Great Looking, Great Protection, Don't Fog, Intimidating
Weaknesses: Lens Changing is a b*tch to do
Review: When I pulled it out of the box I knew it was a winner. The Blue IZE Lenses look sick!!!! The mask is incredibly comfortable. One of the foam ear pieces was detached from the mask in the box. So i just pulled off the other one. In fact the mask feels better without the foam blocks by the ears. They come with an extra lens to use in lower light conditions. Because they accept the spectra lenses, if one cracks you have a wide variety of different colored lenses to put in them. They also don't fog, during play, even sweating and in humid conditions. The flex rubber allows for mask bounces, although it can become a little deformed it you store them between two objects. The lenses are extremely intimidating to players. I put them on and with my 'cocker in my hand people are always saying " Ohhh, I hope he's on my team." The tinting is darkest in the center and lighens up towards the sides. But there is nothing wrong with that, that is how they were made. The coating is almost like the Iridium coating on the Oakley sunglasses. This mask is incredibly comfortable. I got them for $35, what a steal. I have the Proteus mask, and just as comfortable, but I wear the IZEs for the tinted lenses. They are great.
Conclusion: The IZEs are probablly one of the best goggle systems out there. The invision and the proteus are really just as good, but you can get the Flex 7 IZe for dirt cheap, and they come with an extra pair of lenses. They are seriously great goggles. You get bounces off of the chin, if you get shot there. And the lenses dont fog, like most thermals. Anyone who reads this, buy them while you can, because JT doesn't make the IZE anymore and they are AMAZING!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 30th, 2005 at 3:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media