paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
UTLadiesMan Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years20 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Between markers.
Strengths: Comfort, durability, longevity.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, I've been thinking about buying a new mask because my spectra thermals finally lost a piece of foam. (one of the ear pieces) However, I'll probably be buying spectras again. :) It's easy to see why when you find out that I've had these puppies for 6 years. (though they cost a lot more back then! :P) Anyway, yeah, 6 years later the mask still works great, still looks great, and still feels great. (with the exception of the right ear because there's no foam) I've had to replace the lenses a number of times (probably less than I should) and while that can be a frustrating process, once you're done, you're done for a year or more. Also, with the thermal lenses I've NEVER had any fog up... this is incredible to me because of the wide ranges of weather that I've played in. Nice and cold or sweltering hot, the lenses are clean. (except for splatter of course) Also, in those sweltering hot Texas summer, the foam is more than adequate to soak up most of my sweat... and that's a huge plus too, because if you can't see, you can't win!
Conclusion: There's a reason you see so many pros or older players still using this mask. They've probably had it forever! Buy one and you will too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sexpistol Thursday, October 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nForcer (crap)
Flex 7 ( a little better )
Marker Setup: A-5, Double trig and RT, X chamber, Dye Ultralight 16 ", CMI True flight 16"
12" Boomstick.
Strengths: I put the vortex fan in this and it never fogs, In 89 degree temp high humidity and rain it still didnt and we played 9 hrs sraight.
Great protection even being lit up at close range
Balls can bounce off of the visor
Very comfortable
Great price
And still looks good
The flex 7 still fogged so did the nForcer and I didnt like the flexy plastic on the Flex 7
Weaknesses: I cant find anything wrong with this mask
It has a very low profile
Good flex but not too much
I got the olive because I play speed and rec ball so it blends great in the trees and foliage and still looks OK on the speedball field.
Conclusion: I would recommend this above all other masks both for pro's and newbies
In my opinion its the BEST PAINTBALL MASK you can buy whatever the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kptrouble Monday, July 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
rental masks
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix, 12" chrome CP 1-piece, dye stickies
Strengths: looks great - shows a mask doesn't have to make you look like a space alien to look nice.
comfortable - nice fit, no pinching areas.
thermal lens - no need for fans or anti-fog
jt name - probably the most trusted name in masks.
low price - i got mine for less than $40
Weaknesses: lens removal - wow is this hard. but not really as hard as people make it out to be. i just took it apart for first time yesterday and it took me about 15 total mins breaking it down and putting it back together. just use those muscles and "peel" it from the lens. makes it a lot easier than simply trying to pull it apart. to put it together put one side of the notch in first and then rub it down flush using your thumb pad. Anyways, do you really want a mask where the lens pops out no problem? How safe is that?
Conclusion: This is a great mask. Granted, I have not used many masks but how much better can they get? I was playing in 90 degree plus weather with my mask propped up on top of my sweaty hair in b/t games. Never fogged up once. Got hit in the mask twice and barely felt it. If you want to look like a spoiled rich kid who has the most expensive everything, look at something else. If you want everything you need at a good price, get the JT spectra. I gave it a 9 cuz it got scratched after 1 days play. (small scratch - no safety issue)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Whomper Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A few crappy rental masks
Marker Setup: 98c, Flatline, 32 Degrees Front Bolt, BSO Double Stick Trigger
Strengths: -Rarely fogs
-Cool looking
-Visor
-Thermal lens
Weaknesses: -Slightly hard to breath in
-Screws holding ear protection come loose
Review: This is the first mask I have owned and I do not regret buying it one bit. I have played with it no less than 7 times and it has never once fogged. I am a fast person, which means I am often breathing heavy from running, and it still doesn't fog. It has a rather small profile, not as small as a Proteus, but still pretty small. It comes with a visor made of a flexible rubbery material that has bounced a couple balls off of it that I can remember. It also looks really cool, it's the image that pops into someone's head when they think "paintball mask." The only problems I noticed with mine are that it is a little hard to breath in, and the sweat fills with foam and you have to squish it against something absorbent between games to get it dry, but I guess these problems are typical of any mask. However, I have tried my friends Invader on and found it very difficult to breath in, probably because of the double layer air vents, and it had very thin, uncomfortable foam. The only advantage I can see the Invader having over the Spectra is the inability to eat paint because of the specially designed air pockets. Also, the screws on both sides of the mask that hold the ear protection often come loose. Due to their design, it's difficult to tighten them, even with a screwdriver, but you can tighten them sufficiently with your finger inbetween games. It's not a major problem, just an annoyance, really. It's available in olive drab for you woodsball players, and combined with something like Smart Part's goggleflauge and maybe a camo goggle skin, your head is virtually invisible in thick brush. It's compatible with the JT Vortex Fan, if you want one of those.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to any player, whether he be a first time player or experienced veteran. It's a tad more expensive than some masks, but I would still buy it. I think this mask will remain on my head for a long time.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 4:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gunsetuper Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhhhh....the nvaders were sucky and the vforcw were the same as the nvaders.
Marker Setup: (Silver)98c with a 14in terminator,quantum hopper,core universal drop forward
Strengths: nice slick design that ive seen tons of pros wear and many none pros.
Weaknesses: none at all
Review: the slick cool design and the friggin comfort is amazing and i cnt believe i forgot to put that in my key strenght.i was wearing my friends scotts vectra's and i almost needed a face tune up cause damn compareed to my spectra's it was hard as hell
Conclusion: get it no matter wat u are a noob or a pro it may be the best mask out there
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 26th, 2003 at 6:23 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OTEdge Thursday, October 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Both Invisions
JT Proflex
Rental Masks
Marker Setup: Night Black ETek
Smoke VLocity
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~
Black to Blue Spyder Pilot ACS 05
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
Richochet AK
SP Teardrop 14" Barrel

Strengths: Cheap
Light
Safe
Breathable
Somewhat Unfoggable
Comfy
Bounces
Weaknesses: Sometimes Fogs
Strap Undoes Its Self Over Time
Review: Vision
The Spectra Gives a Full Line Of Vision as Most Basic Masks will. I Think Its Double Lens (Not 100% Sure) So Its Not a Full On Cheapo Mask Even Though Its a Great Price. Although this mask does sometimes fog up on me but under harder conditions such as: Sweating,Extreamly Heavy Breathing, Cold Weather, or Other Natraul Causes. Rest Assure, this mask doesnt just MAGICALLY FOG UP! I Recommend You Go And Spend 3 Dollers on Some Anti Fog Spray, It Really Truely Helps.

Light
Comparing to my Invision, the material seems to be lighter weight. When I am using these it feels like nothing is their besides on the eye peice. While on subject of what its made out of, I must say, the Spectra gets hella lot of bounces unless your that unlucky person to get it on the open mouth.

Safe
This was my first mask and I didnt respect my own gear as much as I should have, but after using them from time to time within a 3 year basis, their is no cracks or stress marks. I Have dropped them numourus times and still no damage.

Breathable
This could be good and bad, due to the massively big holes near mouth peice means that all your hot, dirty breath leaves the mask. Although that is good, their is also a dark side to this; If you get shot in the mouth and it is open....Lets hope it is one of those $120 bannana paintballs. Breathing ussally wont fog these up but sweating will. I fully recommend you to wear a hat or a bandana of some sort, as your sweat will wet up the foam and get trapt in the inner lense...in result....Foggination.

Comfy
Aint The Best But Far From Being the Worst. Theirs Foam surrounding the Eyes, and Ears, it seems liek its layered up 2 but whatever, I dont really care how many layers long as its good feeling.

Strap
Well The JT Strap itself is extreamly comfy and has little geleton holds to stick to your head i guess but the Spectras Hold Kind of Sucks. You have to readjust your strap atleast 2 times a day (For Me That Is) Not to big of a deal, one of the minor problems that you get with a cheap mask.
Conclusion: Great Mask! Mainly for New Recreational Players but If Your Serious about Playing Then You Might Want To Save up for One of those worth While Expensive Masks (In My Opinion Atleast) But For The Mask, I Must Say It Is Great For The Price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

heavywep101 Friday, May 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce profiler and grill, (they actually fog more!)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with Opsgear Saw kit
Spyder MR3
Strengths: Duability, absolutly no fogging!
Weaknesses: Non
Review: well this was the first mask i bought because it was a good deal and i had had alot of bad expierences with retal masks and wanted a thermal, and i was amazed, this mask has never fogged on me once, never!, then a while later i bought a Vforce profiler for more comfort, but i was back using the spectra within an hour, it foggs evan less than the profiler! the profiler yes has more comfort but i would sacrafice comfort for no fogging any day.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to anyone, in my opinion this is the best mask out there
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 2nd, 2008 at 10:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigNiko Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force profiler
Marker Setup: -ION
-CP lock neck
-CP Drop Forward
-Halo B with victory board
-48 ci tank
-Dye Sticky gip
Strengths: Light Weight
Comftarble
Good Quality
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Screws fall out
Review: This is a really good mask. It is the first mask i bought seperatly instead of getting it in some gun package and i was using it happily for two years untill i got my profiler. This mask is good because it comftorbly fits on your face unlike some mask which feel like some burden that is strapped to your face. This mask is also easy to take apart and clean which is something amazing compared to some masks. Also all together these masks are quality made and the only thing that fell off were two screws on the mask which were no big problems.
Conclusion: This is a really good mask. I highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

plorpy Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bras eagle,they don't even come close
Marker Setup: spyder imagine,12 0z tank, everything else is stock right now
Strengths: The fit , thermal lens , price , profile.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: i went out today and bought the jt spectra goggle system.the mask itself is very light. its compact, theres very very soft foam around the lens(on the inside) and it fits very snuggly on my face. this is the best mask that i have owned yet. its very comfortable, and it doesn't seem like your wearing a mask at all. it also wil NOT fog up, i am a heavy sweater, and i can tell you that this mask will does not fog up at all.
Conclusion: This is a great mask for your money , so buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint All Over Friday, August 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Xfire - not nearly as comfortable. They are also much larger and look worse.
Marker Setup: Eforce (stock, but it has a good reg on it)
20 oz. Co2
Red Ricochet AK
Strengths: BEST FEATURES
The goggles have thermal lenses, so they dont fog. The googles are the same as on the more expensive flex 7's or proteus. Look Great! smaller than they look in pictures. Very comfortable!

PRICE
only like $38

COMFORT
Extremely comfortable, the foam around the goggles is really soft!
It has a denser foam behind the ears near the back of the mask to keep them off of your ears.

GOGGLES
These are the same goggles as on higher end JT models. The goggles are all that matters performance wise. You can purchase them in single or thermal, but get the thermal.

MASK
The mask is high quality. It looks awesome and is not too large (like Xfire), but not too small (like proteus). It does not have the flex lower part like flex7's, but you can purchas it seperate. The mask comes in black or olive colors.

VISOR
The visor is made of a very flexible plastic. I would recommend leaving it on in hopes a ball would bounce, but if you really wanted to, its possible to take it off.
Weaknesses: Nothing is bad yet. the foam does take a while to dry after playing in the hot Texas sun for a few hours!
Conclusion: This is a great product at a great price. It has everything you need and nothing you don't. I dont think I will ever switch to a "higher end" goggle.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media