paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro

PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
2003 EXT Piranha comes with the following features.

Multi-Mode Electronic Grip Frame
2k3 CNC Milled Body
Threaded CNC Vertical Vertical Feed
Venturi Anti Chop Bolt
Flush Cocking System
CNC Ram Air
CNC Spiral Ported Barrel
DSR Vertical Regulator with Micro Gauge
Tool Less Field Stripping
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Cryton Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 4x4 shocker and impy, Mini Mag. Purchased this as a loaner for my wife and buddies that play once in a great while.
Marker Setup: Stock,revvy 12v x-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a motorized hopper and may need a evil smoke stack. new barrel of course.
Strengths: see review
Weaknesses: see review
Review: The Kit included.
Piranha e-force ext pro 2K3
Spiral ported barrel
Wall charger
Car Charger
9v rechargeable battery
Blue and Red hammer springs
Bunch of extra o-rings
Allen wrenches for all sizes used on marker
Barrel plug.


My initial impression after unpacking the markers was that it seemed well built. The body was very solid feeling with decent milling and a nice solid black ano job on the entire marker with threaded vertical feed and spyder barrel threading. It was also fairly light, being more bulky yet lighter than my mag and much lighter than my VM.

Receiver design:
Tried and True stacked tube design. The upper tube houses the venturi bolt + flush cocking system. (Tolerance between bolt and frame is not as tight as a spyders, hopefully I won’t have jamming like a spyder. The flush cocking system removed the need for a beaver tail) The lower tube houses the turbo valve, cup seal, hammer, spring, velocity adjust + tourney lock. The design reminds me of my VM and spyders a lot except the valve and cup seal are accessed through the ram air port up front.

Gas system:
The gas system is a 10° drop forward with steel ASA + bleed hole, In line reg with mini gauge (cheap o gauge, easily replaced if desired), and ram air chamber. (Probably the nicest thing about this is the in line Reg does not gas down when the bottle is un screwed and the bleed hole in the ASA can degas the short amount of braided SS hosing in a single puff of air. No chewed up tank o-rings or wasted gas.) The inline reg drops gun operating pressure down to about 250 psi stock, probably about as low as you can go on a blowback semi. Cranking up the reg will increase your cycle speed and min/max velocity.

E-Force trigger frame:
Now the thing that sets this gun apart from other PMI Piranhas is the E-force trigger frame on the 2K3 models. So I will put a little more depth into this important part. The entire rest of the gun is constructed of CnC milled aluminum. While the trigger frame is made of a super hard plastic, so is the trigger it self. (non 2k3 models have metal frames but lack some of the 2k3 features) The grip has semi hard rubber grip panels. One side removes easily with 2 Phillips screws allowing access to the internals. A small rubber stop protects the AC charging port. (yes you can charge your rechargeable 9v right in the frame, it also takes 9v standard batteries if you run low on field)

The trigger itself shows a small amount of sideways travel if pushed on one way or the other. This is nothing to worry about but not as crisp feeling as a good after market cocker or mag frame. The two finger design is fairly comfortable and the travel from ready to release is very small. The one thing I noticed is this trigger has a very noticeable sweet spot in it. On a standard trigger pull it is at least as fast as my mag and has almost a mouse click feel to it. On the sweet spot this thing just rips 13+ bps. The frame does not have and LCD just a single LED set behind the E-force logo for power on/off or battery low status. A single on/off button sits on the left of the frame above the trigger along with the sear release slide for re installing the hammer/bolt assembly. On the right side of the frame opposite of the power button are the two mode buttons. The burst button changes between Semi, 3 shot burst, 6 shot burst and 9 shot burst. The second button is the FA button. Both of these buttons are very easily accessible on the fly with your trigger finger. The rate of fire for both burst and semi seems to be set at around 10bps or less. In comparison the sweat spot on the trigger in semi mode is noticeably faster. There is no safety switch you must power the frame down if you want a safety. A tourney lock for the modes does exist, you must remove the grip frame panel, lift the board and flip the dip switch over to locked position.

Accuracy:
Accuracy is average with the stock barrel and open bolt blow back design.

Warranty and Durability:
I cannot comment on durability since my trial time was not long enough but I will add a section here later on for that. PMI has a 1 year complete parts and labor warranty. Repair service after warranty is done over the phone for free or for a nominal charge at the repair center not bad at all.

Concerns or problems:
I have had no problems with it in my limited trial time. My only concern is the insane speed this thing can do when firing using the sweet spot. It WILL chop paint if you don’t invest in at least an EggII and there is a slight amount of blow back up the vert feed so a smoke stack may also be needed. Of course unlike more expensive E markers like the E-mag there is no mechanical mode for the trigger in case the E one fails.
Conclusion: Conclusion:
This marker seems well built and has a ton of features that all do something unlike a lot of lower end E-markers with 30 different modes of worthless LCD display. It uses a very tried and true design for the bolt, valve, and hammer assembly with tolerances not nearly as tight as the jam prone spyders. I am not a huge fan of plastic frames but this one is very solid feeling and not wobbly or cheap feeling in anyway. This marker is capable of insane speeds for a sub $200 dollar marker in semi mode. All in all this is a lot of marker for under 200 and a decent purchase if your looking for a second marker or wanting to get into PB on the cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 18th, 2003 at 9:59 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

plpaintballer Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first time using a PMI
Marker Setup: 9v Hopper, n2, beaver tail (from my old gun), new flame drop forward, and a 14in all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
the gun is ok stock, but i would recommend getting a new barrel and 9v hopper (dont need better)
Strengths: Very good gun, ready to use from the box.
Weaknesses: no weaknesses
Review: This is a very good gun, the triger pull is very short. It is easy to switch from semi to full to 3,6,9 burst and back to semi. The gun is very well build and very light. One thing i hated about it (when it was stock) is that wierd tail it had, it did not look that good, but I changed it to a beaver tail and it was all good. The gun is very accurat (when stock) it could hit a 12in by 12in target in 100ft.
Conclusion: In conclusion this is a very good gun and i would recommend buying this gun to any one thats looking for a $200 gun (note: dont over pay "it goes for $200, not $500 like on some websites")
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fatboy Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STS - I own one and it is very similar now that I've added a reg.
More sucky Spyders than you can shake a stick at.
Marker Setup: I also have a Vision Impulse with Respirator, 12 volt rev, evil bolt, Pipe system on the way. I also onw an STS as a backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a better regulator. The DSR isn't the best. I like my Pure Energy regulator on my STS
Strengths: Very fast and very smooth when you have the pressure down below 300 fps.
Weaknesses: DSR could be better. Hard to turn on the tournament lock.
Review: 3, 6, 9, shot burst and full auto all at the touch of a button. However, at my field you can only play semi so I had to lock them out. It didn't matter, the semi on this gun is fast.

PMI provides both a car and a wall charger. Very nice and generous feature.

The new metal buttons on the gun I tested are super cool.

Threaded feed tube and super nice anodizing (I shot a red one) make it unmistakable on the field. All the other blowback guns look the same but the Piranha stands out.
Conclusion: If I didn't already have the STS, I would have spent the extra cash on the EXT Pro. Nice body, cool low pressure operation and super fast trigger.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball3187 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: A Piranha E-Force Ext Pro Sts With A All American Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe A New Barrel But The Stock One Is Not Bad.
Strengths: It Is Very Light And It Shoots Insanely Fast On All Modes
Weaknesses: The Burst And Full Auto Buttons Are To Easy To Press.
Review: ~GOOD~
~ It is very light.

~ Shoots fast, 12+ on simi-auto.

~ It has burst, full-auto and simi-auto.

~ Ram air chamber.

~ Has a velocity lock.

~ Sight rail, you really do not use it so its there for looks, but I like it.

~ Comes stock with a venturi bolt.

~ Has a regulator with a gauge.

~ Adjustable drop forward.

~ Tool less field stripping.

~ Vertical feed.

~ I have not broke a ball yet. ( Knock on wood.)

~ You do NOT need a beavertail the "Flush Cocking Bolt System" moves inside the marker. So nothing moves outside the marker. So you do not have to worry about poking your eye out.

~BAD~
~ When you run low on air it leaks really bad.

~ The burst and full auto buttons are on the side of the marker and I have accidentally pressed one when I was playing.

~ I do no t think there is a lock so you cant press the buttons.

~ When I put my hopper on it allways falls off but the might be because I sanded down the neck of my hopper to much.

~ It cost WAY to much money.

~ Mine is a E-force so i can not get aftermarket grips because the battery is in the grip frame.

~ It comes with two springs and I went to crono my marker with the velocity down and it was WAY to high so I took out that spring and I put in the other sping and it still was to high so you might have to go get your spring cut like mine.

Conclusion: I like this marker and I the good things about this marker is more than the bad. I have not had to much problems with this marker. So if you are looking in to buying this I would have to say go for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

tb28025 Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
black maxx, spider agressor
Marker Setup: stock with co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitro tank and a revolution hopper if you have enough money left
Strengths: see below
Weaknesses: see below
Review: GOOD
.-dont chop too many balls
-shoots fast
-pretty accurate with co2
-light weight
BAD
-it dont recock ( but i had it fixed -minor)
-the on/off light was hard to see
-flush cocking bolt hit my in the eye (i guess that is normal)
-the pressure gage is stuck on mine

i kept up with my friend who has an angel for the first time
Conclusion: if your thinking about buying an electronic gun get this one. it is fairly upgraded already and you can tell a big difference coming from a semi-auto to this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ToxicBBQ Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray,98c,Rebel Deluxe
Marker Setup: stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
its great stock but u do need a 12v hopper and nitrogen would be nice too.
Strengths: speed, accuracy, comes with battery, and chargers
Weaknesses: leaks out of barrel when low on CO2
Review: its a good gun, firing modes all work fine easy to operate but it is sort of hard tournament lock it. its light weight. comes withe the battery and two battery chargers home and car. easy to field strip it. been hitting a about a 6in by 6in spot from about 60 feet away with np.
Conclusion: i have had no problems with this gun so far but the real test will be pretty soon when I go up against some A-5's with RT.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 29th, 2003 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer77 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders black draguns
Marker Setup: piranha e-force ext pro 2k3 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
revy and possible a new barrel
Strengths: light extreamly fast nice grips pretty accurate soo far
Weaknesses: none yet but a little leak read below
Review: its a great marker its light fast and the little wouble in the trigger u wont even notice it nice gauge and drop forward so far what i tested it farly accurate the elct. trigger frame rules and there is a tourny lock i lov it only one problem with it that the cup seal was messed up from the factory but it cam with a new one soo its ok now oh yea it comes with a recharble 9v with to chargers car and home and u can charge it with the battery in it and u can use a normal 9v
Conclusion: lov it go and bye it for the money go to action village really cheap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bubbaspicier55 Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Esprtit w/ boomy- slower, louder, breaks a lot more Impy w/ freak + magnetic blade trigger- Same speed, little quieter, better accuracy Matrix w/ lpr, trinity reg, bolt kit gun 20 etc.. whole different world 98 custom w/ nite stikk rt- slower even w/ rt, less accurate, more kick not well balanced, angel speed- didnt have nitro just held
Marker Setup: 2k2 Diablo matrix lcd
pbc lpr
trinity reg
black bolt kit
gun 20 chip(soon to be cypher)
halo lo/no rise
anti siphon co2

Coming soon: e force ext(as backup)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Progressive barrels add a little distanc to your shot and straiten it out. They also take away sum noise. 18 boomstick makes the ball hit the same spot over and over, but w/ the 18 inch you give up maybe 20 feet on your total range.
Strengths: Faster than anything else other than angel, matrix, or timmy
See review
Weaknesses: My range was about 30 feet less than my matrix. still good range tho
Review: The piranha e-ext is the most suprising gun i have EVER shot. First glance... Looks ok, trigger is about 5 mm from the bottom. That isnt the best but its pretty darn good. The crazy thing is the strenght needed to pull. I can put my hand on the bible and say that it pulls back more easily than an angel speed!!! fast. I can outshoot a 12 v revvy without an x board. I can wak this trigger so easily...10-11 balls per second b/c thats all the chip allows. I can shoot about 50% faster on semi than i can on auto.. its crazy. If you cant walkon a trigger, than you can still shoot it about 7-8 balls per second. This thing has really goo accuracy. You can Not see a curve in the shot at all, even at 200 feet. This gun rarely chops, and does good with most paint. So far it has been very durable, and the trigger amazes every one. I will rate the factors...1 being talon like, 5 being spider-like and 10 bbeing angel-like.
Trigger 11/10
Speed 8/10 (chip limits bps)
Kick 8/10
Efficiency9/10
durability10/10
noise 9/10
Weight 10/10
Compactity10/10
comfortability10/10(is that a word?)
Range 7/10
Total 9.2/10
Conclusion: Buy it if ur a pro looking for a backup i wuld take it over a pulse any day. If u are on a sponsored team and dont have much money, or are interested in rec ball get it. If you need a fast, light, accurate gun... get it its great!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chepe Saturday, April 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Raider, Piranha Eforce BL VF, Spyder Pilot ACS 05
Marker Setup: Piranha Eforce EXT pro stock with revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Strengths: Trigger Is Very Easy To Walk.
Price Is Cheap.
Weaknesses: When i would shoot the barrel would come off

Review: I recently got this gun and other than the weaknesses that i wrote, its all right. If you're a beginner buy it or you can have it as a back up .It was very cheap. I got it on eBay for 55 dollars. If you just want to have a gun that looks cool buy it. Mines the one in the second picture.
Conclusion: buy it if you are a beginner or if you are a cheep skate and don't want to spend more than 100 dollars. I recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 1st, 2006 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ball_masta666 Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
every gun i have had doesn't even compare to this gun. i had a JT5.0, and just a word to everyone out there, its a piece of junk. its not even worth the price.
Marker Setup: i use a piranha ext pro, i have an electric hopper, and everything else on it is pretty much stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel i guess, even though it is good stock, umm and a new spring i guess, just to give it more velocity.
Strengths: see review below
Weaknesses: see review below
Review: ~THE GOODS~
-NICE LOOKS
-LIGHT AND POWERFUL
-SHOOTS ACCURATE
-VERY GOOD FOR THE PRICE
-HAS FULL AUTO, BURST(3,6,9 BALLS PER SECOND), FULL AUTO I AM NOT SURE THOUGH, I THINK ITS LIKE 12 OR MORE.
-HAS TOURNMENT LOCK, SO IF YOUR ENTERING A TOURNEMENT, YOU TAKE OFF THE GRIP AND FLIP A SWITCH, DEACTIVATING THE BURST AND FULL AUTO
-ITS GOOD RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX
-DOESN'T BRAKE BALLS FREQUENTLY, ONLY THE ODD TIME!!!!!!!!!!!
-VERY GOOD FOR THE MONEY ITS WORTH(200-500 MAX)!!!!!!!!!

~WEAKNESSES~
-MIGHT NEED A NEW BARREL
-NEW SPRING TO GIVE IT MORE VELOCITY
-IF YOU WANT, YOU CAN GET A SMOKE STACK, JUST TO LOAD MORE BALLS INTO THE STACK.
Conclusion: good for your money, has everything you pretty much need, minor fix-ups, a killer gun to play with. i recommend you get this gun. HAVE FUN!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 27th, 2003 at 10:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media