paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask

JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 158
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $96

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Has a flexible lower half and comes in a variety of colors.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
rgoguextreme Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months18 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVader
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (Black)
10" Black Dye Ultralite
Black Kapp Drop Zone 3
Black Empire On/Off Valve
88ci 3000psi Fiber wrapped CrossFire N2
Shortened and Lightened Trigger Pull
Polished internals
Strengths: Excellent field of vision, Easy to Breath, Confortable, Price.
Weaknesses: Face foam although the most comfortable i've felt soaked up lots of sweat.
Review: This mask is AWESOME. The flex part actually works. Took a hit to the face and it bounced right off. The foam inside the mask is 110% more comforatable than that of the JT nVader or it's PMI remake. No forehead protection IF you do not use the visor, with the visor it's no problem. Breathability on this mask is unrivaled, and there's no echo in the mask when communicating with my other team members. Snug fit with a low profile.
Conclusion: For 40 bucks this mask is definately worth it. I was told too late that the FIRST big investment when getting into paintball is not the gun but the mask. I just got done playing with some friends, who also use tippmanns, but bought cheap masks. I owned them when I was walking right up on them and they could barely make out my silouhette due to fogging of their masks. This mask barely fogged on me and it was about 88 degrees, VERY humid, and I was sweatting buckets. Definately worth the money for it's comfort, field of vision...speaking of vision...when I was playing today...other than feeling the pressure of the elastic head strap I forgot I was wearing these goggles. it's optics are so clear, and the range of peripheral vision is so wide (260 degrees), it's unreal. I cannot say enough good things about this mask. So let me just say this: Flex part Really works, Vision is great, Thermal lens is the bomb, and as far as comfort goes....feels so good you'd have to buy it to experience it yourself. Pro's are using these goggles for a reason.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 26th, 2004 at 1:40 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

IrishDevil Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteous II, JT Spectra
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 Avant, Armson stealth barrel, 68cu/4500psi HPA, Ricochet 2K hopper
Strengths: The soft rubber will get many bounces
Spectra vision
Comfortable fit
Rugged
Weaknesses: Soft rubber(see below)
Very wide
Review: I know what you are saying. How can someone put soft rubber as a strength and then again as a weakness. Well somethimes that bounce may cost you. Like when a ball comes aimed for your mouth and that rubber bends back far enough to have it slap you in the kisser. Not a problem for me, it doesn't leave a mark at all, but some people might find that annoying. The soft rubber does give a LOT of bounces though, and it works to your advantage.

I found I could wear this thing for quite some time and not have it be uncomfortable at all. I liked the fit and the strap help tight. (Still does too.) BUT it is a very wide profile that sticks out a couple inches past your face on the sides. Excellent as a one size fits all but not the best for streamlined low profile use.

Thermal lenses stood up to the test of time with no problem. I went a couple years befor ehaving to change mine.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this to anyone that wants a great Thermal goggle system at an entry level price. Perfect way to get in the game strong.

Wide profile and lens changing difficulty are some downsides. Also the potential smack in the lip.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

budmobile2003 Friday, October 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT X Fire, Brass Eagle Z Leader, V Force Shield
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Xtra (stock) + 16" ceramic J & J performance barrel & CO2
Strengths: Ball deflection, thermal, comfort, excellent periphial vision, comfort, slim profile
Weaknesses: use visor to protect forehead, so glare on lense doesn't give you away
Review: I tested this product a couple of times and have found no comparison. JT puts their product through a vigorous test to ensure the lense strength is second to none, However using faulty cleaning solutions can cause the lense to deteriate and weaken as with any goggle. I am a big guy 6' 8" 350 lbs. so I generate a lot of body heat and sweat combine the two and you have a fog machine Hollywood could use for special affects and the flex 7 is the only mask I have used thus far that seems to live up to it's thermal claim for no fog. If you add the fan to the mask you are almost assured to have no problems at all. The flex actually repells balls but you have to be willing to take the hit in the face because you will feel it. Your vision field will be wide open and crystal clear. I almost forgot about the comfort, self explanitory....and if you wear prescription glasses this mask seems to allow more room for those as well. And the price is excellent. Because these goggles have been out for a while now you can snag a pare for 20 to 35 bucks on auctions or pb shops. The higher price deffinatley does not make for a better goggle. This mask will exceed your expectasions so enjoy owning the field!
Conclusion: 10 out of 10 hands down, Unbeatable price, Excellent Quality from a well known manufacturer, Extreme comfort
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler, Invisions, PMI X-ray
Marker Setup: Phantom - RF, undercocking, bottomline.
TASO Sniper II - WWA pump kit, Edge barrel kit, humpback slider.
2k3 Black Magic - Axis hinge, ergo reg, bomb, tickler, ANS ram, CCM bolt + feedneck.



Strengths: Cheap and effective. No fog, excellent coverage and comfort.
Weaknesses: Mere trivialities.
Review: This is the best mask available at this price, hands down. A Flex-7 with a thermal lense outperforms anything in its price range. I'm serious, nothing even comes close. The only difference between the Flex-7 and the more expensive Pro-Flex is the lack of soft foam ears. I can't say that I have much faith in those, as just recently a guy at a field nearby had his eardrum blown out when he bunkered someone. Hard ears work great for me.

The most important part of a mask is the lense. If you can't see, at all times, despite whatever inclement weather, the mask has failed you. The Flex-7's thermal Spectra lense NEVER fogs. V-force lenses only have a anti-fog coating that eventually rubs off during cleaning. The Spectra lens uses a physical design to stop fog. Two seperate panes of plastic; one strong outer layer and a thinner inner layer are divided at the edges by foam. Fog is most often caused because of a difference in temperature between the inside of the mask lens and the outside. The foam in the Flex-7 evenly manages temperature, so that there is a buffer between the inside and outside. As for durability, Spectra lenses have at least five times the lifespan of the V-force lenses that I've seen.

The foam on newer 'Flexes is very thick and very comfortable. It also comes with a chin strap, which I never really used. Nice touch, though, if you're worried about your mask coming off. The lower soft portion of the mask is actually quite effective at producing bounces at medium ranges. Although it can come back and slap you when you are hit in the face, I have never actually received a welt because of it.
Conclusion: If you need a mask for life, and don't want to break the bank, this is the one. I won't wear anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 21st, 2006 at 9:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angel1313 Thursday, August 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT X-Fire mask (not half as good as this mask!!
Marker Setup: Angel Ice Blue 2002 Fly,
68cu 4500psi Apocolypse tank w/ redz p-gear black cover & KAPP tear drop dp,
a 12" and 14" CP pro-series barrel,
2 dye volumizers (black),
WS Devil Tail black site rail,
CP Black Breech Knob,
CP Mini gas through grip,
and shocktech fly bolt.
Strengths: This mask is great, Almost everyone on our team owns one. the lower flexible part of the mask has saved my butt quite a few times from elimination at tourneys. I'm a center mid player, if im out then the tapelines are open for the other team to expose and flank, ive taken at least 7 hits in the lower portion and have had no breaks out of any of those hits. Another perk of this mask is it's comfortable, the foam is not that cheap stuff that you find in 20 dollar goggles, it doesn't leave you with that scratchy itchy feeling after your finished with a game, and the goggle doesn't move around, in long runs, off the break of when going to bunker someone, it doesn't shift move or anything like that. The flexy bottom is good for those front players who have to hold their markers in tight. For the money you spend, this goggle system is worth every penny, with a 260 degree spectra lens u have a great field of vision and as I said the flexible bottom comes in handy. Great buy for the serious tourney or woods player!
Weaknesses: The only bad thing about these goggles are that if you're afraid to take jaw or neck hits! The flexy lower half of the mask when hit low give so that the ball hits either your lower jaw or your neck, if you have a problem with that you may wanna go with a Scott or other goggle system that has a hard plastic mouth area and good neck protection. Other than that there is nothing else wrong with this mask!
Conclusion: For the money, one of the best goggle systems out there, and if you don't like how its a bit wide you should look at the proteus, close fitting and great for the front guys!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mo7stanley Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Masks. Non were very good. They all fogged.
My paintball experience has been streched out over 3 years. But I bought this mask when I bough my gun.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 2005
Teardrop Barrel
Pure Energy 72/3000 High Pressure Air Tank.
Custom Drop Forward.
Soon to have custom Grips.
Strengths: Lenses
Strap
Comfort
Usability
Weaknesses: Little big
It is kinda hard to see down with your perrifial vision
Little Glare
Review: USABILITY OF THE LENSES:
I was a little spectical of getting the lenses because I had read some reviews that said that it was extremely dificult to remove the lenses from the mask. I was very happy to find that this idea throughout the reviews is wrong. It is very easy to remove and put the leses back in so long as you follow the directions. If you didn't, I understand how it would be nearly imposible to put them back in.

Because of the rumor one of the first things I did was see how difficult it was to remove the lenses. So I opened up the instruction book and took a look. I read the directions and tested it out on the first device that held he lense in. "Very easy" I thought. So I tried removing some more. Still very easy.

Later, after I played, I cleaned the mask the way JT recomends. By removing the lense and cleaning out all the paint. The entire mask can easily be disasembled in about a 1 min and 30 seconds. Next, I had to put the mask back together. This was a little more difficult but with practice it should be very easy. It took me about 10 to 15 min to completley reassemble the mask. (That includes putting hte lenses back in and reattaching the goggles to the mask.) So I don't think it would be that bad. If you have to dissasemble them at the field (very unlikely) you will only miss maybe a game. with some time to spare. The hardest part to dissasmble and reassemble is the nose. I will post any tricks I figure out.

LENSES: Outstanding! that is the best word I can think to describ them. If you breath on the lenses on the outside the will fog on the outside but very quickly clear up. However, you cannot get the lenses to fog on the inside. you can breath on them and they will not fog. I have also realized that I am a heavy breather. NO FOG!!! These is the thermal lenses that I am talking about. I don't know if JT offers a non-thermal one.

There is a little bit of glare on the lenses. But I have not cleaned them or been goged wth them yet. So I am guessing the glare will go away.

STRAP: The strap to hold it on you head is very comfortable and easy to use.

Comfort: The comfort is excelant. Somtimes you need to get it situated right but overal it is very comfortable.

SIZE:
I have a fairly narrow head. because of this, the mask seems to be a bit big.

DOWNWARD VISIBILITY:
You can't just look down with your eyes. you have to look with your head. However, the side visibility is excellant.


SCREWS
There are two screws that hold the hear guards to the bottom portion of the mask. Make sure that those are tight before you play. After I cleaned mine I found a screw on the ground so I picked it up and put it on my desk. Later I was looking at my mask and noticed that a screw was missing. Sure enough, it was the screw that I had picked up. This can be prevented if you retighten them every time you completely clean them.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone. The best part about it is that IT DOES NOT FOG! Granted the mask is not perfect. But what is? I havn't had a chance to test out the Flex part yet. I am guessing that it would be good to ware a neck gaurd though because I don't know how a ball could break on the Flex part.

I want to give hte product a ten to keep the mask at it's good overall rating. But, nothing is perfect and I am sure that there are better masks out there. However, this is certainly a good mask, for a good price, with good quality. so I am going to have to give it a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 20th, 2005 at 7:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhoenixZERO1 Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle something or another...
Strengths: Comfortable, I have had no fog, looks good
Weaknesses: Changing goggles
Review: I've been using this mask for around 2 years or more. I love it. I've had no problems with it at all so far. It's comfortable, I've had no fogging, and it looks pretty cool. Unfortunately I couldn't convince my friends to get it because they think "the more price, the better perormance"...wrong.
Conclusion: JT has some great masks. This has never failed me. If your looking for a new mask look no further.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkermonkey77 Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
flex 7 ize, pro-flex
Marker Setup: WGP 2k3 Sniper
WGP 2k2 Cocker
Spyder E-99
Spyder Sonix
Trracer (3)
Kingman New Hammer
Viewloader Triton
Strengths: deflects balls on lower mask
Weaknesses: getting hit in the lip sux
Review: Well, I've used the flex 7 on 2 occasions and I have to admit it's a good mask. it's comfy, nice thermal lens, and of course that lovely flex that deflects all those pesky balls from the lower part of your mask is just ever-so-nifty.
Conclusion: hey, if you take multiple mask shots and dont mind taking a ball to your chin or lip, grab one of these- if you want a comfier version of it though, grab a pro flex
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musserplayer Saturday, September 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Radar
Proto Switch
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
J&J Ceramic Series Barrel
BT Sealed Bolt System
Strengths: Doesn't fog
Paintballs bounce off of flexible rubber
Good Ventilation
Comfortable Foam
Price
Weaknesses: None, although some people may not like the flexible rubber part.
Review: I play paintball in the heat and humidity of Southern Mississippi. Both of my previous masks would fog up after only a few minutes of play. I finally looked into getting a mask that not only had a thermal lens, but that was cheap. It seems that I made the right choice.

The Flex-7 is comfortable, and has good ventilation, which is important to have in those hot and humid climates. The thermal lens hasn't fogged on me yet, and I absolutely love the flexible rubber part.

The deflection of the paintballs does come at a cost: The rubber part is so flexible that it flexes back and hits you in the face sometimes when the paintball strikes it. Sometimes it hurts a little bit, but as long as I can stay in the game, I'm happy.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone that needs a good mask. I especially recommend it for players who are exposed to excessive heat and humidity.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannp8ntbal Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 w/ a J/J , 32 degrees expansion, dbl. triggrer, drop forward

SP ion coming soon w/in the month
Strengths: No breaks on lower face
comfortable
good coverage
Weaknesses: If you get a top color other than black, the bottom rubber is always black
Review: I bought this mask a couple weeks ago and i loved it. i put it on and it was very comfortable. i liked the gogglere bag it came too. i went out and played with it. as the game went on i was in a gunfight at about five yards with a guy. i felt something hit me in the chin. so im like "crap" i almost called myself out when i realized, oh i have a flex. so i felt the mask down where i got hit and it wasnt slimy. it didnt break. it was great so i was able to proceed to buker that guy.
later that day i got gogged in the lenses. when you get hit in other masks you have to wipe it off but it smears all over and you cant see as well. when i got gogged in this mask, within 5 minutes of gettting gogged, the paint had beaded on the lens and rooole off so i didnt even have to clean it.
great product. 10 out of 10
Conclusion: Ive used almost all goggles oput there and i reccomend this one for anyone who playes paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media