paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion

Raven Nexion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nexion

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nexion
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• LCD modes: ball counter, Count down timer, low battery indicator,
• 4 firing modes: semi auto, 3 round burst, 6 round burst, and full auto
• Aluminum receiver with custom mill works
• Vertical feed with adjustable feed port
• 12” competition barrel,
• Aluminum blade trigger
• Adjustable trigger pull
• Advance quick release pin
• Custom machined drop forward
• Expansion chamber with Fore grip
• Regulator and gauge
• Tournament velocity adjuster
• Anti-double feed
• Low pressure chamber
• Stainless steel hard line hose
• Operates on CO2 or compressed air
Product Availability 
The Raven Nexion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Woodmasterfox Tuesday, January 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested26 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Most Hybrid Blowbacks
Marker Setup: 04 Impulse
Vert Reg
12 Volt Revvy w/ X-board
48 ci 3000 psi PMI HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None necessary, But a paint to barrel match always helps accuracy.
Strengths: Simplicity
LCD Functions
Fast
Weaknesses: ??? Havn't found any
Review: Ok, I manage a paintball store here in San Antonio, and I played a couple of games with the Raven Nexion when It first came in, and I thought it was awesome. First, How the hell do you not know why it wont shoot even when It's cocked? Its a freiken blowback. It only has like 4 moving parts besides the trigger: the bolt, the solenoid, the sear, and the hammer. So if its cocked, then your not activating the solenoid which clicks the sear which releases the hammer. That means you have a dead battery. Don't diss the gun for user error. Second of all everyone saying that it's not accurate or it is accurate is just stupid. Everyone that is not a newb in paintball knows that the only thing that regulates accuracy is paint to barrel match. It's not the gun. Also, someone said the range was not good on this gun. CHRONO IT UP TO 300 FPS. An Imp shooting 300 fps at the horizontal will shoot the exact same distance as a Raven shooting 300 fps at the horizontal, regardless of barrel size. Once again, ITS NOT THE GUN, its user error. Also, If you are jamming the bolt, its because you do not have an electric hopper. Which bosts this question, "what the hell are you doing trying to rip on this gun without an electro hopper?" Of course its gonna chop and jam!!! Once again, user error. And for everyone saying that it is too expensive for a hybrid blowback??? My store is selling the Raven nexion with a 48 3000 Java tank for $360. I'm sorry but I think thats a good deal.
Conclusion: Awesome gun. But if you don't have any common sence like some people that reviewed this gun, please, please, I'm begging you, stay away from the sport of paintball. Otherwise, enjoy this gun in the woods or in the tournament, because frankly, it does both well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mark00A-5 Monday, April 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested24 of 49 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any electro blowbacks such as:
Spyders
Piranahs
WGP E-Ranger
Ect...
Marker Setup: No marker currently. Sold my impulse and am buying 5 vikings with my team.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Reg 12v Revy Reg Bottomline (I HATE dropforwards, once you learn how to correctly hold your gun, you will too) Macroline Mabey, New bolt
Strengths: LCD
Fast
Looks Cool
Good 1st Marker for the Company
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Volume (loudness)
Recoil
Price
Distance
Blowback
Review: I tried one of these out a local feild, heres what I have to say about the marker...

Goods- :)

LCD- Give your firing modes on a basic LCD screen. Kinda nifty and you get 'bragging rights' to owning a LCD marker.
Fast- Trigger pull was nice after I adjusted the crappy trigger job the kid did to it. He was happy that I adjusted it. Pretty fast, basic mouse click trigger pull all electro-blowbacks bost.
Looks Cool- Gotta admitt, this thing does look pretty sleek.
Good 1st Marker for the Company- Gotta hand it to raven for their first gun released, not a bad job at all.

Bads- :(

Accuracy- Accuracy... like all electro blowbacks will never be as good as a electropuematic. An impulse with vert reg for the same price will deliver better performance, speed, and accuracy then this gun will.
Volume (loudness)- Again, another blowback-electro sideeffect is the volume. Quite loud. Barrel helps that a little though.
Price- The price is HORRIBLE! Get an impulse for that kinda price. The impulse will break down more but it will definatly out shoot any one of these guns. Raven, get real, you can't sell guns like this at prices like that.
Distance- Like accuracy, distance isnt very good.
Recoil- Its just the internals people, too much stuff moving inside causing it to 'kick'

Blowback-
Conclusion: I would recomend to any player starting out that has the extra 100 dollars the shell twords a better blowback electro. But you will outgrow it fast if you start playing adult-series tournaments. I would rather get an impulse or autococker (stock of course) Both would dominate this marker 2 ways to sunday. I give it a 5. Not bad, not good, nothing amazing.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

boombaclot420 Wednesday, July 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
who cares
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion with 68CrossfireHP , evolution II loader, & J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, maybe a bolt but not necesarry
Strengths: nice "touchy" trigger pul
pinpoint accuracy with the new barrel
fast
beautiful gun
Weaknesses: ummmmm.......nothing too important ........if anything at all
Review: A great looking gun with all the hot accessories and then some you wouldn't expect out of a brand new marker. Slangs enough paint to keep up with the more expensive bad ass guns and the accuracy is dead on if you know how to aim it right. Field strips simply and easily and all in all its quite light. Its a great gun that is worth the $330 most places charge for it. Buy it if you like it...... you won't be let down!
Conclusion: VERY HOT LOOKING GUN!
IT WON'T LET YA DOWN!
SHOOTS GREAT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ThunderStorm Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit, Electra DX
Marker Setup: Stock, 20 Oz C02, 12v Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Low maintenance
Great Accuracy
LCD Display
Weaknesses: Loudness
Jamming
Review: This is a great marker to come right out of the stock box. This gun has some awesome mill works, the quick squeeze trigger helps to get off a lot of shots, it has low very low maintenance or none at all, the stock barrel has great accuracy, and it even comes with a nice, easy to read, LCD display.

Now, on the other hand, this gun is quite loud. I have heard louder but this gun ranks high on my "loudest gun list". Another problem is the jamming. When I first got the gun, I started off with just a base viewloader hopper. The gun was jamming every 5 seconds. I would also recommend that you get a new bolt, since the stock is quite faulty.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a great gun for the beginner or intermediate player. I believe the features of this gun make up for all of its faults. And some people have stated it is an "overpriced spyder", its not. You can get it pretty cheap, and even the stock will give you a run for your money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rafi Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders/Spyder clones
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion- currently stock
Tippmann 98 Custom- Flatline and Dye SS barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
agitated hopper and new barrel
Strengths: *Speed
*Quality
*Milling
*Rarity
Weaknesses: *Price
*Stock barrel (duh)
*Recoil
*Rarity
Review: Strengths:

*Speed- It is an electronic, so it shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger (unless your good and can top it out at 13 bps) It also has 3/6 round bursts and full-auto when you feel like really blasting your friends.

*Quality- It is really a Kingman and the blow-back design makes it really reliable, and if something does break, it is relatively inexpensive to fix.

*Milling- although a personal preference, is just down right cool.

*Rarity- You stand out because not many people have them.

Weaknesses:

*Price- this is the biggest complaint that i have, Raven thinks it can sell a blow-back for 300 or even 400 dollars, I would have never gotten this gun because of prize, but i managed to get a deal on it for 265, which is still expensive for a blow-back.

*Stock barrel- Ok, as you should know NO STOCK BARREL IS AS GOOD AS AN AFTER MARKET BARREL.

*Recoil- there are a lot of parts moving around inside, so it kicks somewhat (especially on full-auto at 7 bps)

*Rarity- They can be somewhat hard to find, use the Internet.

Conclusion: Yesterday was the first time i got to use the gun at an open game. I went to Wyldside in Machesney Park Mall (northern Illinois), it is in a mall so it was a small area and there were at least 30 people there (15 on each side). I was impressed at how fast i could shoot the Raven, even with the gravity hopper from my 98 custom. The stock barrel (although still a stock barrel) was actually accurate in the cramp situation. I was able to hit were i was aiming with 3 or 4 shots. Yes the Raven did out shoot my hopper, but i never had a ball break. They allow semi only, so i didn't get to try out the bursts and full-auto on people ( i have tried it out in my backyard a lot, that poor piece of plywood) I was also using C02 and the regulator and expansion chamber did their job admirably.

Overall i would recommend this gun to anyone who can find a deal on it or wants the best blow-back there is.

*(note: This review was written on Feb. 8th 2004 under hybrid blow-back Raven paintball Nexion. It is the same gun so I wrote the same review.)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 18th, 2004 at 6:54 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

chanman9182 Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impys, bushies, angels, spyder clones, all spyders
Marker Setup: Angel 4 fly
angel air set
vl evlution II
dye boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
You DEFEINITELY need an electronic hopper, i recommend vl w/ xboard,
Strengths: speed
not much recoil
looks
distance
bouncy trigger
doesn't require much repairing or work
Weaknesses: hmm... nothing actually.. somewhat
the price actually
Review: This marker is great even if it's right out of the box. YOU DO need an electronic hopper otherwise it jams!!! (i can't stress this enough) I love the LCD display.. it's cool and it doesn't get screwy either... NOW on to the strengths and weaknesses
Strengths---(>")>
SPeed- The velocity on this gun is well over 250, when i chrono'd it and the balls fly above average with consistency
REcoility- doesn't shake you off, it justs bounces a tiny bit if you leave it on auto
LOoks- Eyecandy allt he way, everyone i played with was staring at it
DIstance- REALLY far, i don't know how far but it was longer than my friends fenix when he shot it with max
TRiggerBOunce- it bounces back quick and you can walk it. it doens't shake from side to side either
WOrk- all i needed to do was clean, lube, and go. if a part IS broken, it's easy to fix since theirs only 3 moving parts inside.
WEaknesses----';....;'
PRICE- all the stores near me sell it for 500 bucks around there. maybe 350-400 ish. I got mine for free lol, my friend had 2 cuz the factory sent him another by mistake n they let him keep it. =p

Conclusion: Get this marker, it's reliable, cool looking, and meets all the standards for tournament entries. Any intermediate-tournament level player can even look at this. Get this instead of an impy, they break down almost every 3 games tops.
hope you learned something from this review.
Happy Balling
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

yzracer14 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun TES. The raven is soooooooooo much better. I have nothing but problems with the TES. This box is to short to describe all the problems.
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion, Lapco bigshot barrel, WGP drop, Bob Long exp chamber, Shocktech supafly delrin bolt, halo hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new bolt (not necesary for performance but only so it doesnt scrath the gun)(and spyder rear cocking bolt or intimidator bolt will do). A new barrel(stock barrel is good i just recomend it for better accuracy becasue no gun is as accurate when its stock compred to aftermarket prducts) if your using CO2 i also recomend an expansion chamber.
Strengths: Everything.
Weaknesses: didnt come with braided line ( its solid)
Review: There is nothing wrong with this gun. I've read people complaining about it jamming and breaking too many balls. You wont break balls if you use an electronic hopper. an electro hopper is a must becasue it is a fast gun regardless of what BPS you have it set at. I ran about 8000 rounds through it when it was stock without one single break, chop, winger, jam, leak, etc. (no problems at all), I dont know what everyone else's problem is with this gun but its obvious to me that they A: weren't using and electro hopper or B: they dont know much about paintball. I cannot give this gun a 10 because there is always room for improvement. I would give it a 10 if it came with a top end barrel, bolt, Nitro, etc. ( you get my point)
Conclusion: Dont listen to the bad reviews about this gun. Cuz there is nothing bad about this gun!!! Buy it, you wont regret it. Once again GET AN ELECTRO HOPPER!!! Preferably a HALO. Not only cuz it looks good but it keeps pressure on the balls going to the chamber so the balls in the feed neck dont move a at all when your running around like a chicken with your head cut off. F.Y.I.------Beleive it or not a lot of ball breaks are caused because the balls move around in the feed neck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

papaintballer15 Saturday, January 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact,
black draguns,
e-99
imagine
electra
all spyder clones basically,impys,cockers,timmys,angels, alot of guns
Marker Setup: Red Toxic matrix
14" black w/ SS back freak
Evo2 w/ Zboard
black empire rail
black 32 deg. on/off
evolve bolt kit
black CP inline
black PBC lpr
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel although stock is pretty decent for once
new drop and on/off macroline or steel braided
maybe inline reg
If planning on having it for a while LP parts
Strengths: Fast,light,looks, overall performance
Weaknesses: The steel Hardline can be bad/good
Review: It has yet to chop, if you keep the entire gun oiled it shoots like a dream.
The satin matte finish is nice doesnt leave fingerprints, but collected a little dust :-p
stock barrel is decent for a stock, need a good hopper empire works perfectly
The drop is big enough for any tank for as far as i know, put a 88/45 on it to see and fit with ease. The main problem is having that hardline, if u want to put a drop and on/off u need to get a macro kit which doesnt bother me, considering i will soon be upgrading that.
For the people who have the bolt stick, or have problems with the gun its either bc it was a bad batch, and with the bolt sticking you have to make sure its oiled up, there is some lubrication on it when u get it, but not enough. You have to make sure to keep guns oiled up after every use, which i have been doing and mine has worked perfect.
Lube it all up and then try it, it may work better.
If a person was wanting upgrades, new valve, drop/unimount,new hose,inline reg/xchamber,barrel and ACS bolt.
Conclusion: This gun is great. Just keep it well lubed like all guns, although i would recommend a new bolt like the ACS. The finish on the body is nice, the foregrip/xchamber is basically pointless but still Looks great, shoots great, 13bps is fast enough. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable,fast,small gun. And would be even better having high flow parts in it, lowering the pressure to make sure u dont have paint breaks on those brittle shells, and no chopping.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 29th, 2004 at 8:38 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rafi Sunday, February 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders/Spyder clones
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion- currently stock
Tippmann 98 Custom- Flatline and Dye SS barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
agitated hopper and new barrel
Strengths: *Speed
*Quality
*Milling
*Rarity
Weaknesses: *Price
*Stock barrel (duh)
*Recoil
*Rarity
Review: Strengths:

*Speed- It is an electronic, so it shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger (unless your good and can top it out at 13 bps) It also has 3/6 round bursts and full-auto when you feel like really blasting your friends.

*Quality- It is really a Kingman and the blow-back design makes it really reliable, and if something does break, it is relatively inexpensive to fix.

*Milling- although a personal preference, is just down right cool.

*Rarity- You stand out because not many people have them.

Weaknesses:

*Price- this is the biggest complaint that i have, Raven thinks it can sell a blow-back for 300 or even 400 dollars, I would have never gotten this gun because of prize, but i managed to get a deal on it for 265, which is still expensive for a blow-back.

*Stock barrel- Ok, as you should know NO STOCK BARREL IS AS GOOD AS AN AFTER MARKET BARREL.

*Recoil- there are a lot of parts moving around inside, so it kicks somewhat (especially on full-auto at 7 bps)

*Rarity- They can be somewhat hard to find, use the Internet.
Conclusion: Yesterday was the first time i got to use the gun at an open game. I went to Wyldside in Machesney Park Mall (northern Illinois), it is in a mall so it was a small area and there were at least 30 people there (15 on each side). I was impressed at how fast i could shoot the Raven, even with the gravity hopper from my 98 custom. The stock barrel (although still a stock barrel) was actually accurate in the cramp situation. I was able to hit were i was aiming with 3 or 4 shots. Yes the Raven did out shoot my hopper, but i never had a ball break. They allow semi only, so i didn't get to try out the bursts and full-auto on people ( i have tried it out in my backyard a lot, that poor piece of plywood) I was also using C02 and the regulator and expansion chamber did their job admirably.

Overall i would recommend this gun to anyone who can find a deal on it or wants the best blow-back there is.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 26th, 2004 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raven Toter Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
01 Angel Cut and Carved
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion w/ PMI HPA and Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pretty nice as is.
Strengths: Fast, Looks Great, NEver Breaks
Weaknesses: Need a Fast quality Hopper, Bolt needs to stay well maintained
Review: Great Gun Overall, I like it because cold to mid hot weather it preforms outstanding. YOu need to keep velocity ajustment tight. Its super fast and its trigger can basicly ajust to everyone needs. I gotta admit this gun can Hold its own againt any "high Quality" marker. I think any gun should be over 500$ but that probably because i like accesories to custom my gear and gun.
Conclusion: Get it, it dont cost no 500$ do some research get it cheap save for GOOD Loader
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media