paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar

JT Speed Collar Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Speed Collar

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Speed Collar
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Attaches to the tops of ViewLoader's VL2000 and Revolution hoppers for uninterrupted fire power. Eliminates spillage and lost time.
Product Availability 
The JT Speed Collar is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Goodfella Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus w/nitro, Smart parts Tear Drop Barrel (12), CP Drop, and 12v Revvy
Strengths: The speed collar was 'field tested' for the first time by myself and another teammate during a 3 man tournament on a speedball field. Both our speed collars worked flawlessly. The collars combined with the speed pods dropped our reload times to almost nothing. No fumbling or spilling balls or anything. I reloaded my speed collar a total of 9 times during the tournament flawlessly. My teammate averaged around the same. No problems encountered.

Before installing, i removed the top two screws in the revy to remove the lid on the revy (replace the screws after removing the lid on the revy), the screw below the lid on the revy and the long bottom screw and that plastic thing thats on the speed collar.
Installing the collar involved removing the original lid off of the 12v Revy. The front end of the speed collar (hinge) is then used to hinge/hook itself on top of the plastic knub that once held the original pin on the 12v Revy. I then pushed on the bottom the speed collar down until it snapped all the way down. I then used the extra long screw that came with the speed collar to screw in the bottom hinge into the revvy. I did not use that plastic tab thing that came with the collar during installtion. I also did not install the timer. After installing, adjust the collar as needed (read con section for more details) Also when screwing in that extra long screw into the bottom hole of the collar into the revy, it actually goes all the through the hopper. If you look at the revy, there is no exit hole for the original screw in the revy. I used a black and decker electric screwdriver to actually drill/bore the entire screw all the way through. If you do not want to make a hole or something easier, use the original screw that you took out of the 12v revy mentioned above.
Weaknesses: Besides the obvious of being useless without speed pods, there are NO install instructions for this thing. It took me awhile to figure out how to install it properly on my 12v Revy. I ended up asking my teammate how he did it. I also do not think the collar will work with Riccochet 2ks or HALOs.

Another is that you need to adjust and learn how to insert the pods correctly. When i mean adjust, i mean loosening the screws or tightening ease the insertion/extraction of the pod (Ive read reports in the review section of pods getting stuck in the collar). Inserting the pods correctly involves having your gun in a slightly angled/stable position to insert the pod with minimal force and having your hand somewhat in the middle of the pod. If your hand is too far forward during insertion, the pod will not insert all the way and ball spillage will ensue. If your hand is too far back, the pod will not go into the collar. (note: getting the pod in isnt as complicated as im making it sound. I am just pointing out some things i found out myself)
Conclusion: My current setup for hauling extra balls across the field is the JT Slammer Pack, JT Collar, 12v Revy, and 4 JT speed pods. So far this setup has proven to be effective and very hassle free during play so far. Keep in mind however that the only games i have played are speedball and a few games in a wooded arena (trees in a fenced 200 x 100 field) and my limited experience.
I am giving this product a 7 out of town. 2 for no instructions and 1 for being limited for use to specific types of equipment (ie, speed pods/revolution hoppers).
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

psycholoop Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Traditional pods, the standard flip tops and standard Loaders.
Marker Setup: A-5 heavily modded.
Strengths: Fast and durable, oh and did its fast! Very fast.
Weaknesses: Has to be modded to work with 99% of loaders. No biggie.
Review: The speed collar should only be used with the speed pods. If you try to use traditional pods you will be very disappointed. With the speed pod in hand, it takes less than a second to load your hopper.

I was able to find the speed collar for under $15 online. It doesn’t come with the timer, but who wants that POS anyway. Rest assured, this is not an expensive item. If you get the speed pods($5 each) and the collar(less than $15), you wont break the bank.

As far as installation goes, you will have to mod your Loader if you attach it to anything other than a Viewloader brand Loader. I installed it on my A-5 fairly easily and it only took me about 10 minutes. I simply drilled four holes around the mouth of my loader and around the speed collar, then secured it with nylon zip ties. Its not too hard, you just have to be smarter than the collar.

If used properly with the correct pods, you can load your hopper much faster than with a traditional setup. Any of the minor nuisances you might run into are easy to overcome with a little brain power. I have been using this system for at least 6 months, playing well over 50 games with it and have yet to experience even one problem with the setup.
Conclusion: If you want to fill your loader in the fastest way possible without spilling a ball, then this product is for you. Just remember to get the full system, pods as well as the collar or you will be making a huge mistake. If you only buy one and not the other you will hate it.

The only reason this product isn't getting a 10 from me is simply because of the bit of extra time(and modding) necessary to mount the collar
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 9:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nycazn79 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Regular pods / hoppers
Marker Setup: A-5 with Scepter Grenade Launcher & APP 330 round hopper
Ion with 12V Viewloader
Strengths: Loads your hopper in one arm movement
Weaknesses: Limited to only one electroic hopper & one gravity hopper
Review: I already purchased 2 of these collars since both my woodsball and speedball setups are based on the JT Slammer system (speedpod/speed collar).

The speed collar is meant to be placed only on the Viewloader 12V or the VL200. Those 2 hoppers have the lip size and screw locations that are compatiable with the collar. You just have to drill a 1/8 hole for the mounting screw to fit. Performance wise, it load FAST and flawlessly. Mine has not jammed with the 12V yet. I removed the cover since the internal teeth prevents the balls from comming out.

The collar does not fit easily on all other hoppers without modification. You can forget about using an "egg" hopper for obvious reasons. I was able to get it on a APP 330 round hopper with a couple of new holes and some zip-ties. It works, but has a tendency to jam if you try to overfill it. When it jams, it can be a pain to get out. I even delayed the start of a game for a few minutes trying to get my pod off the collar (cool refferees at the field)
Conclusion: It will load fast, but you are limited by what hoppers you can use.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 5:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippman ProCarbine (w/ Taso stainless steel and Lapco aluminum Big Shot barrels) I also own a stock ACI F1 Illustrator
Strengths: -doesn't fly open and spill your balls
-good for tournaments and fast paced play (quicker reload time)
Weaknesses: -Expensive piece of plastic
-sticks out and makes a good target for other players
-can be hard to install on your hopper and doesn't fit all hoppers
-you need the pods to reload, can't really do it without them. If there is too much paint in the hopper it overfills into the speed collar
Conclusion: Expensive piece of plastic. It's a preference item. You either will like it or hate it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spike024 Saturday, February 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Strengths: This is one of the bests things I have ever used. Fast, easy, and fast

All you people who say the pods are hard to get out or you broke an elbow tring to get it out.......

USE YOUR HEADS

Or do what I did, unscrew all the screws on it. Take out that thing that prevents balls from spilling. Put screws in. Add a ruber band going from the neck of the hopper to the lid if neccesary.
Weaknesses: Not too much at all
Conclusion: Just follow what I said and it will fix those problems making it a great add on to any gun (exept maybe the impulse)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Impulse
-Vertical Max-flo
-Blade Trigger
-SP Europe Voodoo Full Flow
-SP Europe Voodoo Delerin Bolt
Strengths: it is fast, ill give it that. I can reload in a good 3-4 seconds. The spring flips the lid closed, instead of open so you dont have to close it by hand everytime you reload. No more hopper lids flying open in the middle of games!
Weaknesses: Hard to install. No directions come with it, i almost ruined my revvy putting it on. Falls apart, this is the second one ive used. HUGE. Thats really all you can say. This thing is massive. I mean i know im using an impulse which is already a tall package, but i could do without the extra 3 inches on top.
Conclusion: Not worth it, I suggest going with another system. I'm gonna get a DYE pack as soon as i can afford one just because of the size of this thing, and i dont wanna have to buy a new one every 3 months. This is a good idea, they just couldve made a few minor changes to make it excellent.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Modified Low Pressure Spyder @ 300psi. Boo-yaah, ANS Gen-xII. Nitro Duck 114/3000 nitro, Kapp KDZII. DYE SS 12" bbl. 12v revvy, SPeed pod collar.
Strengths: Must have to make your speed pods work properly. When it works properly it a godsend! Very fast reloads! If your lid breaks, the baffle will keep your paint in the hopper, or if you're a back player this is the one!!
Weaknesses: I broke an elbow trying to remove the jammed pod in a speedball game. Forced me out of that game :( I couldnt get the timer to work, and it sticks up high, and is more prone to hopper hits. I was hit twice on the collar.
Conclusion: If I knew what I now know, I may have tought twice before purchasing this system. I like the general idea, but Its awefully tempermental. If you find a good deal for it, go for it. If youre a back player, It's probably worth the expense. It may work great, and I may just need to start using it more carefully.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, September 5th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its part of the fastest reloading system ever and should definatly be bought. its not too expensive and you can keep the lid open on it so you dont have to worry about fliping the lid and pouring the balls in. and balls wont spill out when the lids open.
Weaknesses: it comes with no directions and is hard to put on. The game timer is a load of crap bc when ever you take the speed collar apart to clean it you have to take the timer off and the sticky stuff keeps getting less and less sticky. but the timer is free when you buy the collar so that doesent even matter. does make the hopper stick out more but not by that much
Conclusion: its so fast that even though there are some things that are bad about it is worth getting. of course you also need the speed pods and you should have the slam pack too. overall if you want somthing faster than conventional loading this is the thing to get because its so fast its not even funny. Get it!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 13th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It works with the slampak system pretty well. I bought a JT Slam Pak because I liked it so much, and the Speed Pods came with it free. I played w/ out the collar for about 2 months, and finally bought mainly just because I wanted to fool around w/ the pods the way they were meant to be used.

You don't really need the lid. If it comes off, so what - the little things inside hold the paint in very well. I took mine off the first day, and haven't had it on since. It's all that easier to slam the pods into it...which is fun =)
Weaknesses: No instructions and hard to install. I wouldn't expect such a shoddy thing from JT, they could have done much better, but oh well. It's a start. If they made a hopper w/ the slam system all molded together as one, I'd buy it in an instant.

I'm actually thinking about putting some tape or something on the inside rim of my hopper to make the diameter smaller. That's all a speed collar is - it's not quite as wide as a regular hopper, so the edges of the speedpod catch on it and spread apart. If I can get that to work (or something like that), goodbye speed collar.
Conclusion: It works...but it's a pain to install and looks kinda goony on your hopper. Not too bad of a product, but you can live without it. If you have the harness and the pods, and want to play around w/ it, go for it. Otherwise, you can live without the collar.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 8th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -This piece was the last piece I need to complete my Slampak system
-By far i thinks it the crappiest piece in the whole system

What's good? hmm lets see.
-The timer looks cool
-It comes in a nice package
-It's fun to slam pods into it.
-When the pod jams you can just play with the pod stick'in out
-People talk to you cause they wonder'in what the hell it is.
-It's black

Weaknesses: -One of the crappiest JT products.
-Should either be cheaper or better quality.
-25 dollars? geeez
-My lid fell apart by just playing with it (before installation)
-It doesn't fit on the 12v Loader (without mods)
-No insturctions? Well i managed w/o it but it'd be nice for others
-Comes with GOT timer that only worked once when i first opened it.
-GOT timer looks like a $1 watch from K-mart
-GOT timer has 2 buttons yet it's still confusing (no instructions)
-I struggled to turn it off i mean come on.
-You actually had to sit there and think how the hell u were to install this thing
-Jt Could have improved this design.
-Worthless crappy Timer and Crappy lid.
-If it only fits the 12V and 9V Loaders why not make the stupid thing fit good?

Conclusion: Well I'd buy it if you have a slampak and speedpods. But if you don't then don't get this thing. It's a piece of crap but it works with some mods.

Problem: There something in the way so when you put in on the hopper the holes on the bottom are barely on the hopper. So if you drilled into it. You'll mess up the hopper.

What i did to make this thing work.......

You can use a dremel tool to scarap the middle bottom section cause that's what's in the way. You could use a file and fille it down.
Or you can remove the GOP timer (held on with double sided tape) open it up (remove 4 screws) and cut the inside bottom section with pliers (I did this because i didn't have a file or dremel tool) But all ways would work.
The bottom section looks like this [____|____] it's under the GOP Timer.

Now after you've done that you should have the holes line up the loader pretty good and the fit should be snug. I lost the long screw that came with it so i'll go buy another one. But the bottom hole line up with the screw so i took the Loader's screw and used that for now. After that you would drill a hole all the way through the hopper. and screw in the long screw.

Problem: Broken Lid (cheap Lid)

Mine fell off well i took it off because it would eventually. Theres a small pin that holds the lid on it's crap. I took the pin out and used a paper clip. I opened the paper clip stuck it through the holds and made a loop at each end with needle nose pliers so the paper clip won't fly out.

Alternative option: Just play without the cheap lid.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media