paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD

M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount M3 Paintball Products

Buy M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 90
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Slicker Barrel Milling, All New Drop Foward ,Steel Braided Line, Clear Grips. M3 Black Dragun Full Function LCD Features: Aluminum M92 Trigger Frame, Low Pressure Chamber, Thumb Velocity Adjuster, Vertical Feed, 2 Piece Barrel Enables you to use a Shorty Barrel. Adjustable Up To 20 Balls Per Second.
Product Availability 
The M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
RandyLCD Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragon LCD, VL Revolution, JT Proteus II, 20 Oz Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Upgrades...Immediately! Go with a Teardrop or Freak Barrel System. Get a VL Revolution hopper with your purchase.
Strengths: Ultra Fast Shot, Very Solid, The LCD is very nice...Easy to switch between modes!
Weaknesses: The Barrel is pretty weak. I would get an upgrade very fast!
Review: Well, here goes

Out of the box:
WOW...It was very impressive. It came in a black case with "Black Dragon" on the front. I opened it up and it looked awesome...Remember this was my first paintball marker. It seemed pretty light and looked very solid!

Cosmetics:
The gun is very shiny and looks very impressive. I like the PSI gauge on the markers handle. I'm not real crazy about the sight on the marker. The hopper connection is in the way and it was pretty difficult to aim. I really thought that the gun was easy to take apart, the batterys are easy to add and remove. The LCD display is very easy to read...Even on the field and in the sun. It has a shot counter, timer, maybe some other modes I have not used yet. You can set it between "Semi" mode, "Multi" mode, "Nitro" mode, and "Auto" mode. All you do is push one of the two button on the back of the handle and you can switch very quickly. Also the safety is another feature that is electronically controlled...I was pretty impressed!

First Test:
I took it to a local field to get it tested "FPS "Feet Per Second" and the CO2 tank loaded. The marker fired 279 fps out of the box...So I was pretty impressed, and it is very easy to adjust. At this point I was very happy with my choice and purchase. I did chop a ball the first day but it was because I was shooting full auto mode and I forgot to turn on my Revolution hopper...It was my fault. Since then I have not chopped a ball in over 800 rounds.

First Day at Woodsball:
I did have an advantage over the house gun players. The gun shoots ultra fast on "Semi" Mode. In fact the ref told me that I would have to sit out because he thought that I was shooting with this gun on "Auto" mode...I explained it to him and he was ok with it.

I would get a new barrel. I got into a few situations where the paintballs would vary by 3 to 4 feet from center on a 40 to 50 yard shot. The marker would typically fire straight however I would not say that it is ultra accurate out of the box...I mean this barrel is much better than you would find over a house gun but I would get an upgrade. For example I had a situation where I was behind a hay barrel and I had 3 guys from the other team firing at me from behind another hay barrel 30 yards away. I hit two of the guys...But only because the paint rounds would actually curve around the barrel and hit the other player...Don't get me wrong he was only a few inches behind the barrel but I found my self trying to compensate for the poor accuracy (Probably wasting 20 to 30 rounds of paint trying to find the angle)...I plan on a barrel upgrade very soon!

Conclusion: Overall,

I loved the gun, I probably should give this gun a 9 out of 10 but for the price of $209.00 it is a great value...Even though the barrel could use some work. I would get this gun if you have the money...I really like it a lot!

Thanks!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 13th, 2003 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deakolt Wednesday, May 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun 2003
CiP Sweet Spot Trigger
Dye Ultralight
12 volt Revolution with X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger (Check It Products or Zenitram)
New Barrel
Agitating Hopper
Spring Kit
Strengths: -20BPS
-Multiple Modes of fire
-co2 or hpa
-extras come stock
Weaknesses: -trigger
-velocity
Review: The Black Dragun is an awesome gun. It shoots great, has an awesome BPS capability, and feels very sturdy. It comes stock with a two-piece barrel, a small drop forward, and a gas-thru foregrip. It is already loaded with extras. I was running it on a 20 oz co2 tank, and my velocity was fairly steady. There was a little fluctuation throughout the day, but nothing too severe. I only have two problems with the gun - First, the stock trigger has a LOT of .... Front/Back play. Even when I first got the gun, the trigger hung loose and swung back and forth. There is also a little side/side play. Secondly, the gun was chronoing at around 250 fps with the velocity adjuster turned all the way up. I don't know why the velocity is so low, but I strongly suggest some kind of spring kit.
Conclusion: Overall, the m3 Black Dragun LCD is a great gun for both the beginner and veteran paintballer. It has the speed of a tournament level gun, with the feel of a simple spyder or pirahna. With great affordability, it is almost impossible to go wrong with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SilentChaosPB Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom With RT and 16" Barrel - I outshot this gun my first day playing

Smart Parts Impulse Standard - Faster, but I still like my Dragun
Marker Setup: 03 Black Dragun
12v View Loader
12oz Co2
14" CP Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel

For any players with 6+ months of paintball a Halo B or Eggo (Evolution II) Hopper
Less than 6 months a standard 12v
Strengths: Fast 20BPS knocks out high end markers
Weaknesses: Sometimes I outshoot it and the bolt uncocks
Review: Well all I can say is, I started out a newb, and had lots of help from two 2 year players, and in my first game with my M3, I didn't get illiminated. This marker has done it for me. I Have shot Impules, Tippmann's, Spyders, and Pirahnas, and they all fail in comparison with the M3. It is a great tourney marker, and an excellent beginners marker!
Conclusion: Well like I said, it is a great tourney marker, and an excellent beginners marker. Now don't hesitate, go get yourself an M3 now!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 27th, 2003 at 6:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonnyhoy Monday, July 21st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter, wal-mart guns
Marker Setup: 2003 black dragun lcd
14" AA smart parts barrel
15 degree assault block w/mini kapp gauge
bob long torpedo regulator
pshycho ballistics universal 4" drop
32 degrees heavy main/light valve springs
veiwloader electronic hopper
PE 48ci/3000psi compressed air

Recommended
Upgrades:
Working trigger and strong springs or better yet, a different gun
Strengths: Good gun for the price if it worked. Compatible with spyder parts.
Weaknesses: The trigger doesn't work then you can't play. Waste of money.
Review: In the small time I used this gun it was an ok gun and shot straight, and was easy to use. THEN, the trigger got crappy. I think they are very unreliable or defective triggers. I had two m3 triggers and both of them stopped working. If they were more reliable, maybe you should get this gun. I suggest you save yourself the troubles and get a spyder or something reliable. Please consider that this gun is not sold at many stores because of reliability issues. And m3 is hard to contact when you need to fix the gun. Also, with the strongest spring I was only able to shoot at the highest 260. This gun almost made me lose interest in paintball when I had to sit on the bench at a park for 6 hours because the gun doesn't work. If you want to do that, this gun is for you. My friends brass eagles have allowed them to play more than me. I am not lying either.
Conclusion: Judging by the reviews of this gun, I think I just might have got messed up. If not, then it is a horrible gun. Currently, I wish my black dragun would grow wings and fly away. I am going to give it a one since there is no zero. I seriously hope this doesn't happen that much and it is a repairable gun. Good luck if you decide to get this gun and I hope it lasts a little while before it breaks.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003 at 12:52 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Iwantpaintball Friday, April 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dragun LED and Rebel Bottomline 02
Marker Setup: 2003 Black Dragun LCD with a Smoke Halo B, Dye Titanium Boomstick, and nitro soon to come 68ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Prob a new barrel but the one one there is all right
A REALLY FAST hopper prob the Halo B
You can use Co2 but I would recomend nitro
Strengths: Extremly Fast
20bps
4 firing modes
2-piece barrel
nice and smooth
shoots HARD!
Weaknesses: It hasnt showed any of its weaknesses so far. Its Great so far.
Review: This gun is an excellent marker for the price that is selling for. The msrp is about $280 but you can find it for about $210. It is worth every penny that you spend. So dont waste your money on expensive cockers or any of those cheap guns like Piranhas and spyders. This gun has gave me no grief. So go and get it!!!
Conclusion: My recommendation is to go and get this gun. It shoots very hard if you want to make the other team scared and very fast, up to 20bps 20bps thats fast! Just hope the other team dosent have it!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PRPBlackout Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Esprit
Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: 2003 Black Dragun LCD (Full Function)
88/4500 crossfire HP tank
Evloution ll w/ y board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
at least a 12v revloution
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Cheap electronic frame.
Review: Since day one this marker did not function properly. All the paintballs where getting jammed as they where coming into the breech. So I then purchased an evloution ll hoping a faster feeding loader would do the trick. I got the loader; gas up the marker went to shoot and nothing. I tried numerous times and still nothing (note the battery was brand new). After this I tried to adjust it see if that was the problem, but no now this time when I go to fire the marker it shuts off and the battery is still new at this point I even tried other batteries to make sure. Well now after trying numerous times to adjust and with no luck I gave up. Packed it up and sent it to M3 for repairs.

Okay it has now been return from M3. Barrel full of paint and a few scratches on the marker I'm not too happy right now. Go to put a battery in and discover that the battery connection wires are burnt. I then speak to someone at M3 told them what was wrong and that I no longer what there product. So right now everything is ok. They tell me they will send ups the pick it up and as soon as they get it they will contact the company that I purchased it from to send my refund.

Now a few days later I come home to see a nice package from M3. Well look they returned it to me GREAT! First I sent an e-mail wondering why it was sent back. So now Iím looking over the marker. All wires have been replaced, but more scratches on the marker and the screws that hold the on grips are stripped. Ran my last 150 rounds through it and it seemed okay, but still wanted a refund. After this I spoke to someone about the problem. They wanted to see it so I go and get 1000 rounds to test it again. First 100 rounds good, next 50 or so rounds good, then I get. Pull the trigger nothing I then fan the trigger and nothing. I then looked at the display to see itís not on. Turn it back on pull the trigger and it shuts off (this is once again a new battery). I do this about 15 more times and nothing. So right now Iím waiting on a response from them.
Conclusion: Extremely disappointed with their Products and Customer Service. For an extra 150 you can go get for self something a lot more reliable such as automag, autcocker, or bko. As for me I will never use or recommend any M3 products to anyone.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 29th, 2003 at 6:56 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

requ1em Tuesday, December 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman custom 98 and A5. Prefer the black dragun lcd over both.
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun LCD
VL Revolution
20oz Co2
16" Longbow Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
hopper, though that's obvious
barrel could use an upgrade as it does have a bit of deviation in shots, but not as bad as most stock barrels, still upgraded it though.
Strengths: 20 BPS
Lightweight
Multiple firing modes
Recessed bolt
Weaknesses: Stock barrel accuracy
FPS varies
Review: I received the gun as a present from a friend who didn't know markers, so i was a bit worried at first. when i opened the box i was a bit shocked, it looked amazing, and though the blue finish on it was a bit offsetting at first, it's grown on me.

first taking the gun out, i was skeptical, had some problems with it turned all the way up it still wouldn't shoot above 250ish, yet mid game it chronoed at well into the 300's. however, it was an amazing gun for being full stock at the time. deadly accurate at 30+ yards with only 1 out of 20 shots being more then 2 feet off it's mark. only blew up 1 ball in the barrel, which was amazing to me given it was a standard gravity fed hopper.

after some upgrades, including 16" longbow barrel and revolution hopper, i took it out again. still had the chrono issues, thinking of a new spring kit. overall though, i was pushing 15 bps without a single shred ball, could have gone higher if i put it on auto. the new barrel out preformed the stock 10 fold, reaching out over 60 yards with very little accuracy problems.
Conclusion: Final thoughts:
This gun is a great gun for the price, it fires well, the LCD trigger is amazing, and it looks good to boot. If you're looking for an entry level gun for comp, I'd highly suggest this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ratimpy04 Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine, 2003 rat impulse(doesnt really compare...)
Marker Setup: check other reviews...
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel kit of some kind, but all blowbacks have horrible stock barrels. A revvy should be good but maybe an egg or something. I also suggest a new bolt, a palmer stablizer, and a better drop forward if you like drops.
Strengths: Very fast, good for the price, light, kinda good for a beginner
Weaknesses: The bolt sucks, batteries dont last, drop is uselss, chops, requires a llllooottt of maintence
Review: This was the second gun I ever had. The first I had was a spyder imagine. The spyder was slower but required much less maitence. When I first got my black dragun it was in perfect condition, a little while later the bolt broke and needed to be completly replaced. The o rings seemed to go bad extremly quickly in this gun. It also drains batteries very quickly. It also seemed to chop quite a bit. The gun is fast though and if you do buy this you'll probably want to get an evo II or a revvy. I think that there are better begginer guns out there though.
Conclusion: People rate way to high on this, 5 is supposed to be average, I would give it 5 but I dont want you to get the wrong idea, so I give it a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 13th, 2004 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fateful Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Similar to E-99
Marker Setup: 2003 Black Dragun LCD
Sweet Spot Trigger
3A 14 Inch Barrel
Halo B
68/4500 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel sucks stock. Some may say stock is nice, upgrade and you'll see how bad it truly is.
Stock trigger lots of front/back play, your teammates really will be pissed if you don't upgrade it, you might "accidentally" fire at them...
ELECTRONIC HOPPER, get an evo or halo...both are good
Strengths: Fairly pretty
20bps(fast)
Easy maintenance
and....fast
LCD
CASE!!!
Weaknesses: Chops my paint
Barrel is evil
Loud
Battery guzzler (one a day)
Velocity woos
Review: My first paintball gun, awesomeness! I got it in the mail, and immediately fell in love. The beauty....the power....the....awesomeness! Well, after the initial adoration for an expensive (relatively) new $200 toy, I was still impressed.
Upon my first day using the gun I was paranoid that it wouldn't work....but it did! Not only could it fire an impressive 20bps (comparable to the most expensive paintball guns) but it....broke lots of balls? Although I continually blamed it on my hopper, the gun (still awesome in my opinion), I now blame the gun. It broke all non-100% new, not-freshly opened paint. The problem with that is that someone stole my squeegee. Essentially what I'm attempting to say is that it breaks ALOT of balls, a true pain.
The second complaint (I'll get to the good stuff in a bit) I had about the gun was that the barrel it comes with truly can't hit anything. If you're aiming for a bottle 40 feet away, it'll take you a good 3-4 aimed shots to hit. With the 3a barrel it was improved a bit in that it took about two shots.
The trigger it comes with truly is cheap plastic. Not only can you move it from its resting position forward nearly a centimeter, but you can move it side to side just as much! Buy a new trigger....$20 for a lifesaver.
The last two complaints are a more technical "thing", firstly being its battery consumption. It takes one 9v a day, else the next day you'll have "pull multiple times fire once" syndrome. That's a pain, plus the cheap wiring (Taiwan, better than China!) means you'll have to use twesers to ensure that you keep your battery plugged in. Lastly, velocity. To put it simply - it's low. Buy a spring kit.

Finally! We get to the good parts! The gun fires fast! If you get good, nice, non-breakable paint, you'll be happy. You can fire so many balls they'll think it's an army. Then again, they're $.03 each....so aim at groups ;)
Easy to repair! After you figure out how to get the bolt back in (DOH!) it's actually surprisingly simple to both fix, change, clean, oil, etc!
LCD Screen is awesome, though a pain if somebody manages to get a shot between your arms, it's awesome regardless. Shot counter, timer, everything you'd need in a gun....and that's not to mention full auto mode!
Conclusion: Cool gun, inexpensive for good product. I'm a harsh rater, so this probably deserves a 9, but....I'm mean ;)
BUY THIS, you won't regret it....but you should still buy a new trigger (www.ebay.com) and a hopper!
Au revoir!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irocall Tuesday, August 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: '03 Black Dragun LCD, 14" JT Boomstick, 12v VL revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
electro hopper is a must, deffinatly the most important upgrade to the gun. should be bought with the gun. dont even try going over 4 bps without it. i cant stress it enough. BUY AN ELECTRO HOPPER!!!
Strengths: 20 BPS!!!!
mouse click trigger pull on an aluminum trigger
Weaknesses: dangerous trigger pull
Review: This is a pretty darn good gun for being less than 200 bucks. but on the other hand, you need to buy some serious parts to even attempt 20 balls per second. first off, you probably should buy the HALO B since its the only hopper ive seen to feed 20+ bps, also, you probably should run nitro air to prevent drop off at high ROF, you don't need a barrel to shoot plenty fast, but its a highly recommended upgrade.
Conclusion: this is a very excellent gun, and buying it for a little less than $200 is a steal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media