paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Reloader Hopper / Empire Reloader Hopper / Empire Reloader Hopper

Empire Reloader Hopper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Reloader Hopper

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Reloader Hopper
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 305
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound activated hopper, auto-adjusting sensitivity , auto turn off after 30 minutes, operates on two 9 volt batteries.
Product Availability 
The Empire Reloader Hopper is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
waffles Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months116 of 123 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200 :)
Marker Setup: M3 Patriot Sniper:
CP chrome Flame Drop - Empire Chrome On/OFF - Check-It Powerstation Reg.
Dye Boomstick 14" - Check-it Assault Block - Maddman Rocket Valve
Check-it Delrin bolt. - Empire Reloader - PMI 65/3000
Strengths: Sound activation doesn't wait for gap to feed balls
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: You have to ask yourself, what do you want out of your hopper? It really goes without saying that the HALO B is the top hopper in the industry, but for a majority of the people out there, it is overkill. The ricochet line is very good, but its arguable that they do feed slightly slower than the Reloader and they are more expensive. But they only use 1 9v cell vs the 2 9v cells that the reloader requires. the VL revolutions, well there is ABSOLUTELY no reason to go with a Revy over the Reloader. The eVLution II is quite fast and it is arguably better than the Reloader, but it is also more expensive.

How often do you REALLY shoot above 15 bps? I think it is more important to spend the money on making your gun more accurate so it takes LESS shots to mark someone.

For $50 the Reloader gives you flawless 15 bps.

There are a few little quirks I've had with my reloader though. My particular shell seems a bit cheap, but it also isn't the same shell my friend got on his brand new reloader. I broke the cover that goes over the batteries when I Dropped the hopper. Now I have a screw holding it in place. If you overfill the hopper than the impeller doesn't have enough room to work, so it doesn't hold a full 200 rounds. I still don't quite know how long the batteries last. I kind of have the habbit of changing batteries before I head out onto the field for the first time, but they do last a full day quite easily.
Conclusion: With hoppers you have LOTS of options. If you have nothing else to spend the $30 to $50 difference on then go ahead and get an EvoII or a Halo B. what the heck. But if you have upgrades for your gun that you still need to do then go with the Reloader and save the $30 to $50 for upgrades.

Because there ARE faster hopppers out there I can't say its a 10, but when you take PRICE into consideration it is definately among the best in its price range. Therefore I have to give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
26 Comments - Add Comment

skitz Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month59 of 61 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet 2k,(Constant and repeated problems like cracked shells, bad switches)
Old style Revy ( Fried boards, could easily be out shot)
Marker Setup: Matrix, Reloader, Aradus or Freak, 114 ci 3000 tank, Shocktech LPR
Strengths: Fill with balls, turn it on, FORGET about it.
Weaknesses: Nothing I could find or feel
Review: The first thing I need to say is that you can turn on this hopper at the beginning of the day and forget it for the rest. I shot over 3000 balls and have had no problems, issues or complaints. It was great to be able to start a game on not have to worry if the hopper was on, it was nice to hold the gun down with a half empty hopper an not hear the motor running like a Revy. I do not believe it ever activated when someone was shooting next to me, but who cares if it did, that is not a problem. I never out shot the hopper, it worked great. That day was the first day in a long time when I did not have a hopper problem or issues sometime during the day. Some have complained that the lid is hard to close, but once you get it closed it stays that way. The lid spring seems a bit strong and that might be their problem. Eating Wheaties will solve this problem. Edit: It has been six months and this one hopper has survived and worked very well, however I have finnaly gotten used to my Matrix and now I find myself out shooting this hopper occasionaly on long strings, but you know what, it doesn't really matter cause if five balls are already in the air, does that sixth one make a difference???, still a great hopper and very durable
Conclusion: Overall, I am very happy with this hopper so far. Hopefully it lasts, Trust me if it does not last a year or so, I will re-review and tell you the problems.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 25th, 2003 at 1:42 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

rebelplaya Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL REVY (only 12 volt with x board even compares) halo b halo is faster but heavier and breaks easier.
Marker Setup: 03' vert feed cocker with dead on pro blade drop with on /off 68 ci 4500 psi crossfire fiber wrap tank
Strengths: very fast, doesnt wait until feed neck is empty to activate
Weaknesses: little on the heavy side , other than that.. none
Review: very fast consistant auto adjusting sensitivity works if something is really loud around you the loader stil works. had no problems with it . i used my brother in laws spyder e-99 as a testing bed. his 12 volt revy cant feed balls fast enough to keep the gun from going from full auto 13 bps straight to paintball blendmaster in 2.5 seconds . slapped the empire reloader on it and :BAM: never skipped a shot one full hopper non-stop now if this thing can make a spyder shoot good id buy it ... hehe just kidding spyder owners.
Conclusion: umm...buy it if you have a 9 volt revy or a regular 12 volt (without x board) dont waste money on halo b or riccochet just buy this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

Ivar Nelson Wednesday, January 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Gravity Feed Models, Hopper on Tippmann A-5, Ev'Lution II
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, ANS delrin bolt, ANS Expansion Chamber and ANS feed neck, SP Teardrop Barrel
Several "Cosmetic" Upgrades
Strengths: Competitively priced, 6 vanes V. Revy's 4 (faster?), Sanding not required, Sound-activated.
Weaknesses: Slower than some more expensive types, (Evo II, Empire Reloader "B" and Halo).
Review: Strengths. This hopper cost me $41.00, plus $6.00 shipping on e-Bay from a well-known Paintball Store. That saved me almost 7 dollars over what it would have cost me locally (with sales tax). If I could have found it! So I saved a little money on the hopper, and got a product that, in my opinion, is better than its main competition, the Revy. I will add an edit later if I find its durability/reliability to be less than expected.
It was a clear model originally, but is now painted a flat black (Zynolyte Speed-E-Namel) which was done in three thin coats that adhere very well to the plastic. I had to scrape off some black paint with my pocketknife over the red power indicator light. That took about one minute.
I also feel this to quite possibly be a better design. It has six vanes instead of the four on the competition, is sound activated, and has been flawless to date at up to the modified Imagine's maximum ROF. Due to the bolt that is probably a little faster than a stock Spyder's 13-14 bps.
A little "common sense" evaluation of potential feed rates seems appropriate. The Egg, Halo, A-5 and Reloader "B" are all "force feeding" models that are faster than this class of hopper, while almost anything is faster than a gravity fed hopper. But I have a strong opinion that the Empire is somewhat faster than what some people say gravity alone limits it to. Why? because there is more than just gravity on a single paintball at work here. There is also the force applied by the overlying paintballs in the hopper. A full plastic 1 gal. milk bottle provides a good example. Poke a hole in the bottle near the water (milk?) line and the fluid barely dribbles out. Poke the same size hole near the bottom, and a stream will be formed that shows the extra force acting on the liquid. Think of paintballs and water molecules as being similar except for size, and you should have the idea.
But, remember that the lower the "water level", the less force pushing down on the contents, be it liquid or paintballs. A near-empty hopper may be slower. Make sense?
Weaknesses. The down-tube is considerably smaller than on the "high-end" hoppers, and will fit into stock feed tubes easily. One caution, some larger diameter after-market necks may not be tight enough, and you may have to shim them for this hopper. I won't mention any names, but the initials are ANS (A good product though). No real problem, I used a cut up foil "sticky" with its own adhesive. Works fine.
If you have an Angel, Timmy, TES, "The One", or any of a number of inherently fast markers, or even one that can be upgraded to around 20 bps, you may sooner or later need something faster to avoid chops or "dry-firing". (This depends on whether or not you have an "eye") But for all but the fastest of the fast, the Empire is a good choice.
Conclusion: If it is appropriate to your marker now, and in the foreseeable future, buy it. Once again I am vacillating on a rating. I would give it a nine, because it is a little slower than some. BUT, if one does a little research on a product before the purchase, they should know the capabilities of it. In that case any problem is probably due to the "nut behind the trigger". That combined with the price advantage of this product gets it into the high nines, rounding off to a ten. Doesn't mean that it is the best, just the best in its class.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 1st, 2004 at 8:06 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

MojojojoAF Monday, May 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy 12v xboard- forever
Marker Setup: 02 vert cocker, 02 Powerlyte Hybrid cocker, boomstick, OTP G3 insert barrell system
Strengths: *light
*fast
*no gaps in balls
*activates with every shot
*relatively inexpensive
Weaknesses: None that I could see- maybe carry more balls- I emptied pretty quick.
Review: I bought this on the reccommedation of the captain of the Turtles and local shop owner Dale Price. He uses a Richocet but when he found out I liked the Reloader too he said I wouldn't be sorry and I haven't.

I can fire off a lot of paint with confidence that this hopper is working like it should.

I have yet to chop because of a misfeed. Mostly the occassional short stroke.

Also after I read some of the past reviews I have to say I have not had any of the problems experienced in the past, no paint caught or jammed in the impellors, no breaks in the hopper, nothing.
Conclusion: If you want a very good hopper but not wanting to spend a ton on it? get this one, easy to clean, works fast, light, uncomplicated mechanics. Pricing is good as well. Not sure why anyone would give it such low marks but I NEVER EVER use my Revy anymore, just doesn't work as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPimpy913 Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revvy w/ X-board, Evolution II
Marker Setup: 2k2 impy, ND flush delrin bolt, 12v Revvy, ACI 68/3000 tank
Strengths: sound activated
Weaknesses: little heavy
Review: I just won this hopper in a tournament i played in. I works really nice and the sound activation is very nice, a lot better than the 12v Revvy. The hopper actually spins when you open and close the lid so your basically assured that there all balls in the neck and rise of your gun. I've found that for people who have a fery fast trigger and/or a fast gun, this hopper might not be the way to go. For the money it is better than a Revvy but if you really want to load fast get an Evolution II or a Halo.
Conclusion: if you have limited spending go for this hopper over the revvy but if you have the money get a Halo or Evo.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 16th, 2003 at 3:19 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sick_dawg5440 Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12volt Revvy w/x-board
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
Shocktech Quick Release Derlin Bolt
CP Flame Drop
Smoke Empire Reloader
Strengths: Will feed up to 16 bps and reacts right after trigger pull
Weaknesses: none that i have found
Review: This hopper is very nice. I payed only 50.00 for it and from what i have found, it is better than my friends revvy. it is sound/ vibration activated, so as soon as you fire a shot it is feeding more. i have fired about 300 rounds through my spyder at 13bps and not had one midfeed or break yet.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a very good hopper in the lower price ranges, get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Bernin Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
APP 240 rnd Hopper
Standard Hoppers
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant
14" Smart Parts Teardrop
Empire REloader
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Shocktech SuperFly Bolt
20oz CO2
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Basically, it comes down to this...

Speed: This hopper is definitely very fast at about 13-15 BPS which is about the speed of my gun so I was quite happy, this thing is definitely better than a revvy and other agitating hoppers but it will never be as good as force fed hoppers or the hopper system on the Tippman A-5. I have never outshot this hopper which doesn't say much about my skills but i doubt many people getting into the game can shoot faster than 15 BPS.

Noise: This hopper does make a whirring sound when it spins but it was never quite loud enough for me to notice during a game. If i ever did become anal about the noise, i could always just buy a cover for my hopper to reduce it.

Convenience: The only feature i didn't quite like was the auto-shutoff feature which means that the hopper can shut off without you knowing it. I'd much prefer an on-off switch that was either always on or off but its not a big issue. Since i usually get out before the game is over (cuz i play front), i just turn off my hopper and start it back up when the next game starts.

Sound-Activated: Basically the sound activaction is flawless, this hopper will agitate no matter what since it spins up every time you fire and keeps on spinning a little longer to make sure. It will spin up if you give it a nice flick where the microphone is and for certain times your hopper is hit but that isn't really an issue since all it is doing is spinning up. Someone shooting next to you will not make the hopper spin-up.

Construction: Rugged and capable of taking a lot direct fire without breaking

Upgradability: If you're not happy then you can always just buy an upgrade board from a different company and stick it in but i have yet to find a reason to do so. I think you'll be happy once you get this hopper but you can always go to a shop and see if they'll let you try it out to get a good idea of how it works.

!!Warning!! Be careful about reviews where people are getting a lot of chopped balls. ALL hoppers suffer from a problem where the gas escaping the barrel will also push paintballs back into the feed neck of the hopper and most guns with an eye will fire the bolt before those paintballs fall back down, resulting in a chop. This isn't really an issue when the hopper is full since you have 160+ paintballs pressing down, but it happens when you're running low. Going low pressure will help with this but it is a inherent problem with ALL hoppers. Also wonder if these people are holding their guns vertically or whether it happened when they held the gun diagonally to shoot around a bunker since that alleviates the pressure the paintballs would naturally exert each other and decrease the effectiveness of gravity.
Conclusion: I thought it was a good product and i would definitely recommend this hopper in this price range for sure. If you can't afford a force-fed hopper like a Halo B and such then get this hopper. It gets a ten for this price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SpyImagine30 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200
Halo TSA LED Backman
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Empire Reloader w/ SAB
14inch TearDrop Barrel
20oz Pure Energy CO2

Strengths: Battery Indicator
Sound Activated
30 min. auto turn-off
Light
Weaknesses: None so far...
Review: When I first looked into getting an eltro hopper, I was leaning heavily towards the Halo TSA LED hopper, when i went online, i noticed the Reloader. I called a paintball place close to where i play hockey and they said that they carry both of the hoppers. I got the car and drove there, when i got there i saw the Halo and i thought i had my mind made up, my dad noticed the Reloader and showed it to me. The first thing i noticed was that the Reloader was much smaller but still held the same amount off balls. Being 20 dollars cheaper, i started to comsider it. I asked the pro at the shop how it compares to the Halo, what he said suprised me, the first thing he said was that it was much much lighter than the Halo, the other thing was that it actually fed the balls a litlle faster than the Halo, this is what brought me to get the Empire. The only differance was that it was cheaper than the Halo for the same quality.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper to any player looking into getting an elctro hopper who likes to play rec ball regularly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clownshooter Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt Revvy w/X-Board
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-Carb, Psycho-B drop forward, D-feed, Bob Long X Chamber, Lapco SS trigger and cocking knob, APP grip frame, Airtipps RVA, SmartParts All American barrel, Madman springs. Also use an Epic from Insight Component Engineering (ICE) as is.
Strengths: The sound activation. It is activated whenever you pull the trigger. New Impeller.
Weaknesses: None noted to date.
Review: This is a good inexpensive electronic hopper for those wanting to upgrade to one. The shell appears thin at first, but it is flexible and I would be very surprised to have it break. (I say that because it looks like a Viewloader shell and they had some problems awhile back.) The sound activation really works! You push the button, the red LED flashes, and you go play. Every time you shoot the hopper agitates for half a second. It turns off in about 30 minutes of inactivity. It has the X board and a vortex impeller installed when you buy it. I paid $52.00 locally which if you figure shipping is about as cheap as I could have gotten it from an on line store. It doesn't have the issues with the eye that the revvy had. It does agitate (like when you fire) when you open and close the hopper but who cares? It also gives you a low battery warning with the LED. I had no failures to feed with it. I can't say however what max rate of fire it will support because I don't require that fast of a feed rate. I have no experience with Empire so I cannot comment on their customer service and support.
Conclusion: I say you can't go wrong with this loader. It's pretty simple (like a revvy), reliable, and most important affordable. I will probably buy another one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (31):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media