paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS GX-E / ANS GX-E / ANS GX-E / ANS GX-E

ANS GX-E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS GX-E

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS GX-E
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronic Version of the ANS AutoCocker.
Product Availability 
The ANS GX-E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
drfmf Sunday, November 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Blade equiped cocker, timmy, angel speed, bushys, and of course mech.cockers
Marker Setup: GXE Red/Black Fade dusted
QEV's
ACE
Worrgas 88/45 preset
Halo
10 pc Empire Barrel System
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel kit helps with any marker (the new 14 inch that ANS sells stock with the newer GXE is quite nice shooting, but a bit heavy)
Perhaps a different drop forward, or none at all, but that really is up to the individual
Definitely the QEV's, after using them on this marker I plan to get some for my mech. cocker
Strengths: Cocker "feel"
Stellar Accuracy
Speed
Efficient
Easy Velocity and Setting adjustmets
Racegun Frame
Great company

Weaknesses: Some might find it a little heavy, but I actually prefer a heavier marker.
Review: I picked up this marker about a week before I played with it for the first time, so, I'll start my review there, because I feel it is important. I don't live too far from Simi Valley (ANS HQ) so I decided to drive there and take a look at the marker and get a feel for the company (I actually hadn't planned on buying that day as I was also considering a Dye Matrix). As I walked into the store I was immediately greeted by an employee of the store(as it turns out Bryan from the factory team), a good sign since many paintball store employees feel they don't need to help you if they don't know you. He was very helpful, answered all of my questions (I tend to ask a lot before I spend that much money) and let me test fire potential markers before I bought. I was so impressed by how the marker performed and how well the components were designed and put together that I bought one that day. These are the plusses that sold me on the marker:
1) Very well designed components
2) Assembled with a lot of care, everything just felt good about the parts
3) Breakbeam ACE - some people don't mind the reflective eye, but I feel the breakbeam is much more reliable
4) Raceframe - I felt much more comfortable hoding this trigger frame than with the E-Blade, and I was able to shoot it much faster. It accomodates more comfortable grips, and again just felt better in my hands
5) RIP Software - very easy to use (I don't feel the need to be able to adjust gun settings on the field, at that point I have my mind on other things anyway)
6) Great store staff, very willing to help
7) QEV's - WOW
This gave me about a week to mess with the settings. After a short search I found several different combinations that a played aroud with during the week. I finally settled on combo that gave 18.2 BPS (although the CTO adjust can actually result in higher rates of fire). Now onto field tests.
I already had an empire barrel kit, so I slapped that on threw on my halo and headed out to the field. First impression - a cocker should not be able to shoot this fast. Now I had seen E-Blades shoot very fast, but this was sick. Let me tell you at the end of the day I went to the range to see what it could do and a guy with a new A4 was there doing the same thing, and I had no problems keeping pace with him (I think he was getting a little perturbed as angels and timmys are supposed to be the fastest things around). A halo is a must for this gun. I really wanted to see what this thing was made of so I was on the trigger during games (3000 balls in a half day of play), no breaks or chops and very consistent flight paths. This resulted in a number of eliminations.
All in all this is a superb marker. Amazingly fast, a great ACE to prevent chops, and ball after ball right on top of each other. It is priced very competitively with comparable markers (better that most actually) and a great company that backs up its product. The only two faults I find with this marker have more to do with personal preference than performance - the weight was higher than most tourney level markers (this will be an issue for some, but I actually like a heavy marker), and the drop forward (some like the big drop, but I prefer to run my tank right off the grip frame; most high end markers don't come with an air setup anyway so it really is a non-issue).
Conclusion: This is an outstanding piece of paintball equipment. I would recommend this to anyone in the market for a tournament level marker. Accuracy of a cocker, speed of an angel, and eye system of a timmy - isn't that what every player wants? You will not be dissapointed with this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Montypup Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen-x 3, Gen-x 4, angels, trixs, shockers, excaliburs, impys
Marker Setup: Yellow to black gen-x e, ans 14" 2 piece barrel, qev's, egg-2
Recommended
Upgrades:
qev's and a halo b
Strengths: no chops, fast as hell, accurate like no other
Weaknesses: slightly heavy
Review: This gun is essentially a gen-x 4 with an ans race frame. Shoots very very very fast. Mine is set to about 25bps. No chopes due to the ace. The ace on this gun also works better than the e-blade frame because it doesn't have to be adjusted to different shell colors. The trigger is very light and snappy. The gun is a little heavy, but weight isn't that big a deal. It requires no upgrades but qev's. The only issue with this gun is that it acts funny in temperatures under 20 degrees. But it's still a very awesome gun. It's also backed by a lifetime warranty and the best tech line in the industry.
Conclusion: If you have around 950 the GXE is the way to go. This is hands down the best gun under 1000.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

spike8808 Friday, April 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Cockers, GX3, STO cockers, Black Magic, Intimidators and a few other guns
Marker Setup: Blue to Black ANS Gxe Cocker
14' Freak Kit
88/4500 Pmi
Blue Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just get a good barrel for the gun. Everyting else is included in the package
Strengths: Incredable rate of fire, Has ACE, Delrun Bolt and looks very classy 999$ electro cocker
Weaknesses: This marker has nothing to improve on!
Review: I started off by doing some research on these markers. What I found out was that this was the way to go for a compleate cocker. My gun came with the Delrin bolt kit, ACE with aluminum covers. The gun is blue to black and turns heads on the field. The rate of fire is like no other my gun is runing at 22.6 balls per second, and if my halo could feed that fast; it could shoot that fast, at least on full auto. I have never broken or chopped a ball out of this gun and the accuracy and distance i get from it is like none I have experienced with other markers.

Hands down this is the best investment for paintball I have made and I can tell you, if you buy this marker it will not let you down.
Conclusion: This is a great product that does the job plus more. I researched many other electro cockers and for the price I paid 999$, you cant get a better marker. This thing is the best gun i have ever owned
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kcgjbarnes Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SFL Cash Money Series E-Blade Shocktech Auto-Cocker, Eclipse E-Blade, Angels all kinds..
Marker Setup: A.N.S. GX-E, Dye Ultralite Barrel, Kapp drop forward, 2 Eclipse QEV's, Halo Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV's, And also run a Halo, Dye Barrel
Strengths: Accurate, Very Fast.
Weaknesses: Hard to get working exactly right
Review: I recently purchased a Chrome GX-E straight from A.N.S. Once i got the marker I shot the stock setting on the gun and it chopped paint. I changed the setting to the papers that came with the gun, still chopped paint. Then I changed loaders from a Empire Halo to ricochet, and even a 12 volt still chopped. I ended up calling A.N.S. they told me perfect setting...set at 35 bps. It's awesome now. Its just took awhile to get the gun straight. I also added 2 QEV's (Quick Exhaust Valves)$30 they are a must on this gun. I have the setting here they are as follows (5,6,1,1,20)( Ace mounted on, Use Ace on,
CTO adjust off,Default load time 60, Eyecheck 225, Eye ok 225, trigger filter on.) These setting are only if you want this gun to fly and have QEV's. If anyone has any problems with this gun chopping they need to change to these settings. I actually like this gun it shoots better then the Shocktech SFL Cash Money Series Autococker. I would definately tell anyone to get this gun that has got the fever for a accurate and very fast autococker.
Conclusion: My final conclusion is that this gun is great. No kidding. Very awesome. Get One.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NgoSoup4you Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orracle E, 97 Cocker
Marker Setup: ANS GXE BLACK to BLUE polished with 2 QEV's, Halo B Loader, Pure Energy 45 / 45, Stock 12'' barrel.

SETTINGS WERE GIVEN TO ME BY ANS
RIP SETTINGS, 5,6,32,1,22 (semi auto)
Using...
ACE MOUNTED, USE ACE, CTO ADJUST, USE TRIGGER FILTER, USE LED
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B Loader (Revy is way too slow), and Two QEV's (improves ROF by about 5 bps)
Strengths: -Shoots FAST!
-Shoots ACCURATE!
-Consistent
-Velocity Adjustments is easier then regular cocker
-Strong Design
Weaknesses: -A bit heavy
-You shoot alot of paint.
Review: The marker is obviously VERY FAST. The stock settings that the factory gives to you is a bit slow, but if you call up ANS they will be happy to give you new settings that really make it shoot faster.

The marker comes with the RACE frame which allows you to customize your shot time, dwell time, open time, load time, close time, and with many other options.
ANS has by far the best customer service I have seen around. BAR NONE!

The marker seems to fire very accuratly with the stock barrel and at stock or modified settings approved by ANS. I would not mess with the settings too much or else you will experience chopping.

Otherwise the marker performs great on most paint (although I called ANS and they told me I should use any RPS paint like PMI Premium or Evil). I have fired over 5000 rounds and i only experienced 1 chopped ball. Even then, I believe that it was because the loader was running low on paint, and as a result the loader was not loading it at its peak capacity.

One minor complaint.
The Pin on the back of the gun actually snapped during a day of play. I was shocked. But then i called ANS and told them my situation and they quickly sent me a FREE quick pull pin no questions asked.

NICE going ANS!
Conclusion: Get this GUN!

I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants speed and high accuracy. Its way faster then the orracle and looks way hotter.
This gun wont let you down with its great ANS customer service!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8nTballer374 Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gx3, Gx4, Mini e orracle, eclipse autococker, shockers, angel speeds, timmys, wgp vertical autococker, nightkasts, outkasts, karnivors,
Marker Setup: GxE- black to chrome
-dye sticky grips
-halo b hopper
-pure energy 68 cu 3000 psi
-ANS stock 14 inch double piece barrel
-QEV'S
Recommended
Upgrades:
-halo b YOU MUST GET A HALO B FOR THIS MARKER TO APPRECIATE IT!!!
-QEV"S YOU MUST GET QEV"S TO USE THE MARKER TO ITS FULL POTENTIAL!!!
(QEV's are quick exhaust valves)
-You can get a boomstick for this marker but the stock 2 piece barrel ANS gives you is dead accurate.
Strengths: -ACCURATE! WOW! see review
-FAST! FAST! FAST! see review
-THE EYE! AMAZING! see review
Weaknesses: -Some people might find it a bit heavy but I like heavy markers...
Review: Well I walked into ANS and I was going to buy a dm4, but when I saw the GXE I was like wow! The people at ANS told me that it is very fast (fires up to more than 20 balls per second) and it is very accurate.
-QEV's HELP A LOT!!! and I mean a lot!!! if you don't have the qev's the marker will only shoot to about 15 but if you have them they shoot over 20!!!
-Looks!!! Dead Sexy! it may not look like a dm4 but its not the looks that make the gun shoot fast or accurate...
-ACE (Anti chop eye) this eye is great!! I went through 3 cases of paint before i chopped 1 ball. 1 measely little ball!!! OUT OF 6000 paintballs.
-SPEED!!! WoW!!! youv'e seen some of the really fast guns out now such as the Angel speed, timmy, dm4-dm5... THE GXE OWNS THEM ALL!!!
-Accuracy: The accuracy on this gun is amazing! You can shoot someone without even trying to shoot them. You can snapshoot without aiming and get people out. It is just simply an amazing gun. You have to try it out to believe it.
-Rip Software /Race frame. The rip software comes with the gun. Basically you can set your gun however you want it, from how much bps you want, how you want your ACE system, how you want your gun to shoot such as Classic mode, burst mode, semi auto mode, full auto mode, and hyper mode.
So I went down to my local field with my team to scrimmage other teams. The gun was just ripping at the other team like no tomorrow. The GXE can play any position from front, middle, snake, back, just name it and it can play it. This gun does everything from the accuracy of a cocker, eye of an intimidator, and speed of an angel!!!
Conclusion: My final recommendation is you should go get this gun. It is hands down the best gun under $1,000. I mean it has the accuracy of a cocker, eye of an intimidator, and speed of an angel!!! If you get this gun you will never be satisfied with another gun again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 12th, 2005 at 10:15 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tweakedld Thursday, December 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
LCD Angel, Mini Angel
Marker Setup: ANS GXE, Black to blue, 12 inch titanium boomy, Halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
HALO B, BOOMY
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Accurate, Sexy, yO
Weaknesses: On the heavy side, But still sexy
Review: The gun is beautiful, one of the best ive ever used,, if you want fast and accurate.. this is your gun sEXy yO, i like how accurate it is man... one bad thing is so much paint but hey if you rich ? doesnt matter... this is almost as good of a gun as a DM4 which is one of the best ive tested... dont beleive me read the other reveiws
Conclusion: Buy it i swear its pro so nice i love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

darktamer Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other e-cockers, mostly eblades, are the most similar that I've used, along with almost any other high end gun on the market.
Marker Setup: Yellow/black ANS 2k4 GXe w/ QEV's
Freak kit
68/45 PE tank
Halo w/ rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV's are good
Halo is a MUST, it really won't work very well with out a halo or reloader b, it will work okay (but not very great) w/ a z-board egg. anything below will starve this gun.
Strengths: -See review, can't list them all
Weaknesses: -See review for explanations
Review: I've had this for a while now. The previous owner was not very knowledgable about the gun and didn't really care enough to make it work to its potential. I got it and it worked okay... not very great, just okay. Finally I got smart and sent it back to ANS to get QEV's installed and a complete rebuild (it was pretty messed up). At the same time, I got a 68/45 tank and a halo. All these together made people wonder how in hell it started working so good all of a sudden... they were truly dumbfounded.

It doesn't chop thanks to break beam ACE, and shoots as fast I can pull the trigger. People with DM4's and shockers were complimenting me on it's speed. And it flat out looks dead sexy.

Now the negatives:
-The RIP (the computer interface used to time the gun) can be hard to get used to, as you can control the timing aspects of the gun to a very fine extent, much more so than the eblade, which allows to get more performance out of the gun, but also allows you to screw it up a lot easier and more seriously than an eblade.
-It's pretty heavy compared to other high end guns on the market now, such as shockers/egos/freeestyles. All together, with full halo+barrel+68/45, my setup weighs about ten pounds. In the heat of the game I don't mind too much, but it does tend to slow you down.
-I don't know if it's my particular setup, but it's not very efficient. On my 68/45 tank I get about 6 pods shooting fine, and on the 7th I start getting serious drop off before it runs out. This is fine for me, as I never have to shoot more than... say 4 pods in a game, but for serious back players that need to shoot paint constantly, it could be bad.

For pics of my gun, go here:
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/8426/10003649gc.jpg
http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/2172/10003351rj.jpg

For a vid of it in semi-auto mode, go here:
http://paintballuploads.com/login/files/GXesemid.WMV
Conclusion: If you love cockers, this is your gun. With the resale on cockers, you can probably pick one up for maybe even less than 500. But if you have the money, you many want to look at some costlier guns for better efficiency and weight.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 28th, 2005 at 10:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintsplt Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autococker, Impulse,Gen-X 3, Angel Speed
Marker Setup: Yellow to Black dust fade Gen-X E Autococker with ANS QEV's, ANS Barrel Kit, ACI Bulldog 68/4500 tank with Evlution II hopper with Y board
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV's, a fast loader, and the whole ANS barrel kit
Strengths: A very fast, accurate, reliable, and easy maintenance gun
Weaknesses: It is a little on the heavy side, but I like that.
Review: The GXE Autococker is the best gun I have ever shot. I have shot Matrix's, Angels, Timmys, and Excalibur's but nothing beats the GXE. It has never chopped a ball, thanks to the 2 eyes. It has hardly no kick to it at all. The firmware is very easy to use, just make sure you have some paint and air to check and see if the settings work. The GXE also looks very cool. It comes in about 20 different color fades to match any jersey you want. It is very easy to lay out long, steady, accurate streams of paint with no drop off. This gun is the most reliable gun I or any of my friends and teammates have ever owned. I have never had a single problem with this gun. It is the best gun i have ever owned.
Conclusion: I give the GXE Autococker a 10 out of 10 for appearance, reliability, speed, and accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 7th, 2004 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

morty17 Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GX-3, ANS GX-4, B2K3
Marker Setup: GX-E gold to black dust, CP barrel kit, Halo B with rip drive and z-code, 68-5000 Pure Energy, QEVs,
Recommended
Upgrades:
HALO, barrel kit
Strengths: Fast, reliable, you can adjust marker on you pc, accurate
Weaknesses: heavy and thats it
Review: I have had other ANS cockers and the quality is awesome. I First shot this marker when my friend owned it and I was hooked, I was forced to purchase it from him and could not be happier. I have owned or used many other markers and nothing I have tried compares. This marker has excellent accuracy, is very quiet, reliable and ANS customer service that is second to none. Due to the eye system I have not chopped paint and I have shot some garbage paint through this marker.
Conclusion: Go out and purchase this marker, I could not be more pleased with its performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media