paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel Speed 2004 / WDP Angel Speed 2004 / WDP Angel Speed 2004 / WDP Angel Speed 2004

WDP Angel Speed 2004 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel Speed 2004

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel Speed 2004
[ View Photos (25) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 157
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel Speed 2004 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
teddypan Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month54 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix, IR3, Nice impulses (not the same though), Timmys of all sorts
Marker Setup: Dust Blue Angel Speed
45/45 Mac Dev Conquest
Powerlyte Scepter Barrel (14")
Blue Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel is pretty important. The stock one is OK if you have a perfect paint/barrel match, but still not great. ummm, you DEFINATELY need a halo B or you WILL outshoot the hopper. I outshot my egg 2 constantly so I got a halo b.
Strengths: Very fast, extremely light, small, consistent, low pressure, no chopping, great price.
Weaknesses: I dont really like the milling, but who cares.
Review: Wow, this thing is awesome. I just picked it up at the vegas super 7 nppl and I got to shoot it in 6 games. I am extremely impressed with how it shoots. I also have a matrix and i thought the matrix was much better than angels because it never chops and doesnt kick. I WAS WRONG! WDP has completely changed the angel and now it doesnt kick at all and HASNT CHOPPED IN 4 CASES OF PAINT! It is very consistent for a WDP reg too. I was getting +/- 2 fps at the chrono, mind you I was using PERFECT paint. This gun is SO LIGHT that it is ridiculous. It is light just like timmys. I love this thing!
Conclusion: This gun has set the standard for a paintball marker. It is light, fast, small, quiet, kickless, chopless, and carries an unbeatable value. i would reccomend this to any paintballer who wants the best thing out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
36 Comments - Add Comment

Killa- clown Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Adrenaline Angels, Dark Angels, IR3's, normal Angels.
Marker Setup: Angel Speed, dust black. Bulldog 2 68ci 4500psi. Ricochet 2K
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast loader. Rico can keep up most of the time, but a HALO would be best. Maybe better barrel, but the stock one is really nice . Medium to large bore paint will fit it great.
Strengths: Fast, and is great on air.
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: At first glance, it's a great looking marker. It balances great, and with my Deadon Paintball drop, the tank is almost under the gun. Tucks in very nicely. After the first time shooting this gun you will think one of three things:

A. This gun shoots wicked fast, and is totally awesome. One of the best you will ever shoot.

B. Shoots great, and fast as hell, but needs trigger adjustment. (after trigger adjustment, you will feel like you should have answered A)

C. Shoots alright, but Angels arent for me/ dont like the top of the trigger being farther foward than the bottom. (after trigger adjustment, you will have answered A)

After shooting this marker, I loved it, and did a few things to tweak the trigger. I truly feel that WDP makes the best markers in the world. It feels solid, reliable, and fast. If I try, I can quickly out-shoot my loader. The trigger is quick, crisp, and I have a little play to mine. It's very easy to walk, and can retain high rates of fire for long periods of time. THE SWEETEST TRIGGER ON EARTH!

After filling up on air twice, I noticed that it's air consumption is a little lower than other markers. To my ears, the gun sounded loud. It sounded very loud. But when I got off the field, everyone said it was so quiet, they could barely hear me fire. The stock barrel works great with meduim to large bore paint, but will shoot Draxxus Inferno very nicely.
The rotating breech is a very, VERY nice feature. It makes cleaning out breaks easy. Even though the gun is lower pressured, you can still get a bad ball.

THE BAD

The only bad thing that happened was when I broke a ball in the breech, and the bolt came foreward, and would not return, thus spilling most of my tanks contents, and leaving me with no air. WHAT HAPPENED: part of the shell got lodged between the bolt and breech, and kept the bolt from returning. This was fixed very quickly after pushing my battle swab down the barrel, and pushing the bolt back into place. Then, I opened the roto breech, and cleaned it out. Also, there is NO SAFE MODE!!! You must turn off the gun.

GOOD FEATURES

The SENSI is a great feature to have as well. With it activated, I was able to shoot without fear of chopping. The only drawback to the SENSI is that you must fire 5(five) slow test shots to calibrate the sensor. If you don't, you will get only 1/3 of the shots you actually should have fired. The gun willd o nothing, while you pull the trigger. So 1 out of ever 3 times you pull the trigger will you actually get a ball to come out of the barrel. The 5 shots are worth it! I outshot my Rico a few times, but only off the break. after that, I don't need to shoot real fast. Also, after powering the amrker up, it does a caskading effect, then, a battery meter comes up, displaying the batter level. It then goes to a blinking green light, and is ready to fire. The batter last a very long time. I think the manual says 100,000 shots or something. THERE IS NO FIRST SHOT DROP OFF like every one says there is with other Angels. First shots are just as good as later shots are.

Also, almost all of the parts are servicable. You can take them apart, and clean them yourself, and most of the parts are totally new in design to the Angel. Lots of stuff has been trimmed down, and lightened to give you a higher rate of fire.
Conclusion: This is one of the best markers availble now. It's capable of 30 bps with SENSI activated, and is totally programmable. Dwell, MROF, SENSI modes are all programmable with the 4 buttons on the gun.

Absolutly the best gun I've ever shot, and is (until the A4) the fastest marker in the world.
I recommend this gun to seasoned players who want a fast gun, without all the extra features of a normal Angel. GET ONE NOW!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Awfrayer Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mamba Angel LCD
Marker Setup: Stock Speed with a evolution hopper, 88ci 3000 tank and a drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
buy a volumizer! also you might need a new barrel
Strengths: 33 balls per second, what els do I need to say! and light!
Weaknesses: no game timer.and no safety
Review: I have only played one day of paintball with this gun but I can say that without a doubt this is the best gun I have ever used in my life. The gun only weighs like a pound you can hardly feel it! The shooting rate is incredable, and the LED board is great too. It also has a laser eye and double ball detents so you don't chop any paint. It is really easy to understand and costomize. But to safty this gun you have to turn it off and that is not very good.
Conclusion: This gun is great because it fires fast and chopps no paint at all. I shot 2 cases without breaking one ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

impyboy Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned every type of gun except a Matrix and E-Cocker.
Marker Setup: Currently, Dragon Timmy with essentials (to lazy to list)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, volumizers
Strengths: Light, extremely comfortable in hands, easy maintenance, and Sensi
Weaknesses: I found it to be inconsistant, but thats all
Review: Not very impressed with this marker. I switched back to an angel from my 2k2 Timmy, and i regret to say it was a mistake. I didnt find the angel to be smooth shooting, i didnt find it to be as accurate as my Timmy. But i can not stress how good the gun feels in ones hand. By far the most comfortable gun i have shot. with the 90* frame, my snapshooting improved (prolly cuz comfortablness). The gun looks pretty good, is real light, reliable. I however believe the angels are being passed up in the paintball industry. Other guns are lighter, more consistant, and alot are definitely faster. Dont misunderstand me, this is a great gun, just not the type of gun that pleased me. I love the TImmy, and High end Impulse, and matrixes. But for the price, this gun can definitely hold its own. It was WDP's idea to get a lower end gun into the market, without sacrificing peformance. They gave it the Sensi (very very good , did its job perfectly), and a very fast trigger. Finally did away with the shot counter, and lowered the opperating pressure. Good ideas, but still, it doesnt keep up with competition. Sorry.
Conclusion: Good gun for the price, but lacking in performance compared to other guns on the market!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

nharms5 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD and IR3: Similar long-lasting battery life, low ball breakage, good consistancy and wicked speed.
Marker Setup: Angel Speed
AKA Sidewinder Reg.
A+ "No Rise" Feed neck
Egg-volution with Z-board
Custom Products Barrel Kit and Drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Sidewinder reg helps a lot. You no longer have to use a low pressure tank (because the Sidewinder won't break like the stock minireg when using a high pressure tank.
Barrel Kit, if your paint don't fit your barrel... you won't shoot straight.
Strengths: Dependability: VERY low paint breakage. Battery life is unbelieveable. Very fast and consistant marker.
Weaknesses: Nothing that cannot be fixed by a little lube or properly sizing your paint.
Review: Of all the markers I have ever owned the Speed Angel has had the lowest number of ball breakages. That, in and of its self, was a BIG plus for me. If there is one thing I hate, its cleaning broken paint out of my gun. I'm not going to say I never broke paint, everyone does, but I might only have one or two a day with the Speed (instead of one of two a case I got with previous guns).

Like all Angels I have ever owned or played with, the Speed Angel has unbelieveable battery life. This is another big plus because for the brief time I played with an E-bladed cocker and was always worried about running out of batterys in the middle of the game (I was only getting about 3 cases out of a 9-volt before I noticed a loss of preformance).

Like the name says, this is a fast marker. It is true, I have shot other guns faster. But the Speed's consistancy is MUCH better than anything else I have used. I can lay down a consistantly high, but sustainable, rate of fire with the Speed.

Ease of use: the way the gun handles just seems to fit me better. I have shot Timmys... they are too long. I have shoot Cockers... they had too many moving parts. I have shot Impulses, Spyders, Both old and new Shockers, Matrixs, etc, etc... I like the way the Speed handles. About the only other guns that pulled up as nice and handled as well as my speed is an IR3 a frield of mine owns and a DM4 I got to shoot at 2003's World Cup. But for the price, the Speed is a better deal.

Ease of Cleaning/maintance: The only thing I don't especially like about the Speed is that in rare instance you do break a ball, the sensi will get paint down into it. Now... dispite having paint in it the sensi will work fine for the rest of the day. However when you go to clean it at night it can be slightly time consuming to do so, because you have to remove the grip frame inorder to reach the sensi. But, most of the time you won't break paint so you should be fine. And, if you do break paint, all you have to do is remove two screws and the grip frame comes off real easy. Once the grip fame is off you simply pull the sensi rod out, swab the sensi rod tube with a pipe cleaner, and put everything back together.
Conclusion: For the money, the Speed is a good buy. It is dependable, fast and has excellent battery life. It is probably one of the cheaper "higher end" guns and I believe it is one of the best... which all add up to a good marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

alecgupton Tuesday, December 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything cockers, ir3's, lcd's, sypders, impulses, pieces of crap shockers, you name it ive probally tested it, oh yah bushys
Marker Setup: Dust Blue Angel Speed
Crossfire 45/4500 LP
Egg II w/ z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing on the gun...
A fast hopper
like a egg with intelli-feed
Strengths: 30 bps awesome stock
stock barrel light wieght
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Review: This gun is so smooth. I love it, right out of the box I put on my egg, and aired her up...
Get this gun.. The A4 is too much money compared to this baby. Fully Adjustable kickass trigger pull. Note the 2003 ir3 fly trigger blows. Screw the DM4 this is the gun to get. Get a good hopper (Egg II w/ z-board and intellifeed), a nice tank (400 psi output pressure). YOU NEED A LOW PRESSURE TANK. DO NOT RUN HIGHPRESSURE SET UPS. I recommend an adjustable tank or a Crossfire LP tank. The stock infinity barrel is god-like. I use it more than my freak. Light wieght. Reliable, accurate, fast, sexy, and an ego booster. THe LED screen is so much better than the LCD, but for 140 bucks you can drop in the A4 board.

Conclusion: Remember this gun kicks ass. Take it from the guys who have played.
They wouldnt let me write alot of words for the weaknesses and strenghts. i say screw them get a damn speed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 2nd, 2004 at 8:23 am PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

Goldrushbackman Monday, May 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long 2002 GZ with Equalizer board
Marker Setup: Blue Angel Speed, 68 4500 crossfire 450 output, 10 inch freak barrel, reloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Halo B for back players and a reloader or revolution is enough for anyone else
Strengths: This gun is light, fast, ACCURATE, consistent
Weaknesses: the macroline is to stiff, buy a more flexible one
Review: I have been shooting Intimidators for 2 years and got a GZ 2 months ago. I was skeptical about getting an Angel but now I am hooked. The Speed absolutely rips and i was hanging balls of the bunkers by a half a foot or less all day long in our recent tourney. Very short trigger pull like my gz but I have to say way to go WDP. I am hooked on the Speed. By the way I never broke a ball in sensi mode 2 which only gives you a delay if a ball is not being detected. Most reliable gun I have ever used.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a highend tournament gun for less than $1000 then this is it. Bob needs to be thinking about price drops to keep his sales from dropping because the Speed is the gun to beat this year.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 5th, 2003 at 8:59 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BlackDragunner Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Custom + Stock Impulses (not bad but heavy and slower)
IR3 (nice, but still doesnt compare to the Speed)
Spyder w/ E-Frame (*laughs hysterically*)
Marker Setup: WDP Angel Speed - Silver Dust
VL eVLution II w/ Y-board - Clear
CP Micro Drop + On/Off ASA - Chrome
Recommended
Upgrades:
None required out of the box, but a good barrel system is always nice and an adjustable air system for optimum performance. Anything else is mostly cosmetic...
Strengths: Super Light
Lightning Fast
Looks Nice
Low Pressure
No Chops
R11 Style Bolt
Space Frame

Weaknesses: Kinda Pricey, But Worth It
SENSI Trouble
Not Perfect On Preset Air Systems
Review: This gun is wonderful - it is lower pressure and has less kick than the other angels, as well as a no-hassles basic LED board with a max ATTAINABLE ROF of 30bps and the ergonomic Space Frame. It is exceptionally light and the ease with which you can shoot fast is unbelieveable. I have slow fingers, but i have no trouble ripping off 16bps strings any the time. At times, SENSi (the Speed's COPS-like Anti-Chop System) has even delayed to allow the eVLution II to catch up. Speaking of SENSi, many new Speed shipped have trouble with SENSi working correctly. Mine works alright, but does slow doen the firing rate dramatically compared to shooting with it off. I usually leave it off, and risk chopping a couple balls (which I do, even with the Evo II). The only flaws in this marker are the troubles some people have with SENSi and the trouble it has operating efficiently with a preset N2 tank. Screwing the regulator screw ALL the way in gets me to 277 fps with a consistency of +-5fps (another downside of using a preset is that screwing the reg adjuster all the way in causes a loss of consistency; I was shooting +-2 in the high 380's where it was at when i first screwed in the tank). Still, even if you are forced to use a preset on this gun, it is still worth every cent. Also, though this is nitpicking, WDP oils this gun so heavily that grayish oil was dripping out my breech while i was shooting the first time I used it, even though i had already cleaned out the ram chamber and the ram before I played.
Conclusion: This gun is so far beyond worth buying its unbelieveable. IF you can afford it, then buy it as soon as possible... If not, start saving. Your paintball game will be altered unbelieveably for the better. THis gun is doubtlessly one of the best markers ever created, if not the best. I would rate 9.5 if I could, simply because nothing is perfect.

BUY IT NOW.

"Light 'em up!"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

ta2djester Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, LCD Angel, Fly Angel
Marker Setup: Black Angel Speed
68/45 Hyperflow
Evil Barrel (12")
12V Revi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Evo 2 or Halo B
maximizer
Strengths: Small, light, and FAST! (out of the box). I really like the dust finish.
Weaknesses: nothing
Review: Went to Warped as soon as they arrived. Very fast, very consistent, very accurate (yes accurate). Can't break paint (with the sensi on); even with my old revi, I've tried. Smaller battery. Better bolt. Better trigger. Better valve. Better flow. Low pressure. What more could you ask for.
Conclusion: Fast ! Love it. Best angel yet. Great price. I'm so glad I waited. Buy one; NOW! Did I mention it's fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

TyphoonX Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TCP Xtreme Autococker
WGP Nightkast Autococker
Only cause they are high priced markers.
Marker Setup: Silver Angel Speed
Master Tech Volumizer
Master Tech Snatch Grip
G-3 Barrel Set (coming)
Soft Face Bolt
WDP Twist Lock Gated Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Magetic Trigger Mod
Fly Retro Kit
LP Tank
Soft Face Bolt
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Little Kick, and Smooth nice milling.
Weaknesses: Without magetic trigger mod the trigger is easy to bounce. Stock barrel has bad distance.
Review: Bought this gun last winter. Saved my money got a lp tank and haven't looked at anything else since. I had to put a spring on the trigger as the trigger was a little bit of a tight fit. Got sick of the spring didn't like the feel so I took out my trigger and sanded the sides down. Then I was able to take the sprind out and the trigger pull was nice and light. This gun is fast and accurate I have set the trigger to sensitive a couple of times and had some wicked bounce. I did the magnetic trigger mod to it and no more bounce. Basically all that is, is you get a 1/8th inch by 1.5mm rare earth magnet and glue it to the body of your gun right above the front set screw. Check angelowners.com for more info/pics. It took me a while to get use to the trigger and have had a hard time using any other trigger but that is ok with me. I have noticed that to adjust the trigger is a little bit of a pain having to take the grip frame off. But once the screws are set and loctited you won't need to take it off again. If there are a lot of breaks in the breech and the sensi gets all gunked up you have to take the grip frame off. That is a little bit of a pain. That is why I recommend the Fly Conversion Kit. It will get rid of the sensi and replace it with a eye and you get a fly board.
Conclusion: Awsome marker at a great price. Can't get a better gun for the price of a Speed. If you are looking for a high end marker at a great price look no futher.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 14th, 2004 at 12:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media