paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3 / PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3 / PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3 / PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3

PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha EXT Pro 2k3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
KingsField Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
xtreme piranha STS
Marker Setup: piranha ext pro 2k3, 12v revy, warped dark series barrel, c02-gonna get it siphoned soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
anti siphon tube - if using c02
maybe a barrel
12v or faster revy
Strengths: very fast
accurate
muti modes
light trigger pull
m.gauge & reg.
Great Looks
Weaknesses: I fixed cup seal when i first got it.
Review: This gun is great...I would recommend it to anyone. This gun shoots paint fast. A common break in the barrel now and there, but i still think they did a good job on stock barrel for once. This light on the gun is easy to see when playing to tell if it is on or off. I use c02 and am going to get it anti siphoned soon. Works for me. Like the micro gauge... regulator isnt that bad either. Make sure you oil it and clean it after each game because the bolt will create some wear on the paint on the bolt. This is normal, dont worry about it. I think the spring is pretty good for it. The bolt is pretty good. You may have to do a little sanding on the hopper neck to fit into the 2k3 neck on the gun because it is custom. Muti modes can help lots. This comes with lots... 3, 6, 9burst semi, and full-auto... idk about this recocking problem that people been having... It has never happened to me, maybe they got a bad marker, idk, try pmi tech support...I use pmi premiums and pmi flash, they both work in the stock barrel pretty good. I also think it is pretty easy to disassemble.
Conclusion: I would be tempted to use this over an autococker... just my reasons
I think pmi did a great job on this gun and hope they show more results like this.
good luck to you if you buy this... have any trouble call or email pmi.
Im giving this a 10 because ive had no problems with it and it looks and feels like a good solid gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 9th, 2003 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

CoolHipJim56 Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i own an Angel Speed and 2003 Dye Reflex cocker. I actually won this EXT Pro in a tourney.
Marker Setup: i normally use my cocker with an ANS Gen-X reg, bullet drop forward with blue micro-line kit, and a 68/4500 Crossfire tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i don't really know, i slapped a Dye Excel on there, and it works pretty good, the reg adaptor is goofy too, its not a screw in, you might be able to get a kit for that, but who knows?
Strengths: This gun is pretty accurate and consistently placed paintballs.little straying.
Weaknesses: The trigger frame is a high density plastic along with the trigger.
Review: ( This is the EXT with the E-Force mind you.) This gun is a good gun for middle classed paintball players looking to upgrade from their old "newbie gun" and get serious in the game of paintball. The only thing i had a problem with was when i took it out to my local field to try it out in a game,i finally chopped a ball( which didn't happen all day until then) the bolt got jammed and i could'nt get it un-jammed on the field, i had to call myself out, and use blunt force to get it un-jammed, thats the only bad thing about this gun. All around, it does'nt compare to my Angel or Cocker, but for the price, you'll have a hard time finding a better gun.
Conclusion: all and all, a good reliable gun for the price, i would recommend it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2003 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmipntballer Monday, November 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
well all my friends use spyder, which they arent all that great, i perfer piranha, cuz there good quality, and i had no problems with this gun in the past year and a half...except that i needed a new spring.
Marker Setup: i have a 16oz c02 i use cuz it fits it well (weight and size, is what i mean by "fits") then i have a quantum veiw loader (older ones), and thats prety much it!
Recommended
Upgrades:
well all that i have needed was a spring, so if ur gonna get this, buy a new higher velocity spring, cuz when i first got mine is shot 187 fps.
Strengths: Good quality, Easy to take care of !
Weaknesses: Needs oil regularly (Like any other gun...) and not always accurate.
Review: This is my first gun, and i love it. Its a great gun to start off with, shoots pretty good, not very loud, but its not quiet. DO NOT TAKE APART, unless you know what your doing (aka read the book), I learned the hard way, I had many problems. It shoots pretty quick, if your going to choose between a Spyder and a Piranha, choose Piranha due to better quality, think of these two as car speakers, Bose is a great high quality speaker, and a Piranha is a great high quality marker.
Conclusion: This gun is great quality, it lasts, and lasting a while for me, i play regularly (Once or twice a week) just be careful and take care of it, have fun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whomever1978 Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder TL+, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 2k3 Eforce Ext Pro, Freak Barrel System, 20oz Anitsiphon CO2, 12v Revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, 12v or faster revy, antisiphon if using co2
Strengths: -light
-fast
-short Trigger Pull
-Easy to Maintain
-Looks Cool
-Uses Tank Orings
-Customer Service
Weaknesses: -Recocking Problems
-Plastic Trigger Frame
-Some Mismatched Anodyzing
Review: Overall this is a good gun that I'd Recommend to anyone, from noobs to pros. When I first got my gun it would not recock at all. Even after oiling it up with pmi oil, stretching the striker oring, and turning the pressure all the way up, it still would not recock. I was tempted to send the gun back, but decided to play around with it and give it a chance. After looking at the valve/valve pin, I decided to file the pin down a bit a to allow more gas to reach the striker, and this pretty much solved my recocking problem. It still has trouble recocking under rapid fire, and will chop balls when this happens. This is pretty annoying, as I am unable to full auto, or any of the burst modes. Despite this though, the gun still performed well, and was very accurate/consistant. The other gripes I have are with the annodyzing, manual, gauge, and the vertical feed. On my gun, some of the parts are darker (blue) than the body...the site rail, and ram air chamber to be specific. No big deal though. And the manual...I hate generic manuals...it looks so cheap and unprofessional. This gun isnt even included in the manual. Again, no big deal because it does include pics/instructions for the older flush cocking guns which is all you really need. However, there was no info on the DSR reg, no diagram or anything. Whats with gauge...its goes up to 1500psi, yet the reg has a max output of 550psi or somewhere around that. The guage does work, but they could have done a better job and inluded a lower pressure guage...that would have been more accurate. And my major problem...the first day I used this gun, the vertical feed just snapped off at the threads while I was running. This really pissed me off...this definitely changed a lot of people's mind about the quality of pmi...opinions went from kick A$$ gun, to cheap POS. On the bright side though, PMI has excellent customer service, and getting a replacement body and vert feed was no problem...called em on Monday, and had the new parts in on Friday.
Overall, I still like this gun. Feels a lot more solid and high quality than the kingman guns...and it looks so much nicer. Aside from the recocking problem, the gun worked great...no leaks or other problems. I'll give it a eight...due the mismatched anno job, cheap manual, and recocking problems...I'll assume my vert feed was just a fluke.
Conclusion: Id recommend it to anyone...as long as you dont mind spending a little time and effort to get it recocking. Its a good solid gun, with just a few "cheap" quirks...guage, anno, and manual....all cosmetic really.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

turnurheadncoff Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all the spyders (this PMI is prolly better than all of em') and an impulse (which is the best gun ever)
Marker Setup: i use a vert. reg impy with vision
68ci 4500psi HPA
all american barrel
flame drop forward
and a halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none reall it comes pretty nice stock
Strengths: accurate
pretty light
pretty much everything except the regulator
Weaknesses: evry time u switch air u have to tamper with it for like 4 mins
Review: this gun is, overall, really good. the good defineitly outweighs the bad and the whole reg tyhing, after u get used to it u dont even notice it. this gun with a diferent reg would be pretty amazing. and the tampering with the co2 is prolly worth the performance u get from it. plus form far away it looks like an angel!
Conclusion: if this gun had a better reg i would pick it over an autococker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neeco Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 32 degrees Delta .68, Spyder Aggressor XT with Lapco 14' Barrel and Expansion Chamber, Tippman 98 Custom w/ reactive trigger and Dye Excel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Motorized Hopper
Strengths: 3, 6, 9 burts, and full auto,
Weaknesses: 250 paintballs in a valve and cupseal broke, regulator guage, Bad quality
Review: This gun at first was great me and my friend both got the same 1. First my cupseal and valve broke so I got it fixed. Then my friends cupseal broke and then mine broke again. This gun needs some work. It is not worth $180. Any gun that breaks multiple times and breaks write out the box brand new is bad in my book.
Conclusion: This gun has its good points but its not worth buying, unless you want to keep replacing the cup seal.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

at_the_50 Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Excellerator 6.0, Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: EXT PRO 2k3
Smart Parts Tear Drop
Ricochet 2k Hopper
ACI Bulldog 68ci 4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel ,stock is horrible
Motorized Loader
Strengths: Rate of fire
Consistent
Weaknesses: Had to re-cock the gun a few times while on the field
Review: This gun is overall pretty good. Everything on the gun is pretty good just stock but the barrel. The barrel is probably the only bad thing stock on this gun. The first time i played with this gun i was shooting all over and only got like 5 guys the whole day. But a new barrel and it was like I was a whole different person. The second time i went I was bunkering people left and right, and shooting out a few in the process.
Conclusion: I will give this gun a 9 because all you have to do is get a new barrel and a good loader and you will do ok with high end markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeepin Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, tippmans
Marker Setup: evil omen, evil pipe, custom products reg, custom products drop w/ on and off,68-3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg and barrell halo loader
Strengths: fast with the halo
Weaknesses: reg
Review: put a halo on this marker and a better reg and look out this thing will rock ive added the pipe kit to this marker and a maxflo vert reg and a halo b loader and this thing really rocks ive had people complain about overshooting and refs say i was shooting full auto when i was shooting semi with this set up you will not break paint and cant fire at least as fast as most markers at twice or three times the price...you really need to upgrade this marker factory stock its not that impressive but with upgrades this marker will turn heads..
Conclusion: its a good starter marker...its a great mid range marker...and with a few bucks it is an fantastic mid to upper range marker that looks great and performs even better than it looks...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamDischarge11 Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all kingman guns
Marker Setup: piranah 2k3 w/all american 20oz smartparts on/off and a 12n revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
12v rev. (a must have)
new reg the 1 they give you isnt so good
Strengths: everything
Weaknesses: reg
Review: i think this is one of the best guns out there for the price. i have almost no balls chop and there is a very light trigger pull. this gun is sweet with a new barrel and a rev...if you want 1 i would reccomend it over any spyder because i had a shutter before i got this gun and only shot it a few times and it was all messed i also had a spyder elite that gun was sweet none of my friends thought so but then again they didnt have 1. well in short with a new barrel and maybe if you want to get a new reg then this gun is the best gun for the money
Conclusion: in short just get a new barrel and a revy for this gun and you can be shootin' anyone you want in no time
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pepsee Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Spyder Flash LCD
Spyder SE
Marker Setup: Evil Omen w/ 12" smartparts teardrop freak kit
Spyder Flash LCD w/ 12" smartparts progressive barrel
PMI Piranha Eforce EXT pro 2k3
Evlution II loader w/ Y-board
47/3000 hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electric loader is absolutely required to avoid the "chop-fest"
A good barrel and balls that fits your barrel would be even better ;p
A coil remote......
32 degrees Spyder spring kit
Strengths: Great stock settings.....amazing stock barrel, regulator and drop forward....
Reliable, Light and confortable
Weaknesses: The regulator could be better...
Soft springs
Plastic grip w/ Eye-catching red light
Review: This was my first electronic marker i had. For not too much bucks, you can get a straight shooter e-marker @ part of the price. First, I was simply dazed by the laser blue paint that turn everyone's head :D Imagine how i was in love with it when i tried it. This marker is so light...but he's though! easy to play with and very nice stock trigger. Its in plastic, but the sweet spot on the trigger is so nice. No trigger job needed for sure! Looks like a $1000+ angel

Great choice of colors and wonderful design. (PMI issued their Razzor multimetal barrel line based on those colors....a great match!)

I broke the feeder neck one time without too much pressure on it... maybe i was unlucky, but they should be built more stronger.

Nice and fast access mode selection.

Very light and confortable marker...even more with a coil remote...

Very slim body that reduce "hit zone" (very important for speedballers :D )
Conclusion: A solid 9 would be a great and fair appreciation on this marker. We're three at our field to get this model by now and all are satisfied with their purchase.

A must for anyone who want a high-end marker and cannot afford it.......for the moment
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media