paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Fake Suppressor / Lapco Fake Suppressor / Lapco Fake Suppressor / Lapco Fake Suppressor / Lapco Fake Suppressor

Lapco Fake Suppressor Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Fake Suppressor

Paintball A-5 Barrels and Barrel Adapters

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Fake Suppressor
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This product gives your A5 the appearance of a silencer. Real silencers are illegal so this one just gives the appearance without really quieting the marker very much. Works with the 8 inch Bigshot.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Fake Suppressor is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
The Kampfer Thursday, May 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Response Trigger
Lapco Bigshot, Bead Blasted Aluminum, 7.5"
Lapco Fake Suppressor
Pro-Team 30 Rounds Low Profile Loader
Airsoft MP-5 Ammo Clip as Front Grip
ES&H MP-5 sliding Stock.
Strengths: Looks good. Give the gun a very agggressive and military look
Weaknesses: You will be asked a lot of questions while you are on the field.
Review: When I ordered my A-5 & Lapco 7.5" Bigshot, I ordered this Fake Suppressor as well. It was only $32. I know It's just for look.

Basically, it's a metal cover specially designed for your Lapco 7.5" Bigshot barrel ,but it gets the job done. It mounts to the barrel adapter by the use of a ring with threads on it. Three "locking bolts" screw down onto the barrel adapter and hold the ring in place and then the shroud is simply slipped over the barrel and screws on. It make my A-5 looks very sweet. It has nice black finish to match the A-5's body.

Everybody on the field keep asking me:
What kind the barrel is that?
Is that a suppressor?
Does it do anything?
So it's just a cover?
That's cool, what's it?
Conclusion: If you are in love with your A-5, Lapco 7.5" Bigshot, then you must have this Fake Suppressor. Spend $32 will make your A-5 look much much nicer. It's worth it.
You will like that way it looks, I guarantee it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 16th, 2003 at 10:07 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

OlUncleGearHead Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
PE Remote w/ Slide Check
PE 14 CO2
Tac Cap
OpsGear G36C Grip, Rail and Stock
Bushnell 1x30mm Trophy red dot sight
Seals Action Gear single point sling
Knights Armament Company Vertical Fore Grip
Smart Parts All American 18" 2-piece
Lapco Fake Suppressor
Strengths: Looks.
Won't scratch your barrel, thanks to plastic contact points.
Weaknesses: It's just for looks.
Weight/balance may be a factor on long barrels.
Review: Lapco has a solid reputation for well constructed aftermarket parts, so I figured I'd give the Fake Suppressor a try.

The Suppressor came to me in a long ziplock bag, containing the shroud, mounting threads, sizing adapters, and allen wrench. The bag was torn, but everything was in there. Notable is a lack of instructions. While the whole setup is fairly straightfoward, it would be nice to know what the other two adapters were for.

The set up took two tries, but that was an oversight on my part for failing to take into account the depth of the threads once the shroud was screwed on. Total time: 10 minutes.

Construction is top notch. The barrel is machined aluminum. Lapco put some thought into the design. For ported barrels, like my All American, the mounting threads on the rear of the suppressor are vented, allowing airflow and therefore you'll still have functional porting once your suppressor is mounted.

Conclusion: All in all a solid product, even if it is just mil-sim window dressing.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slimz Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Homemade supressors (looked like crap)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 (Old-School)
Rufus Dawg Bolt kit, Palmer Stab, Q-loader, Evil Pipe.

Raider hand guard + Raised Weaver Rail
Opsgear Mag kit, vertical front handle.
Strengths: High quality
Looks awesome.
Screws on (authentic design)
Makes non-milsimers wet themselves.
Weaknesses: It is not actually designed to silence the report (But it does help - see below)
Review: I purchased this shroud through OPSGEAR and I have gotten nothing but pure joy from it.

The Supressor attaches to the barrel by screwing onto the barrel over a small, threaded ring. that is clamped to your barrel by three small set screws. It takes about seven or eight full turn to go from having the silencer completely off to completely on.
While it is not designed to quiet the report of the marker, it fits perfectly over the porting on my Evil Pipe kit, effectively directing any sound from the porting back at the user. (In other words, it made it quieter)

The fact that it looks amazing goes without saying, if you have any doubt, you can look at this: <http://shopping.netsuite.com/s.nl/c.322764/sc.22/categor
y.837/.f>

Now I noticed people here complaining about the set screws scratching your barrel.
NO DUH. Any time there are set screws used in anything, you have the potential to scratch the contact point, ask anyone who has a ASA cradle setup. The manufacturer and the retailer that I purchased this product through both recomend using electrical tape before clamping on the threaded ring. I have about three different sets of set screws on my barrel (for the Raider shroud, supressor, etc...), so I have been in the practice of doing this for quite some time. I suppose they could have included a big neon sign with the supressor saying "USE ELECTRICAL TAPE", but beyond that they've done everything they could.
Ignorance is no exuse. If you don't know enough to put someting between the set screws and the contact point, you'll get whats coming to you. Nuff said.
Conclusion: If you're into milsim, get this.
If you like scaring the crap out of newbs and speedballers alike, get this.
If you've ever wanted to be 007, get this.
....
...
GET THIS!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eraz3r Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Lapco 8'' Bigshot, Lapco Fake Suppressor, Tippmann E-Grip
Strengths: Looks Very Real, Top-notch craftsmanship
Weaknesses: Doesnt really silence anything
Review: Easy to install, definitely has a "wow" effect on those who see it. Adds to the mil sim appearance of your marker if thats what you're going for. If you have a spec ops mil-sim grip you have to do some trimming to make it fit. My only gripe was they didnt include an allen wrench that fit the tiny screws that are in the adapter for it. I had to hunt through all my tools to find one. It also will add to the number of steps needed for you to remove your barrel in case you pop a ball.
Conclusion: Lapco makes really nice stuff and thus far I have been very impressed with everything I have purchased from them. Even though the suppressor doesnt officially work, I still would recommend it as something cheap and fun to do if you already have the Lapco 8'' bigshot barrell.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Fahrfromluzin Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, really.
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5, SmartParts Progressive barrel, Lapco Suppressor, 32Degreez remote w/slidecheck, Dead-on air -trough stock, polished internals.
Strengths: Awsome looks.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: As I only bought the part to serve as a fingerguard, it is fantastic for that purpose. I mostly play woodsball, so for me it is a big help. Then I decided to go to a SmartParts Progressive barrel, and moved the suppressor to the tip of the barrel. Bad decision. At first I thought I got a defective barrel. No velocity adjustments helped. No grouping, no accuracy, and the faster you would shoot, the more scattered your pattern would be. I removed the barrel, and went back to the original Tippmann barrel. Improvement. Swapped it for the Big Shot - still good. Then I thought about it and put the Progressive back on without the suppressor. Every shot landed as predicted. Great pattern, seemed really happy around 275fps. Put the suppressor back towards the gun -- still good.
Conclusion: If you get this piece, it is a very nice-looking accessory. But, as you may have assumed already, it will not quiet anything down, aside from your buddies. People will ask you how quiet is your gun, or if it's legal, or if they can try your gun with it on. DON'T PUT IT OVER THE FLUTING OF YOUR BARREL - YOU WILL REGRET DOING SO, but by the time you realize it it will be too late. You will have scuffed the barrel.
I will give it a 9, since I feel that Lapco should have warned buyers about this issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

culkid Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
response trigger
M-4 Stock
Remote
Lapco bigshot 8 inch
flurry industries assault 4+1 vest
sureshot scope
Strengths: very very accurate. i hit a 2 foot target from 100 feet
Weaknesses: the fake silencer falls off very easily, and ruined my barrel adapter
Review: the gun is very accurate. alot more accurate then the stock barrel. when i installed the silencer and started shooting, it just fell right off with the ring to install it stuck inside! now i cant get the silencer back on. but other then that i love the barrel. from 100 feet it is very accurate. From 200 you have to aim up alittle. if you are going past 200 feet get a flatline.
Conclusion: if you get it, get it with the silencer, but have a professional install it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

VVarpig Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, lapco 8" bigshot, lapco fake suppressor, intruder foregrip
Strengths: looks cool, looks more military
Weaknesses: can come off, and people always gawk at it and ask annoying questions
Review: It is worth the money and it is really cool looking it takes away the paintball gun feel and makes it more real. I like realism so this works for me, my friends and I play 1 shot vitals, and use hand signals and crap like that, cool, eh?? ;)
Conclusion: it looks cool, get it, it also looks intimidating, i now need to fill up the words that are required, so GET IT
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 23rd, 2004 at 2:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarlockMercer Tuesday, May 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7, RIS M4 DBoyz foregrip, M4 stock, DBoyz front/rear flip sights, e-grip, TectT mods (squishy paddles, lightning rod, vortex mod), Eotech holo aimpoint w./removable magnifyer, OpsGear M4 14" barrel, CA remote line
Strengths: Solid, metal contruction, easy to use.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: This product is actually extremely good. It's durable, very well made. It looks great and can be very intimidating. The finish is nice and matches most marker paintjobs and it just slips onto pretty much any barrel without modification. Easy to install. All around, it's a very good product, but it could be better.
The front ring (the solid plastic ring with the center line ridge) tends to fall out. I know, because mine has several times. I wound up having to wrap black hockey tape around it a couple of times to keep it in place. The rear ring isn't universal. If the barrel has any kind of a flange, like a Proto barrel for example, the ring won't pass over it. I solved this by cutting hte ring in one spot so it can open up. They might want to think about that as a standard piece.
Where the problem comes in is customer service. It's EXTREMELY poor. They don't return e-mails, act like you're disturbing them with petty issues if ytou call. It's VERY poor customer service.
Conclusion: This review would've gotten a much higher rating if the customer service was better. I consider the product, the comany and it's way of dealing with it's customers when reviewing a product. Mainly because at some point you may have to call customer service and a product is only as good as it's support.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brownhornet Saturday, March 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
-Specops, Dogleg air through stock
-W.A.S. E-grip
-TechT, Vortex mod, Q.E.P.H., Squishy paddles
-Madd Dog spring kit
-JCS, Red Hot Power Tube
-X7 Hopper
-Specops Flattop rail w/ Marker Sight Red Dot
-Specops A2 Foregrip
-J&J Ceramic Barrel 12''
-LAPCO, Fake Suppressor Shroud
Strengths: Makes look gun look AMAZING!
Weaknesses: None. Maybe the fact that it doesn't really suppress?! (MINOR)
Review: Anyone who wants to improve the asthetics of their gun, could very easliy do so with this mod! With my set up, everything flows and just looks right. I've never purchased anything from LAPCO, but if this fake suppressor were to be the foundation of my opinion of all their products; I must say at the end of the day I'm extremely IMPRESSED! Solid design, I love the fact that the product screws in and isn't some cheap as cover or slide on! Installation was a little tricky, but after thinking a bit harder and actually reading the instructions, it was on and where I wanted it in about 15 mins! Does add a little weight to the front of the barrel, but that's minor too. The few people who've seen it love it! I'd give LAPCO a 10 out of 10 on this one! Must get!!!
Conclusion: I would go with this product, especially if you're trying to obtain a mil-slim look! Solid in design and construction. Nothing sketchy about it at all!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Thursday, January 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
OpsGear Fake Suppressor Shroud
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper

Sidearm: Tiberius Arms Tac8
Strengths: Wicked milsim looks. Not too heavy.
Weaknesses: Doesn't silence the marker. Strictly for looks.
Review: Not a bad accessory at all, if you're looking for a full milsim look, then this is what you want.
The suppressor is strictly for looks, it doesn't make the marker silent. I've been asked by both my friends and other players if it's real and where do they get one, so if anything, you gain some respect on the field from other players.

The strengths of the part are that the set screws are actually plastic, so it doesn't scratch the barrel at all, and that it's very durable. Also, it looks wicked if you have an assault rifle or sniper setup.

There are a little more weaknesses on it than I would have though. One is that it doesn't silence the marker, if anything, it makes it louder because it will usually cover the portholes on the barrel, which was the case with my BT-4. On longer barrels, it throws the balance off a little. And finally, other than looks, there's no real function.
Conclusion: I'll give this an 8, it's a great accessory to have if you love milsim, but it's not really that functional.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media