paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader / Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader / Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader / Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader / Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader

Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pro-Team Products

Buy Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader

Paintball A-5 Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $10

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The A-5 TAC-CAP is back! This is the updated version of our original TAC-CAP loader for the Tippmann A-5. The TAC-CAP is designed for use as a low profile alternative to the stock A-5 loader. The TAC-CAP is user sizeable, and can be easily cut down into three different heights, which accommodate either 30, 40, or 50 rounds. The TAC-CAP has plenty of clearance for optical sighting systems, and is perfect for Tactical Training or Scenario use.
Product Availability 
The Pro-Team Products A-5 TAC-CAP Loader is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
OlUncleGearHead Wednesday, October 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
PE Remote w/ Slide Check
PE 20 Bottle
Tac Cap
OpsGear G36C Grip, Rail and Stock
Bushnell 1x30mm Trophy red dot sight
Seals Action Gear single point sling
Freak w/ 18" AA Front
Strengths: Low Profile
User sizable
Cheap
Weaknesses: Depending on you application, load size.
SUPER stiff lid (see review body)
Review: This is a simple product. Pop off your old loader, drop this one in, twist it to lock it fill it with paint and go.

Now if you're a recballer, you'll probably find this a light in the load department, especially if you like throwing paint. I play an ambush sniper position, so I don't need that much paint over the course of a game.

Three graduated rings compose the body of the loader. Cutting one ring off brings the load down from 50 balls to 40. Cutting off the second brings it down from 40 to 30 (for scenario guys, the number of rounds held by most assault rifle and SMG magazines), so you have quite a degree of flexibility.

The Tac Cap is also cheap, making it probably one of the least expensive aftermarket products out there. You can find them for anywhere between $6-10 USD. At the price, even the most tight-fisted, penny counting player will be open to keeping three of these, one cut down to each load size.

My one and only complaint is that the lid is incredibly tight. A typical hopper or pod lid usually can be popped open with a thumbnail. The Tac Cap come out of the box with a grip on it like a russian bear. If you are playing extended engagement scenario ball or woodsball, this might hamper your reload times while you're wrestling with the lid. You might want to think about giving the lip of you Tac Cap a light sanding to try and loosen it up with, or maybe improvise a new lid from something like an Extreme Rage pod.
Conclusion: If you like having a wide open field of view, sniping or doing short duration scenario drills, this just may be the best hopper on the market, but eeven you may feel hampered by the tight fit of the loader cap. Luckily they're cheap enough that you can tinker with them without much consequence. If you throw paint, it's diminutive load isn't going to do you any good. While not perfect, it is a solid product and worth the money spent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

no0dLe uNi0n Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with low profile loading cap a 4x28 scope r/t and a solid stock oops i almost forgot the flatline
Strengths: can be usefull
Weaknesses: reload alot
Review: I find this fun to use but you will have to reload alot one of the pluses if you learn to aim and you dont stick out as much in woodsball i made the mistake of trying to use it in speed ball =0 i got bunkered whil i was rrloading so other than that very fun and you learn to conserve ammo
Conclusion: Get it if you own a A-5 its only 4.00 what are you going to lose
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Phantom--X Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Homemade tactical caps
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Response Trigger
J & J 14inch Ceramic Barrel
Tapco Saw Stock
32 Degrees Remote w/ slide check
92/4500 HP Crossfire Tank
Strengths: Ability to choose round amount
Sleek low profile even with 50rd
Lid locks securely
Weaknesses: None
Review: This new UPGRADED version of Pro-Teams TAC CAP is alot better. This is probably the best tactical low profile cap/loader available. Cap allows you to choose the round amount of 50, 40, or 30. Only real flaw is that once you cut the loader down to the desired size your stuck with it. So just make sure you are sure what round capacity you want it to be.
Conclusion: This tactical loader lets you have a choice unlike the other ones on the market. Its durable and can withstand abuse. This is excellent choice for REALWORLD scenario players or for snipers who understand the need for low profile.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5 Warrior Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5, 12" GTA Sniper Barrel, AK-47 Folding Stock, Intruder
Strengths: Low profile. Great for players trying to save paint.
Weaknesses: Hard to get off.
Review: Great product. Only get it if you are trying to save money on paint. I used to waste paint but this product has made me pick my shots more carefully. Get it. You can buy it just about anywhere and is well worth the $3. Very low profile, so you can use a scope or red dot if your into that stuff.
Conclusion: Get it. It's like $3.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kek Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 hopper
Ricochet R5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5/TacCap
Remote
68/3000 HP

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" SP Proggressive
Univ. Air-through stock
HALO TSA LED Frontman
Remote
48/3000 HPA
Strengths: - Low Profile
- Customizable Size
- Tight Fit
- Price
Weaknesses: - Not exactly indestructable
- Need for 50 rnds pods
- Load Size (duh)
Review: I bought the taccap just to be able to play a little with my A5 without having this huge hopper ahead of me (when I didn't yet have the Ricochet). I still have it set for 50 rounds, which would still not be enough for some serious play in my style. The cap sits pretty securely, need for some little force to get it off. And for 10 euro's, it can't exactly be called an expensive upgrade (well, for some of us it may actually be some sort of downgrade, cause it may take away some of their skills).

The cap however, isn't perfect in any way. A friend of mine sort of destroyed after my second day of using it in play, as he tried to separate the lid form the rest of the cap (didn't understand it had to be cut down, he thought you needed to turn of the lid somehow; no, i don't understand my friend either, so no worries there). Another problem is that you'll need some 50 rounds pods, or you will have some halve-filled pods that will both make a lot of noise end increase the chance of breaking paint in your pod. As for the last point, 50 rounds may be way too less for some people, including me, but that will only depend on your playstyle
Conclusion: If carrying only 30-50 balls fits your playstyle, this will be a good product. Just don't try to dissect it, than you should be OK. Therefor, this TacCap still deserves an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iluminati Thursday, November 4th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann GTA Double Trigger
J&J Ceramic 12"
Lapco Bigshot 8"
Palmer Stabilizer Male
Macroline Kit
Crossfire 47ci 3000PSI
Strengths: Excellent concept for a smart sneaky shooter in a woodsball game.
Weaknesses: This product did not fit my stock A5 cyclone feeder upon arrival.
Review: [Updated]

The low profile loader blows away the original hopper if you are interested in minmizing your marker profile. However you tradeoff size for storage as this will only be able to hold 20-30 balls. If the product actually fit at the time of purchase I would give it a 10 just for being a good simple idea.

If you purchase this product do not be suprised if it does not fit onto your feeder. This is also probably true for any similar product on the market. They are most likely the tops off of a Virus hopper/loader or a castrated paintball pod. Whatever they are, I believe that these caps are falsely advertised in that they are not specifically designed for A5 cyclone feeders. From reading a number of forums I have found that I am not alone in this experience which leads me to believe it is more then just a manufacturer defect.

To get one of these to fit you will either need to sand down the inside of the part that fits onto the A5 feeder mouth, or use a heat gun (or other heating device) to heat the plastic enough to wedge it onto the feeder and let it cool. If you do this the plastic will reform with a larger mouth and fit the hopper. Harden the new plastic mold by leaving it in the fridge for an hour or so while still attached to the cyclone feeder.
Conclusion: A little work will make this an enjoyable product, however I cannot excuse the fact that product upon arrival was absolutely unusable.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 5th, 2004 at 9:21 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Antlion Friday, October 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X7 low profile hopper
Offset extension mount
Standard A5 hopper
Marker Setup: Currently just an A5 with a flatline and CAR Stock.
Strengths: Precise ball count
Can be added to existing cyclone hoppers.
Weaknesses: Questionable material
Lid doesn't secure
Can be twisted apart in the wrong direction
Review: I've heard good things about the Tac-caps. So when mine arrived I had high hopes. I purchased one from RAP4 and it does fill its role. The lid closes but the force of the balls moving from me running can pop the lid. I had to to a DIY velcro mod to secure it. It looks cooler now but I shouldn't need to do that for a new product. Basically, quality suffers from their model so try other suppliers.
Conclusion: It serves its purpose. But I wish I'd known how flimsy it is. To be perfectly honest, once you buy one you'll wonder why you didn't make your own out of pvc pipe since there's not much to it. It's good for making your shots count though.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LT. Christopher Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 Basic
Tippmann Collapsable 6 Position Stock
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
JCS off-set sight rail
BSA Red Dot sight
Pro Team A5 TAC-CAP
DXS C02 Tank
Strengths: Out of the way when using a scope
Weaknesses: Small load size
Difficult to remove
Review: The TAC CAP is a good effective replacement loader against the stock A5 hopper. It is easy to install, although it is difficult to remove. I have a laser sight on top of my receiver, when I had the stock hopper, it cut off most of my view. So when I got the TAC CAP it was a relife from the bulky stock hopper. the TAC CAP is good in that sense but the TAC CAP has its downs, for example the CAP is very small and the most it can hold is 50 rounds, it can be configured to accomindate 40 and 30 rounds too. if you cut it down your stuck with a 40 or 30 round loader.
Conclusion: If your like me and dont use so much paint I highly recomend it if not this isnt for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 12:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

russianfront Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Basic gravity hoppers only
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
Strengths: Tactical looking
Good sightlines
Weaknesses: Tight as heck
Hard to install
Looks cheap on nice gun
Review: I just got my first Tippmann - an X-7 and while the stock hopper is cool it still does not give a clear view down the barrel to allow the full use of the sites. So I bought an offset elbow and cut the tac cap I also bought down to its top section. So that way I can have a 63 ball capacity (20 in the cyclone, 30 in the elbow and 10 in the top section of the tac cap...plus 3 more I managed to fit in.

Why can't they make these things the right size? Its not like they are used in a lot of different applications. They are only made for the Cyclone. Its moulded maybe 5% too big and its a mother to get on and off. You have to pull and twist a lot to remove it. You almost need a clamp to remove it. Ridiculous! Why can't they work out this issue. A lot of the other reviews on this item say the same thing. Are they listening?
Why does only one company make them also?

I have 3 wishes for this product:
1) it fit better
2) You could buy 3 sections (ie tall one), 2 sections or 1 section (both at lower cost) otherwise if you are buying for 1 section, you pay for all 3 and chuck the rest!
3) There was a metal/aluminum/etc version available. The plastic of the tac cap looks a bit cheap. I would pay more for something of higher quality

Despite my gripes I'm glad I bought it.
Conclusion: If you want to go tactical this is your only choice!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

idkfa Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 ACT
Special Ops Air-Through Dog-Leg Stock
Special Ops Aluminum Hopper Offset
Special Ops Tactical Rail
Tasco Red-Dot Sight
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: - Small Profile
- Light Weight
- Sturdy
Weaknesses: - Pre-Use Modification Required
- Ball Feeding
Review: I bought this product along with a Special Ops Aluminum Hopper Offset in an attempt to force myself to better place shots, and to play a little more conservatively. I chose to cut it down to 30 rounds, which with the offset gives you around 45.

***Strengths***

Small Profile: In any of the 3 sizes available with this hopper, the overall profile is far less than any other hopper on the market. As it is a cylinder, it promotes bouncing and deflection considerably moreso than the stock hopper. When cut down to the 30 round version, which is what I use, it sits only 1" above the Cyclone Feed, or only 1.5" above the top of the receiver body. If you are looking for a hopper to use in short games, to act as a marksman, or to just practice patience during longer games, this is definitely a worthwhile upgrade.

Light Weight: This hopper adds no noticeable weight to the A5, and even when filled with balls, it does not affect the overall feel of the marker.

Sturdy: While it is plasttic, it does feel sturdy, although the lid and ring around the top are somewhat loose. This does not affect the performance of the hopper, however, it lets you rotate the lid to what ever direction you want to load it from.

***Weaknesses***

Pre-Use Modification Required: When I got this hopper, it would not easily fit into the Cyclone, and would not fit into the offset at all. All that is required is to sand down the bump on the hopper to slide into the slot in whatever you are mounting it in. It takes only a few minutes with sandpaper, and is inconsequential to the operation of the gun. It does rattle, but no moreso than the stock hopper; I use felt and/or foam to silencer all my hoppers, so it does not matter alot to me personally.

Ball Feeding: The only real problem that I have discovered thus far is ball feeding toward the end of its ball load. Without the weight of balls on top of it, they sometimes do not load into the Cyclone 'blades' properly. I have had to use the manual operation of the Cyclone more when using this product than with the stock hopper. I guess that the same thing happens with the stock hopper, but I personally never get that low with a 200 round hopper. This is somewhat of a problem when I am using my Tac-Cap, with its 30 round capacity, as the last 10 balls often require more manual feeding.
Conclusion: This is a definite must, and should be included in every woodsballers gear bag. It offers the only real alternative for A5 owners to cut down their large stock hopper profile. Having to cut down the hopper also did not really bother me; from what I have seen, you often get comfortable with whichever of the three you choose, and never want to go back. I may buy another one of these, and keep it at 40 or 50 rounds, but I will probably use my 30 round more.

I give it an 9 out of 10, as I don't believe in perfect products, and while there are no serious design flaws, it does require some degree of preparation before it is game ready.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media