paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward / Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward / Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward / Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward

Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Designed for the CO2 player. It moves your tank 2 1/2 inches forward and 1 1/2 inches down at a 5 degree angle. Will work with all CO2 tanks under 2.5 inches in diameter. ( ie 12 oz) It also includes an extra 1/8 NPT hole for a gauge if you need it. You can either leave the plug in, or remove the plug to install a gauge. (The hole is plugged when you get it but not sealed. If you wish to keep the plug in, you will need to apply thread sealer to the plug. It has holes drilled to mount either standard or Spyder grip frames.
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball Short Bullet Drop Forward is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
singlejointed Sunday, December 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Compact bottom line
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Compact Deluxe
-Spudnuk'l low pressure bolt
-J&J 14" ceramic barrel
-Bob Long Power Regulator
-Check It Products 15į Assault Block
-Maddman hard main spring
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-Dead On Paintball Short Bullet drop forward (w/ degassing upgrade)

Brass Eagle Eradicator (stock)
Strengths: -Fairly priced
-Solid
-Fits Spyders, too
-Good size for small CO2
Weaknesses: -Stock Spyder trigger frame screws too long
-Piston can fall out
Review: There arenít that many drop forwards out there designed specifically for small (9-12 oz) CO2 tanks; and especially not with a built in on/off knob. Of those, the Short Bullet Drop Forward is probably one of the best. It has a clean, purposeful look that makes it appear as an integral part of the gun. Because itís specifically designed for small CO2 tanks it shortens the gunís length no more than necessary (2 1/2Ē) and lowers the tank minimally (1 1/2"). Note, if youíre using a marker that cocks from the rear you risk bumping your mask into the beaver tail, as the stock is shortened. The drop forward has three hole patterns- two to move it forward or back on a standard gun and one for Spyders (the stock Spyder bottomline screws will need to be cut down to fit). The on/off knob does a good job of degassing the gun prior to tank removal. The one problem I found with the drop is that if knob is tightened all the way when the tank is off, the piston can fall out. The problem can be solved by purchasing a degassing valve cylinder that wonít fall out or by just keeping the knob loose about two turns. Also check out Dead On Paintballís site for more information and pictures of what the drop forward looks like on a Tippmann 98. If the plain looks arenít your cup of tea, Check It Products offers the similair Speedy Drop Forward, which has a more swooshy look (It may be a bit larger, too).
Conclusion: If youíre using a small CO2 tank, it doesn't get much better than this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 9:55 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BionicSniper Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dead on pro style drop forward
2 different cp drop forwards
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion
Short bullet drop (dead on paintball)
PMI 68ci 4500Psi with dye rhino cover
Halo tsa lcd backman (clear)
Strengths: Discharge valve
on/off
build quality
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I needed a small drop for my ION and this was one that a friend recomened. I instaled it with my macro line on the right side and am going to put a SP gauge on the other side so i can see what my tank's regulator is doing. Now I love the fact that the on/off also has a discharge. My other drop forwards are over 2 years old so they didn't even have that back then.

Conclusion: On/off /w discharge
Strong build
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DirtyDeeds Wednesday, September 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock drops
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom,
cyclone feed,
teardrop barrel,
response trigger,
vertical feed adaptor,
expansion chamber,
double trigger,
dye sticky grips,
DOD on/off drop froward.
Rocket Cock
Strengths: Looks good
Easy to install
Durable
Weaknesses: None at this moment.
Review: Looks good
Easy to install
Durable
Has a set screw so you don't unscrew the Knob
Self Bleeding
Multiple holes for different markers
Recessed holes for mounting

After reading the other guys post where they gave this product 0's and 3's I am once again reminded how hard it is to protect fools from them selves. I have had no problems with this drop. I use 9oz, 12oz, 20oz and even 48/3000 air tanks. I have had no trouble getting those bottles on my marker. Fiberwrap tanks may have issues because there so round, but remember this is originally a Co2 drop anyway. The holes for connecting the drop forward to the marker are counter sunk. The bolt heads are below the surface of the drop body. There is a set screw under the knob that allows you the option of removing the on/off knob for cleaning etc. If you don't take care of your drop and forget to engage the set screw the knob can come off when your turning it to far.

As for the guy who put teflon tape on his on/off valve and doesn't know what a set screw is for, well, don't mind him. He is an accident waiting to happen. First off he couldn't of had the set screw engaged cause the knob unscrewed completely, second by adding the teflon tape, he basically crippled the bleeding aspect of the drop. So as he unscrewed the knob there was no pressure being released. Boom, like a cork on a wine bottle, lucky he never knocked some sense into himself. Scary!!

Conclusion: I give this product a 10 to help counter the very low and uncalled for reviews of the others. In reality I believe this product to be an 8.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 2nd, 2005 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

urbansix Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various generic drops & duckbill cominations
PMI Perfect Drop
OEM on-gun drops
Marker Setup: 04 AGD TacOne with Level10,ULT
03 Bushmaster B2K with Macdev Redvalve, Chaos Board, CCM feed
98 ICD Desert Fox Deluxe
01 Cocker frankensniper conversion
Strengths: Sturdy
Small
On-Off
price
Weaknesses: larger gauges on HPA may not clear
Review: I was surprised by some of the other reviews, as this is one of my favorite drops. I was looking for a more compact screw-in drop ~2"x1" preferably with on/off, and everything I looked at was too big or too pimptastic, or very expensive cradle/dovetail setup. Until I found this one. I like the compactness, and the styling of this one is nice without being showy, blending well with the utilitarian aesthetic of my markers. It has inline mount holes with 2 position settings, and offset holes as well. It worked great for my 9/12/20 oz CO2 tanks. When I put an HPA tank on there the gauge did bump the drop, but I was going to be putting a micro-gauge on it anyway, so I forgot about that problem. When I found these cheap on Ebay I ended up getting a few. Today I am using a cradle on the HPA but still use the CP drops on my Sniper and Desert Fox. After about 1 year of use I have had no problems with leaking or anything else.
Conclusion: I like em. I can see where the clearance might be an issue for some but they serve my purpose well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yochinaman Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP flame drop
Empire on/off drop
Benchmark offset drops
Marker Setup: cockers (3 of them)
sniper
excalibur
and more!
Strengths: Looks compact and sleek.
Weaknesses: Limited cross compatibility.
Review: For what it's advertised as it's a 7/10. Why? Here are the down falls. It claims to work with small CO2 tanks 12/14oz and under. Does it work? Yes, but only if you have a pin valve and your burst disk doesn't stick out too much. The price of compactness means less clearance for bulky protrusions from the tank. If you have an on/off valve on your tank then forget it. Don't even bother. It won't screw in more than 2 turns. I tried it with a Smart Parts on/off valve (they are small in comparison to others). I still give it a 7/10 because it looks good and I prefer pin valves anyways.

Now for the it's rating as a drop/ASA in general. I give it a 3/10. The only thing going for it is that it looks good and works with SOME CO2 tanks. A drop/ASA combo in general should be compatible with a wide variety of tanks. Most people who need drops will be using tanks bigger than 12oz. A 20 oz tank WILL fit provided it doesn't have an on/off valve and you use button head screws to screw in the drop to the frame. Even then I ran into some clearance problems. There is very little clearance on a 20oz tank, I got some scratches as a result. But it does work. HPA preset tanks? Forget it, don't even bother. The guages sticking out of the HPA tank will not clear the drop. I tried this with a Crossfire tank. You can get an ASA extender like the Lapco dual adapter, but that kinda defeats the purpose of the drop forward. The drop does have the standard 3/4" bottomline holes as well so you can ditch the on/off in favor of a regular ASA.

Another peeve of mine is that this drop uses a reversed rail system. The drop rail is female and the ASA rail is male. Normally they are reversed. So I can't even put this beautiful ASA on another drop rail with more clearance.

Conclusion: I honestly see no reason for anybody to pick this drop/asa combo up. It's lack of cross compatibility with other tanks, drops, and ASAs make it a very limited use product.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

veedoubleugee Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dop (knob is easy to turn, horrible finish, degases quickly, Horrible quality control.)
check it cage (knob is hard to turn, degases very slowly, good finish)
cp 2k5 direct mount asa (knob is the easiest to turn, degases quick, great finish, best asa overall)
Marker Setup: FS7: BLUEFORK INTERNALS, ACID SPONGE, CF GRIPS/EYE COVERS (2much2list)
Other Toys: FS7(backup),(2)Zenitram Venom Bushmasters & Lasoya Promaster
Strengths: The asa works great. turning the knob is very easy.
Weaknesses: The worst anno I have ever seen. Metal shards by the threading.
Review: The anno on dop drops is horrible. ive purchased a few of them b/c the silver one i had matched great. the silver one had clear and even finish. when i purchased a black one i saw that the anno flaked off. i thought it was just a flaw so i purchased another one. the anno on the drop was spotted but the asa was ok. so i went to the dop website hoping i would get a good rail. the rail was cheap ($9) so i bought it. the anno on it was also spotted. this is the worse anno i have ever seen on any paintball product. the silver satin seems to be fine but stay away from the black drops and asa. oh yeah and the rail had to be hammered with a rubber mallet to fit the asa. they mush have no quality control.

Edit: 2/28/07
I purchased 2 more for $15 each. The black one had much better anno then the others ive had in the past. The silver one looked the same until I looked inside. There were pieces of metal sticking up by the 1/8npt hole. I had to file them down b/c I was worried that they may work their way loose and end up in my gun. A testament to DOP quality control. I ended up using them on my remote hose. Still the best $15 asa I bought. Not worth the full price.
Conclusion: The asa is great but the anno is horrible. im the type of person that picks function over form but this thing looked ugly. where is the quality control? how did this these ugly drops get past their eyes? i will never buy a black dop anything again (satin silver seems ok).

Edit: 2/28/07
My rating still stands. Sorry to everyone who rated my review as unhelpful. It is 100% the truth & the truth does hurt.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 28th, 2007 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MagnumSpyder Saturday, January 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Drop
Marker Setup: Spyder 05 Pilot ACS
Palmer's Stabilizer
NDZ HP Valve
NDZ Low-Rize Feedneck
32* Spring-Kit
14 inch J&J Ceramic
Steel Braided Cable
Trinity Front Block
DOP Drop
Halo TSA Frontman
68/3000 CrossFire
Strengths: Looks
Moderate size
On/Off
American Made
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with the 1/4 90 degree fitting on the side
Review: I just got this in today. I primarily bought this drop because I wanted a cheap drop with a built in On/Off valve, one that had Spyder holes, one that wasn't a huge drop, and one that matched my gun. This one definately fits those requirements. It looks great but I haven't had the chance to see if it perform well.

So far the only problem with it is that it doesn't come with the 1/4 90 degree fitting that you see in every picture of the drop. I've also read the review of the guys drop that sent the screw on the front to go flying off into the woods. I just hope that doesn't happen to mine.
Conclusion: This is a great drop for people that want a cheap, small drop with a built in On/Off valve.

9/10 because no side fitting.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonezin_nj Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
lapco drop
wrath stock
Marker Setup: red wrath, 14' teardrop barrell, acp delrin bolt, halo b, shockteck feedneck, 47/3 hpa
Strengths: Nice and tight
Price
Weaknesses: It leaks a little if you screw it in too much
Review: Nice drop for the price. Bought it from a local store. At first it leaked air pretty bad but then I figured out that I had screwed the shut-off in too far. Works like a charm now. Make sure you keep it lubed. Dead on is pretty reliable with their stuff.Had to teflon the oring a couple of timesbecause it leaked. replace the oring as soon as you get it.
Conclusion: Looks good, works good. If you need a decent drop that isn't too flashy, do this one
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 4th, 2006 at 7:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lzusso Wednesday, August 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all drops are basicly the same
Marker Setup: SP ION - Freak Green Body Kid
CP Roller Blade Trig
CP Reg
Q-Lock
DOP Short Bullet Drop
VL Evo II
Strengths: Max forward gain with min vertical gain
on/off asa
sturdy
variety of screw patterns
Weaknesses: None for me
Review: Anyone that has an ion knows the stock asa on the ion is terrible, i agree with many people when they say it make the ion feel like an assault rifle. well this DOP drop fixes that problem without adding alot of height to the gun like most other drops. if your shooting an n2 tank stick the reg on the bottle under the gun and thats exactly what i wanted from my drop and exactly what it does. Also when u pick it up and when its on your gun it give you the confidence of a very sturdy feel. great drop did exactly what i expected so i give it a 10.
Conclusion: If dropping the reg of the bottle under your grip is what you want this is the product for you, good price, comes with an on/off, and won't break.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cdukebeatunc Saturday, August 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Dead on Paintball Drop w on/off
xpansion chamber
14in All American Barrel
Strengths: Small, On/Off
Weaknesses: See review
Review: When I first bought this on/off, I thought it was really cool, I tried it out and it leaked, so I put teflon on the knob fittings. This worked very well up till yesterday. Yesterday, when I was degassing my gun, the knob for the on/off flew off and went well over 75 feet into my woods. If the knob would of hit someone they would not be here today. (Very Scary) I am now without a on/off and can't play again till I find the knob, or replace it.
Conclusion: Only buy this product if you don't care about safety for you or others
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media