paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is Bob's newest marker for the Storm team. Exciting new shape, same great quality! Has an Lcd screen ,low presseure, simi-auto only, open bolt, Eualizer Board.Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
knucklehead0206 Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
You name it and I've shot it. Cockers, mags, Trix, Angel. Old school Vm-68, Ranger pump, NelSpot 007, RPGIII, blah, blah, blah
Marker Setup: Currently shooting a Texas Storm Timmy upgraded ram and a reverse polarity TECHNA TRIGGER (the best trigger on the planet!) Egg with zboard, 68/4500 crossfire, Evil pipe.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You can get an adjustabler ram cap if you're using a Halo. New ram with the deepset bumper is nice. It shoots sweet out of the box.
Strengths: Fast, accurate and reliable. What more do you need.
Weaknesses: A touch heavy compared to the new Timmys, Shocker, Nerve, Freestyle. Trigger is just garbage.
Review: Well let me just say that I couldn't be any happier with this marker. I have had NO problems with it in the 6 months that I have had it. None. It shoots straight and is mad fast. It's pretty air efficient, the eyes work great, the anno job is sweet, nice milling. Comes with a clamping feedneck and a nice LPR. This thing was shooting +/- 3 over the chrono out of the box. In the 16 years I've been playing I have never seen that out of the box. NEVER. NEVER. I am talking no break in. Just keep the bolt lubed and follow the manual reagrding maintenance and yours should work as great as mine. I wish the hoses were a little longer because they can be a little frustrating to put back together but that's just a minor thing. If I have something bad to say about the marker is that the trigger is garbage. That thing had to come out of there. It wasn't smooth and was tough to shoot. Get it out of there and put in a CP ballbearing trigger or go the whole way and get the TECHNA CARBON FIBER TRIGGER. That's the finest trigger I have ever used.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is that I love this marker. Beside the trigger I don't really have anything bad to say about it. Listen, no marker is perfect so all of my reviews start out with a 9 and go down from there. This marker is a solid 8 which is awesome.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

eos356 Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulses, Ions, My shocker, Angels, Egos, etc.
Marker Setup: 2003 orange texas storm timi WAS 2.7 , empire b , pmi 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt mabye, a barrel if you want one, or play alot of woods.
Strengths: Fast, semi-light , accurate, efficent, simple to maintain, WAS stock.
Weaknesses: Little heavy compared to newer guns, but not really all that important.
Review: So I traded my shocker and 75$ for this gun and have never looked back. I've shot just about every gun in the tourney scene and teched most of them as well. This gun has got to be the nicest gun I've owned to date. It's every players dream: fast, accurate, efficent, easy to maintain. Very solid platform, Great stock board , Barrel is fair, but could be better, but is fine for most speedball siguations. may want to consider a longer one if you play alot of woods ball. The gun was very accurate, and easy to deal with, and I'd pick it over any other gus i've used 100 times over.
Conclusion: Great product, well made, Get it, it won't let you down.
It's great, but nothing's perfect, so it gets a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TStorm Saturday, October 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Intimidators, shockers, cockers, protos, Ions, and Angels.
All of them fall short when it comes to my storm.
Marker Setup: -VIRTUE'd 2k5'd Texas Storm Intimidator with: Empire frame, Alias Front Block, Alias LPR with Shocktech LPR Piston, 2K5 Solenoid, One Piece Gen4/Defiant 2 eyes , Shocktech Ram, Shocktech Ram Cap, Shortened Shocktech Bolt, Empire Poppet, CP reg, Empire Skull Grips, critical trigger, Urban Camo VIRTUE membrane pad, Shocktech Rail Drop and Shocktech On/Off.
-2 Piece Dye Ultralite (.694)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (mine came with the freak but I traded it for an Ultralite because they are amazing. My friend has stock assasins barrel and it was okay but not anywhere as accurate as mine with the ultralite), New reg ( I personally don't like the torpedo and my CP is better) and a new trigger (stock trigger is okay but overall the critical is a much nicer trigger and helps to lead to a much better setup)
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, light Weight (when 2k5'd), Milling, Eyes.
Weaknesses: None, but if anything, a bit heavy, but all fixed when 2k5'd
Review: I have owned many guns from tippmanns to cockers and i have shot such guns as shockers, e2 cockers and ions and out of all of these guns i think that the Texas Storm Intimidator is the best of them all. This gun out of the box is a little lighter than 3 pounds and its fast. This is the fastest gun i have ever shot. Not only is this gun fast but it is accurate also. When i went to a local field i shot my gun at the chrono and with the cp reg i was shooting 255-256-255. After, I started to rip on it and every ball hit the same spot.
At my house with paint i can easily shoot 15 bps without any effort. And when i try with this gun i can get up around 20 bps, no joke. This gun has only chopped on me once and that is when i forgot to put my eyes in all the way and i cut through the eye wires and the eyes wern't working. But even when the eyes wern't working I only chopped 1 out of about 2 to 300 paintballs.
Not only is this gun the fasted and most accurate gun I have every owned, this gun also looks great. All Intimidators are amazing looking, and this one is no exception.


-edit-
This gun is amazing. I went to my local field and I did the stupidest thing possible. I left my gun on simulate and i was trying to play. The only thing that went wrong is that the gun didn't fire on every shot. I went to the chrono so I could try and figure out what was wrong. I started to rip on it to make sure it was nothing wrong with the trigger and, and the gun had burps of speed but still didn't shoot everytime. So I went into the WAS menu and checked my settings to find out if all my settings were okay. That is when i realized that my gun was on simulate. I was amazed because when the gun was on simulate, not even checking to see if there were any balls in the breech, my gun didn't chop once. I was amazed. I have had guns that would chop with the eyes on but this gun didn't even chop 1 ball when it wasn't even sensing them. I think that this gun may be the most amazing gun I have ever had. (This was before it was 2k5'd, and it had a WAS board)

I don't know what people are talking about when they say that the intimidator is capped at 25. That might be with paint, but so far I have gotten my gun to cycle much faster than that. Yesterday at my local shop, they let me shoot my gun and i hit 32 with air. I was talking to one of the guys there and he was talking about how he could hit 36 regularly with his storm when he had it. So I think the 25 cap is just for bps cause i definitely did 32 cps yesterday. (Once again this was before I 2k5'd my gun and had the WAS board.)

WOHOO!!!
I just 2k5'd my gun and it is going to be a beast. I am getting it all professionally installed by shocktech. I will write more about it when I get it back.

VID!!!

http://media.putfile.com/storm-rippin <------ (Copy and paste)



Conclusion: This is a great gun. If you are looking for a fast, sexy and extremely accurate marker, then this is the right marker for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 at 9:00 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

golai Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98 and A-5 with response trigger
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Intimidator, Sidewinder Regulator, CP flame drop forward, CP 2 piece barrel, Halo B, WAS Eye, WAS Switch, Shockteck Superfly Bolt, Kapp Thumper Ram
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Blazing fast with the stock, upgraded WAS Board. Very accurate. Very light. Nice looks.
Weaknesses: None that I could find
Review: I love this gun more than I love my kids..... well almost. The Texas Storm is simply awesome. It fires as fast as you can tap the trigger and puts the paintballs in the same place every shot. The marker is very low pressure so there is very really recoil. I was putting up perfect arcs over some very large boulders where I knew some other players were. Two seconds later they all stood up with my paint on them. This marker just rocks!!!
Conclusion: I would buy the Texas Storm if I were you. Otherwise, you'd better be on the look out for me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 at 2:41 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

junkyman22 Sunday, June 27th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my bko which is almost as good becuase i have upgraded it a lot
Marker Setup: bko with a lot of upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: accurate with a new barrel
fast as all heck
aweseom
Weaknesses: none that i found
Review: well i was paintballing with my friend a couple weeeks back and he let me use his texas storm timmy a few games. man this thing rips!!!! i was using the timmy with a 68/45000 nitro duck adjustable tank, smoke halo, daiblo inferno paint, and a phat barrel kit thingy.
it is sooooo awesome. seroiusly i usiually kill like 5 guys a game, but with this thing i was killing at least 15 a game. if u have a deep piggybank, definitely look into this timmy or any other kind of timmy (i have tried almost every kind).
Conclusion: its awesome. get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Beau Robinson Tuesday, January 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Silver Bullet (doesn't really compare)
Marker Setup: I have the Bob Long Texas Storm, with a evolution II w/ Z-board hopper, stock barrel, and 88 5000psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would upgrade the barrel and an adjustible ram cap.
Strengths: Fast, Accurate (with stock), Light, Doesn't Chop, and Air Friendly.
Weaknesses: Have not found any.
Review: 1. This gun is all out incredible. The eye is extremely fast and if you have a fast hopper on it this gun will rip. It is very air friendly and doesn't need much. I suggest getting a adjustible ram cap so there is not as much air pressure on the balls when you shoot. Though, no upgrades are needed for this gun. The only thing I don't like is the cleaning it is really hard and takes a while to clean everything. But if you plan on spending that much on a gun you should take the time to clean it.

2. When I grabed the marker and took it out of the box I was amazed!!! It was so incredibly light and was at least two pounds lighter than my other gun. When I first played with the marker which was about a week and a half later I was amazed yet again. I did not need to refil my tank all day. I had not used my tank, I used my friends 68 4500. I took the gun to the chrono and the only thing I had to adjust was the pressure in my gage. The volocity was set fine. I took it out to the field and I started playing against another team that was there that day. I saw that I was shooting streams of paint and when I walked off the field after the game I read the LCD and it said that I had shot 17 bps. I had never shot that many balls a second in my life. The gun was all out amazing. If I were someone thinking about getting this gun I would in a second.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone and if you are thinking about getting one you should. It is the best gun that I have ever shot.... GET IT SOON!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 21st, 2005 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

littlekev6102 Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just aboput every high-end out there
Marker Setup: 2k4 Black/Red /Chrome fadeTexas Storm Intimadator
Hybrid Adjustable Ram Cap
CP Trigger
Frenzy board
Red Halo B w/ rip
45/45 Crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
bolt
grips if you would like them
Strengths: FAST
comes with a clamping feedneck
LCD screen if you like it like me
Weaknesses: On the heavier side
not too efficient
Review: Well i just got this gun in a trade. Its pretty really nice, looks great, and FAST!
I took it in my backyard and start shooting a tree and this thing RIPPSSS! A few seconds later, I was done with the hopper. I wasn't to accurate with the stock barrel and all bet it wasn't horrible. I refilled and started taking single shots more for the accuracy. Not good but not bad but i wasn't using the best paint in the world. Anyhoo after a while my tank was empty! so i cleaned it and everything and put it away. The next day i went to go shoot it again and it was leaking horribly! I took it to my local shop and they said the cup seal was broken. It only cost 5 dollars but it was still such a hassle. Now its all done and i love it still.
Conclusion: All in all its a good gun
I'm gonna give it a 9 because its not perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FuzzyGreyTurd Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Impulses, Angels, other Timmy's
Marker Setup: 2003 black to grey fade
Blade trigger
check-it clamping feed
hydro delrin bolt
cp front reg.
2004 macdev reg.
macro-line setup
macdev 68 4000 conquest
CP adjustable ram cap
CP blade trigger
Empire 7piece barel kit
was 2.7 board ( swhtched from frenzy brecause of excess bounce)
CP flame drop
"egg" loader with the z board
surefit clamping neck feed
Macdev conquest 68 4500 reg and tank
Dye sticky grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
The upgrades that I have on mine make this gun one of the best I've shot. Out of the box this gun performes well, but does need a few thigs to work perfectly.
#1 barrel kit
#2 ram cap adjuster
#3 fast loader
#4 good air
Strengths: This gun is milled beautifully. It is very light and consistent. great colors
Weaknesses: Needs barrel kit, could have a probles with different size paints
Review: I would have to say that I am very pleased and impresed with this gun. When I first purchased it from Predator Paintball I was supposed to receive a red to black fade. Well that never showed up, but in place of it they offered me a grey to black storm. What luck, I ended up with a gun that I think is much better lookig than most
Now to Performance: the first time I put paint thru this gun I was amazed at the bps. this frickin' thing laid ropes and ropes and, you know what I mean. The problem I found with the frenzy board that came in it was that no matter how I tried to change the setting it would "OVER" debounce. I tried trigger adjustment, dwell settings, new loaders, new barrels, expansion chambers and awhole lot of little stuff. I foud that my problem was with the ram cap. This gun definately need an adjustable ram cap. Other wise the ball rests out of sight of the vision eye and make the gun freeze up. You could always change the eye mode to bypass but that defeats the whole purpose of having the eye..
Once this $35 problem was solved I must admit, this frickin gun kick$$ big A$$
Conclusion: Great Gun - Could use a barrel kit - Very fast and accurate - Durable - Light - Gorgeous
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 9th, 2004 at 12:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2K2 Intimidators, Lasoya, BKO's, Cockers, Angels
Marker Setup: Black TX Storm Timmy, Halo B, 88/5000 PMI Pure Energy Tank, CP Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adj. Ram Cap, Drop or rail, Upgraded Barrel
Strengths: Fast, light, well designed.
Weaknesses: None
Review: A top of the line, fully upgradeable markers, the Storm Kicks butt. It's the best 2nd Gen. intimidator for the price as it comes with the WAS board and only needs minimal upgrades. It's a paint throwing machine and out of the 3 Timmy's I've owned, it's by and far the best.
Conclusion: You've got to get one. It's the best milled, best looking marker, a lightning fast machine!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rezdawg Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've shot Lasoya's, 2k2's, Z's, Empire's, Shockers (04), B2K's and an IR4. Obviously all the timmy's were very similar (with the exception of the Empire - much lighter!) with only minor differences, the Shocker was nice but the owner of it has had too many problems with it, the B2K is a SWEET gun for the price tag, and the IR4 I wasn't very impressed with besides the really fancy manual it comes with.
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Fade Storm Intimidator
-WAS v2.7
-KAPP Thumper Ram
-Razor Technatrigger w/Magnetic Return
-CP Volumizer
-Torpedo Inline
-ANS Adjustable Ram Cap
-ANS Slotted Bolt
-Dye Ultralight 12"
-MacDev Rail
-WGP 70/4500 Adjustable
Recommended
Upgrades:
Usual pre-Alias/Empire parts are required. Adjustable ram cap is pretty much all you need to start, everything else is just icing on the cake. A new barrel would be advised, as well as a technatrigger (because they're the best, of course). The volumizer & KAPP ram helped out with recoil.
Strengths: Ease of use, consistency, accuracy, SPEED!, looks, and SPEED.
Weaknesses: No weaknesses that can't be resolved. More about this in the full review.
Review: Once you get this gun dialed in - like any Timmy - it will rip like no other. I got mine after playing with several friends who also owned timmy's - so I knew if I ever needed a spare part of help fixing it I would have plenty of support. After I shot a few of their Lasoya's and Z's, I was hooked. With the right upgrades, you can drop the kick down to almost nil and outshoot your halo.

My Storm originally came with a SOB board (I think I got ripped on that), but I soon replaced it with a WAS board. While I had the SOB board I experienced many chops at higher rates of fire, but after I switched to WAS the chops mostly went away. The only other chops came when the halo double fed, which was solved with extra hard ball detents from paintball kingdom. After the WAS board and detents, I have not chopped one single ball. I don't even carry a squeegee with me on the field anymore, because I never need one.

All in all, this gun hasn't let me down and performs just like any other timmy would - flawless. Maintenence is a breeze once you understand the internals, and if you're the type that likes to "tinker" there are a ton of upgrades that this gun will take. You don't need them, mind you, but that didn't stop me. And not very many of the upgrades - and the initial purchase of the gun - are very cheap... but you get what you pay for!
Conclusion: If you've got the budget and want a gun that will stay with you for a long time, this (or any other timmy) is the one. It's fast, it's sexy, it doesn't chop and it will cost you an arm and a leg in paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 11:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media