paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly / M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly / M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly / M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly

M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount M3 Paintball Products

Buy M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $625

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
M3 has a brand new semi-only electronic marker that shoots from the closed bolt position. Autococker accessories will not fit on this marker, but Spyder threaded barrels will.
Product Availability 
The M3 Paintball Products Dragunfly is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Mark00A-5 Sunday, June 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested38 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any electro-cockers are much like this. Regular pnuematic cockers only relate in distance and accuracy. It also reminds me of the standard black draguns, consitering the fact the marker uses a trigger frame from them.
Marker Setup: AKA Viking - Teardrop Barrel - 45/4500 low output crossfire - Egg2

Need a halo though - too dern fast :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - Regulator - Different Board - Different Frame
Strengths: Closed Bolt-
Distance&Accuracy
Electro-
Speed
LowPressure-
Air Usage
M3-
Price&Quality
Weaknesses: GripFrame-
Compfort
Lack of Regulator-
Consistancy
New-
Availability&Upgrades
Review: Goods

Closed Bolt- This means that the bolt, when aired up, is closed. When you pull the trigger - the bolt moves back, puts a ball in the chamber, and then closes. After closing, it fires. The opposite to this is open bolt.
----Distance - The distance is very nice - simular to that of a autococker. Autocockers are known for their long distance and predictable ball flight. This is due to the fact that its closed bolt
----Accuracy - Shots are very closly grouped. The balls don't usually spin around, and curve like they would on other markers. Balls go where the marker is aimed.
Electro- This means the trigger is controled by a microswitch in the trigger. Making the required shooting trigger pull very short alowing...
-----Speed - The marker shot very nicely on speed. Could get ALOT better though, see bads.
Low Pressure- This means the marker takes very low ammounts of air pressure to fire. Low pressure markers have less recoil (thus resulting in greater accuracy) and will affect...
-----Air Usage - The marker is very nice on air. You can get alot of shots off any nitro or co2 tank.
M3- The marker is made by M3 paintball. A very well known and respected company, known for its quality in markers. Alot of us higher end marker people are probably thinking "but the draguns are nothing compaired to my marker" - true - but put their markers in compairison to spyder markers (the designs are the same, so its a more 'fair' compairison) and the dragun blows them away by far, on reliability and everything. The same traits apply to this marker as well.
-----Price - Great price for a marker that is basicly an electro cocker with better designs. The price of electro cockers are 900+, while this one is 450 or less.
-----Quality - Great customer service and qualtiy in the marker.

Bads

Grip Frame- The grip frame is the actual metal 45. grip with trigger that the marker sits on.
-----Compfort - The grip frame is in an awkward position. Its nor really all that bad, but it will take getting used to.
Lack of Regulator- Regulators are the mechanism used to regulate air, so that only the right amount of pressure enters the marker.
-----Consistancy - I beleive they sell them without regulators. I'm not sure though, if somone knows, please Instant Message me and I can edit it. The one I tested has a PMI regulator on it. The consistancy wasn't impressive at all. A better regulator would, however, fix that.
New- The design is totally new, and has just hit the scene. So...
-----Availability - These markers will be sold out for a long while, I'd wait about 3 months before attempting to get one, unless you plan to get one for a full retail on ebay or elsewhere. Whichever your willing to do!
-----Upgrades - The design is brand spankin' new. It will take a while for aftermarket companys to recognize, and redesign possible flaws or issues from this marker and start producing parts. This is rather unpleasant because the board and gripframe need MAJOR work. The board is set at 8.5 balls per second stock, and the gripframe+trigger could get alot better.
Conclusion: All in all, I'm happy to see m3 with what could be a VERY successful marker. I like what I saw when I tested. I hope that upgrades arrive soon though, there are parts of it that are easily changed. Ordeal marker for any tournament, or rec player. I give it a 9 for the great new design. The only thing stopping it from a 10 are the silly mistakes of not making a new frame and using a 8.5 preset board.

Check out the comment Tritan3 posted on my review - Great information tritan3, I owe ya one! Thanx!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 19th, 2003 at 11:03 am PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

malys8300 Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus and the comparesion is night and day. My spyder used to chop alot and was not accurate at all. This gun is the best in every aspect.
Marker Setup: Blue M3 Dragunfly with a D Reg Regulator, 14 in. Spyder Widowmaker Barrel, ACI Bulldog III Preset - 91ci 4500 High, Ricochet 2K Hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro, new barrel, electric hopper, regulator, delrin bolt.
Strengths: Great accuratcy, quiet, works like and autococker, awesome price.
Weaknesses: a little heavy
Review: This gun is AWESOME!!! All my friends own impulses and when they shot my gun they agreed it was sweet. For the price it is the best out their. You dont need to spend over $700 just for a gun to have the name "autococker". Ive seen so many reviews that said this gus isnt a true autococker because. Screw them. It looks, shoots, feels, and works like and autococker I say it is one. Its the best gun you can get for its price and its quality is amazing! Just get some nitro, a new barrel, and an electric hopper and your set to go.
Conclusion: Get this gun! Its amazing!!! You cant go wrong in getting this gun. Even for experienced players as well for players who can afford guns over $800 at a time. I cant get expensive stuff so I got this and it hasn't wronged me yet. BEST GUN EVER!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballpro99 Sunday, June 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autocockers,e-blade oracle,warlock,etc.
Marker Setup: b2k2 w. the works
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel
Strengths: accuracy,lenth of shot,velocity,really fast trig.
Weaknesses: No forgrip pisses me off.
Review: The accuracy of this thing is crazy. It is as good as a warlock but a lot cheaper. I am buying it i write this. The velocity is staedy w. some nitro and the trigger is really light. The whole gun is well worth the 500. A must buy. m3 has another top of the line product
Conclusion: A very good gun. Well worth the money. A must buy. I give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

King-Smurf Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: stock with WGP Ergo Reg and drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel , Reg , New Bolt If Needed , Custom Even Beaver Tail , Drop If Needed And A LCD Upgrade Kit
Strengths: Speed , Acc... This Gun Is Worth All The Money And Plus More
Weaknesses: No Reg ,
Review: i love the milling on this gun the body is just fine but i wish they were more colours to pick from or fades , i hope to see better milling in the years to come the tigger is kinda funny looking but it whould look better in time i say sooner the better
Conclusion: Even tho the dragunfly and cocker may look the same there not , It's a cocker type maker which runs the same way, This maker has it's own up's and downs , There are alot of diffrent cockers out there which some are better then the other , So why compare this marker to a 1200$ marker , For the price this maker out shoots it's price range , With a few upgrades already out and a few more on the way this gun well have it's own place in paintball , With a LCD screen ,aluminum double trigger ,SMC 5-Way Valve ,Quick Release Bolt ,Dragun Thread Barrel ,Low Pressure Operation ,Custom Milled Body ,This maker is Capable to 20 BPS
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 9th, 2003 at 9:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

warpaint882002 Tuesday, July 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autocockers, impulses
Marker Setup: dragunfly, system x regulator, system x on/off drop forward, aci grafiti barrel,egg II
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator, barrel, drop forward
Strengths: accuracy, distance, speed
Weaknesses: little heavy
Review: body is a little heavy but not too heavy. grip frame takes a little while to get used to. the milling on the gun is very sweet. it may need a low rise if you play up front. the trigger is nice and easily reaches its top speed of 10bps.
Conclusion: i really liked this product, with some upgrades it shoots like a wonder and can beat about any gun in accuracy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cameronpetty Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, Spyder Shutter, JT Exelerator 5.0/3.0 , Angle, WGP AutoCocker
Marker Setup: M3 Dragunfly with System X regulator and ACI dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator, Dropforward, Nitro, New Barrel
Strengths: ACCURATE AS HECK
Weaknesses: Needs fast hopper, no foregrip is stupid (stock
Review: This gun is the best gun i have ever used!!!! It looks sooo awsome, shoots so awsome, and feels so awsome!!! This is a very very underestimated gun. No one gives the DragunFly enough credit. In the game, you feel way more confident with yourself and you look very intimidating. Everyone is jelaous that i can hit my mark and they cant. lol
Conclusion: G E T T H I S G U N ! ! ! ! You have to get this gun, it is the best any of my friends and i have ever seen!!! looks beautiful in the game
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

draguneer Saturday, November 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 WGP vf autococker, Black Draguns (electronics)
Marker Setup: Blue Dragunfly LED, Reg. + Chrome Drop, 47ci 3k HPA, JT 14" Barrel, Dye Titanium 14" Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a Regulator, Drop Foward (if you prefer one), Barrel...Compressed air...
Strengths: Electronic, Closed Bolt (like an autococker)....
Weaknesses: Kind of Heavy, Needs upgrades to work.
Review: This gun is awesome. I traded my '03 WGP cocker for a Dragunfly LED. Man, this has to be one of the best guns for its price. The reason I traded for this gun was because I didn't really have the cash for an e-blade, plus I didn't want to spend $100's of dollars on upgrades to my damn cocker, which is worth crap once I decide to sell it. Also, I like electros, and I was familiar with the electros from Dragun, so I decided to try this gun out.
Once I recieved this gun, I noticed it was on the heavier side...but I didn't care. The looks on this thing was amazing, but the milling was just as good as a 2k3 WGP cocker. This gun runs on Low Pressure, so you will need to buy a regulator to adjust the psi entering the gun. The gun runs @ (I believe, 300-350psi). The goods to this is that you will get more shots to your tank and it has less recoil, which doesn' t rattle your gun apart, and is a lot quieter. When I first aired it up, I hardly heard any leaks (if at all) unlike my 2k3 cocker. I turned this baby on, and started firing. Do Not shoot C02 in this gun, as it ruins the internals.
The trigger pull is very smooth and very light, if you depress the trigger and hold it, the back block stays open, just like an autococker. This surprised me, it added a nice effect to the gun. Also, unlike other draguns, this has an aluminum trigger, which seemed kinda fat but it feels nice once you get used to it. The handle itself is a bit large, but its not really anything once you get used to it. The chrome adds a nice effect also, to the looks. You can easily uptain the capped 10bps, which may seem slow to some, but its an LED version. If you don't have the money to buy an egg2 or halo yet, this is just fine. If you want later, you can purchase the LCD to shoot to a max. 20 bps.
The weaknesses this gun had was that you don't have a beavertail, which protects you from the back block coming and hitting you in the face, but you can easily correct this by not letting your face or mask too close. If you really want, just buy a beavertail from www.dragunempire.com. Another thing that might be a weakness is the bolt pin is a bit hard to get out, but since I did not recieve a handbook when I traded, there probably is an easy way to show you how to field strip in the manual.
Oh yeah, the Barrel threads are spyder, so if you are just bumping up onto a different gun and you have your old spyder barrel handy, you can use it.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun outperformed my 2k3 cocker (which always had problems)...you can find the LED version of the Dragunfly for less than any stock 2k3 cocker, and you are getting an electro which can shoot faster than a stock 2k3 cocker too. If you are new to higher-end guns, or never had an autococker before, I would suggest renting one before you try to buy a Dragunfly. See how you like autocockers...and if you don't, then don't spend your money on one. Also, this gun is cheaper than the e-blade for an Autococker, but the only weakness is that it doesn't have an eye. I rated this a 9 because a gun that deserves a 10 should clean itself after every game.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 28th, 2004 at 8:48 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sovereign Monday, January 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Worr-blade Autococker, except the aesthetics, LCD screen and other gimmicks, I don't think there is any noticable difference between the Dragunfly and the Worr-blade. They both shoot ultra-accurate, they both cycle more than fast enough and they both fire the balls an unusually long distance.
Marker Setup: My primary gun is a Dragunfly with Angel reg, C5 adjustable drop and N2
I also still use my old-school 1996 Sterling Sovereign (version 1) with the first 18v Viewloader ever made, an expansion chamber (it shoots +/- 5 fps without a regulator!) and a 7oz. CO2 tank that came with my 1993 F2 Illustrator. By the way, the F2 can still outshoot any new mech-Spyder!
Recommended
Upgrades:
According to the manual you must use a reg and N2, I was afraid that the CO2 might freeze the 5-way electronic solenoid, so I complied, but I know someone else who has the same gun and uses CO2 without a problem.
Strengths: Ultra-accurate and fast electrococker, its a E-Blade/Worr-blade without the pricetag
Weaknesses: As an old-school-player, I prefer single-finger-triggers &a siterail insteadof centerfeed
Review: I get special pride every time I nail someone with an E-Blade or Worr-Blade Auto-cocker as I did not just shoot their pride, but also their wallet! I have beaten countless Eblade and Worrblade wielding Autocockers with the DragunFly electro! This thing is crazy fast and with good paint, can shoot a cockeroach from 20 feet on the first shot!
Conclusion: Don't blow your money on the expensive E-Blades or Worr-Blades, buy the Dragunfly, it propells the balls exactly the same!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vacantbrain Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders?
Marker Setup: 14" CP barrel, antichop delrin bolt, and co2 unfortunately...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, nitro/compressed air.
Strengths: Closed bolt, only paid $130, electronic trigger, uses spyder barrels, mine came with a reg.
Weaknesses: Leaked from macroline, occasionally chops balls.
Review: Don't think this gun is an autococker, because it isn't. This is a very good gun for it's price. I got it for $130 brand new. This thing beats anything in it's price range, and allot of guns double what I paid for it. I would recommend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you don't have too much cash, but want a good gun. I give it a 10 because of the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media