paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit / CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit / CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit / CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit

CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Complete Expansion Chamber Add-On Kit. Includes: Expansion Chamber, Vertical Adapter and Steel Braided Air Hose. Everything you need to add an expansion chamber to your Tippmann Custom 98.

Please note this kit will only work with the CUSTOM 98.
Product Availability 
The CMI International Expansion Chanber Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Avery Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All sorts of expansion chambers and regs on the 98
Marker Setup: 98 Custom - Ballistic Sports EM Kit, LP Internals, GTA Newstyle X/C, Shocktech Medium D/F, Flatline w. Sureshot Red Dot, Lapco Bigshot w. Smart Parts Hi-Viz, Custom Trigger Return Spring, Polished, Honed & Silenced Internals
Aim Paintball Crow Autococker - Stock internals, Intimidator Barrel, CCM Sniper II Kit
PT Professional - Custom Remote Fill Nipple, Hopper Adaptor, Ronin Leg Holster
Strengths: Fits the 98 perfectly, comfy
Weaknesses: None, except it's not a reg
Review: This is identical to the GTA (Genuine Tippmann Accessories) newstyle expansion chamber. I have a feeling that Tippmann hired this company to make them then resold them. Perhaps that deal fell through so they are simply continuing to make them and sell them on their own.

First, the X/C seems to work well. It's hard to tell with the CVX valve if an X/C is working well, but they are all the same on the inside, really. Any X/C will basically perform the same. The key factors here are... it comes with a vertical adaptor (not the LP one, sadly), it comes with a perfect SS hose if you don't use a dropforward, and it fits the 98 perfectly. The finger grooves are exactly spaced the same as the foregrip, the line at the bottom of the X/C makes the bottom parallel to the barrel despite the 98's angled foregrip, the X/C spins in two spots meaning that it's fully adjustible and can point any direction (nice!), and even better you can unscrew it without removing the hose!

Inside, it's just a couple empty chambers, but that's what an x/c is. I like the feel of this thing so much that I don't use a regulator on my 98 despite the fact that it is the only part missing on my gun. I even run compressed air and choose to keep using this as a perfect foregrip. I bought a PMI reg thinking it might fit the 98 as well. Nope. I bought a WGP Ergo reg thinking the fit might be as good, but nope, and the inlet can't be positioned as easily.
Conclusion: This thing is really well made, every possible attention to detail (other than a dummy hole for a gauge, but I wouldn't use one anyways), and it fits any 98 really well. If you have a Model 98 it WILL work, you just need a different hose or a C/A adaptor off a Model 98 for the hose to be long enough. Anyways, if you use a dropforward it doesn't matter either way!

One of the only products I will give a perfect 10! Now, if only they would make a regulator the same shape....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

xfishchowx182 Wednesday, May 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 custom
exp chamber
double trigger
rt trigger
bullet drop w/on off
14 in J&J ceramic barrel
evo 2
Strengths: -Easy to install
-More comfy than stock front grip
-Makes gun more efficient, consistent
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this upgrade for my tippmann because it was a gas hog and i wanted to upgrade it and make it look nice. So i installed this on my gun and I noticed a great difference in how much air i was using. and this also my shots more consistant keeping my velocity from dropping shot to shot.
Conclusion: Great for any tippmann, if you are looking to make your gun more efficient and also want it to look nice this is for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nathan115 Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann custom 98
expansion chamber
16" werks barrel
Strengths: looks great!
uses less CO2
more conistant shots
Weaknesses: hard to install
can get very cold...Wear gloves
Review: I bought this product for 40$, because i was using a stock tippmann and i was tired of going through CO2 like crazy.

It took me 3 hours to install, so here are a few installation tips.

1. When you screw in the vertical adapter, use a vice...it makes installation sooo much easier.

2. Do not use the cheap liquid locktite it comes with. Go out and buy the teflon tape, it works much much better.

3. When you are screwing on the vertical adapter, check the fit in the gun...because mine didn't fit with only one thread showing, so i had to unscrew it, redo the tape, and screw it in until two threads were showing.

Once you get through installation it is awesome. have fun.
Conclusion: Great pruduct! I give it a 9 because of the crappy locktite that they gave me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JRtippmannpb Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
response trigger
double trigger
expansion chamber
rocket cock II
Rear velocity adjuster
14' and 16' AA barrel
32* flame drop foward
3-9x scope
egg II hopper
trigger stop
20oz c02
Strengths: Consistancy
Durability
Good foregrip
Fairly easy to install
Weaknesses: Sorta heavy
Only a 2 stage expansion chamber
Price
Review: I bought this expansion chamber basically becuase i wanted a good foregrip. i found this expansion chamber fairly consistant. it was fairly easy to install as long as u remember to unscrew the power tube and remember that there should only be 2 threads showing after u screw it in. its not that hard to install
Conclusion: this is a fairly good expansion chamber but there are better ones out there and it is only a 2 stage chamber. as for the price its $40 at most websites. if u want a good foregrip and a somewhat consistant X chamber i would recomend this
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Craig Niland Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer Stabilizer
Marker Setup: 98 Custom:
Hyperstar Bolt
Response Trigger with 1/8 inch Macro line upgrades
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
BT Apex barrel system
12V VL Revolution
Rocket Cockit II
Large Bullet Drop foward
Pure Energy 48 CI 3,000 PSI HPA tank W/ Dye Rhino Cover
Lapco offsets with 30 mm BSA red dot sight.
Palmer Stabilizer with Vertical Adaptor
Strengths: Gives C02 a place to expand
Weaknesses: Blows o-rings very easilly (see review)
Review: After I got the VA screwed and loctited into the powertube, and the hoses hooked up, I was ready to test.
I don't have any official chrono #'s, but it would be logical this would decrease FPS deviations by stabilizing the C02's pressure.
The downsides: First off, as with any expansion chamber or reg, it will get cold when you use it with Co2.
Secondly: The expansion chamber give the C02 a reserve to expand in before it is shot. This means, when you unscrew the C02 tank there is alot of air trying to get out. Now, if you're one of the few people who unscrew it a few turns, then shoot all the air out of you gun, the you'll be fine. Or, if you have an on/off ASA or tank. But, if you're one of the many people who just unscrew their tank really fast to get it off your gun, then you'll have a big problem. The expansion chamber will hold enough air for... I think it was around 20 shots once the tank pin is disengaged. This is compared to the 3 or 4 the standard steel braided hoses would hold. So, try unscrewing you tank without shooting the air out of the lines/expansion chamber, and your tank will start hissing insanely loud. Then, it will blow off, out of you hand with a loud pop. You need a new o-ring now, BTW.
This was the biggest weakness in my opinion; the inability to easilly remove a gassed up tank from my gun.
Conclusion: For $50 dollars, it's not a horrible deal. The only reason I say this is the Vertical Adaptor it comes with is a $20 value, and can be used to mount a reg in the future (like me).
In the end, if you plan on sticking with C02, this is an option to look into, otherwise, I'd very strongly recommend saving up and getting a Palmer Reg. Their seals are specially designed to handle C02, and won't be broken down through time like some of the HPA regs. I did, and I've never looked back.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dontfconmigo21 Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
any other x-chamber
anti-siphon
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom, this x-chamber, this vertical adapter, 16inch armson stealth, 20oz CO2, red dot sight
Strengths: adds consistency to CO2
no more snowflakes coming out of my barrel
Weaknesses: too expensive for what you get
pain to put in (my vert adapter barely fit)

Review: Well, sadly i needed a quick fix an so i got it. my gun was shooting snowflakes which obviously wasn't a good thing, this dealy fixed that, though i understand that an anti-siphon will do the same thing for alot cheaper. A compressed air tank only costs $20 more so don't get it if you ever considered going with HPA.
Conclusion: This is in no way shape or form a $60 fix. There simply isn't that much change in performance. For those that have $80 I suggest you go with the HPA tank, It fixes velocity problems, consistency, and there is no damaging liquid running through your gun. If you want to go cheaper, and anti-siphon kit only costs $10 and does everything the x-chamber does. I'm giving it a 3 because I think it's way too much money for what it does.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lite-u-up3 Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other expansions for the 98
Marker Setup: custom 98
lots of upgrades
Strengths: the adapter comes in handy
I'll explain in the review below
Weaknesses: freezes my hands of
very fat
not consistant
Review: This is an ok product but I'd recomend something else. The only good thing I found with this is if you unscrew the chamber you can put your tank there like a spyder compact or point zero. If you want to do that just buy the the adapter itself.
The down side is that after a while it got cold from using c02 and I had to wear gloves. Also the chamber is very fat and I don't like it but that's just preference.
Conclusion: I'm not too happy with this product. There are lots out there that are better. Don't buy this.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 1st, 2003 at 8:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Suirlinddracus Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other expansion chambers
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c-14" PMI Razzor-GTA Double Trigger-Expancion chamber-32 Degrese drop forward-20oz. co2
Strengths: Fits good handles comfortable, you can shoot faster without marker jamming.
Weaknesses: The first time I got one it complete destroyed my valve.
Review: Its all good it fits good handles comfortable, you can shoot faster without marker jamming but the first time I got one it complete destroyed my valve so don't install it yourself but I recommend getting it but don't install yourself because if your a serious paintballer with a 98c you are going to need this.
Conclusion: I recommend getting it but don't install yourself.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eyesbleedclear Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98c
expansion chamber
responce trigger
double trigger
stock
scope
cmi 21" qb barrel
flatline
titanium teflon powertube
Strengths: Longer front grip more consistency
Weaknesses: Hard to install
Review: Very detailed instructions but still very hard to install broke powertube installing it but bought a titanium one anyway went on easier then i tested my marker before and after installation and found minor improvement maybe it will work more in the winter but ihave yet to playin winter anyway it looks great except with a dopfoward then a shorter metalbraided hose is recomended but not needed
Conclusion: If you demand the best accurace and consistency of your marker in every climate and season i would recomend getting this
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meola Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other X chambers
Marker Setup: Angel Speed
68/4500 Blue Kiss A.I.R
Evil Pipe Bomb barrel Kit
Strengths: Comes with the Vertical Adapter and Steel braided line.
Weaknesses: none
Review: This is a great X chamber for the price. It comes with everything you need which is great because you dont have to go out and get all the pieces, you get them all at once. This upgrade is only good on the 98 if you are running Co2 if you are running HPA then there is no point in getting a X chamber it wont do diddly squat since HPA is already gas. Just get yourself a good reg.
Conclusion: I highly reccomend this upgrade to anyone using there 98 custom with Co2. It will improve your gas to shot ratio and will help with velocity spikes and drops at the crono.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media