paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
hambone Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom / 14" CP clasic / Tippmann expansion chamber / 20 oz pmi CO2 bottle / polished internals / trigger modifications.....more to come
Strengths: no fogging
comfrortable
small profile
field of view
glare reduction
ease of cleaning
Weaknesses: none to mention
Review: Received this mask from my fiance on valentines day
She ordered the purple mask

Very first thing i noticed was the sheere beauty of this mask. Then came the trial fit....this mask is the most comfortable mask i have worn as of yet. With my large ears and small head it is hard to find a mask that I can wear during a full game of ball, but this fit like a glove

Now it was game time. I play where there are not too many good looking markers or equipment so I received numerous comments on how nice the mask looked. Now i went out to play and honestly did not realize that I had a mask on due to the comfort level and the wide field of view. I was running and breathing extremely hard and surprisingly enough not even the slightest bit of fogging occurred.

On the speed ball field the sun was shining extremely bright but yet i had no problem with glare, I could see everyone and did not even feel like i had a protective barrier of plastic in front of me.

Now came the famed goggle shot test. Yes I received a few well placed shots in the lenses and tried both methods of cleaning the splatter....first wiping....a few quick wipes and my lenses were clear as the day i got the mask, this is surprising since most lenses smudge for a bit when paint is on them....then water....just a quick rinse with no wiping and the lenses were clear as a fresh rain.

Not only did these goggles make me look good but i feel they made me play better too...this is the first time i have never had to worry about fogging, smudging or not being able to see people with my peripheral vision...needless to say this is by far the best Valentines present I could have possibly received.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this product to anyone who is tired of fogging smudging not being able to see, or simply getting their head smashed by their old mask
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AJcool Friday, November 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray Goggle
JT Nvader Goggle
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 Avant, Smart Parts All American 2000 14'' Barrel, Empire Reloader, JT Proteus Mask w/ Vortex Fan and new thermal Lens, JT Gloves
Strengths: See Below
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: The JT Proteus mask is a good buy if your looking to get a good mask. Its main rival in my opinion is the Dye Invision, they are both good goggles, but a lot of people like the feel of the proteus mask more. The key thing with the proteus mask is not to harm the lens. Never touch the inside of the lens with anything but water and a micro fiber cloth. Im serious when i say that, it will ruin it if you use lens cleaner, or a harmful surface to rub it. The mask wont fog if the thermal coating hasnt been harmed from the inside of the mask. A vortex fan is a decent upgrade if you want to circulate the air better.

The Good
-Small Mask = Small Target
-Its stylish
-Doesnt fog without harmed lens (dont touch inside)
-Fits comfortably to your face

The Bad
-Tends to keep all your re-breathed air inside the mask, can get muggy.
-Not a lot of breathing room, the mask is held close to your face
Conclusion: I recommend that you buy this mask over others. You can get it for 50 dollars and you can upgrade it. The vortex fan works decently, and you can buy new lens'es with colors or just to replace. I have not used the communication kit but that also is built for this goggle. I subtracted a point because this mask has bad circulation. You end up breathing your air over and over again without a fan. When you run fast and breath hard this can be annoying.

edit: took off another point after playing with it more. It really makes it hard to breath a lot because its so tight to your face.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

4tene Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, Hybrid feed neck w/ adjustable collar and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: VERY comfortable, light, never seen it fog.
Weaknesses: Lens is fragile.... scratches kind of easy.
Review: When my buddy first bought it... I couldn't believe he was willing to pay that much for it... when it arrived, I was completely impressed... Looks good, nice and light, very comfortable, breaks down easy, doesn't fog, good field of view... I mean, there's virtually nothing wrong with this mask in my eyes. It's definatey worth the money. And if you're a JT man like myself, what more could you ask for?
Conclusion: Price tag looks big... but it's worth every penny. If you're looking into masks, get this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 24th, 2005 at 9:27 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kblaster Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7
Marker Setup: Esprit 14" custom products stainless barrel,32 degrees blow forward block,12volt xbaord rev hopper, java bottom line ACI gas through foregrip, ACI quick disconnect coil remote , 47 / 3000 cross fire C/A tank.
Strengths: VERY form fitting to my face.makes for a nice snug fit. and smaller target.
Weaknesses: If the humidity is up and your a heavy breather it WILL fog.
Review: GREAT mask I love mine. Like I said I had a fog problem with mine. I bought a Vortex fan for my goggles Im not sure if it fixed the problem because I haven't played in high humidity since that day but I will let you know how it works when I do. Has not fogged since that day though. Looks Awesome! Feels Awesome! Very comfortable. Good quality mask.
Conclusion: Great low profile mask. If you are buying it only for the "ADVANCED COMMUNICATION" thing don't bother. Its a nice idea but not very effective. But other than that a good sound buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 16th, 2003 at 3:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bmxer2002 Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invisions
proflex
Marker Setup: 2k2 chrome angel LCD
2k3 board, 14 way, etc..
warped sports dual volumizers
egg 2
P.E. 68/30 tank
Strengths: its a really small target. kinda cool looking.
Weaknesses: they tend to fog up. kinda heavy. they get really hot too.
Review: i got these for my birthday. i loved them,until it got hot. it feels about 100 degrees inside thosewhen its hot outside. the communication ear pieces dont really serve a purpose either. they are small targets though. ive gotten a couple of good bounces off of them too. this mask is good if you wanna look somewhat cool. but your better off getting the dye invisions.
Conclusion: this mask is good if you wanna look somewhat cool. but your better off getting the dye invisions. ill give it a 7 because of the smallnes of it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

scooter7897 Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
some jt package thing
jt flex 7
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot acs '05: 14" tru flight barrel
low rise clamping feed neck
run on co2 (tank size varies)
Strengths: Field of vision
Looks nice (steel blue)
Weaknesses: Uncomfortable
No neck or chin proction
Review: This mask looks sweet and I really wish I could have tried it on before buying but I ordered it online. It never did fog up on me. The field of vision is great.
Before I go to far let me say I don't really have a big head ( 7 & 1/8 fitted cap ). This mask really digs in on the back side of my head. Even with a bandanna I still could feel it. With a cap on backwards it wasn't as bad but still could tell. Not sure if that was because i was looking for it or not. Also doesn't offer much proction for the chin and lower.
Conclusion: Really not a bad mask. Didn't fog on me and i loved the field of vision. Just didn't fit my melon.
Always try on a mask before you buy a mask!!!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 7th, 2006 at 12:04 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

WGPplayer42 Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Rader Mask, Flex-7, stock masks at fields.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Flatline
R/T
WGP Autococker Vert Feed 2004
Dye Ultralite
Drop Forward
Cradle
12 v Revy
Strengths: Doesn't Fog
Very Comforatable
Intimidating for people who don't play often
Weaknesses: Its a low profile mask, so it doesn't offer neck protection
Little Pricey
Review: Its a low profile mask, so you can't realy complain about that. Just buy a neck protecter for $8 to fill the gap. You know what your paying for when you get it, on humid days it fogs a bit. Nice foam lining the goggles very comforatble, fit my face (medium size) very well. Its also really cool looking. Its very intimidating for irregular players who just use field equipment, as does having your own gun, such as an autococker. Its a little pricey depending where you buy it, must online stores carry it for about $70. I paid that at my local sports authority including a 25% discount. It also comes with a bag for you goggles. I would recommend it to anyone
Conclusion: Buy it worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

levitynyc Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals. JT nVader. JT nForcer.
Marker Setup: not important....its a mask
Strengths: Super Comfortable. Has not fogged on me yet. Looks cool. Wide field of vision.
Weaknesses: Throat / Jaw Protection. Hearing adjustment thing makes no difference.
Review: The Good:

Mask offers superior anti-fog technology. It is a pleasure to put it on, I'm a newer player and I've used rental masks and have borrowed friends of mine's lower level masks from JT. This mask blows them COMPLETELY out of the water.

After about an hour of playing you barely notice you have a mask on. It naturally fits around my head and face. i bought the steel blue one and have had refs and other teams comment on how awesome the mask looks.

The Vortex fan easily snaps in underneath the visor.

It offers a 260 degree field of vision which makes a huge difference in peripheral vision. Cleaning the lenses is a snap.

If you are a talker, sound resonates well out of the mouth guard.

The Not-so-good:

The hearing technology bragged about from JT means nothing....it really doesnt.

Another half an inch on the throat and chin protection area would do wonders. If your mouth is open wide your chin is exposed.

True story: I poked my head out of a bunker when a paintball came in from my left and smacked me in the side of my head towards the front. The mask held up great as I didnt feel much pain...but the impact knocked my head backwards....almost instantly another one came in and POW!!! i took one flush right underneath my chin. Another half an inch of mask would have saved me the use of a band aid.

It really is a great mask and would be perfect if it had better jaw and neck protection.

Dont be fooled by high internet prices for this mask. (75-100 bucks)
Conclusion: An awesome mask. The pros definitely outweigh the cons. Excellant mask for all skill levels. Go get it!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 27th, 2004 at 9:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cybrax Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A V-force mask Profiler(Pretty Damn good) some other Jt- usa masks nVader( fair) and a brass eagle mask( HORRIBLE)
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with some upgrades not really important since we are talking about masks
Strengths: Vision
Never Fogs
Looks Great
Durable
Excellent Hearing
Close fit
Weaknesses: Expossed neck
can get muggy inside
Chameleon is worthless
Review: Ok recently i recieved a protus 2. Like everything i get i like to test it while its under warrenty. This mask being no exception i put it through the following tests.

Test 1: the fog test
Temperature 45 degrees
Distance: one mile and a half
Result: No fog on the thermal part of the lense
Rateing: 9.5

Test 2: Trial by fire
Distance: 30 ft
Weapon: Tippmann 98 custom
Weapon mussel velocity: 290 fps
Rounds fires: 30
Rounds bounced : 3
Lense hits: 5 (No damage apparent after cleaning)
Neck hits: 5 (I was wearing a neck guard)
Rateing: 8.5

Test 3: Fit
Jumping Jacks: 50
Result: Mask didnt budge 10

Special Notes:
Mask can get muggy if you arn't running. -1
Mask looks great +1
Lense hard to remove -1

Conclusion: Overall this mask scores a 9 out of ten. I belive this is the second best mask on the market. The V-force profiler is better than it but it is also more expensive. Be sure to purchase a neck guard with it. I would actually not recomend getting a fan unless you need it. The thermal lense really is resistant to fog.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilpaintball07 Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force Vantage- not better, not worse
V-force Armor- worse
JT flex- some may like it, i don't
Marker Setup: -Evil Omen 2.0
-VL evlution 3
-Draxxus 45/4500 tank
-J&J edge kit
Strengths: -Very comfortable
-Huge lense
-Colors
-Small profile
-looks
Weaknesses: -Harder to remove lense and clean than most other masks
-better, more expensive masks
Review: While I have seen this mask being used more in woodsball, it works fine in airball. This is one of the most comfortable masks I've ever worn. I love the huge lense so that I can see the whole field. Also i have seen many accesories for this, fan, lense skins, visors, etc.. You can hear fine with em with the ear parts. The one problem i have with these goggles is how you get the lense out but besides that their great.
Conclusion: If your looking for goggles $60 and under, get them over everything. If your going for a higher price get events, profiler or invisions.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media