paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin / Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin / Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin / Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin / Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin

Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dark Horizon

Buy Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin

Paintball Piranha Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 4
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Now available to fit Piranha guns. Overall Hammer length is 1-15/16", body diameter is 3/4", and bolt pin hole diameter is 1/4". Bolt Pin length is 15/16" and pin diameter is 1/4" on one end and 13/16" on the other. This is a direct stock replacement — no drilling or machining required. Both parts are machined from solid titanium stock. Together, both components weigh 2.125 ounces.
Product Availability 
The Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer and Bolt Pin is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Oxbrain Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only other hammer I have to compare against is the stock hammer.
Marker Setup: Piranha 2k3, AA Messiah, Evil Pipe, PE 48/3k, Boss bolt
Strengths: Much lighter than the stock hammer. About half the weight.
Weaknesses: Finish wasn't as smooth as the stock hammer.
Review: While the lighter weight of this hammer helps with efficiency, the main benefit of the weight decreas is less kick. With the standard hammer installed the firing of the gun was enough to shake the hopper to clear any jams. With this new hammer I am forced to get a motorized hopper since there is nearly no recoil. This helps you hold the gun on target while firing, increasing accuracy.

The only complaint I have is that it sounds like it is scraping a little on the inside of the body. I have it well oiled and I don't see any signs of wear after two cases of paint. I am currently looking into a way to polish titanium to maybe get rid of the noise.
Conclusion: While the price is kinda steep, this upgrade is definatly worth while. The accuracy achievable with this is just simply amazing. I would give it a 10, but the price and rougher than expected finish bring it to a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 18th, 2003 at 4:55 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

duckshepherd Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hammer for Piranha
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Pro TS G3, E-Force Electric Trigger, Tear Drop Barrel, Revy w/ empire re-load upgrade, ram air chamber w/ modification, Flush cocking system, Rocket Valve, Boss Bolt, Fatty Stabilizer, Dark Horizon Titanium Striker, Chameleon spring kit, CO2 w/ anti-siphon, also use HPA
Strengths: Lightweight
Less kick
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Expensive little bugger
Review: Just to clarify some confusion quickly here, there IS a Piranha Version of the Dark Horizon Titanium hammer available on their website.

A couple years ago I bought a bunch of enhancements for my Piranha to convert it to a low pressure marker (275psi). I had every LP upgrade I needed, or so I thought. I discovered I could even upgrade my stock hammer. Apart from the Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer, I noticed that there were a couple of half plastic half metal hammers out there. I figured having a solid piece hammer would be more reliable, so I just went with Dark Horizon, even though the price was a bit steep. I had too much money to burn at the time anyway.

So after using this thing for a couple years, here's what I discovered:

What a lighter hammer actually does:
The lighter the hammer does three things:

Increases Gas Efficiency - Since there is less mass striking the pin and cupseal on the valve, the valve releases less air, so you use less gas each shot. Now you might ask, "Wait a minute... won't I have problems properly recocking if my valve is releasing less air?" Well, normally that would be true, but remember, the titanium hammer is lighter, so it takes less air to push it back. So everything balances out; less air is released, but at the same time less air is required to recock the hammer. Also, because it takes less air to push the hammer back, the valve isn't open for as long, since the hammer is knocked back faster. This also has to do with the increased cycling rate.

Less Kick - You have less mass cycling back and forth, so obviously your marker won't kick as much. Honestly though, I kinda liked it when my Piranha kicked harder; it gave it more character. But you could argue that less kick helped you center you shots. It's not like I'm shooting an autococker though, my paint flies somewhat sparadically regardless.

Cycles Faster - The decreased mass allows the marker to cycle faster since it takes less energy to change direction on an object that has less mass. I could bore you with Physics equations here, but I'll spare you. I think you get the idea.


What a lighter hammer DOESN'T do
The lighter titanium hammer will not reduce your marker's opperating pressure. Though my main reason for purchasing the DH Hammer was to knock down my opperating pressure, it didn't. The Dark Horizon website never claimed that that's what it was designed to do anyway, I just assumed that myself. I've come to understand the technical aspects of why it didn't help, but I won't bore you with that either.
Conclusion: The bottom line is, is this upgrade worth it? Sure it makes make my Piranha cycle faster, but my trigger frame maxes out at 15BPS anyway, and I never had any problems with my stock hammer to bigin with. And sure, you use up a little less air, but really, I haven't noticed much of a difference in how much longer my CO2 tanks last me; maybe a hundred extra shots or so. But are a few extra shots worth $50? No, I don't think so. Unless it pains you that your gun has a bit of a kick, I'd stick with your stock hammer. Save you're $50 for something better, like a new bolt, reg, or something. If you simply want your marker completely pimped out with the best of everything, even if it means forking out $50 for a little round chunk of metal, be my guest.

Don't get me wrong, this is a nice hammer. You can't get much better than titanium. But titanium is expensive, and it doesn't do $50 worth of benefit to your Piranha. For great quality, but a lack of benefits to justify the price, I give this hammer a 6.3 for just above average.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 7th, 2007 at 12:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilentoLdSoul Thursday, January 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock hammer
Marker Setup: g3 vf bl
pmi e-force w/ eye
14" teardrop
pmi dsr reg
pmi turbo valve w/ pin mod
dark horizon titanium striker
32* spring kit
pmi ram air chamber
12oz co2
empire reloader
Strengths: light, faster cycle rate.......just plain cool
Weaknesses: not designed for the piranha
Review: When I got this hammer I noticed immediately how light it is. As far as performance goes it does out perform the stock hammer in every way. The weight of this hammer gives you the ablility to lower your operating pressure. The dark horizion hammer also reduces the kickback significantly and makes firing more comfortable. I was forced to sand down the bolt pin that came with the DH hammer. It takes a careful hand to do this home mod because the pin is designed to fit the piranha bolt and spyder hammer, and the end that fits the hammer needs to have a lip or it will fall through. Well the pin came with a big blocky sharp egded lip that began getting caught in the body as it cut a groove for itself in my fish. I sanded the edges down and cut the lip down as far as possible without taking off the little I need to keep the pin from coming out. My DH hammer works just fine now.
Conclusion: Really light, fast cycles but I dont recommend as a great buy. Go with something desgined specifically for the fish. The DH gets a good rating for extreme peformace in my book 10 out of 10. But it falls heavily because i had to modifiy the hammer that was marketed as being designed to operate in my fish.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

KDawg8600 Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Piranha Hammer
Marker Setup: Piranha E-Force VTL, 14in 32 degrees Ice Cold Barrel, 4 stage ACI Sub Zero Expansion Chamber, Evil Delrin Bolt, Halo B, Empire Reloader, Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer, Palmer Male Stabilizer, PMI/Pure Energy HPA 48/3000,14in Dye Ultralight
Strengths: Weight
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Excellent upgrade for any spyder, piranha, or spyder clone marker. Yes it is kinda expensive for such a small part to your marker, but I would say it is worth it. It is definitely much lighter then the stock hammer. You can tell right away that the reduction of weight in the Titanium Hammer will be better for your marker. I haven't got to use mine yet since it is winter. I don't know if I will be able to tell any great improvement or see any better consistency. But knowing that small amout of weight of the new hammer is moving around in my marker instead of the heavier stock hammer makes sinse that it is helping some how.
Conclusion: Nice upgrade, definite weight improvement over the stock hammer. Make sure that if you order it, that you get the piranha type hammer for a piranha and the spyder hammer for a spyder. I think the people in these other reviews may not of relized there is a big difference (maybe they might of bought it used or from a site that doesn't know the difference). Also the piranha hammer can come with a special bolt pin, I ordered mine from the main site www.darkhorizoncorp.com and that bolt pin could be added on. I didn't because it was $11.00 or something like that extra. I don't think you need it, the hammer fit just like my stock hammer did in my marker. Plus the way the other reviews talked about, they sounded like they had some problems with the way the pin was made, so I don't think you need to worry about buying the bolt pin also. And one last thing, on the new hammer there was a threaded hole in the back side of it, along with a regular hole for connection with the bolt and bolt pin, i'm not real sure what it is for, but it doesn't look like it will hurt any thing so you don't have to freak out when you see another hole in the back side of it, just connect it to your "internals" I guess is what you would say, and let it rip.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 20th, 2006 at 6:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media