paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Diablo Skul Mask / Diablo Skul Mask / Diablo Skul Mask

Diablo Skul Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Diablo

Buy Diablo Skul Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Diablo Skul Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
262° peripheral vision. Integrated forehead and ear coverage. 2 way faceoff venting™ deflects paint downward, away from your face while drawing hot breath outward, custom tank cutout for tight-quarters speedball situations.
Product Availability 
The Diablo Skul Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jsierra Thursday, January 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Assorted JT masks
Marker Setup: 2k3 Autococker, 12v Rev, 14" Dye Ultralite, and powered by a 68ci MaxFlo
Strengths: It's light, tight, small, and flexible. It's well-molded and in no way fragile. Great range of vision and clarity. No fogging, nomatter how out of shape you are. Balls literally bounce right off of it (except when they pop on the lens, of course). Relatively uncommon and looks really good. Overall coverage is fine, and it protects well (impact shock is spread fairly evenly). Great ventilation. Extraordinarily comfortable; almost feels like there's nothing there!
Weaknesses: It really is kind of a pain to clean, unless you take the lens off. If you don't, you'll wreak havoc on the thermal lens. Also, make sure to take a moment between games to wipe the paint off the lens thoroughly. Otherwise, it'll actually start to mess up the outside coating (it's wierd.) The stock lens isn't as nice in quality construction as the replacement lenses. Glasses fit under the mask, but only just barely, and will put slight pressure on the bridge of the nose (no big deal, but I've worn masks in which this doesn't happen at all). If you want neck protection, get a neck protector.
Conclusion: It's an inexpensive mask, but it's easily one of the best I've worn. It hugs the face, provides a low profile, and protects relatively well. I highly recommend getting a replacement lens right off the bat; ideally a tinted one. Visors inherently cut down visibility, and this mask has really superior field of vision. The tinted lens will add immeasurable utility, and besides, it'll look even better.

It's a really great mask, and it's disposably inexpensive. I'd recommend it over any mask on the market, to literally anybody. Now if somebody would just invent a little LCD that sits inside the lens and tells me stuff...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wArPeD Sunday, June 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flex 7
Strengths: 1. nothing breaks on the mask itsself (just the lens)
2. looks awesome
3. great price
4. kinda unique (i'm the only person at my home field that has one)
5. extremely flexible
Weaknesses: 1. the foam DOES fall off, but that's nothing a little hot glue can't fix (-1)
2. replacement lenses* are hard to find and it doesn't have its own visor**
3. i was really looking forward to the chinstrap and headstrap that diablo promised
Conclusion: i've used this mask for a while and i love it. i would recommend it to any tourney player and serious rec player but it migh be too painful for n00bs.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gastric Wednesday, July 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spetra Thermal, JT Flex7 Thermal, JT IZE
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vision Impulse, New Designz internals, New Designz LPR, I-Frame, 14" Evil Pipe barrel kit, 72/4500 Max Flow, Evolution II hopper.
Strengths: Excellent price, unique look, clear lense.
Weaknesses: Lense relies on anti-fog coating, foam is not comfortable and falls off eventually.
Review: Though I value my eyesight I cringe at the thought of spending $60+ on a set of goggles, only because I've found most to be simply mediocre. I've always used JT goggles in the past and I was never super pleased with their performance. They were comfortable but the lenses seemd easily scratched and would occassionally fog without the aid of a fan system. So I was ready for a change.

I tried on various goggles (JT, Dye, V-Force) before making my selection of the Game Face (previously Diablo) Skul.

I have to be honest, my primary decision was based on the incredibly low price of under $25 for a set of thermal goggles that appear to be fairly well rated. If they sucked I'd just sell them and buy something else. However, after two days use I believe they're keepers!

The pros obviously include the price. I'd also mention the unique look and simple 1-piece design of the goggle. I'm assuming this will provide a long lasting goggle frame since there are no rivet/hinges to break (like happened on my JTs occassionally). I also find the field of view to be above average when compared to the V-Force or Dye goggles. The V-Force has a high nose piece and the Dye just seemed to be a small lense in general.

I've worn the Skul with contacts and glasses and the glasses, but not the goggles, tend to fog uncontrollably in hot humid weather. Much more so than with my JT goggles. However, when worn with contacts the lenses remained clear and no fogging was reported (thankfully).

Negatives are as follows: no goggle bag, foam isn't as comfortable as the JTs, lenses are somewhat difficult to remove/install but a little less so than the JTs, not everyone carries the goggles and replacement lenses.

All in all I'm more than pleased with my $25 purchase. If the lenses aren't completely beat after 6 months like always happens with my JT goggles I'd increase my vote from a likely buy to a strong buy.

[UPDATE 10/23/03] This week the foam finally fell off my mask. The mask has been used approximaly in approximately 145 (yes, one hundred and fourty five - thanks to the local weekly leagues) 5-minute 3-man tourney-style games since I purchased it. Though I'm disappointed the foam fell off the lense has been very resilient compared to the JT lenses. By now the JT lenses would need replacement due to severe scratching from goggle shots where the Skul has one noticable mark from a goggle shot. I still give this mask a great price-to-value rating.
Conclusion: My vote is a likely buy. Likely the best goggle for under $25 and probably competes with some/most $50 goggles.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2002 Vert feed cocker
dye boomstick .684
68 aci bulldog tank
Ricochet &12v revy
Pamlers "rock" reg
Strengths: Overall a really great mask, never fogged, looks sweet and when I get a ball hit the flexible part I get a bounce 9 out of 10 times.
-really comfortable
-extreamly light
Weaknesses: There's only one bad thing about this mask after having the mask for about 4 months the thermal lens inside started to peel off, but even without the termal lens it still never fogs.
Conclusion: Overall this is the best mask I've ever worn. even though there's one flaw (thermal lens)every other mask has had more than one thing wrong with it. So I give a it 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oris89 Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used alot of masks and i doint want to name them all
Marker Setup: Im useing a Paradox MF1 (greatest gun ever) and a PT Extream for a sidearm (only for a little fun)
Strengths: Very strong but light dosent for unless u work realy hard
Weaknesses: Foam might fall out but thats no biggy
Review: this is a great mask but like all things it works best when it is brand new.

Like when i first took it out of the box it was great never foged was tight and comfy then i put it away for like 1 week and it was not bad but it fogged a bit but thats not bad
then i got some anti-fog stuff and it works great had to hot glue the foam back in but that is to be expected
Conclusion: This is a good mask not great but not bad I would defenetly buy this mask again given the chance.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SpankyTheF1y Sunday, October 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, JT Spectra, X-Fire, and some other cheapies.
Marker Setup: 03 Imp Vision, 14" Dye Titanium Boomstick, Red Voodoo bolt, Red ND balldents, Red ND Blade trigger, ND Rip Valve, Brass hammer, Tapeworm, Demonic Strangler, Red Dye sticky3s, 88/4500. and the list goes on...
Strengths: Very light, very good fit, covers more than well enough, will bounce balls, look good.
Weaknesses: Foam did start to come off after a direct hit. Superglued it on, no problem.
Review: Switched from an JT Spectra to this after bending my glasses in them. Bought them as a cheap "need some now" goggles and decided to stay with them, selling my Dye Invision that i never used because it was too uncomfortable. Oh and they are very light too.
Want a good quality gog at a low price, or just want a good quality gog period, this is for you.
Conclusion: Good price, excellent function, eccentric looks and VERY nice fit.
Buy one now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impyblitz Friday, July 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Blue Nasty Impulse, HaloB, 68/4500 Centerflag
Strengths: Doesn't fog, light, good vision, looks
Weaknesses: lens changing
Review: Everything about this mask is good except when you try to change the lens. It has never fogged on me and it has a really good field of vision. It also looks really good. The forehead protection also helps me a lot since i'm always getting shot in the head.
Conclusion: Get this mask, it is worth the money. Besides the lens are so hard to change you really don't need to change them that often anyways.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamExecutioner Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B.E. eXact vision, PMI X-ray, JT ALPHA, and Scott Hott shot
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with 14'' teardrop and 20 oz . pure energy tank
Strengths: Flexible,
Comfortable
small profile
thermal lens
good periferal vision
Weaknesses: Gem on the Fore head falls off easily but can be fixed
none
Review: This is an Excelent mask definitly buy this mask it is very uncomon which will make you look unusual and it is the most comfortable mask I have ever worn. The entire mask is so flexible one on my friends shot me for time in the mask and they all bounced because the rubber just absorbed the paintball and shot it back out. The thermal lens is nearly imposible to fog as I have tried to fog it and it just won't fog. The one problem I have encountered is that the gem on the forehead that says SKUL falls off very easily but it isn't any thing a little super glue can't fix.
Conclusion: Definitly buy this mask I have tried on almost every tourney mask out there and this one is the most comfortable and also the cheapest. Definitly buy it if you get the chance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TopCourage Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Strike and Bad Boy
Marker Setup: 2000 Angel LCD(Green), KAPP Diamond Bolt, KAPP Drop Zone 2(Chrome), KAPP Low Rise Feed, CP 12in Nickel Barrel, 32degrees Grips(Clear), KAPP Fury Chamber
Strengths: Really comfortable and a good design....stays on well and it even goes over glasses...gives plenty of fore head protection......i got the clear one and it looks good with my team jersey.....and it just plain looks cool...and it isnt very expensive......i got mine for less than fifty dollars....cheeper than the dye or jt...
Weaknesses: well.....nothing really except for if you arent gonna have a visor on a mask u should probably sell it with one of those tinted lenses...but thats ok because u can buy them at pretty much any sight...
Conclusion: this is a really good mask and it is for a good price...i reccomend this to anyone that plays paintball.....except i would recomend getttin a tinted lense if playing in the sun....and other than that its a really good mask to get....so go buy it.....it is a cheap mask to buy.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjw58 Thursday, March 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT elite, JT Alpha 2000, JT Flex IZE
Marker Setup: F1 illustrator, F2 illustrator, Tippman 98
Strengths: This mask is great. Doesn't fog. Very comfortable. Light weight. Easy to clean. Great field of vision. I would recommend this mask to anyone, beginner or advanced in playing experience.
Weaknesses: Nothing. This mask is the best I have used so far. the only bad thing is that it doesn't have much neck protection.
Conclusion: Great mask, great price. I have been using mine for months now and I haven't had any problems with it. Anyone who says otherwise, should just go wear their JT mask like the rest of the players out there. Get this mask, you will not regret it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media