paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader eVLution / Viewloader eVLution / Viewloader eVLution

Viewloader eVLution Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader eVLution

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader eVLution
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 5.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A new hopper from Viewloader that has a new shape.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader eVLution is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Mac007 Wednesday, November 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only regular gravity fed hoppers
Marker Setup: The eVLution is mounted on my Stingray I. My Stingray I has a Ray II body and the 12 inch ported barrel. I've got a short expansion chamber in the ASA and a bottom line setup which is a spyder bottom block with a 12 inch hose that runs to the ASA at the back of the expansion chamber. I use a 12 ounce tank. The feed elbow is of the transparent green type with the fastening screws. Normally I use a transparant green 140 round "virus" hopper. I'm not always guaranteed of getting a ball to feed which is why I wanted a motorized hopper.
Strengths: The eVLution dresses up the Stingray. I like the slick way the eVLution feeds. The balls fall into the feeder mechanism "cup" where they are spun around the bottom of the cup and into the feeder elbow. Since the loader is capable of 4-14 bps it keeps up easily with my 4 bps Stingray. I play recreationally so the speed of the feed is not as important to me as a "guaranteed" feed. The loader can easily stack the feed with paint which guarantees that when I shoot there will be a ball going out. That's why I chose it over other models. The eVLution controls were easy to understand, press to turn on press to turn off, when you shut it off the led blinks three times. You can dial in whatever feeding speed you want between 4 and 13 bps although you will need a tiny flat head screw driver. I like to be quiet when I'm sneaking around and the hopper doesn't make much noise, in fact the mechanism doesn't make any noise unless its feeding a ball and that only happens when you shoot.

The illustration in the instructions shows the marker mounted on a vertical feed Rainmaker and tilted up but I wanted its profile to be a bit lower. The profile of the loader can be lowered if you turn the elbow backwards. This also levels the feed cup mechanism somewhat. In this position it isn't really any higher than my old hopper was. People seem to be paranoid about hopper hits, frankly when I'm out shooting there's more of me to shoot than the hopper.

The loader didn't jam while I was using it.
Weaknesses: I haven't detected any real problems so far. The back lid does seem to be a bit loose. I'll probably add a velcro closure to it. I put velcro on all our hoppers so that if the lid pops for any reason they can't swing open - it works!

I probably wouldn't have noticed the odd "parmesan cheese" smell inside the hopper if I hadn't read it here earlier and the odor hadn't permeated the instructions. But hey, who needs to have the inside of their hopper smelling minty fresh? Frankly I don't care what it smells like as long as it works, and how many people go around sniffing hoppers? I know this sport has some odd people in it...but really people!

I know that some players reported loose battery covers. To open the battery case you slide the cover outward and then pull down to open it. The battery cover on my eVLution appears to be secure and it would be easy to add a velcro closure if it were necessary. The battery connections appear to be secure and the loader didn't quit after some serious shaking. I tried a mix of 9V batteries in it and some were slightly smaller than others. Energizers, EverReady, and Konoc appear to fit securely in the battery case. I didn't have any Duracells to test.
Conclusion: I'm pretty impressed with this loader after my initial testing.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

teddybearfreak Monday, February 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
eVolution II, 9 and 12v revy, ricochet ak
Marker Setup: VL Triton II with eVolution, 12" Smart Parts Progressive, avenger x-chamber, dropforward, 20 oz. co2
Strengths: I looks kinda neat.
Never had a dry fire
Fairly Quiet
Cheaper than eVolution II
Weaknesses: Well... the second time i went to use it, the feedneck snapped when putting it on my gun. now the only way it works it with a lot of duct tape which looks rediculous. It does still work just as well though.
Conclusion: Get this if you can find a good deal on it. Mine was new for 30 bucks at my local paintball shop. If it's anymore than 50 go for the evo II or the revolution but stay away from the ricochet. I'll give it a 6 because it does it's job but it feels to cheap and i've heard of the feedneck snapping way too much.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SHOOTnMOVE Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVERY HOPPER ON THE MARKET
Marker Setup: Black cobalt DM4, Halo with Rip drive and Victory Board, Freak, C.P. trigger, 68 4500 tank with C.P. drop forward.
Strengths: Small, light, and force fed.
Weaknesses: Slow loading, the look
Review: Well the main battle is between this and a Halo. The Halo wins in my book but lets stay on subject. This hopper loads and feeds good if you have an eye on your gun. I dont reccomend buying this hopper becauseit feeds slow and not very consistent. Buy a Halo, spend the extra money and you wont have to go through constant squeegees during the game.
Conclusion: BUY A HALO, spend the extra money and GET A HALO WITH A VICTORY BOARD AND RIP DRIVE. Clear is the best
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

InfamousBi0tch Saturday, June 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL 12v Revolution, VL 200
Marker Setup: Black Spyder AMG LCD, 114ci 4500psi 32ļ nitro, Viewloader eVLution, 6+1 harness with 150 round tubes
Strengths: it is easy to fill with or without a pod, both really easy because of loading door design, feeds really fast, and you can adjust the feed rate (approx. 4-13 bps), and it also balances your gun more
Weaknesses: large target for hopper shots, will jam occasionally with old paint, and the price is a little high ($80) but you get what u pay for, a good loader
Conclusion: great loader, almost as good as the new HALO, but just don't use crappy paint with it or it will jam


i only gave it a 9 because it would jam occasionally, otherwise i would give it a 10


(note that this is the origional eVLution, not the new one with rubber paddles and a new feed neck)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 25th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I was new to paintball and wanted a motorized hopper to improve my ROF. I bought this because the look was unique, it was adjustable, and looked like a solid product. I've used this once on the field and did not have any problems with jams, lid popping open or the battery door coming open as reported in this forum.

I like this product because it has nice lines to it and is innovative in it's shape. It holds more paint than the standard revy, has an adjustable rate of fire, and provides a constant flow of paint.
Weaknesses: Since purchasing the product I've bought a new Automag RT Pro and attempted to use my eVolution on my new marker. However, since changing the batteries, I can't seem to get the door to stay tight enough to keep the low battery indicator from coming on and getting the hopper to work consistently.

Battery life is weak. One days use and sitting in the hopper unused for a short period killed it.

Pirce is a little unreasonable. The premium you pay over the 12V revy is unrealistic. The rate of fire is better in the eVolution and it's adjustable but it's not worth that much.
Conclusion: No product is ever has good as it's advertised and nothing is ever as bad as it seems. Overall the eVolution is decent product although some what over priced. Like the 12V revy it has it's share of problems but nothing that can't be overcome. I think It comes down to if you want to be like everyone else buy a 12V revy. If you want to be different buy a eVolution. I don't think you can go wrong with either product
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Revolution

Time in seconds, to drop 150 paintballs
1 16.7
2 15.1
3 16.0
4 14.9
5 14.9
Average 15.5 Seconds


Average Rate - 9.6 balls/second



More importantly than average overall speed, Brass Eagle says, the eVLution can feed one ball every 13th of a second. Because paintballs can fall so quickly, the Revolution, and other agitating designs tend to feed paintballs in "spurts." They will feed several balls at onceat a very high rate, pause creating a slow rate, and then feed several balls very fast. Even though the average may be a certain value, the loader is really restricted to sustained fire at the rate of the slow gaps between spurts, or to firing in bursts shorter than the number of balls stacked in the feed neck.
eVLution
Time in seconds, to drop 150 paintballs

1 10.5
2 12.1
3 10.8
4 11.2
5 10.8
Average 11.8 Seconds

Average Rate 12.7 balls/second
Additional testing with the speed set slow gave an average time of 15.8 seconds or 9.5 balls per second.



Weaknesses: price is more the 12volt ugly heavy back might pop open
Conclusion: Overall, performance wise, the eVLution impresses, if not with its speed, then with its ability to consistently keep its feedneck stacked with paintballs ready to go, and the reliability of a feed system that drives paintballs to the feed neck instead of simply jumbling them when they are jammed.

this came from warpig to prove to idiots the the egg rules
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 6th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: feed extremely fast. I did my own test and they came out to 16.67 bps on its fastest setting and 12.5 bps on its slowest setting. This was with fresh batteries. The 12V revvy rarely ever breaks 10bps and feeds balls in clumps of three or so. The evolution's feed balls censistantly one after another.
Weaknesses: looks ugly, heavy, drop down door doesn't shut tight (Can be easily fixed with tape or velcro)
Conclusion: I love mine. It feeds extremely fast and is much faster than the 12V. I got my black evolution for $55shipped
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 31st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I run the eVolution on my RT this hopper rox. I havent had any problems. There only 65 for black and 70 for clear. Whoever said there 80 YOUR WRONG! I cant hit my sweet spot and watch a stream of paint fly at a dark angel. Know from experience.
Weaknesses: I had to put a tiny peice of velcro on the lid in case it does fly open (never happened before velcro). Baterries drain faster because the thing turns on once you start firing. I used twice as much when i had my warp feed. It's
the price you pay.
Conclusion: This thing works awesome on my RT and my big brothers
custom Force 5 cocker. The 12v could not keep up with either of our guns. It is worth the price for anybody that needs a little faster and more constant ball flow.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rkasp Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revolution, Slower alot more reliable- Halo B. Faster, more reliable
Marker Setup: Angel speed
------------------------
Evo 2
System X volumizer
Crossfire 68ci/4500 psi low pressure
will be getting longbow barrel
nw drop on/off valve
nw feed neck


Strengths: fast..not as fast as Halo though...um none i can think of
Weaknesses: see review body
Review: Weaknesses-
Heavy on back.broke my feed neck
Not as fast as the Halo
Battery compartment broke twice. I sent it back to brass eagle twice. They fixed it and the first time i used the fixed one it broke.lol
MADE BY BRASS EAGLE


Not a good hopper for anyone save up and buy a halo be. The revy is even more reliabe than this.
Conclusion: Do not get this. Save up for a halo. FASTER
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Jeremy Sunday, April 8th, 2001
 
1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Feeds very consistently.
Mine is clear.
Variable feed speed.
Weaknesses: Drains batteries
The evolution can and will jam. The propeller inside the Evolution will pinch a ball causing the evolution not to feed and you not to shoot.
The evolutionís feed neck is made of two pieces causing it to feel cheep and wobbly. Oh and today while I was playing speedball and my evolution jammed. I tried to wedge the ball out and it burst, this will never happen with the old revolution.
Conclusion: Not worth the hassle. I gave it a one becasue if you can't shoot period whats the point.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media