paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo TSA LED / Odyssey Halo TSA LED / Odyssey Halo TSA LED

Odyssey Halo TSA LED Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo TSA LED

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo TSA LED
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 102
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $68

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound activated hopper.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo TSA LED is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
l33tgam3r_0 Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I tested my friend's 12-volt revvy and have very briefly tested a Ricochet, also i have used a VL200-style gravity hopper.
Marker Setup: Spyder E99, 14in Dye Excel barrel, HALO TSA
Strengths: it has a sound and tilt sensor, it agitates on every ball, it's fast.
Weaknesses: shell became fingerprinted and grimy very quickly. Also, its a little loud.
Review: I was generally quite pleased with the TSA. It is very similar to a Ricochet, in that it agitates once for every ball, and the angular, aerodynamic shape slightly resembles that of a ricochet.

The TSA feeds fast, i could not outshoot it with my E99 on semi mode, or using 3-shot burst. Also, the pushbutton on/off is much more convenient than the lever-style one on my friend's Revvy (he kept forgetting to turn it off). The shell seems to be made of a thick plastic that didn't look as if it would break or crack, although it did get dirty quite easily. My only other complaint besides the griminess is that the spinning action is loud, louder than a revvy and definetly more noticeable because it spins all the time.

The selling feature of this loader is the tilt-sound mechanism. The sound sensor (the means of agitating) is slightly twitchy: i got yelled at by a ref today while using it and it started spinning continuously, it was kind of stupid. However, it never misses a beat when it comes to shooting: you pull the trigger and you've got a ball waiting there. The tilt thing (the impeller spins in different directions to compensate for loader tilt) works, too, but i didnt directly notice it while playing. It all adds up to the fact that there WILL be a ball in your stack, unless you shoot inhumanly fast.
Conclusion: it's only 15-20 dollars more than a revvy, so why not? You get a lot of functionality and great features from the HALO, as long as you don't mind the whirring and keep it generally clean. i'd give it a 9.5, but i cant.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

redalert3 Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ricochet 2k, revolution 12v, and evultion
Marker Setup: Green Vision Impluse, centerflag 68ci 4500PSI Nitro Tank, 14in. freak junior barrel, Halo TSA loader, and A Flame drop forward.
Strengths: Feeds fast, holds 240 rounds, tilt sound activated.
Weaknesses: None So Far.
Review: This is a great loader! It fits my needs perfect. Doesn't chop any balls . It looks really cool. I haven't had any problems it hasn't chopped one ball. It feeds about 16 balls a sec.! If your thinking of buying a riochet 2k don't get a tsa lcd for about the same price.
Conclusion: This is a great loader. It is pretty cheap but really good. I especially like the LCD screen.
In my opinion is better then the ricochet 2k.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jonnymaglite Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12 Volt Revy, Evolution II
Marker Setup: tippman custom 98, double trigger, response trigger, Smart Parts All American Barrel w/Freak Front, Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward, Halo TSA Hopper
Strengths: Reliable, Sound Activated, Durable, Inexpensive
Weaknesses: only available in Clear, Smoke should be available
Review: thus far I am VERY satisfied with this product, it provides more than enough speed for a semi automatic and never fails to keep the balls coming, I have not broken a single ball yet usung this hopper, for the price it can't be beat, unless you are using a faster gun in which case an evolution II or Halo B would make more sense, but for the money and granted you have a semi-automatic gun this is a great product
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this product to anyone using a semi automatic gun or an automatic gun with a 10-12 shot/sec. max speed, Angel or Cocker users may find this hopper to slow but it suits us slower guys just fine, a good product for the entry/intermediate level player
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

squanto Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader, VL200
Marker Setup: Stock 2k3 cocker w/ boomstick and a 98 custom w/ teardrop
Strengths: Holds more balls! Actually fits cocker feed neck!
Quieter than reloader.
Weaknesses: Sometimes it takes a shot to notice it has changed the way it is tilted.
Review: I got the TSA (LCD) version cause my reloader shells cracked off at the feed neck after 3 days of use. The TSA holds about 40 to 50 more balls than the reloader, and is about the same height and width, only slightly longer.

I like the menus on the lcd, you can set sensitivity, motor speed, duration of motor spinning, and a game timer. Although the accuracy of the shot counter isn't that good with my cocker, as firing would incriment the counter, and when the bolt comes forward it would incriment again sometimes and not others.

With the reloader and VL hoppers, the necks are too small and tape or paper is needed to "shim" the hopper into the cocker feed neck. With the tsa, this isn't needed as the neck is much thicker than the empire or VL.

Also, the plastic is much stiffer than the VL or Empire models, so hopefully it will last longer.

So far it has lasted very well, no cracks anywhere and the plastic seems much stronger than the 12V revvies and reloader.
Conclusion: Better hopper than the reloader, which from my understanding is better than a VL revvy.
Although it costs more, about 60usd for non lcd and 70usd for lcd version.
It doesn't crack, and thus is why I give it a 9, also it keeps up with my 6bps that I can get with my stock cocker right now ;)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 20th, 2003 at 12:13 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

marshmellowma64 Tuesday, August 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy 9v, Ricochet 2k, Ak, Evi
Marker Setup: Response Trigger, Halo Tsa hopper, 16 inch 32 Degrees Terminator Barrel, Remote.
Strengths: This hopper is made by Halo and only feeds on the firing of your marker.
Weaknesses: A little heavy. stick with a tank to the gun for this hopper.
Review: This hopper has not chopped once. I have gone through about 3 or 4000 rounds and never chopped. This hopper will max out my 98c with response and then some.I have never dry-fired in all those rounds. And it'll hold about 220 rounds(awesome for those long games). Very, very cool looking, distracts other players so I can shoot them. One thing that bothers me is that the halo stickers on the sides keep on almost falling off. A little glue will fix that though.The batteries will last forever(supposed to be 20,000 rounds), never chops, has tilt sensing(lean left paddles right, lean right paddles left), and holds more paint then others.
Conclusion: This hopper is awesome. Its cheap(only 59$), and has everything that is good. Awesome awesome awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xhcgurux Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
EVO 2 and Oldskool Loaders
Marker Setup: 04 WGP AC, 16" Ultralite, Crossfire Air Tank, Halo TSA
Strengths: Durable,uhhh not like anything else that stands out
Weaknesses: If you can shoot really fast it will be too slow for you
Review: I think this is a pretty good loader..compared to most loaders it is slow though only going at 14 bps, but until I can shoot that fast it is fine with me, Its very durable, Keep taking a number of dead on hits and it has ceased to break or crack, pointed design with deflect some balls, Kinda sucks that paint gets in the shell making it hard to clean out unless you take the shell off. Made kinda small for some guns so get a Dye Hopper Spacer they have it in the drop foward section under Throttle Air Systems on the the Dye website. Uh it eats up batteries pretty quick because of the sound activation thingy...kinda gets annoying, but its still cool. DONT GET THE LCD, ur batterie will like last you less than a day. I also suggest getting a backman whether you are a frontman or not....cuz it holds more balls and I dont see any disadvantages to that. Oh yeah almost forgot....the lid is like flat so you dont have the lean your gun to load balls into the hopper u just keep it level, which is really great for reloading during play.
Conclusion: Altogether is product is very good...could be better if Halo spent the time to make some actual upgrades for it, but oh well, You take wut you can get.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballdav Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b
Marker Setup: 02 vertical autococker and alot of other stuff
lcd matrix with alot of other stuff
Strengths: strong shell, feeds fast, lcd has alot of options
Weaknesses: NONE NONE NONE NONE
Review: This hopper is way better than a revy and a revolution. I have had both a revy and a revolution and they both brok very easily. I hate viewloader everything Ihad bought from them has broke. After the motor went out on my revolution I decided to buy the tsa lcd and I have not been disapoited. The lcd has alot of options it has a timer, shot counter, motor duration settings, sensitivity settings, bolt style options, mortor speed setting and timeout setting. It has evertyhing. On the field it kicked A$$. It never failed me.
STOP READING AND GO BUY ONE
STOP READING AND GO BUY ONE
STOP READING AND GO BUY ONE
STOP READING AND GO BUY ONE
Conclusion: If you want the best hopper aound except for the halo b then go with the tsa lcd. It will never let you down.
GO BUY IT NOW
GO BUY IT NOW
GO BUY IT NOW
GO BUY IT NOW
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jtmaster011 Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revy Halo B rip drive Richochet Ak
Marker Setup: Angel I r3 92 ci tank
Strengths: feeding tilt sense
Weaknesses: size loudness
Review: this is an amazing hopper for the price i owned a halo b with rip drive and i didnt like it as much as this one WOW!! i took on 4 guys and i beat um cuz i could throw paint like mad ! ive broke no balls out of about 5000 paint i can get mine to top out at 16 bps
Conclusion: for the price quality and hardness i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crespo Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A regular 200 round gravity feed
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
HALO TSA Backman LCD
Silver Smart Parts 14in Teardrop Barrel

Strengths: Feeds well
Fast
Easy to use
Tough
Weaknesses: Kind of loud but not too much
Review: I have a Backman LCD. It took me 2 minutes to set up the configurations to match my gun. It will shut off automatically in 60min if u forget to turn it off. I played with it after i got it for Christmas in CT and It worked like a charm. It fed fast and had a low profile. It comes in 3 colors (Black, Smoke, and Clear). It spins left when u lean right and right when u lean left. You can adjust the sensitivity to agitate when u marker fires and agitated when u shoot. The lid flips back and stays back so it is not in your way when u reload. Easy to reload. Great Hopper!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it!! it is a great hopper. good for anygun
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 26th, 2004 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerking007 Friday, August 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is the first sound activated hopper I've tried.
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor, Halo TSA clear, JJ ceramic, Dye Sticky grip, 32 degreese flame dropforward
Strengths: -sound activated
-tilt senstive
-long battery life
-holds alot of paint
-accurate shot counter
-inexpensived
Weaknesses: -very long
-little loud but no biggie
Review: This is a very nice product, it's great out of the box play impressed me greatly. After 5 minutes of programing the settings i was shooting like a mad man. This hopper is tilt sound activated meaning if it's tilted right the impeller moves counter clockwise, and left clockwise. This ensures balls always being in the feed/camber ready to be shot. i find the shot counter relativly accurate. (slightly better than ricochete 2k if that helps) It also hold a lot of paint which of course is good for obvious reasons.

On the downside this thing is long! Like I'm talking use this thing for a water ski! But i got used to it being long, and quite frankly im glad it's long instead if wide. It's also a little loud... but no big deal. Unless your playing the woods, in which case you should incorperate that into your decision.
Conclusion: If u want a good product that is fairly cheap go for this. More companies should consider the tilt sensetive. Unless you have something like an e-class orracle, or angel this will be able to keep up. If so go for the Halo B or evo II. (although 99% of people with a 2000+ dollar gun probably already know this) Go for it it's good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media