paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees .68 Delta / 32 Degrees .68 Delta / 32 Degrees .68 Delta / 32 Degrees .68 Delta

32 Degrees .68 Delta Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees .68 Delta

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees .68 Delta
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 82
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
From the team that brought you the famous PT Xtreme, comes the newest in pistol technology. This gun has the following features:

- 10 Round Capacity Magazine
- 12 Gram CO2 Powered
- Patented Quick Release System
- True 45 Grip Frame
- Sticky Grip
- Bead Blast Finish
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees .68 Delta is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
KnuckleBoom Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 74 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme, PT Enforcer - The Delta 68 is a vast improvement, but still needs work.
Marker Setup: 2 - Customized Tippman A-5's
1- Customized Spyder AMG LCD
2 - PT Extremes
1- Delta 68
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: Solid construction
45 frame w sticky grips
Easy field stripping
Killer Looks!
Weaknesses: It's Really Big - doesn't fit well in my PT Extreme Holster
Valve issues
Review: When I first found this pistol I was really excited to get my hands on it. I have 2 PT Extremes and was getting pretty tired of dealing with them. Out of the box the gun worked great, for a while. After 20 or so cartridges it began to leak through the valve, (just like it's predecessors). After replacing all the o-rings (that show no wear) I would get 1 or 2 cartridges before it would fail again. After much tinkering I found that the Spring that controls the vale opening (when the bolt stikes it) looses it's strength. So I stretched it a bit, worked for a while but again the failure returned. So I found a replacement at a local hardware store that was slightly longer and had a little more tension and that seems to have done the trick. Another cool thing is that the spring kit for my Spyder works great for the striker so I am able to get the pistol up to the 300fps range (it was only shooting 235 with maxed out factory settings). CO2 usage has stayed about the same about 25 shots per 12 gram cartridge, not great, but it's not meant to be your primary weapon. The new cup seal is better, bet be sure to keep the o-ring lubed, replacing it isn't something you want to do ofter, plus that size o-ring seems to be hard to find (at least around here). Other than that I'm super happy with it. As long as it works, it's an awesome pistol, very accurate & consistent. Large bore, milled barrel lets you shoot just about any paint without ball-break problems and cleans well.
Conclusion: This is a great improvement on the PT Extreme, but don't expect it to be perfect out of the box (although I have a very low serial number - under 550, you may have better luck)
When it works it kicks butt and has a well balanced feel. When moded right you can hit anything you primary gun could hit, it's good for shock value on the field to peg someone with a pistol at a distance :-P And for what it's worth, I'm buying a second Delta 68 to replace my other PT Extreme...
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

NoHands Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months50 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot - stock
Black Delta 68 - stock spring replaced with shocktech heavy spring(red)
Silver Delta 68 - stock spring replaced with shocktech heavy spring(red)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Quick change co2
Good weight/balance
Simple sturdy design, easy to take apart and reassemble
Weaknesses: Susceptible to dirt, especially the ball clip
Review: I bought 2 delta 68's after coming to the conclusion that these would be "fun" in a indoor/close combat or urban scenario and I must say that they didn't disappoint.
After reading practically all the reviews on this forum I decided to buy the delta 68. The Zeus was tempting but ultimately price was the deciding factor, about 40$ less. From what I could gather the problems that I would encounter were low velocity and co2 leakage. I've used them for a few months now through 2 scenario/woods weekends and quite a few target practice sessions (translates into about 500 paintballs and 20 co2 cartridges each) and I'm happy to report that I haven't had any of these problems other than once which I'll elaborate later. Keep in mind that the serial #'s were in the low 12000's for one and high 12000's for the other. It is possible that they resolved the problems that people mentioned before.
After I received my pistols the first thing I did was on one of my pistols I replaced spring with a heavy spring from a shocktech kit for spyder guns and kept the other one stock. After that I took a trip to my local paintball field to get them chronoed. Surprisingly on max settings both of them shot about the same speed. They averaged around 275 fps. The numbers fluctuated from 260 to a high of 295 on the pistol with the STOCK spring. The pistol with the shocktech spring gave around the same numbers I don't remember the high. Yes the shots are not as consistent as I would like but hey, what do you expect with this setup (no expansion chamber or regulator). I was using Diablo midnight balls that in my opinion were a fraction too small for the barrel. The balls would roll right through the barrel with a little encouragement, they also did the same with the stock barrel for my Spyder pilot. I believe that if I was using paintballs that matched well with the barrel I could achieve over 300 fps, which is well over the 280 fps limit on most fields mind you. In the end I replaced the stock springs with the shocktech springs because they have seemed to have stopped the slight friction you would get when you cocked the gun. The shocktech springs had a slightly larger diameter than the stock spring so I believed the friction was caused when the spring rubbed against the spring guide. I have no idea how one of the reviewers got TWO springs in there. I'm surprised that the gun didn't explode in his hands.
As for the problem of leakage it happened to me only once recently and it was quick and simple to fix. It happened at the end of a day of scenario paintball. When I replaced the co2 cartridge on one of my guns it leaked and emptied itself in about 20 seconds. I tried with another cartridge and it did the same thing. Since it was the end of the day I left it alone and checked it out when I got home. At home I compared the area where the pin punctures the co2 on both of my pistols and discovered that the o-ring was missing on the one that leaked. The gun came with a "parts kit" that included these little o-rings, about 7mm in diameter, that until then I didn't know where they went. I put in the o-ring and voila! Like new again.
After playing with both my spyder pilot and the 2 pistols I ended up preferring using the 2 pistols all the time. The good outweighed the bad. The bad is that it only holds 12 shots, 10 in the clip + 1 in the breech + 1 in the barrel, and the c02 lasts for around 25 shots. But you can offset the negative with a "backup" pistol (Yes I brought 2 pistols with John Woo fantasies in my head). In the end I use 1 pistol at a time and take out the second one when I'm reloading or when stuck in a firefight, but we shouldn't be getting in to those with pistols right ;). The good is that it you are more maneuverable because it's lighter and less bulkier that a normal marker. If you have a holster you can have both hands free. A pistol offers a much smaller profile than normal so you're harder to hit and since the balls are force fed you can shoot from any angle (+ no ball chops). Accuracy is good taking into account the velocity spikes. Hitting a fire hydrant at 50 feet with no wind isn't a problem. One last problem with the gun is that is sensitive to dirt, especially sand. I put one on my guns down in the sand while I was reloading the other one and sand got in to the clip and jammed up the plunger that pushes the balls in to the gun. It was easy to take apart and clean but it isn't something you can do during a game. The breech is open to the air so I can see that dirt can get in to that area too but that hasn't happened to me so far.

Addendum:
During a target practice session I noticed that I'm getting around 32 shots per co2 cartridge (vs 25 at first). Don't know if this is due to the new springs or possibly the pistol "breaking in". Temperature was more or less the same as the other times and I was using the same brand of co2 (crosman). Pleasant surprise.
Conclusion: In the end if you can adapt your game to compensate for the weaknesses of pistols in general then I see no reason why you shouldn't go pick up a delta 68. Haven't had any of the headaches that I've read on this forum expect once which was easy to fix. If you want more info or pics on how I fixed my leakage problem leave a comment with your e-mail and I'll get back to you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 3rd, 2004 at 8:45 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Al_Steel Monday, June 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP - Best backup pistol ever
Rapide - First Semi auto - Plastic POS but an upgrade from the Splatmaser
Splatmaster - First paintball gun I ever used
Nelspot - The one that started the revolution baby!
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 - Polished internals
Tippmann .68 Special - Sniper barrel, Lapco Laser Dot Sight, bipod, lots of camo tape ;-)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different marker... seriously
Strengths: Well, I guess it looks cool... that's about it.
Weaknesses: Poor CO2 cartridge seating, poor internal seals, difficult to reload
Review: In my experience this marker was complete crap.

It came NIB and I was very excited to use it for a scenario game. I was one of the major scenario players and for character effect I needed to go in with only a pistol. I read some reviews and tried to get a Zeus, but they were all sold out.. everywhere.. that should have told me something. The Delta looked like a good compromise, boy was I ever WRONG. It did have a "badass" look to it though so I dropped $120.00 bucks on what became a "prop" gun... biggest waste of money I have ever spent, honestly!

Right out of the box I could not get the CO2 to seal. I went through about 7 cartridges just attempting to get it to seal up. The quick release lever looks like a good idea, but you have to adjust it perfectly to get it to seat right. Minor differences in the length of different CO2 cartridges (even among the same brand) make a reliable adjustment of the quick release impossible. Plus, any leaking CO2 makes the O-ring seal expand, so if the CO2 leaks rapidly, it freezes the cartridge inside the gun. This means you have to wait for the CO2 seal to thaw and release the cartridge, or you have to pry the immortal hell out of the cartridge to get it out of the marker. Mind you, this will tear your O-ring meaning a new O-ring. Oh, did I mention that the O-ring seals in this marker are RUBBER! Come on, the extra $.50 for a teflon O-ring wouldn't have broken you 32-Degrees! And another $1.00 for a decent manual.. oh make that "A" MANUAL would have been a nice bonus, but I digress.

Ok, well after I had resigned myself to the Cartridge-Oring-Ejection problems I finally got a chance to attempt to Chrony the sucker. 190... "that's gotta be wrong... bang!... 180... ummm... bang! 184... Not too impressive, ok I guess I can live with... hisssssssss. What the?" Seems that an INTERNAL seal decided that it just couldn't live with the incredibly high cylinder pressures that a CO2 cartridge develops and decided it should make its discontentment known. Back to the shop....

Mind you, I have been playing paintball for over 10 years.. I know my way around a paintball gun's innards (note I say "gun", only when pball went mainstream and consequently "PC" did people start calling them "markers"). I even owned a Tippmann SMG-60, that gun was a real treat to keep going, but this miserable chunk of aluminum was beginning to pain me.

So, game time was coming close and I had to get this thing up and running, so I ran up to the field shop. 3 Technicians, a whole lot of CO2's and Orings, and one near miss by a CO2 rocket (watch it when you hit that quick-release lever and you still have some gas in the cartridge!) later it was finally temporarily functional.

I was able to get to the field but it's time was to be short lived. On the field the cocking lever was near impossible to pull back with fingered gloves and if you don't twist the ball stop completely out of the way, your balls will not feed properly. I did get to take out a 5 man team, due solely to my stealthy flanking ability, but that was the highlight of it's glory. After the first CO2 reload, another internal seal blew and I was through with it's misery. Dropping all hope for this "prop gun", I picked up an old Tippmann Carbine which made it rock solidly though the rest of the day. I handed the Delta to the field shop to fix and have never returned for it. Perhaps it has found a worthy demise, like being recycled into Old Milwaukee's Best cans.

So to sum up this miserable excuse for a "marker":

The Good
- It looks badass
- Nice comfortable grip.. at least it wont slip when you throw it out of frustration.

The Bad
- Poor quality internals
- Clunky and difficult CO2 cartridge ejection mechanism
- Difficult to change Orings
- Poor velocity
- Rear ball detent can easily twist preventing balls from feeding
- Velocity adjustment (???)
- Too much else to list

The Ugly
- The cover around the cocking lever makes it difficult to get to when wearing gloves
- Heavy (this from a guy that lugs around a .68 Special with a 20oz Siphon tank!)
- No Manual ?!?!
Conclusion: If you enjoy working on your gun and endless frustrating hours off the field while the rest of your team grabs all of the glory then this marker is for you.

Otherwise save your money and buy a Zeus, savings bonds, or a 12 pack.. anything but THIS marker!

PS - I gave it a 2-out-of-10 simply because I was able to get some play out of it.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Gunny462 Monday, November 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Delta 68 Stock, painted Desert Camo

Spyder DX Desert Camo
Spudnukl bolt
14" JT
PMI Spring
AK w/adptr
20CO2 w/remote

Spyder Compact w/ 32* E-frame (new) Desert Camo
16" Pig Sniper w/ 8 " "Noise Reducer" <- figure that out!
PMI Spring
Rev 12V
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, as there are none to support it, though I did hear that PT feed tubes are interchangeable
Strengths: Fired 80 through it, no probs. Ball detent. Field strips. Springs Spyder interchangeable
Weaknesses: No instructionsl! Needs better parts list and .com to order instead of a #800
Review: Well, like I said I had fired about 80 rds through it prior to field play. Sometime after replacing the cart and getting ready for play the puncture pin either fell out or I pulled it out. You could guess when I needed it and I did but it didn't fire of course. Even though I didn't get to 'field test' it it still worked like a charm and with no air leaks!
Conclusion: I would still buy it as my back-up! Dang thing is kewl and I hit what I aimed at.

I did find looking for parts a hassle until I found out the REAL authorized dealer is Nationalpaintball.com
My puncture pin cost? ZERO! I asked about getting a few extra's and they said sure! price? ZERO!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

war_machine Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT XTREME. The Delta 68 is an improvement over the PT XTREME. It has many enhancements that make it a much more user friendly gun.
Marker Setup: Black Spyder Electra, 14 Inch Teardrop barrel, and a Stiffer Spring.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A holster, Chest harness for the tubes and CO2
Strengths: Reinforced Cup Seal, Plastic Upper Bolt, Sticky Grips, Spyder Compatible Spring, very accurate.
Weaknesses: Pain to configure 12Gram Co2, bolt is difficult to cock, 2pg instruction book.
Review: I have a PT Xtreme and though I'd get the new Delta 68 to compare the 2, and possibly to see if some of the weaknesses of the PT XTREME were resolved. First the Good Stuff: I am happy to say that the Delta 68 improves upon many of the downsides of the PT XTREME. THe biggest improvement by far is the reinforcement of the cup seal. The PT XTREMES were notorious for leakage, and cup seal problems, even after 32 degrees changed over to the stainless steel valves, but not the Delta 68. The delta 68 uses a reinforcement spring to keep the co2 cartridge in place and reduce the leakage problems. It also uses a different type of cup seal that lasts much longer than the ones in the PT XTREME. The Delta 68 also uses a half plastic upper bolt. This is something that's typically found in higher end markers, and it certainly benefits it. It is quieter than the PT XTREME, and is a little quicker as well. They have also refined the trigger frame, and also added sticky grips. Another huge improvement is the ball detent. The delta 68 has a ball detent very similar to the one that's in a Spyder. This is a huge improvement, as the PT XTREME had a very poorly designed ball detent. The spring in the Delta 68 is the same thickness and length as the one in a Spyder, so a stiffer spring could easily be added for added velocity. This gun also has an integrated non removable barrel that has been milled out of the main body. This isn't a bad thing as the gun is very accurate. No more of the picky paintball crap that the PT Xtreme had. You can safely add pretty much any paintballs and get satisfactory results. Now for the bad stuff: It is the biggest pain to adjust the Co2 valve so that it doesn't leak. This is done by turning a knob clockwise or counter clockwise. I spent about 10 12gram Co2s adjusting this gun not to leak. It is definetely not ready for play right out of the box. The upper bolt is also a lot more difficult to cock back as the frame of the gun gets in the way. Those people with fat fingers are gonna have a real hard time with this gun. I was also surprised that this gun gets less shots per C02 cartridge than my PTXTREME. I get 25 consistent shots per Co2 on my PT Xtreme, but only get 20 consistent shots on the Delta 68. The Delta 68 also does not come with the bottom line adapter, so those of you hoping to but a bottom line, and add a Co2 tank like the Pt xtreme won't like this (I don't care for this feature, because its a pistol, if you want to use larger air tanks then get a regular spyder). In addition the parts kit that comes with it is very poor as it only includes 2 O Rings, and the Allen wrench. Come on 32 degrees, why not include some of those vary rare Cup Seals for these guns, or another gas valve with everything in it!! Finally the instruction manual sucks!! It's only 2 pages and does not explain anything. Its just a 2 page diagram of the internal parts, Nothing more.
Conclusion: In conclusion I have to say that if you're in the market for a Pistol this is probably the best one on the market for the following reasons: Quick disconnect C02, Adjustable velocity and Spyder Compatible Spring, Upper Plastic Bolt, reasonable amount of shots per Co2 Cartridge, and a much improved Cup Seal that prevents leaks when you need the gun most...out on the field. Now I highly recommend everyone that has a PT Xtreme to call 32 degrees and order the following parts from the Delta 68 and put them in your Pt xtremes: Gas valve, spring, cup seal, upper bolt, hammer, spring stabilizer bolt, and a ball detent. Now put these parts in your PT Xtreme, and you will have a gun that is just as good as the Delta 68.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

craiger101 Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Too many to name
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" barrel
BSA red dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cant find any
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: A bit*h to load and unload CO2
Review: I recently aquired this gun and so far the only thing i've bought for it is a holster which was hard to find and is great. When buying a pistol you have to think of it as a backup a lot of people will buy a pistol thinking it will be enough. The delta .68 is great. It's accuracy is unbeatable to any other i've shot. The CO2 is extremely hard to load and is diffacult to unload without using your foot. aside from that it is flawless.
Conclusion: Beside the CO2 this gun is a great addition to any paintballers arsenal.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SekundoKid Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None similar to the Delta .68
Marker Setup: Two Delta .68's
cops911 2-strap tactical holster X2
cops911 x-man harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a Spyder spring kit
Strengths: Definitely Accuracy, Looks, Intimidation, Balance, Quick-release, Quick-strip field stripping
Weaknesses: Cleaning a break, the Manual and lack of disassembly instructions
Review: First of all, Psycho Ballistics produces this marker, not 32 degrees as pbreview suggests. The Delta .68 paintball pistol definitely packs a punch ! The balance and feel of the markers is extremely comfortable, and the accuracy is twice as accurate as a stock tippmann 98c setup.
Some may view the 12 gram-powered cartridges as a disadvantage, however, getting close to 30 shots out of each crossman 12 gram, I find them quite crafty. The quick-release is extremely handy, once the co2 clamp is adjusted to a good fit. Once the gas is expended, the 12 grams are easily dropped on the ground, or (for you nature people) into a garbage sack. The accuracy is above decent, unquestionably, using draxxus blaze paint (which is pretty cheap, but good quality).
Where the gun continues to be a reliable primary (yes i shoot 2 delta's for primaries) , the manual lacks in thoroughness. Its a 1 page pamphlet showing a diagram of the marker. Come on Psycho Ballistics, how about making an actual manual !
Conclusion: Great, accurate, well-balanced marker. Using crossman 12 grams, im getting a consistent 27-30 shots per fill. With draxxus blaze paint, and the right velocity setting (dont shoot too hot) im getting my shots into a 7-8 inch grouping from 78 feet. GO BUY THIS GUN : D Changing gears into using a pistol instead of your primary is challenging gameplay, but people tend to freeze when being approached by two delta's. The 9 rating is because of the cleaning. Due to aggresive gameplay required for the pistols, quick-stripping the gun and using a squeegie to get the crap out wastes valuable time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Ghostcom Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
1987 NSG Splatmaster (owned)
PGP, Zeus G-1, Sidekick Stock (all tested)
Marker Setup: 2004 Viper M-1 Military with 14 inch barrel and tactical sling
2004 Black DELTA .68 with Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holser
shotgun shell pouch (for 12grams)
Strengths: Accurate
powerful
Badass look
excellent QC

Weaknesses: Price
Size
slow-loading
Review: After my 1987 NSG Splatmaster was stolen during a home robbery. I looked for a semi-auto pistol replacement. I ever much disliked my Splatmaster and it's issues (see my review). During the September Oklahoma Bride 2 Far game, I test the pistols that were out there: Zeus G-1, PGP, DELTA .68, and a Sidekick Stock. Unfortunely, the marker of the Sidekick Stock is out of business. I thought the Zeus G-1 was bulky and heavy, and the PGP was not what I was looking for.
I loved the look of the DELTA .68 and I enjoyed my test of it.
In November, I bought a Black DELTA .68 for Bigshot! Paintball in Tulsa for $119 and a holster (cheaper than in Fort Worth).

Backyard test: Now this marker is big! 12.1 inches! and is tall. But the 12gram fit in nicely after an adjustment of the pusher screw. Simply screw the pusher all the way back with your fingers. With a single 12gram I was able to shot off about 30balls at about 60-80feet. This was not rapid fire, but careful shots. With rapid fire, I burned about 15 balls per one 12gram.

The Good:
-The look of this marker is similar to the Colt .45 Longslide with Laser scope used in the first Terminator film. And the DELTA is a beautiful marker pistol.

-Easy 12gram QC and excellent prieceing of the 12gram (Crossman Cooperhead brand) never lost one to a faultly load (unlike my Splatmaster!)

-When shooting the DELTA, was able to put balls on top of one another with easy and the marker had no kick.

The Bad:
-The size
-The size of the holster
- The loading of the balls into loader. this requires you to up the marker barrel down, open the screw, push the spring down and lock it, then drop the balls down the loader, close the screw, and release the spring. Yeah, I wanna do that while some speedballer is loading about thousand balls my way.

The Ugly:
-The price

Actual Field Test:

I used this pistol the first time 12/12 during a day game at Hit and Run Park in Fort Worth Tx. THe pistol drew quiet a bit of attention. Thus, I let people shot a couple of balls though it. And I even played two game of speedball with the DELTA.
This pistol preformed beautifully. No doubt. I only used about 3 12grams for about 5 hours of play. That was even with about six people shooting a few balls here and there. The pistol even capped a speedballer that got to close during a match. Overall, I was a wonderful experience, only the way that the DELTA is loaded causes me some issue.
Conclusion: All in all, a wonderful pistol with little negitives. I feel very good with this pistol in my hand and even as a Milsimer, I cannot wait to use this in Speedball.
Anyone looking for a semi-auto pistol should give the DELTA .68 a hard look
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 at 7:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadlymess Saturday, January 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Core ZX - which is a very nice marker, shoots hot out of the box.
Marker Setup: ATS Sniper 16 with scope, bipod, sniper grip, CAR stock, upgraded trigger
Smart Parts MaxFlo 68ci air system
(2) Delta 68's with higher tension Spyder mainspring
Recommended
Upgrades:
A compatible Spyder mainspring(if you need to boost the velocity.)
Strengths: Looks great, comfortable stock grips, quick change CO2, good barrel, accurate.
Weaknesses: "Quick" change CO2 not always that quick, low velocity out of box, lack of upgrades
Review: Overall I am happy with my two Deltas, but with this review I will list both positive and negative points I have come across. If looks were everything, you'd probably never have the need for another sidearm. The sticky grips which come stock are very comfortable compared to the grips on the Core ZX/Zeus markers, although these can easily be changed. The marker is built well, and feels sturdy in the hand. Accuracy is pretty tight - at the maxed out factory velocity(without the upgraded Spyder mainspring) shots were dead on at 30 feet using RPS Super Swirl paint. After increasing the velocity through a mainspring upgrade, accuracy increases quite a bit at longer distances. Thoroughly cleaning after a break is going to take about as much time as any other sidearm - removal of the rear plug pin, pulling out the bolt assembly. Thankfully, I have not needed to disassemble due to a chop, since I have had none so far.

The Delta uses a clamp to lock the CO2 cartridge in place instead of a threaded cap. It also has a plate and screw to make adjustments to the clamp's fit on the cartridge. This quick change CO2 feature would work out great if all CO2 cartridges were the same exact length. Unfortunately, in my experience they are not. I am going to try some different brands, but Copperhead CO2's have a slight gap between the neck and the top cap of the cartridge which ranges anywhere from near flush, to about 1/24 of an inch. This doesn't seem like much, but if you adjust the plate for good seal with a cartridge with no gap, you may have problems clamping it when using one with a 1/24" gap. On the other hand, if you adjust the plate to seal well with a cartridge with a 1/24" gap, you may not get a tight enough seal when using one with no gap. It might take you wasting a few cartridges to dial in the "sweet spot", and even now I still have trouble sometimes clamping down ones with larger gaps. As a tip to help remedy this, either A: sort your cartridges beforehand, B: see if you can find a brand which does not differ in length, or C: adjust the plate so that when you press the clamp snug against the cartridge right before it punctures, the clamp is pointing down at about a 45 degree angle. If it is pointing too high or too low, adjust the plate, then clamp it down. Once I found the sweet spot, I made a etched a small reference line near the base of the clamp so that I know exactly where it needs to be to create a tight seal and still be able to clamp it down. You should all know this, but always lube and clean your marker before play, especially the small CO2 O-ring on this marker!

My other issue with it is the velocity, or rather the lack of. Calling the company at their toll free number, a tech informed me that I shouldn't expect to get more than 160 - 180fps for this, or any other sidearm. I informed him that my Zeus got between 250 and 350 out of the box, which he had little response to, other than asking if that was using standard 12 grams. He recommended that I "stretch the mainspring" if I want a higher velocity. I would recommend getting yourself a compatible Spyder mainspring and using that instead. There are several kits to be found which contain several different springs of varied tensions. This should get your velocity up to a more acceptable range. Stock, with the velocity screw set to the highest position, I was getting approximately 30 - 35 rounds per cartridge. Obviously, after swapping a higher tension Spyder spring into it, you are going to get a higher velocity, at the expense of less rounds per cartridge.

The grip frame of the Delta 68 has two screws for adding a bottomline adapter, yet strangely I can not find any type of bottomline system for this marker ANYWHERE. Anyone who knows of one, please send me a quick message. If you are into accessorizing, don't expect a good number of places to mount. You cannot mount a rail to the underside of the barrel, since that is where the CO2 loads in. The clips of course are completely round though, so you could probably attach some type of universal mount to it, which would be the base for your laser sight, etc.

I like this marker, and since I have pretty much worked out the issues I originally had with it, I have few complaints. If you are someone who doesn't want to tinker around at all, and who wants a marker that is ready for serious play right out of the box, I might not recommend the Delta. You may be better off grabbing yourself a Core ZX/Zeus, and clipping a few rings off the mainspring(if need be) to get it down to a safer velocity.
Conclusion: In general, a great marker that has some weaknesses which thankfully, can be worked around.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2004 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nodnarB86 Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 and slightly modded Delta 68
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: Good accuracy and range, intimidating look.
Weaknesses: A little big, quick release jams, velocity low, a higher tension spyder spring fixes that.
Review: This is the first pistol I have used in paintball, and I mostly use it as my primary weapon now. It is good if you like taking your shots and close work, but it only holds 12 rounds. The only real problem (I put in a higher tension spring to help velocity) is when the quick release lever gets stuck. I've found that pulling it against the bottom of your shoe is a quick way to get it unstuck though.
Conclusion: If you like the idea of using a pistol, get a spyder spring and this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media