paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3 / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3 / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3 / PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3

PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Tournament grade electronic marker with multi-mode settings: semi, burst, & full-auto
-Spiral ported 12" aluminum barrel
-ram air chamber
-DSR adjustable inline reg with guage
-Flush cocking bolt
-Adjustable drop-forward
-Low pressure internals
-Available in black, blue and red
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
idyll Monday, July 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra DX, Raven Nexion
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha E-Force EXT Pro 2K3 (stock), 12v Viewloader w/x-board, PureEnergy 48 CU 3K N2/HPA Bottle
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better drop-forward, maybe a new barrel, maybe an Evil Smokestack
Strengths: Shoots FAST, quiet, light, no tool field-strip, and it looks very, very good
Weaknesses: Velocity adjustment and springs, distance between trigger-gaurd and regulator
Review: Where to start..... bad stuff first.

(This one was a pain in the a$$, but once fixed became a non-issue)
The field where I play requires that your FPS be 270 or lower. When I first crono'd the gun it was shooting at about 380 FPS: gold spring and velocity knob almost all the way out. I took out the gold spring and put in the softer blue spring. I was now able to adjust down to about 280: again with the velocity knob almost all the way out. I ended up having to cut down the blue spring, one coil at a time, by about half an inch. I was thern able to get a good range of adjustment between 200 and 300 FPS. BTW, I only chopped one ball: the first one. Once the velocity was under control I didn't have a single chop for the rest of the day: I shot 3/4 of a case of PMI premium paint.

(This is actually a minor weakness for me, you may feel differently)
Next, the distance between the trigger-gaurd and the regulator is very narrow. So, if you like to hold you marker by the regulator and use it as a pivot then you are out of luck.... unless you have really small hands, I don't.

Now to the good stuff and it's all good!

The marker looks like a million bucks. I had quite a few people comment on the looks alone. The machining on the body is very nice, I could nit-pick about some minor details, but I guess that's the difference between a $1,600 Angle and this gun. I think this gun will sell just for wow effect.

The E-Force trigger frame, although made from plastic, is VERY solid. There is some sideways slop in the double trigger, but when your in a fire-fight you'll never notice it. The frame comes with 9v rechargable battery and TWO chargers: one for the car and one for the home. However, unless you are going to be in the car for eight hours the car charger really isn't worth it. I was able to play all day on a single charge. I probably could have played for another whole day, but best to recharge after each days play.

Man this thing shoots fast: as fast as you can pull the trigger. The gun has a very light trigger-pull with a noticable sweet spot. If you hit the trigger just right you can fire faster in semi-auto than you can in full auto. Haven't tried the 3,6,9 shot burst setting yet, but I have tried the full auto setting: you'll empty a hopper in no time so carry a lot of extra paint!

The barrel seems to be quite good. Doing a little target practice before the game I could put paint consistantly on target (6" circle). The accuracy drops when your in full auto which might be cured with a better barrel. All in all it put the paint whereI aimed it:)

Cleaning was easy with the single pin field strip.

Didn't chop paint.

I don't know what else to say.....
Conclusion: Well, this is my first gun other than rental equipment and I must say that if you want an inexpensive electro (under $200 from most online stores) that can compete autocockers, angles, and the like.... this IS the gun to get. I'm giving it a 9 because of the velocity adjustment/spring problem. But, other than that I highly recommend thius marker!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

ddimka5 Friday, August 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Rebel Extreme (this gun garbage) - played with it for 6 months
Silver Bullet Electronic (garbage) - played with it for 6 months
Mongoose Electronic (very very bad) - played with it for 5 months
JT Excellerator 6.0 (very bad) - played with it for 7 months
Tippmann Model 98 Custom (good gun) - played with it for 1 year
Matrix LCD Matte Grey (only tryed, very good gun to too much money and not that fast) -played with it for 6 games
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Eforce EXT Pro 2003
14in J & J Ceramic
Crossfire 47ci 3000psi
APP 240 Round Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel but the stock on it ok
Nitrogen anyone it good (it make the gun much better)
9v hopper (going to get one soon)
Strengths: very fast , accuate, cheap
Weaknesses: no weaknesses
Review: the PMI Piranha Eforce EXT Pro 2003 is one of the best guns out there and it only costs $180 very cheap
i recommend you to buy this gun
if you have money then you should buy a nitrogen tank the crossfire tank is about $75
you should also buy a new barrel it makes any gun better, if you are short on money then buy at J&J Ceramic (the one for the Spyder will fit the gun) it is like $35 and if you have money then buy the Dye broomstick (J&J and the dye are almost the samething but the dye costs more)
and if you want you should buy a 9v hopper you dont need more then that it costs around $30
it gun will beat almost any gun out there between the price of $0-600
1. PMI Piranha Eforce EXT Pro 2003 $180
2. 14in J&J Ceramic $35
3. Crossfire 47ci 3000psi $75
4. 9v hopper $30
all together it comes out to be around $320
Conclusion: buys this gun you will love it
it is the best
i have to write more work
buy this gun you will love it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pwnedbyryan Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom w/boomstick, a lot less accurate as far as the stock barrel goes. Also a lot heavier. However it seems more durable and rugged.
Marker Setup: Pirahna eforce ext pro 2k3
eVLution II hopper
20 oz c02
14" All American Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend a new regulator. Probably the new 2k4 dsr model. Also the stock barrel isn't too bad but a new barrel would probably be worth it to the player who plays on a more competitive basis.
Strengths: Firing modes
Cool look
C02 or Air
Gauge
All around decent gun
Weaknesses: Regulator isn't fantastic
The ball feed is small
Minimal space for hand
Review: I bought this gun after having my two tippmans. I really liked the layout for switching the different firing modes. I can probably pull the trigger faster than the gun can fire on fully auto but not for long periods, just bursts. I really liked the gun design. It looks really sleek and impressive. I only know one kid who's not too fond of the design.
However the third day i used my gun it seemed that my regulator had broke. It might not have if I had oiled it properly(by adding drops of lube into the c02 input hole and dryfiring the gun). But it broke none the less. I had to take it in and then I got a new dsr model regulator. Very nice. Ever since that problem I have not had any further issues.
I can't say I like the hopper feed too much. It is too small and poorly designed. I had to sand down my egg FOREVER to get it to fit in there. Now that my egg is on the verge of breaking I fear what I'm gonna have to do with the next hopper I get to get it to fit in the ball feed.
The gun never seems to chop balls. I'm sure it's less of an issue since I have an eVLution II hopper but a chopped ball is a very rare occurrence and is DEF. not an issue with this gun. The handle is an issue to some but for me I tend to grip the gun in front of the handle at the corner where the gauge is.
The trigger, I think, is also a plus. Don't even worry about the fact that it is plastic. It's very solid and has a nice positioning to it. The trigger makes the gun very easy to fire fast when not in fully auto.
Conclusion: The gun does what it is supposed to and does it well. The only thing I really dissapointed with and didn't expect was the regulator and hopper feed problems. That is probably the only reason I'm gonna give it a 9. If I got a broader choice... I'd probably give it a 9.3.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wierdkid Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
mars evo, spyder E-99
Marker Setup: piranah E-force EXT pro 2k3, with pmi fiber wrapped 68 ci 3000 psi nitro tank, and a rickochet 2k or evlolution II hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
evil brarel with backs for $200.00
Strengths: light , super fast & light trigger, the price & quality combined is better then the impulse!
Weaknesses: there is no way that there is a weakness for this gun! especially for the $
Review: this is an outstanding gun to start and keep playing with and your retarded if u think other wise. and if you arn't retarded but still do think otherwise then your just too damn rich!$!$!$! this is the best gun you can get that is an awsome stock gun and when you dont have much money to put into paintball then this is what you want. and when you get more money you can upgard the he-l-l out of it!!$!!$!!
Conclusion: i just wrote my conclution so read the above paragraph
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schwa Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Surge, Tippman A-5, Piranha, Tippman Pro Carbine, Piranha G3 STS ( No comparison) cept for the g3 sts.
Marker Setup: Stock E Force Ext Pro
12vt revvy

(dont have the moneY)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro's good. Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Strengths: See review for details
Weaknesses: Ditto to above ^^^^^
Review: Ok, So i got the gun i have been urning for and i plug in the co2 and BAM it wont recock.
So after my shop replacing the bolt, o rings, fixed up the reg, and a fully charged battery it worked great! Many people loved my gun and the only problem was one ref said "why didnt you get a spyder.......ugly" So that pissed me off.

Strengths:
1. Fast
2. Doesnt chop that much
3. EASY FIELD STRIPPING
4. Works fine on co2 as of my experience
5. Flush Cocking
6. Good Stock Barrel
7. Comfortable To hold
8. Addicting to shoot :)
9. Compact
Weaknesses:
1. Regulator didnt work at first and wouldnt let my gun gass up (fixed though :).
2. I had recocking probs to start with.
3. Trigger is inconsistant.
Make sure taht if you buy it from a shop that you dont plan on playing instantly: Battery needs a chargin.

I love this gun. GREAT INVESTMENT
Conclusion: Beats out good ol spyders. Piranhas rock. Go out, get this gun, have some fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2004 at 4:56 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

The Penguinator Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom, Tippmann 98 custom with a flatline barrel, and Tippamann A-5, Spyder compact
Marker Setup: The marker, revolution hopper, and 48 cu 3000 psi air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper (required), air tank works better than a c02 tank
Strengths: Accuracy, speed, field striping, drop foward (balance), barely breaks balls
Weaknesses: Not as good as a autococker or impulse
Review: This gun is an excellent beginner gun, works very well on tournament fields opposed to forest fields. Can fire fairly fast, about 14 balls per second. It's balance is perfect, using the drop foward. It is also very manuverable, it barely breaks any balls. But if this gun is turned on it's side to fire, it will break every ball it fires. It will also break every tenth ball if you do not have an electric hopper, or if the hopper is not on, a mistake I've made way too many times. The ball I suggest using is Marbalizer, they work excelently in this gun, very accurate and it never breaks. This gun will use any ball though. If a ball does break this gun is so easy to field strip. I have personaly done it, and it was on a hyperball field. All you have to do is push out the field strip pin, pull out the bolt, clean it, squegee it, put it back in while holding the sear release. And you are ready to go. If you ave played for over a year do not get this gun, you can get a better gun than this. Once again this is a great BEGINNER gun.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to a person who is on their second gun and had palyed for less than a year, it is too expensive for a first gun and too slow for a person that has been playing for more than a year. There are better guns out there, but I like it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 14th, 2004 at 10:33 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Pepsee Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Spyder Flash LCD
Spyder SE
Marker Setup: Evil Omen w/ 12" smartparts teardrop freak kit
Spyder Flash LCD w/ 12" smartparts progressive barrel
PMI Piranha Eforce EXT pro 2k3
Evlution II loader w/ Y-board
47/3000 hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electric loader is absolutely required to avoid the "chop-fest"
A good barrel and balls that fits your barrel would be even better ;p
A coil remote......
32 degrees Spyder spring kit
Strengths: Great stock settings.....amazing stock barrel, regulator and drop forward....
Reliable, Light and confortable
Weaknesses: The regulator could be better...
Soft springs
Plastic grip w/ Eye-catching red light
Review: This was my first electronic marker i had. For not too much bucks, you can get a straight shooter e-marker @ part of the price. First, I was simply dazed by the laser blue paint that turn everyone's head :D Imagine how i was in love with it when i tried it. This marker is so light...but he's though! easy to play with and very nice stock trigger. Its in plastic, but the sweet spot on the trigger is so nice. No trigger job needed for sure! Looks like a $1000+ angel

Great choice of colors and wonderful design. (PMI issued their Razzor multimetal barrel line based on those colors....a great match!)

I broke the feeder neck one time without too much pressure on it... maybe i was unlucky, but they should be built more stronger.

Nice and fast access mode selection.

Very light and confortable marker...even more with a coil remote...

Very slim body that reduce "hit zone" (very important for speedballers :D )
Conclusion: A solid 9 would be a great and fair appreciation on this marker. We're three at our field to get this model by now and all are satisfied with their purchase.

A must for anyone who want a high-end marker and cannot afford it.......for the moment
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper_gnome Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha E-force Core DF
Piranha E-force VTL
Marker Setup: Blue Piranha Ext Pro 2k3
Black 14 in Progressive
20oz PE w A-S
JT Proflex Dynasty Blue
VL Quamtum (It works)
Black Extreme Rage Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Trigger
Bolt
Barrel for sure
Maybe Regulator
Electric Hopper or Your Gonna Chop
Strengths: 12+ pbs
Stock Barrel is Alright
Flush Cocking + Thumb Adjuster
Weaknesses: Regulator is Horrible
Feedneck Sucks
Trigger has slow response
Review: Okay when i bought this gun i thought it was pretty awsum, and it was for the first couple times i used it. The first problem i had was the regulator screwed up and my gun was shooting at over 1000 psi, i wasnt happy, but my warranty coverred it Luckily. My friend also bought a Ext Pro E-force but dunt let me get started on him, hes had way more problems than me. Well after owning this gun for 3 months ive decided that im gonna try to sell it and im going to upgrade to an Evil Omen or an Impulse Vision
Conclusion: If you are short on cash buy this, but if your not save up for a Evo or an Impulse or an Omen
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jackelton Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha e-force vtl
piranha pro ts g3
Marker Setup: Piranha E-Force Ext Pro 2k3
Evlution 2
Evil Pipe
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper(egg will do just dandy)
Better Barrel

Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Consistent
Reliable
Not a gas hog
Easy field stripping
Flush Cocking
Weaknesses: The feedneck
DSR reg
Flush Cocking
Review: This gun when I bought I was amazed at how good its performance for the money. Short-Medium range it was plenty accurate, but on those long shots you are wishing that you had a better barrel. With this gun I have only encountered one problem in one year. It was easily remedied. What happened was the bottom screw to the reg's ring had been ripped so i don't know what it did, but I knew that it was bad so I replaced it and hallelujah it worked. This gun did not hog the gas unlike many other entry-level markers. I could play two days in a row on a 9 oz. and still have some left for the next day. Or maybe it's just because I am a front player and I go pretty easy on the paint therefore I don't shoot as much air if you don't get what I mean. The Flush Cocking System is a good and bad thing. The good part is that you don't need a beaver tail because the bolt doesn't pull back and hit you in the face, instead it stays "flush" with the rest of the chamber. The bad part is that even though this rarely happens it still can so i am going to list it. Sometimes the bolt forgets to recock itself. It isn't a big problem so overall i would say that the Flush Cocking System is a good thing. I did not like the feedneck on this gun one bit. It is designed to be able to fit all hoppers without much trouble, but anything that's going to make me have to sand my egg I consider a problem. This is an entry-level marker that actually has good milling. Usually there aren't too many of those are there? It looks good and the milling job is smooth and clean and I didn't find any rough spots except for in the feedneck cuts. Some people call me insane, but this actually looks like a fish to me.(Don't ask me why.) For the value I'd say that this gun is a wonderful deal for any beginner or just for someone who doesn't have enough money to get an Impy yet like me =)
Conclusion: So if your looking for a reliable overall good gun I would highly recommend this gun. I'm going to give this gun a 9 'cause it isn't perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 18th, 2004 at 10:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RoCa Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and tippmanns i guess.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha E-Force EXT PRO 2K3,20ounce,Empire Reloader,Dye xcel barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if you want.....nitro?....and especially a electronic hopper.
Strengths: Look in review.
Weaknesses: look In Review
Review: Strengths
-VERY short,light, and fast trigger pull...can't beat it.
- I don't know why everyone complains about the stock barrel but the one that came with this one was shooting straighter than my Dye Xcel.
-Has firing modes.
-Plastic trigger....if you like that.
-Looks good
-Not all that heavy
-Worth the money
-Nice Drop forward...atleast i like it
-Doesn't chop ON semi.

Weaknesses
Well...I put it on full auto and chopped on the 6 ball, but whose gonna use full auto? It worked wonderful on semi so im happy.
-Plastic trigger
-Had trouble with chopping when shooting fast..:| if anyoen knows a anti chop bolt PM me..My friend was shooting fine...but mine sucks.

I played a game in the woods with my gun today..surprisingly..i didnt chop one ball with it and it was in the snow. it performed better than i expected. I think the chopping problem was due to my maddmann spring and the FPS, so i chnaged back to the original spring and worked fine. BTW....Brass eagle balls work fien with this marker...atleast with mine.Ah yes...i forgot...when your shooting..you can feel it when the guns bout to uncock because it gets less kick to it..lenn u just got to stop shooting for like 2 seconds then u can here it.."air" back up again.
Conclusion: The gun works fine...just dont put the velocity too high with a strong spring :|.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 17th, 2004 at 7:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media