paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007

Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
One of the first paintball guns.
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Layman Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned it well over a month, and under three months.
There isn't anything comparable to it other than stock class markers.
edit: well, I've had a Nelspot for well over a year now, thought that I should rewrite the review.
Marker Setup: Primary:
Mac1 Annihilator
10oz Thermovalve tank

and other stuff too...
Recommended
Upgrades:
A pump handle is a nice upgrade for it, although the bolt action by itself is fun. Try to find a rear quick changer for it. They are far less common than the 007's themselves, but work really well. Changing out the internals with a Lapco #6 power tube, Black Magic cup seal, and a Lapco Grey Ghost hammer has been recommended several people.
Strengths: "The following field contains too many words." - sick if trying to shorten...
Weaknesses: The following field contains too many words." - sick if trying to shorten...
Review: Wow, I got a Nelspot! This little workhorse is very tough. It feels about the same weight as a .38 revolver. It is suprisingly accurate with Zap Chronic. I have used this for only a few games, but have shot it around my home with the same accuracy that I have heard of in other reviews. Even at a good distance (50-70ft?) I was able to snapshoot and gog a guy. The bolt action of the 007 takes a little getting used to. It will tire your hand out having to use as much force to close the bolt. The Nelly is around two pounds. It will hold 8 balls with the original factory setup. It comes with a screw installed in the top tube to help the balls roll into the power tube. If you remove this screw and use a 10 round tube as a magazine, or clip, you will increase it's ball holding to 17. When I say accurate it will put a ball onto another ball at 25-30ft. I noticed that even after breaking a ball it still seems to fire straight. (I can't figure out why so if someone could tell me please PM me.) It takes 12g powerlets and will get an average of 22 viable shots. When I say viable I mean fast enought to still break on clothing. It will get around thirty shots off of a 12g, though the last few are slow enough to catch in your hand. Nelson, while not still making parts, has parts in their stock that they are happy to sell you. I was very pleased to get the Nelspot 007, and even more psyched when I found it to still compete with the rest of the guns in the the semi world.
edit
Well, I am still pleased with it's performance. It is a great little shooter. Using many other brands of paint in it, I still am suprised by it's accuracy. I have had a few pass through my hands now, and they all vary with their gas consumption. You still should get about 20 great working shots off of any of them. They are becoming more available on eBay, and the price seems to have stayed steady. The barrels are easily rustable, but just as easily cleaned out. Taking steel wool and a straight stick in a drill will take any light rusting off.
Down sides= They are all steel. Steel can rust. You must keep the gun oiled up like a firearm to prevent rusting. Some really don't like the weight of them.
Conclusion: If you have the ability to get one, then go for it. Be patient and look on eBay. Aside from being a great collectable it serves it's purpose well. Take care of it and it will take care of you.
editIf you are able to find one buy it to try. Even if you don't like it, you will still get your money back out of it if you are patient when reselling. This is a piece of history that you should make an effort to try. Everyone's seen a Timmy, not everyone's seen a Nelly.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 27th, 2005 at 8:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson based pump guns such as the Kingman Hammer A and the DSDS 494 pistol. Other pump markers as well including a Sniper (Autococker with pump) P68SC and PGP. I've played many games with all of these including a Nelspot 007.
Marker Setup: Nelspot 007 with some left handed friendly upgrades, notably the addition of a pump handle, aftermarket valve with external 12 gram changer, and custom made lefty grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you don't have a pump handle get one. The "bolt action" can be stiff to say the least. If you're left handed try to get an external 12 gram changer and nicer grips.
Strengths: Small. Gas efficient. Somewhat durable. Accurate.
Weaknesses: Not for lefty. Stiff pump. Steel rust. Paint flake. Loud. No easy velocity adjust.
Review: OKay, everyone loves this gun and I can't blame them for being nostalgic, but there are a few drawbacks to this marker.

First off if you're left handed you'll notice this marker is not made for you. Originally this marker only had a bolt handle on the left side. The grips are also formed for right handed people, and the 12 grams held inside the trigger frame is changed from the left side. There are upgrades that make this marker more useful for left handed people, unfortunately since this marker is now so old these are hard to come by.

Also, this marker is made mostly from plain steel. The paint will flake off and the marker will rust if you're not careful. The inside of the barrel (in fact the entire inside) is also left as uncoated steel and will rust very quickly. Don't leave this in your gear bag in the basement too long.

The way this marker comes stock the hammer and bolt tend to get jammed up with the hammer spring and the power tube, and also jammed up against the inside of the body. This can make the marker quite stiff to pump in both directions. You can make it easier to pump by sanding this or that ... but it can be tedious work.

The velocity is tedious to adjust too. The major adjustments are made by changing the hammer and valve springs. There were aftermarket products made in the old days which made it easier to adjust velocity, like a air restriction screw in the bolt, but like all old parts they can be difficult to find. Adjusting the springs though works well enough these days to get you within a resonable velocity ... 250 - 280fps.

The screw to tighten up the 12 gram cartridge inside the handle will loose the ring very quickly. The hole the ring goes into is not drilled through, and since you always put a lot of pressure on this part to tighten it up, the ring gets all bent out of shape and drops off in no time. Just a bad design. The problem is if this happens on the field you're out of luck until you can get a replacement of some kind, or start using vice grips on the screw.

The marker is loud. It can be quite satisfying shooting at someone and hearing it go BOOM but it can make your ears ring if you're indoors.

For a marker with such a short barrel, it's very accurate. The bore size tends to be small, even with modern paint and I think this helps.
Conclusion: Well ... since this was the first marker people played the game with, you just have to get one if you can. Overall this is a good marker, and a lot of fun to play with. It's functional, but not the slickest of designs. A little tweaking though and some choice upgrades and you have a nice little marker.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PolishMarksman Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing comes close.
Marker Setup: Nel-Spot 007 - Had to re-grind the CO2 puncture-pin, but other than that it is all stock.

AutoMag Classic - Powerfeed, New Barrel, new back end, remote N2 setup, old-school 200-round non-powered hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Re-grind the puncture pin. Not necessary, but if you do it right, it gets you a better seal that doesn't break as easily (Normally, jarring the screw at the bottom of the handle will cause you to lose the seal, and your gas with it).
Strengths: ACCURATE, Gas-Efficient, Reliable
Weaknesses: Slow refire.... so what?
Review: I've reliably gotten 30-40 shots with a 12 gram cartridge, and can hit the cap of an Aquafina bottle at a range of at least 30 feet. With accuracy like that, you don't need a high refire rate.

The gun is older than I am, and still works like new - how can you beat that?

Like I said, regrind the puncture pin (to get a bit more of a bite on the CO2 cartridge) and you almost never lose CO2.

Have had one (technically two) ball breaks, and that was only after trying to fire two paintballs at once. Never broke a ball other than that.

One last thing -- if the barrel starts to rust (non-aluminum guns tend to do that) primer brown/green paint, although tacky, stops outside rust (after some elbow-grease and sand paper), and steel wool keeps the inside nice.
Conclusion: One of, if not the, most accurate, gas-efficient, reliable, and all-around-great guns on the planet ...

The only way you won't like this gun is if you want to blow 2000 rounds of paint in a 5-min speedball game, and like to paint trees. If you have any skill whatsoever, this is a force to be reckoned with.

Oh, yeah, they wouldn't let me but a score of 15 out of 10. I wonder why...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan pmi
Sl-68
Blood sucker
Marker Setup: VS3 with vs2 trigger
14" j&j barrel
Empire Vents Avatar with dark thermals
Halo V35
88 and 68/4500 Pure Energy with DYE covers
Invert 3+2 Loaders
Invert Digi Woodland Outfit
Spyder MR 1 with rear cocking mod
Halo Frontman
Spyder E-trigger(mech trigger back on for loaner)
Palmer's Stablizer
Pure Energy 16oz tank
Pure Energy 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick change 12gram or CA adapter, pump, feed tube, direct feed mod,
Strengths: Accurate
Dependable
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Steel body rusts
Velocity hard to adjust
Review: Wow, does this take me back. My friend had both of our markers in his attic storage. I got a wild hair one day and popped over there and asked him go get them down for me. I took them home and started cleaning them. I was amazed at how well they had they were preserved. I took both the markers apart and cleaned most of the rust off. I took all the best peices and put them in one of the markers. I put a co2 tank on it and started shooting. I filled the hopper up, went to the back yard and put some 20 or so shots through it. It worked great. Just like the old days. I may try to break this out at our next scenario day and do some sniping!

Some more pics: http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/jj145/dean0177/Paintball/
Older%20Paintball%20markers/
Conclusion: This is my first. And just like any firsts, she will always be my favorite. She may not be the fastest, lightest, quietest, best looking girl but she was mine. And we got our fair share of elimations.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint magnet Friday, March 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Nelson-based guns - most are generally lighter and have more features. The fact that new guns are still being made off this same design is rather impressive in itself.
Marker Setup: Nelspot 007 (made in March, 1986)
custom-made battle grips
speed wheel
10 round tube (missing magazine plug)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd recommend battle grips...the speed wheel is nice to have too. The thing I'd recommend most is a velocity adjustable bolt -- I don't have one and changing springs gets old fast. Most come with a pump handle that has been added by a previous owner. If you plan to shoot more than 10 rounds in a day you'll need one too.

Aftermarket parts and accessories aren't all that hard to find. You can find CA valve bodies, extended barrels, and direct feed bodies pretty easily if you want.
Strengths: Accuracy, durability, efficiency, nostalgia
Weaknesses: It lacks a few modern refinements (what would you expect?)
Review: This marker has been shooting people for over 20 years and is still going strong--to my knowledge, it's never even been rebuilt. It has some rust on the internals, a very short barrel and runs off unregulated CO2, yet with a good paint-barrel match, yet it's one of the most accuate guns I've ever shot, bar none. The stock iron sights are dead on. It's a little on the heavy side, weighing more than most new full-size guns, due to the fact that it's made completely out of steel. I kind of like the weight though, it gives the gun a very solid feel.

The pump stroke is short and snappy, like all Nelson based designs, though not as smooth as some. Efficiency is good as well, as is the trigger pull.
Conclusion: I love shooting this gun. It's a piece of paintball history, and is guaranteed to get you looks at the field...likely from players younger than the gun itself. If you're into pump play and looking for a great pistol or even primary gun and like Nelson based designs, this is a great gun.

If you're new to pump and are looking to buy a primary gun, I'd probably get something like a Phantom though...it will give you all the fun of pump play with all the modern features.

Overall, I'd have to give it a 10, given the fact it was made 20 years ago. If I were comparing it to modern pumps such as the Phantom or Palmer guns, I'd probably give it a 7.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 3rd, 2006 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

skamikaze Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmasters, pgps and most other "founding" pistols are no mathc for the 007
Marker Setup: Strictly stock setup.

plus a trigger shoe.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger shoe, LOTS of oiling. a sturdy end cap or a ten rnd tube.
Strengths: Accurate. RELIABLE. STUDRY.
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire, often has personality tweaks.
Review: When my buddy brought me a box full of ten Nel-Spot 007s and said "if you know what they are, you can have them," i pretty much died on the spot. found in an army depot warehouse, they had survived aflood and were handed down from paintball heaven to my door. i salvaged seven of them by canibalizing the others and i still use one as my primary field gun to this day.

how can you hate the nel spot? it has the feel and fire of a real gun. it is more accurate than many aftermarket aluminum barrels and has great air usage. without this gun, none of us would enjoy our sport as it is today. i have taken down some impressive player with the nelspot because nobody fears its slow bolt action firing system. what they dont know is that it can hit anything you want all the way across the field, no problem.

the nelspot will always have a place in my gear bag and i will carry one with honor wherever i play. it still proves that you dont need to spend $1000 on gear to be a good player.

yeah, there are some weak points, but seriously, the gun is 24 YEARS OLD! and it still shoots better than a spyder. the bolt is slow and often stiff but care usually fixes that. it only holds seven rnds but thats all you need with the accuracy of this thing. its a rock and cock and that is tough when you are shooting fast uphill. the lack of an anti double feed often causes a cut ball but not a big deal.
Conclusion: Still the best pistol and the reason paintball exists
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pnda_express Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used many nelson based pumps like horntes, phantoms, mavericks, traccers, tagmasters, tigersharks, and the like.
Marker Setup: Usually a kp-3 with shotgun belt loops on the stock or a Sam Tussing nickel plated pgp with all the goods or a PMI-1 With a Direct Feed and bolt action. I got to many guns to choosew but those 3 see the most use.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A pump arm, phantom internals, maybe a wire stock, and a quick cnager.
Strengths: Basically the grandfather of paintball, Its fairly accurate, good efficiency , light, strip it in seconds.
Weaknesses: Bolt action hurts, the body can rust, the 12 gram pierce pin
Review: Pros- Its basically the grandfather of paintball (next to the 707). Its fairly accurate, good efficiency (about 45 shots of a 12 gram), and its light. You can strip it in seconds also.

Cons- The bolt action is very hard on the hand. First off its hard to cock it even for the strongest person after a while. Even with a pump arm its hard still. Then the body can rust so you dont want to leave any paint or anything in the gun or yur screwed. The 12 gram pierce pin doesnt have a shell around it to guide the 12 gram into the pin so if your in a hurry you can mess up.
Conclusion: If your looking for a stock class gun get something like a pgp. If your looking for a collection gun get a nelspot. A 6.5/10 on performance but a 10 on collectability.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chill_Bebop Sunday, June 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
P68, PGP, pgp 2k, Zeus, Splatmaster, ETC
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Lite, Tippmann m98 w/flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe convert it to pump if you want
Strengths: accurate, strong, reliable
Weaknesses: extremely hard to find parts, kinda heavy if ur a wuss
Review: The first paintball gun ever. The bolt action is super retro and sweet. Can actually put it in a regular handgun holster if you want. The reliability is unreal. feels real

The people who used this gun were inspired to make the splatmaster, the second paintgun ever, which was cheaper to make, and brought a ton of people into our sport. i give this an 8 because its a quality made marker. its truly a legend
Conclusion: If you can find one, buy it immediatly!! These sell for alot of money
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Tracker7 Thursday, July 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Non really
If your talking pistols in general:
Arakion Overlord &
XJ40
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical w/
Archon's NEW Revolutionary 200 Round Gravity fed hopper,
20oz remote line CO2 NXe 4+1
Secondary:
Overlord Rx Pistol w/ laser sight
Second Primary:
Custom made P90 prototype
Recommended
Upgrades:
That's Funny
Strengths: Accuracy
Strong
Durable
It's History
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts
Tuff to cock
Not fast enough to use today
Review: The Gun Itself:
It's the history behing it that makes this gun stand out. if you don't know you need to look it up.
My brother found this one about 10 yrs ago, I still remember when he use to shoot peanut M&M's at me with it.
For all of you who think its one down fall is the steel body and the rust, (not said to be mean) Oil it. Treat it like a real gun and use regular oil instead of paintball gun oil.

Firing:
It shoots great & also has a nice feel.
It's accurate and is a reliable gun.
It can be hard to cock but with a little extra oil in the bolt and some care it can be fixed.

Restoration:
There is a sight out there that has some parts.
Ebay has one sold for parts or intact once in a while.
Some parts can be fixed by a gun smith.
My Brother made his own bolt and it seems to work fine.
Or you could just clean it and put it on a mantel, and tell the historyof paintball to guests.


Conclusion: If you can find one pick it up, you won't be sorry.
And if you are sorry, send me a private massage and I'll take it off you hands.
I have to give it a good rating, because just because of its history.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: triligy sport
java grips 12volt revy w/ x board
24 oz brass eagle tank (its freakin huge)

proto rail (on the way)
halo b w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
None to speak of i dont think they make upfrades for a marker this old
Strengths: Reliable
Weaknesses: Slow to reload
Review: When i first saw it i thouth it was pos when my nehbior pulled it out of his garage but then my friend said it wouldnt hurt if it hit you but that was a mistake that thing is a connon

I can say i think twice about bunkering my nebior when he uses that thing but it would be nice if it held more balls mainly becuz i can empty 10 shots pretty quick

shot great it was accurate
Conclusion: Its a great side arm
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media