paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3 / PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3 / PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3 / PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3

PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $320

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The PMI Piranha Pro E Marker, with the 2k3 e-force trigger frame

Tournament grade electronic multi-mode settings: Semi, Burst, Full-Auto
Powered by CO2 or N2
Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting
Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
Flush cocking bolt system
Vertical feed, closed receiver
Electro mechanical multi-mode trigger frame with LCD display
Powered by one 9V rechargeable battery (one battery and wall charger included)
Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gauge
15 + shots per second
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha Pro E 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Duck Hunt Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Smart Parts 14" Teardrop, Piranha E Force Stock. Spyder Electra Stock.
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro E 2003 Stock. 20 ounce Pure Energy Co2, PMI 140 round hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Haven't tried any yet.
Strengths: Slim light, high ROF, great menus, great stock parts.
Weaknesses: Electric gun, get it wet it dies. RamAir can get dirty.
Review: First off all this is a great gun out of the box, Much like the Spyder Electra. Its one of those guns you buy when you want a high class marker without paying big bucks. I've never been a big fan of electric guns, being a Tippmann owner and all =) But when my friend showed me the Pro E at his store I instantly wanted it. Heres the run down.

Straight out of the box its a great gun. If you don't want to have to upgrade, example my tippmann 98, this thing obviously have better consistancy because of the regulator.

I took it to the field Saturday, I bought it Friday so I didn't have enough time to charge the battery (it takes 22 hours) So I used regular 9 volts, NOT A GOOD IDEA, they last about 3 hours, then they start dying. I think the menus on this thing are great if your more than a rec ball player. I shot semi auto the whole day, and I was really ripping those balls out. I didn't chop a single ball, I pinched a few but they NEVER broke at the end of the day my barrel and receiver were completely clean. With an auto hopper I'm sure I wouldn't have pinched any balls. I was shooting a consistant 280 thanks to the regulator, which I kept at 500 psi mainly because I didn't have an allen wrench to adjust it =)

The ball counter is a great tool when you're serious about keeping an eye on the action, with a 140 round hopper you can set it at 100 and if you have 100 round tubes you're golden. And most of my teamates had no idea what the beeping was!

The over all ball counter is great too if you want to keep track of the paint you've been using, I went through 1,000+ balls and I didn't need an air refill.

It performed great in woodsball. Straight enough shots so I could cut through some brush. I played acouple games of woodsball then me and my cousin (using my 98 custom) played 2 on 2 with some Angel toting players =)

We won 3 to 1, and I lit them up with the Pro E, wether or not its skill or the gun I can't really say, needless to say if you move around and shoot this thing you WILL be inaccurate too a point, but practice makes perfect.

Conclusion: I'm gonna say this gun is a great deal for the money. Doesn't need any upgrades in my opinion. Hell it can shoot 17 balls a second! hehehe.

I'm a firm believer in using whats comfortable to you. I personally hate double triggers, but this one is pretty small compared to Spyder, so I can deal with it. Go to your nearest pro shop and take a look at it, ask if you can play around with a fully charged one.

I'm keeping it, it can stand up to alot of wear, and its got great features for $299, I'll keep my Tippmann though for when it starts to rain =) Or when some pro team autococker needs a good old fashion painting =)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

eyeseek Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto cocker
Spyder Shutter
ICD BKO 2K3
Marker Setup: Stock with Empire 4 piece barrel kit and compressed air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rec ball- None.
Tourney play- Barrel and electronic hopper. Compressed air adds consistency.
Strengths: Excellent out of box marker, almost tourney ready. Very solid feel.
Weaknesses: Slightly heavier than some other guns but can take a beating!
Review: At the time of this review, PMI has only released about 50 of these guns for sale to test the market response so it is very hard to find. I can say that this is a very nice marker out of the box and PMI did a nice job with this one. As the newest gun in the Piranha line they aimed at making this gun very competitive at the stock level and they succeeded. It's several steps above the e-Force EXT PRO 2K3 and with the 2 recommendations I listed above this gun is quite simply awesome. I have used the ICD BKO as my primary for a while now and really liked it but the problem was you just can't do as many repairs since it's mostly electronic. I realize that's where the industry is going but with the performance of the PRO-e i think there's a huge potential still out there for high performance electro-mechanical hybrids. The PRO-e works at extremely low pressure (mine's dialed in at between 250 and 300), and consequently is quiet and will throw very fragile paint with no problems. I've run 12 cases through it and at several settings with NO BREAKS. You an also play forever on one tank due to the low air usage. It is perfectly balanced and like I mentioned ealier, this thing is rock solid. It's a little heavier than the BKO but I feel like this thing will take a beating with no loss in performance. The rate of fire is incredible and you can dial it up to 15 bps and if your hopper will keep up, no chops. I only play in semi-auto but of course I had to try out the full auto and I was blown away. I also shot a lot of $$ in paint but it was so fun to shoot a rope of paint down the lanes that I could care less. Really nice trigger too. PMI's gone to an aluminum trigger frame on the PRO-e and I really think it was an excellent move. One thing I was worried about was the lack of adjustment in the trigger, but that went away the first time I shot the marker. It's literally like clicking a mouse button. I'm not the fastest shot by any means and I could consistantly obtain a ROF of 10 bps in semi-auto mode. The last thing that needs to be disscused is the accuracy & barrel. The stock is perfect for front players and small speed ball courses. It's really quite a good stock barrel ( 2 inch x 3 inch pattern at 85 feet indoors !) but for the best performance I think you always need to match paint to the barrel so I use the Empire 4 piece kit for top level accuracy. I was amazed,but with this gun and barrel combo, I had a consistent pattern of 1inch x 1.5 inch at 50 feet and 2.5 inch x 3 inch pattern at 100 feet! Buy good paint (I like HellFire PRO or regular) and match it well and you will be dead on.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the features and performance. It is now my primary and I am competing at very high levels and I feel this gun helps my performance. I like the ease of working with it and the upgrade availablility. Price is good now and I expect it to come down a little as well. If you compete at the tourney level, get the barrel and hopper and you'll be set. Very happy and recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ripvanwinkle Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
To many to name'em all (mostly older stuff).
Marker Setup: Pro-E w/Lapco 14" bigshot, DYE hyper 2 reg, 12v revy w/X board PE 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper - something faster than the 12v revy I have.
Strengths: Quality, fit, and finish are excellent. Field teardowns are quick and painless.
Weaknesses: See below.
Review:
Weaknesses (from above):
The stock battery (replaced w/JAVA 9.6v) and the regulator could be considered
another weak point if I were to get picky. Another note that I'll add to this
section is the grip to trigger frame seal is lacking. The fix is to use a thin
film of silicon between the grip and frame when re-assembling the grip. This
would keep out the nastys such as water and grime. The gun didn't come with a
rubber charge port plug (big mistake on PMI's part). Out of the box the gun
needs a good cleaning and oiling.

Review:
Let me start off by saying this is my first electronic trigger gun and as such
it took a bit of time to get used to the hair trigger it has, it's almost like
a mouse click. The gun fits like a glove in my hand and will fire faster than I
can click the trigger, frequently out shooting the hopper. I have played with
the burst and full auto features but find them to be more of a useless addition
due to the amount of paint it consumes. In stock form using severe hurricane
paint balls and correctly setup, the gun is quite accurate. With the lapco and
the dye hyper2 reg it's down right deadly at any speed. I've put almost 6 cases
of paint thru this gun in the past few months I've owned it and can say it's
definitely worth the $280. I paid for it and should compete with anything on the
market today.
Conclusion: So there you have it, Piranha's flagship gun for '03 it's cheap well mannered
(rarely chops), looks and performs like you paid a lot more than you did.
What more could you ask for? Just don't even think about using it until you
clean, oil and set it up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintslinger751 Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
e-99 avant,pmi ext,tippman 98, and triad.
Marker Setup: E-99 avant, egg hopper,20 oz tank,sp all american barrel. tippman stock,pmi pro e
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Very fast
Weaknesses: Needs hopper 'personal problem"
Review: This gun is bad to the bone! Will Release Havoc on opponents. Very fast and durable. The flagship of pmi. Full-auto is a paint hog will shoot paint fast.15 cases one broke ball. go buy this gun today, u will not be sorry. This gun is a bad bad marker
Conclusion: This is what u want for christmas
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballhitman Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nasty imp with max flow
gameface electric pro
Spyder rodeo
spyder shutter
spyder pilot
maxis e/g
Marker Setup: piraha pro-e
All american 16 inch
12v revy with vortext impeller soon to have was 12 v revy w.a.s board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe barrel if your a back player
Strengths: Fast
light
strong
accurate
good gass eficency
Weaknesses: Really none
you will need to get a agitated hopper
the trigger has side sway
Review: This gun i took it out of the box oiled it iup charged it up then put some gas and paintballs and riped like ive never seen. I love the Adjustable trigger and the regulator .
The feed neck is a cool shape .
The best part of the gun is the body it makes for easy walking and the trigger is really senstive.
I had to put a harder spring on it but thats be cause im runnning really low pressure coming into the gun and when the tank was low the bolt wasent recocking all the way so i think i fixed the problem.

The trigger has side sway but im getting the boss blade

OK now that ive been paintballing with it a few times i can add more to the review
AAAAhhhhhh i love this gun and with the t boards comming out my gun is going to be as good and if not better than an evo because the pro e trigger frame is better

This gun scares me with how fast it can shoot ive been turning it down because i dont want to out shoot my hopper
Conclusion: This gun is good for beginer and expert alike it is a good gun and i adore it and it is the 2nd best gun ive used the nasty imp is the first. but this gun is right at its tail
10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 7th, 2005 at 5:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CRosen13 Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion- I stay with it
Piranha Evo- i out shoot it by 5-7 bps
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro-E w/
Halo B
Pure Energy 72/3000
Q-Lock Feed neck
Hybrid 05 lady Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B
New Feed Neck
Strengths: The Trigger is real nice
Nice Accurate Stock Barrel
Fast
Weaknesses: Pretty loud
Faster Hoppers Don't Fit in Feed Neck
Review: Strong Body, I dropped it a couple times and nothing happends. I has a nice Chromeish Gray body(Nice) I play with kids with Ego's, Cockers, Angels and I stay in the game with them. I've had it for almost 7 months and I have never had a problem. It will jam sometimes but never breaks a ball when does. Just pull Cock back and it will unjam. I would consider this gun, its Nice and Fast.
Conclusion: Its a great gun. I love it, and I would consider buying one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grant08 Thursday, November 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker
Angel Speed 06
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro-E, Angel, Autococker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Fast!!!!!!!
almost tounoment ready
LCD is awsome
semi, full auto, 3,6, 9 shot bursts

Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: This is one of the best guns I have used in my paintballing experience. When I am in tounorments I prefer the piranha over the AUTOCOCKER! But of couse the Angel is no match for either gun thats why I use it more than the other two. When I was in a tounorment the Angel bolt broke and the autococker wasn't working the best, so I used the piranha pro e, after that day I fell in love with that gun I use it in woodsball as well as speedball. This is a great gun for a low price, I would recommend it to everyone.
Conclusion: Buy this gun it is the best. I recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Great Gun!
Fast and reliable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mi11z Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor, Tippmann c98,Pmi Piranha pro 3
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro E, 18" Dye boomstick Woodsball,-14"Whisper-Speedball-, Empire ele. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel of coarse stock is pretty acc though,Electric Hopper
Strengths: Shots pretty fast 17bps,Regulator, Nice LCD handle
Weaknesses: If u play woods ball its hard to hide the dang thing besides that nothing
Review: I had been playing with the Piranha pro 3 and loved it just didn't shot fast enough and wanted something different but still made by pmi found it at a local paintball store and couldn't leave without it, got it out on the field and i was amazed at how fast it shot it was my fist electric marker and wont go back, ppl freak out when u have them pined behind a tree at 17bps. Lays down great cover fire for the rest of ur team and with my boomstick it shots pretty acc. and far
Conclusion: Would recomand it to any 1 a great all in 1 gun i give it a 10-10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Battlemaster21 Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Pro-E, 72/3000 Pure Energy Air Tank , Halo TSA Footman Hopper, 14" razzor barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Razzor Barrel and Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Shoots Fast
Accurate(Even Out of Box)
Looks Cool
Light Trigger Pull
Weaknesses: You must cock it first(Chance to forget)
Cant Get Wet
Review: This is a very good gun and it shoots exstreasmly fast with a very light trigger pull
Its pretty accurate rite out of the box, but you should get a better barrel.

The battery has a very long charge time(22 hours) witch can be a pain but i only go oce a week anyways.

Overall this is a very good gun but if you can save $100 more you should get the Smarts Parts Ion
Conclusion: Thisis a very good gun i would recomend this to anyone who is likes speed at a affordable price ( I got mine for $90 never used)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InvictusBackman Sunday, September 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder shutter, Spyder compact, Spyder Imagine, Piranha Evo,Piranha GTI, WGP Triligy Comp., Tipman A-5, Tippman 98, Spyder Electra, Mongoose led and lcd, and Ion
Marker Setup: PirahPMI Piranha Pro E 2k3
16" Smart Parts Progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Bolt, Electronic Hopper, Feedneck
Strengths: Speed, Reliability, Air Efficient (compared to other guns in catigory).
Weaknesses: Have to keep well lubed, weight
Review: Well this is the gun that I started off using. I love it. The only problem I've had is that sometimes the bolt won't cock back but all you have to do to fix it is to keep it well lubed. I can rip with this gun. I've shot about 8-9 cases of paint through it and it has worked like a dream. I can outshoot my frieds timmy with this gun.
Conclusion: Great buy highly reccomended. Only better gun for the price is the Ion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media