paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron

Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sports Sensors, Inc.

Buy Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Just hold the small
RADARchron™ within 1/2 inch of the Marker barrel, about 2 inches
behind the marker barrel exit and reading the velocity of the expelled
paintball. Simple one-button operation turns on the radar transmitter and
feet per second paintball exit velocity is indicated on the LCD.
Product Availability 
The Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
thehalls Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VLocity
Oehler Model 35BNC
Chrony
Marker Setup: 2 F4s, each w/ WGP Ergo regulator and anti-siphon tubes
Griffin w/ WGP Ergo regulator and anti-siphon tube
Griffin w/ ACI bottomline regulator
Model 98 w/ Flatline, WGP Ergo regulator and anti-siphon tube
Strengths: Cost: At approximately $90, the RadarChron is cheaper than 2 cases of paint. Anybody who says they can't afford is either making excuses or can't afford to be playing paintball in the first place.

Setup Time: The RadarChron takes zero setup time, unlike most optical-based systems.

Versatility: The RadarChron will work for any paintball gun. By comparison, the VLocity doesn't work well on guns that have irregularly shaped, small, or particularly large muzzles.

Portability: The RadarChron fits in your pocket - enough said!
Weaknesses: Accuracy: The RadarChron is only accurate to 2%%. While this is plenty accurate for ensuring safe play, it is not up to the task of precision "gun tweaking". I've compared the RadarChron to a laboratory grade chronograph (Oehler Model 35BNC w/ Type 57 screens) and the difference between the two is astonishing. Suffice to say that after measuring with a precision instrument I've found that even my low-end guns are more consistent than the RadarChron is! Thus, the RadarChron is virtually useless for fine tuning guns.

Interference: On particularly humid days, the RadarChron sometimes measures the velocity of the vapor cloud (condensation) that emits from your barrel rather than the velocity of the paintball. This can be avoided with practice (hold the RadarChron a bit further away from the barrel...but not too far!), but can be frustrating to user's who aren't bright enough to figure out what's going on.

Size: The RadarChron is actually *too* small. When at the field it is constantly getting lost in the dark nooks and crannies of my gear bag.
Conclusion: While it is not a perfect product, the RadarChron is the best chronograph out there for general use. Those with demanding specifications will have problems with it. So too will those who live in particularly humid climates. But again, for 99%% of the users out there, it will do everything they want for a price that is hard to beat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Smorgie76 Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used other chronographs
Marker Setup: Tippman C98, J&J 14"ceramic barrel, PMI 20oz with SP on/off
Strengths: Very portable, durable, accurate, bright so you won't loose it unless it gets legs.
Weaknesses: Two digit display, what were they thinking??
Review: I like this product a lot. It sure keeps everyone safe while playing bush ball. Nice and compact for refs on field. The problems I see others having with this chronograph I think could easily be fixed by READING the instructions. It clearly states not to touch the barrel with it (within 1/2 inch) and within 2" from muzzle of barrel. Change battery if problematic and to check the battery contacts while you're in there too!! I think people could get rid of most of their "lemmons" by following the instructions. If problems persist, you do have a warrenty for 180 days, send it back to get fixed. And the battery can be had at most any camera shop for a few bucks, what else do you expect, plug in charger?!?
Conclusion: I highly recomend it. You pay how much for all that flashy crap on your marker, you spend how much on premo paint, you buy the best goggle system out there but can't afford to be safe shooting?? I think we can all afford to be safe, that's #1. By the way, your goggles are only rated to 300fps, better to be safe than sorry. Only gave it a 9 because they should have put a 3 digit display on it. Otherwise it would of been a 10!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkermonkey77 Tuesday, August 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used that red boxy chronograph too!
Marker Setup: *02 WGP autococker (blue)
- STO RAM
- Shocktech bomb 2-way
- dead on pro products drop
- kapp pressure gauge
- J&J 2-piece barrel
- Hinge Trigger frame with as short of a trigger pull as I could get it
- Dye back block/ bolt combo
*03' WGP Sniper
- ghetto-old 5" drop forward
- 8in. Freak Barrel
- Black Ice inline reg
* Kingman Hammer
- Trracer grip frame
- duct tape
- electrical tape
- grease
- a lil' bit of magic
Strengths: compact
tough
precise
can be put on a lanyard
Weaknesses: small enough to lose...
Review: As a field referee, I've been assigned the task of running the chronograph range on far too many occasions. Despite several complaints from kids who just bought their nifty Spyders and constantly readjust their velocity to their liking,( Their liking being 20-30 fps over 280) I have found this chronograph to be accurate, consistent, and simple to use.
Conclusion: this is definately a great chrono for refs, I highly reccomend it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrDan Thursday, February 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Large professional field chronographs
Marker Setup: Carbine 68 with multiple doo-dads, various shiny gizmo's, and random sprinklings of thingies that add no performance.
Strengths: I hate to even admit that my 6 month old chrono received this test but it did. While playing at our outlaw field a few weeks back, we had the chrono out and in use. When it came time to go home, somebody (me) forgot to get the chrono from it's place at our defined chrono area. After 1 week, and two solid rain storms, I found the chrono, blown off of it's hanging place by one of the storms, on the ground. It was still soaking wet, oh and it was plenty cold to boot. Thinking I deserved to have to buy another one for being so stupid, I picked it up and pressed the button... Worked like that day it was new!! Was I surprised! It's worked perfectly well ever since.
Weaknesses: You do have to reset the thing after every shot, which with gun, allen wrench set, wifes gun, mask, o-rings, snack crackers and a drink in your two hands can be a problem. It's kind of a pain to hang off the barrel, but that's easily outweighed by it's portability and compactness.
Conclusion: In summary.
Does this chrono accurately measure your marker? Yes, as best I can tell from comparing it to other chronos.
Do my chrono reading vary by 10-20 fps? Yes, on occasion. As they do on the big chronographs as well.
Is it small, handy, easy to use, easy to take places? Yes. It's so small, you'll be more concerned with losing it/leaving it in the rain.
Is it more awkward than a large bench top chrono? Yes, to use. No, to have to lug around/setup/etc.
Is it water/snow/sleet/lightning/locust proof? Apparently so.
Should you own one, if for no other reason than you can now effectively work on and test your own equipment? Yes.
Will it be nearly as cool as the new shiny overpriced thingy that you really, really want for your marker? No.
Will you actually get your money's worth out of this? Yes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Avery Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Non-handheld chronos
Marker Setup: TIppmann 98 (Every accessory I can think of)
Custom assembled Autococker
PT Punisher
Strengths: It is very small, easily carried by refs (allowing them to chrono on the field), APG lists it as the most accurate and consistent of all chrono's they've tested, it doesn't need to be plugged in, only 1 button so it is simple to use. Cheap - like a budgie!
Weaknesses: I sometimes have trouble getting a reading when it is dark out or space is confined (shooting into a garbage can at night on my patio). It's a little awkward to hold under the barrel, and the strap to put it on isn't reliable in its ability to make the chrono perpendicular to the flight of the ball. It requires you to push a button every time you fire, it can't measure BPS (like some really nice chronos) and it's more of a pain than a tabletop chrono to use. The display is only 2 digits, (so it says 2 then 95 for 295). Oh, I don't like yellow.
Review: All told, very reliable, useful and revolutionary. I recommend it to anyone as a personal chrono to use on occasion, but airsmiths or field owners will want a tabletop one too. That way they can use two hands on the marker they are testing, or whatever. I'd like to put mine on a lanyard for easier use.
Conclusion: I am glad I bought mine, since I cannot justify the cost or space requirements of a tabletop chrono, and I can take this out with me!

9/10 for revolutionizing tournaments and offering something really new and accurate, but not being perfect. Nothing out there right now even compares (definately not that on barrel thing!)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MoToMaStR Saturday, June 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL POS clamp on barrel crono
feild chronos
Marker Setup: err..... ok
USAS Viper M1
14" VxT ceramic teflon caoted barrel
Raised Sight rail
adco hotshot r/d sight
the car-15 adjustable stock (i dont keep it on)
VXTdouble trigger
45° rip frame
dye stickies
vl 12v revvy
CP drop
45/45 crossfire n2
that about covers it
Strengths: errr..... its an afordable chrono, it seems to keep up or down about 5fps, but i dont care about 5 fps, its plenty good enough for rec play, to make sure all my buddies are under 280 when we play speedball. who wants to go out for a day of fun and get hurt? thats no fun. the good is, it works.....
Weaknesses: it could have been a bit more accurate, and have a wider fps band, i think it does 150-45 fps, the other day i seen a feild chrono that read 40fps-7000 for the same damn price, i feel i been cheated... >=-(>
Conclusion: i bought it for 90 bucks, good deal, make sure everyone is fair and no one has a hot gun advantage, and you cant really put a price on saftey can you? if i lost it or it had been stolen, i would buy anothe one, because they are small enough to throw in your pocket and they seem quite durable
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gypsy06 Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field Radar Chrony $300.00
Marker Setup: Black Shocker SF/T with inetlla feed and air assist, grey wood Sp grips & gadget grip. Custom vertical feed conversion, executive trigger job & grip extender by Doc Nichols. Mac Dev Conquest 88/45 on remote.
Red Phantom VSC with pro point laser sight, m-16 grips and 3.5oz bottle.
(MY first gun)Spyder SE with Dye stainless 14", Bob long low pressure chamber and adaptor, upgraded turbo valve and custom air porting.
Strengths: The best part about the radar chron is that I don't have to get shot by my friends model 98 at 350fps any more when we play renegade. True story, the frist time I used it to chrono his gun in the woods he was shooting mid 350's every time.
It's easy to use, reasonably priced and did I mention that my friend no longer gives me bleeding welts every time he shoots me.
Weaknesses: Well it did have problems working in extreme cold weather, It was about 28 degrees out and we decided to play a game of speed ball in the fresh snow. When I went to chrono our guns outside it wouldnt work, it just kept displaying all zeros or eights. I think it was because of condensation on the radar emitter because when we took it inside and warmed it up the problem went away. The only other thing is that it can be a little awkward to use especially if your wearing thick gloves.
Conclusion: No group of players should be without one. Safety is definately worth $100 bucks and not getting shot in the thigh by a model 98 at 350fps is almost priceless.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sealpointman Tuesday, August 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
big red field chronos
Marker Setup: 99 LED
99 STO
2k1 LCD
GX3
2002 impulse
Strengths: worked for a while, when it does work, its accurate
Weaknesses: it broke, bottom line
Conclusion: My friends and I invested in a chrono for safety reasons, this one was cheap and portable and had a good rep. Well we got it and it seemed to be accurately reading FPS for about a month. Then it stopped giving readings. I mean, we would try to chrono, buit only 1 out of every 20 or so shots would register. About another month later, it started giving readings again, but they were HORRIBLY, inaccurate. Im sorry, but i was running nitro through my SIdewinder on my LED, and i dont think my velocity was going from 196 to 428. My shots appeared to be consistent just looking at them, but the chrono was wild. There was no way i was shooting either of those 2 velocities. When i recently chronod my gun at a field on a REAL chrono, i was getting around +-5 in the 280s range. I have made no modifications to my gun, but hte RADARchron must be broken. My friends have gotten similar wild readings using their setups (the setups listed below my LED).
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, October 14th, 2001
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Reasonably priced, pocket sized and easy to carry around, great for taking with you or just for tinkering with your gun.
Weaknesses: Don't expect accurate readings with this thing (unless you call readings within 30fps accurate). I read another reviewer on here had the same problem with accuracy.

Takes a special battery (which I'm pretty sure can be replaced by 3 regular watch batteries of some size, but they don't bother giving you that information in the instructions).

Requires you to push the reset button before each new shot rather than automatically resetting.

I was on the field using my Radarchron so I wouldn't be taking up time at the field chrono and while I was reading 280fps on this thing the field chrono was getting me at 310fps consistantly. Even just firing off rounds in the backyard the fps fluctuates 10 to 20fps (or more) where on the field chrono it's not quite so wild.

I've tried this as per instructions (tied to the barrel with the included strap; held in your hand; I even placed it on a holder on a table to keep it steady and from wiggling or wobbling); no go.
Conclusion: The price is reasonable if you don't need to be accurate, but playing "backyard" games with your friends can get dangerous when the thing can be off by 30fps (or more). This would be good to use as a reference while you're out and about as long as you've got a gun with you that's been checked on a good chrono to reference by.

Personally I wouldn't buy another one or recommend it unless the accuracy problem were fixed and it would auto-reset when a new shot was fired. There are other more accurate units out there for comparable prices - they just don't happen to be as portable.

It gets points only because of the portability (since it doesn't really work the cost is really too high at any price).
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The "Big Red Box"
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - Small
- Measures velocity
- Durable
- Not horribly expensive
Weaknesses: - Two digit display? Aaaarrrrrgh!
- Not the most accurate, but it is good enough.
Review: It's not mine, but I use it all the time. Performance seems good enough, but on very moist, humid days the reading can be thrown off a little...

What's up with the two digit display? I don't get why the designers couldn't just stick a three digit one in there...
Conclusion: Small, durable, useful...I would say get it. An overall good product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media