paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Z Intimidator / Bob Long Z Intimidator / Bob Long Z Intimidator / Bob Long Z Intimidator

Bob Long Z Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Z Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Z Intimidator
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $900

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Z Intimidator is another great gun from Bob Long. It comes with a Long Shot Barrel stock. It comes with a clamshell matching frame stock, also it comes with a Bob Long Regulator. Also a threadid high rise and the new Bob Long grips. Its capable of shooting 25 BPS and weighs 2.5 pounds.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Z Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
pbhog Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mags, Cockers (mech and electric), Angels, Matrix, Shockers (old&new), Impulse, ect
Marker Setup: Z w/ equalizer board, hybrid volumizer, shockteck ram kit, chekit bolt, freak, egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS Equalizer (forced mode is the only way to roll), volumizer, st ram, was eye
Strengths: Consistency, low maintenance, accuracy, ROF, anti-chop,efficiency
Weaknesses: SOB board
Review: This thing just plain works. As far as high end markers, timmies do not break down, which is key in a tournament as being on the field without a working gun is about as frustrating as not being on the field. The accuracy of this marker is great, especially if coupled with a barrel system which allows proper ball to barrel matching. The trajectory of the paint is second only to trixies and cockers. The marker is quite fast out of the box, but a was equalizer helps to speed it up. I highly recommend the equalizer, as it has a firing mode called forced, which completely eliminates ball chopping. With the sob, I still broke paint on occasion because the eye mode on the sob board only waits a quarter second after not seeing paint before it fires. If it happens to take more than a quarter second for the paint to load, you will chop. With the forced mode on the equalizer, the marker simply does not fire until a ball is loaded in the breach. The eye in a timmy is the best in my opinion because it relies on beam braking, rather than reflection to detect the ball, allowing all colors of paint shell to be used effectively. I would suggest getting a was eye for the timmy though, as it really does have the ability to see through a small amount of paint, meaning it will still work even if not cleaned thouroghly.
The clamshell frame is quite comfortable, as is the stock trigger. The timmy is very energy efficient in terms of battery drainage, I have found that on a typical battery I can shoot at least 20 cases of paint. I have a volumizer on my z, and as such I average 8+ tubes plus a hopper off my 68/45 tank. trigger adjustment is easy to do relying on three external set-screws. I reccomend using a little BLUE loctite on these set-screws so they do not shift position over time (note do NOT use RED locktite, as you will not be able to adjust the trigger after). I chose to install a shocktech ram kit in my Z, although next level also makes a nice ram and adjustable cleat. The importance of the adjustable cleat is debateable, but it does allow you to reduce the travel of the bolt and ram to increase ROF. I chose the shocktech ram because it uses a different ram bumper from the origional ram. The stock ram bumper will wear out after a good number of shots, and if this happens you might end up with a gun which isn't working, and requires supergluing a bumper onto the ram. The shocktech ram bumper doesn't wear out, period. It does however increase the kick on the marker a slight bit, but not too much. I chose to install the chekit bolt mostly because it has grooves on either side which reduce wear on the timmy ball detents, which tend to wear out quickly. No matter what bolt you use, I highly recommend always keeping extra detents.
Conclusion: Z timmys rock! with a few minor uprades this gun performs flawlessly every time you step onto the field. Couple that with accuracy, speed, and efficiency and what have you got? A super killer! I would rate the Z-timmy a ten with all the upgrades mentioned, but since it comes standard with the SOB it only gets a 9. Kudos to those of you who actually took the time to read this massive review.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

ben pimpin Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
f5 autocockers, angels, dm4, old timmies, all mags the list goes on
Marker Setup: z timmy, empire barrel kit
emag, j&j edge barrel, lv 10, vert ule body
eclipse shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, FAST HOPPER, maybe bolt
Strengths: IT OUT SHOOTS MY HALO, weight, accurate, clamp feed, consistancy, the eyes are nice
Weaknesses: IT OUT SHOOTS MY HALO, barrel
Review: When I first wanted one I was a little unsure. I shot one of the old intimidators and was not impressed. I went with it anyway and my team got a total of three of them. We alll love them. It is so easy to send a rope of paint to the same spot. and it feels comfortable to hold. It is hard to get just one shot off (my trigger is touchy).
Conclusion: I love it. I don't see how anyone can't.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbllplyr00 Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, angel IR3, All the many other millions of kinds of timmies
Marker Setup: Red Z intimidator w/ black accents, CP ram adjuster, 14" AA and 10" teardrop freak kit. Evo 2, CP razor on-off, CP swoop roller trigger, 68-4500 PE HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. adjustable ram cap
2. Barrel system
3. Entropy board
Strengths: fast, cool looking, never think of chopping, efficient, concistant, simple operation, light
Weaknesses: Ram bumpers, detents, had to sand the spring in my torpedo reg
Review: My timmy was great out of the box. I didnt have to sand down my springs myself, b/c i have like a lifetime warrenty from my shop. Its super consistant when you get the regs all worn in. I have never broke a ball(yet) due to my gun, only b/c i improperly matched the paint to my freak insert. This thing rocks, its wicked fast so im glad i sold my impulse to get it.
Conclusion: Great!!!! BUY IT!!! you wont be dissappointed if you either know what your doing, or have a shop to do it for you!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer44 Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
angel, gz timmy
Marker Setup: 2003 z series timmy with 14'' freak cp volumizer cp drop and asa flame eye covers cp ball cearing trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: accurate fast light
Weaknesses: umm cant find anything to keep up with it
Review: well bob long has done it again an awsome marker we worth the money
its got everything u need speed acuracy light weigth and it looks pretty good to
im a back player and i can shoot like crazy amounts of paint i adjusted the trigger to like mouse click length and its got a sweet spot like no other i can hit back bunkers from the back
Conclusion: hey its worth the money so id recomend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s4mm4n16 Tuesday, December 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix----->Timmy owns(PERIOD)
Marker Setup: Orange to Black Z Timmy
68 45 pure energy
sm-1 barrel kit
egg 2
cp roller trigger
omega ram and back cap
evil reg
system x drop empire asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
was board, barrel (ultralight A+)
Strengths: Extremely fast. Almost un-needing of an upgraded board unless your a back player.
Accurate
Weaknesses: No lcd display.
Somewhat of a kick but new ram can take care of that :).
Review: This gun is worth every cent of the money you spend. and now you can buy them for extremely cheap in many places because people like to upgrade guns. but in my mind, once you get one of these there is no need to upgrade your gun. its anything you could ever want, simple, perfect. Ive been playing since i was 7 and im 16 now, and when got this gun a few years ago i new i wouldnt have to worry about buying another gun, unless i wanted to buy another one if this one unfortunately broke one day.

A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN NOW! as good as anything out there. all youll ever need.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 11th, 2005 at 6:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepunk13 Tuesday, June 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i've tried the shocker and DM4, DM5, DM6, XSV ego, and an Angel 04 speed.
Marker Setup: Z Intimidator w/ W.AS. 2.6 equalizer board, LCD display, Reloader B, Pure Energy 72ci 4500psi tank, dye rhino cover, critical trigger, black/blue/silver fade, lucky 15 barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
different trigger, Better board (stock sux)
Strengths: THIS THING IS FREAKING FAST! Eye's are good quality.
Weaknesses: Little on the big side. some don't like milling. need fast hopper little heavy
Review: I got this gun and the on/off wasn't working (not bob longs fault i bought it used) and needed to be cleaned. When i picked it up i put my tank on it loaded up some paint and just fired a few shots, only to find that i had about 10 balls comming out my barrel without me meaning to. When i tried i got above 15 bps. And even shooting this fast it was dead accurate...i was able to hit a tree about 5 inches in diameter from about 100 ft away. NOW THAT IS ACCURACY. The eye's on it worked great too.
Conclusion: In all i think this is a great gun regardless of what people say. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!


i changed recommended upgrades because i've found that you really don't need an LCD. it has an LED already on it (the blinking light) and most high end boards support only LED or both LED and LCD...the only advantage to getting the LCD is you can see your bps, my board has a thermometer, batery life, a game timer, and total shots fired...so that can help, and even if u get the LCD you still have the LED for those boards that don't support LCD
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eggshooter Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Lcd
Impy with Vision
Marker Setup: 02 black Cocker
2nd Generation Chrome Hindge trigger
Chrome sto ram
Blue tickler reg and blue orracle 3 way
Egg hopper
Smart Parts All American 14 inch
Dye Boom Stick 12 inch
Pure Energy 48 3000 tank
Oracle Delrin Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel definately, Boomy, or a Freak Kit.
Thor Pure Energy Reg
at least a 68 or 88 4500 tank
Strengths: Very fast ROF, Vision Eye = no chopping, comfortable trigger frame
Weaknesses: Not everyone likes the color scheme or finish
Review: The Z Timmy is an incredible gun! If you have ever shotten the GZ Intimidator, this gun is VERY similar. Delrin bolt is great, and the stock reg works fine. very fast, up to 25 bps
(although I can't get that many shots). Feed port works well with any hopper, 12vt, egg, Halo, etc.... The vision eye works great although I prefer the fiber optic one in the new Matrix. the dust finish looks great on the body. Although this is no Chris Lesoya Timmy, it compares fairly well, and is a great gun for newbies looking into tourney play or pros looking for a high end electro. I especially like the trigger frame. Practical and comfortable. The Z Intimidator is just as good if not better than the Bob Long 02 Timmy, and It is a little cheaper. Great at only 8 to 9 hundred bucks.
Conclusion: I would deffinately get a new barrel for the gun. Maby a 2 piece Boomy or a freak kit. Other than that, the gun shoots great stock. No worrys about the internals unless you feel the need to get a new valve or if you want to color customize. If you can find this gun for a good price, BUY IT! I have seen some good deals on these off of Ebay despite the fact that they are fairly new.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 30th, 2003 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DakotaRaborn Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing Really to Compare..
Marker Setup: 2k3 Orange Z-Series Timmy w/ WAS 2.7, Smoke Empire Reloader B, Clear Evo 2 w/ Z-Board, Crossfire Low Pressure 68ci/4500psi Nitro Tank, Check It Products UniMount, Black Critacal Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board..
Strengths: Reliability,Speed..
Weaknesses: Not Really One..
Review: Well This is my First Timmy, and well to say the least i love it. Its a great reliable gun. This gun is basically tourney ready right out of the box. The SOB is alright if you dont like to shoot alot of paint but if you like to shoot alot of paint you need to defiantly upgrade to at least a WAS (which is all you need anyways because of alot of new seires are making a 15bps Cap).. But Overall this is a great gun.
Conclusion: Well all i have to say is that basically you just need to go out and buy any Timmy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2005 at 1:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painbaler Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 Timmy, Alias, Orracle E-class, other fast cockers, DM4
Marker Setup: Z-Timmy
68/45 Java tank
2 piece Dye ultralite barrel
Halo B
superfly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a new barrel
Evo II or Halo B
Strengths: VERY VERY fast
Easy to clean
its a Intimidator
Weaknesses: a little on the Ugly side
accuracy is not the best
Review: I can shoot the faster with this gun that any other gun i shoot
people run in fear when they see me
People turn and look and point at my gun when i walk by
If you're lookin for a timmy buy this one because its cheap and very east to maintain
I shoot soooo much paint now that im runing out of cash. this gun is just that fast
Conclusion: Buy it or people will laugh at the gun that you currently own
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

odaniel88 Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, EBlade Cocker, Bushmaster 2000
Marker Setup: Initmidator Z with AKA Sidewinder Reg, Empire Barrel Kit, Evo II, WAS Eye and Wicked Switch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit to match paint to barrel, WAS eye helps see through paint through rare breaks.
Strengths: Accuracy, Range, Speed, and quality of workmanship.
Weaknesses: Too fast for most hoppers. Hard to change battery.
Review: I made the mistake of shooting a team mates 'timmy for a game and that is all she wrote. I have owned super accurate cockers and a fast, reliable Angel LCD. This marker is the best of all worlds.
The accuracy is good out of the box. The trajectory seems to be flat like the cocker which gives a few extra feet of range. The speed is faster than you will ever need. There is no need for a faster board since the stock one is just fine. You will absolutely need a very fast hopper.
The rumors of high maintnance are not true. You have to lube it just like any other gun. The only pain is getting the Dow 55 grease which you must use on it. Dow 55 is not very cheap. The reliability is great on this marker. I have not had it go down at all this winter tournament series.
The finish is nice and has lasted well through sandy enviornments. The machine work is nice. There are more upgrades and parts available than you will ever need. The manual is easy to read and shows pictures. The only minor complaint I have is that the gun is a little long.
Conclusion: This marker is the most accurate and fastest I have ever played with. The Intimidator is suited for tournament players and can shoot the long ball for back players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media