paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ICE Epic / ICE Epic / ICE Epic / ICE Epic

ICE Epic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ICE

Buy ICE Epic

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ICE Epic
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The EPIC™ does not have a bolt in the conventional sense. The action of the EPIC™ utilizes a
thin (.03 inch) dividing plate, TRAP DOOR™, to separate the paintballs as they load into the breach. In essence, the EPIC™ marker is a blowgun. No mechanical action is
applied to the paintball until it is fired, and at that time, only air acts on the paintball to propel it. This feature greatly reduces, if not eliminates, ball breakage in the marker
itself. The simplicity of the design guarantees a reliable and durable marker that requires virtually no maintenance.
Product Availability 
The ICE Epic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
clownshooter Saturday, March 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none similar
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-Carbine, D-feed system, Bob Long X-chamber, 32 Degrees Terminator barrel, APP grip frame, Lapco SS trigger and cocking knob, 32 Degrees pressure gauge, Psychoballistics drop forward, Airtipps RVA, Madman springs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reference the Epic. none needed. The stock Custom Products barrel is a great barrel.
Strengths: This marker has no bolt, therefore no ball chops in the chamber.
Weaknesses: I can't think of anything bad but some nit picky things.
Review: As I stated above, this marker has no bolt, therefore no ball chops in the chamber. (you may still get a barrel break from a bad paintball). It is relatively quiet. It sounds somewhat like a pellet gun. It has great anodizing and part to part fitting is superb. The marker is light and is sealed up pretty well which will keep dirt and other people's paint out of it. The feed tube is knurled all the way around it so when you put on one of those poly elbows, it will not spin around like they do on other smooth feed tubes. The trap door kit allows you to change trapdoors and fit the chamber to the size paint you are using. It comes with an excellent owner's manual. Someone has mentioned the plastic double trigger (the single trigger model has a metal trigger) being cheesy however this trigger is 3/8 of an inch wide and if you manage to break it, you had to mess up the marker pretty bad to do it. It has been called a blowgun. This is not quite accurate. It operates more like a CO2 pellet gun. The vertical front grip is removable and you can store a barrel plug in it. Another review stated that the price was high ($750) but that is MSRP. You can find them on-line for $599. If you check out their website, they are selling the 2002's upgraded to 2003 specs for $450. That's how I bought mine. I have already mentioned the barrel. It is definitely a unique set-up, but I like it.
UPDATE: I have used mine now for 5 months and I want to add this; I shoot CO2, and I use a 16Ounce anti-siphon tank (recommended). The pre-vent regulator really works. I can sometimes shoot a string of shots over my F1 Chrony and the velocity doesn't change. That's not bad for CO2 and says a lot about the quality of the regulator.
UPDATE # 2 It's been well over a year. Planning to upgrade to HP air. This marker rocks. It just works and works and works. I sent it back to ICE and they upgraded it to the new cycle rate of 12 - 15 bps for free. It is accurate will almost any paint I feed it. It is truly an outstanding marker. I don't understand why people aren't standing in line to get one of these since the price has dropped from the original MSRP. I guess it is still suffering from NMS (new marker syndrome).
Conclusion: If you want a good marker that is built with high quality parts and you don't mind having a marker that's different, then you'll love this one. Maintenance is easy and it has few moving parts. It should last a long time. I am rating this a 10 despite my initial problems. I have corresponded with others who have an Epic and they didn't have any problems. Let's face it, you can have a problem with any brand new marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 28th, 2004 at 5:52 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Rich4444 Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Indian Creek Designs BKO, Spyder Xtra, WGP E-Cocker
Marker Setup: Indian Creek BKO w/ Halo-B, CP High Pressure Reg, Mitey Max Volumizer, Stock LPR, Stock Bolt, ICD Drop Forward, PMI Pure Energy 88/5000, Freak Barrel and inserts, Vapor Valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel kit
Strengths: Affordable, low profile, light, no chopping paint!
Weaknesses: Rate of fire - 9bps
Review: I've only tested my Epic yesterday for a bit, but I thought I'd give some input right away.

I currently have a BKO, and managed to fix a nagging problem after ordering my Epic. I was afraid with a mechanical trigger, that I'd regret getting it and prefer my BKO even after spending $450.00 on the Epic. Not to fear though!!

First the only BAD thing about the marker I could find.... The Rate of Fire. This marker will not shoot 16-20 balls per second.

However, there is so much good with the marker, I don't know that you NEED 16-20 balls per second. The Epic is VERY accurate. Also, it has a great small profile. And, the gun balances will in your hand when you hold it. When you shoot, there is no kick, and I think that is what helps with its accuracy (with a short barrell and without matching paint yet). I can't wait to try my Freak system on it once I get a back for it this weekend (remember, Autococker threads!). I have a feeling once I have this thing chrono'd nicely and with matched paint, I'll be able to pick a fly off a guys mask at 40 yards :p (well, maybe not that accurate, but pretty accurate!). I've even thought about trying a sight system of some sort to really suprise guys in speedball with one or two deadly accurate suprise shots :) Really, it shoots where you want it to, right away.

Next is just the overall construction of the marker. The marker has a great finish, and has a good solid feel to it. It isn't really heavy or light (about the same as my BKO with drop and freak on it), but it is solid when you hold it. Maybe a tad lighter. The grip feels nice, and fits my hand well. It also comes with a CP barrel (mine was .693) and it is diamond finished to match the marker.

I was a little concerned without a clamping feed neck on the Epic, I'd not like it. I've gotten VERY picky about feed necks in the last year. I think they are one of the most important features of any gun. This thing has a metal feedneck, and it has a set hex screw. With that, I had the hopper on like it was glued (with just a slight twist), and it felt BETTER than any clamping feednecks I've used so far. I couldnt believe how effective and nice it was. Also, it has a verticle feedneck now, that is offset just to the right of the marker (on mine anyway), so you can look down the barrel, yet still have the advantage of a permanent verticle feedneck. Really, I can't say enough about the feedneck. It fit my Halo B and my Revy fine. ICE really did their homework there.

Another stock up on the marker now is the "universal trap door". You don't need to fit paint for the trap doors any longer from my understanding. I don't know much about that anyway, but I thought I'd mention it in my review as an improvement in the new 2004 models.

The marker isn't really all that quiet, but it isnt loud either, and the barrel can make a big difference there with porting and maybe with paint matching. It has a "plink, plink, plink" sound, which is really unusually, but kind of nice to hear something different.

So, forget the bagjillion balls a second stuff, get an accurate and dependable marker that WONT break when you need it most and get you hot gun penalties, and tell ICE you saw them here so I get a discount when I buy another one :) hehe

Rich ~ wisconsinpaintballteams.com
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone wanting a simple and effective and ACCURATE marker. If you want high Rates of Fire, I'd keep looking... but I think that all the advantages of this marker FAR outway the rate of fire issues. Also, it is rather affordable at $450.00 compared to other markers of the same quality.

One thing, is that this might become a VERY popular scenario marker. It can use Co2 or HPA right out of the box, and it is black and won't stand out in the woods. It is low profile, looks nice, sounds cool, and I'm sure very durable due to so few moving parts.

I'm going to use mine for tourneys though :)

~~Update 8/31/2004~~

I was able to use the Epic this weekend. I noticed on my 88/3000 fills that it seemed to shoot a pretty long time without needing more fills, but that is a pretty large tank. I did get one neck break when a player tried out my marker (he might have forced it down or something silly and broke it by accident), and it was VERY simple to clean out the breech with just a philips screwdriver. I had no breaks myself, except maybe a few in the barrel, but I might have been short stroking. I didn't have to take my barrel off once on the field all day to squeege.

The accuracy and no kick when you shoot is awesome! Very impressive

Also, the rate of fire was better than I had originally though. I could get a pretty decent stream of paint going, but not like walking a trigger would do. But, I could definately put some pain to peeps when I was playing. I felt very strong about the markers performance!

I definately suggest this marker to anyone who wants accurate shooting, a light marker, a low profile marker, can give a little rate of fire up, easy cleaning and maintenance, 100% reliability, and comfort. Also, this marker was GREAT at the chrono for me. Not sure the problems the other review had, but I was within a 5 fps shooting range (+/- 2.5 fps). That is tight! I noticed less accurracy with 3 year old Big Ball (hehe), but still no ball breaks!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 at 12:46 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

rmdiablo Thursday, April 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Desert Fox - trigger and speed are almost the exact same
Automag - size, trigger
Minimag - Trigger and speed resemble, as well as size of guns, weight
Palmer Blazer - Size compares to Epic, epic is still by far the smallest and lightest marker I have ever seen.
Marker Setup: epic, 12vlt xboard, air america nitro, 16 oz co2 anit syphoned tank, i usually use the co2 tank on my epic believe it or not.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel, the 10'' CP that comes standard with the marker is pretty good and accurate, I just recommend a longer barrel to give you some extra distance as well as accuracy.
Strengths: Everything on it is a strength, I see no weaknesses, WELL THOUGHT OUT!!
Weaknesses: Absoloutly positutly nothing whatsoever.
Review: Since the start of my paintball career I have embarked on a quest to find "my" gun. The one and only gun that matched me and fully satisfied me. The one gun that I never wanted to sell and kept me from wanting to buy other guns to replace it. This one gun turned out to be the epic.

A while back, I thought I had found my one gun. I bought an ICD Desert Fox, which is like an automag and a tippmann breed togethor. I really liked this gun, it had everything I ever wanted in a gun. I had previously owned a slew of electronic guns, I had shot everything from angels to b2k2's to Imps and BKO's. I had owned and shot many mechanical markers ranging from autocockers to blazers, tippmanns to spyders, sear trippers galore. Nothing really seemed to satisfy me, so I ended up going from gun to gun to gun to gun, selling all the ones that were not satisfactory. The only gun that managed to stay in my collection was my Desert Fox, it had everything; a built in regulator, extreme accuracy, nice distance, fast rate of fire, it was mechanical (something I started to prefer over electronic after all my electronic guns caused me problems, shooting fast is OVERATED), it hardly ever broke paint, and again it was extremely accurate, I also loved the short snappy trigger and the feel/weight of the gun. The only thing that I was not satisfied with was the slanted feed and the size of the gun. It was fairly big and the slanted feed caused my hopper to stick out on one side of the gun. So, once again, I set out to find a new gun, but this time, I had a good idea of what I wanted. I wanted a small mechanical marker that was fast, light, vertical feed, very accurate, and doesnt break paint. After many weeks of searching I found the EPIC. It was a gun that I was always interested in and wanted. The only thing that kept me from buying it was its extremely high price. Lucky for me, it was on sale, so I knew I had to buy it, so I did. It has turned out to be more than I expected. The accuracy is ball on ball every shot, shoots the perfect distance, shoots fast, adjustable trigger, and the vertical is a side vertical feed so you can site right down the middle of the marker. I love this marker, it is everything I ever wanted, and has won me many games to this day. I am a better player with it because it keeps up with me and hits what I aim at.

Check out Only Epic to find out more about the epic... http://onlyepic.talkspot.com
Conclusion: Excellent gun, I highly recommend either buying one or test shooting one. Not too many people have this gun, it feels good to be unique. It is also awesome to know that every time I gass up my gun it will shoot, and there will be no problems ever. I love its durability, high quality components, fluid design, snappy trigger, size, weight, and everything about it. I will be using it for the rest of my tourny pball career, no doubt.

again, if you need more info about the epic, check out http://onlyepic.talkspot.com
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 12th, 2006 at 10:35 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

RealPB Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, there's nothing really like this. Maybe the Nova, but I haven't had the privelege to shoot one of those...
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Shocker... that's about it. It's pretty stock.

AGD Automag built from the ground up!
-MicroMag RT Valve
-Level 10 Bolt
-ULE Mainbody
-RPG Sub-Zero Clamping Feedneck
-RPG Recon Rail
-RPG Gripper Snatch Grip
-Logic UMF Frame (it's like herroine, but doesn't require a needle)
-Vertical ASA with RPG Foregrip
-Uni-Mount On/Off Bottomline ASA

*ABOUT READY TO BE ELECTRO-PNEUMATIC MODDED!!! I'M SO EXCITED!*
Then a new anno job!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not really sure of any aftermarket. The newer model (the DV8) has some improvements (like vertical feed, redone trapdoor, etc), but no real upgrades.

I guess ICE does a 15bps upgrade thingy... I have no clue what exactly they do, though.
Strengths: Read below, 15 word max.
Weaknesses: -No aftermarket (but then, it's not necessary)
-Built in ASA
-Looks pretty ugly
-Mech
Review: I've only field tested this. I met a guy at a field with one and he let me play a few games with it. It shoots really nice and has almost zero kick (noticable to my 'Mag and Shocker). Fairly accurate. REALLY light. Pretty consistant, the built in regulator is pretty good. For a mech, it's pretty fast. It was easy to get to about 10bps. It didn't chop either.
I really didn't like the built in ASA. I wish they'd get rid of that and let me use my own ASA. Well, actually, you can use your own ASA, it just mounts beneath the built in one and looks really funky, and it pushes the gun up a bit more. The gun is also pretty ugly. This doen't bother me much. As I say, performance over pretty.
It being a mech could be both a pro and a con. Why? Because it is. Mech's are cool, I play with one. But there is no way to make it electro. Albeit, I do play more mech than anything else, it's be nice to rig a nice e-frame sort of thing and rip away on the speedball course.
Conclusion: I'd definately pick one up if they'd get rid of that built in ASA. I just don't like it. At all. But other than that, it's a pretty solid shooter. If you want something different, check this one out.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeathToBrian Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Airstar Super Nova

Same concept of no bolt, however Epic much lighter
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CMI Regex reg.
Apex barrel
Dead On Paintball Reg Grip adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel sizing kit-
New DV8 Epics fire from closed bolt position so the kits prevent balls from rolling out of barrel.
Strengths: -Quiet
-light weight
-accurate
-low profile
-consistent
Weaknesses: It only shoots 12-15 bps. Some people want more.
Review: I had recently purchased the Epic and began testing it write away. I couldn't believe how small and Compact it was. The sound was definitely quieter than allot of markers I've used. The accuracy was phenomenal. Every ball i shot seemed to hit the same spot over and over. The gun has no bolt so it has virtually no recoil. I chronoed it and shot five balls . 280fps +/- 4 . Not bad even considering I was using C02. It has a built in regulator that bleeds off any pressure spikes so no hot shots. I recommend using a anti-syphon if using C02 however. I also used compressed air with similar results . Only difference of course was a better recharge from shot to shot. It is a mechanical marker and it can't be turned into an electronic. So short stroking can occur, but the trigger adjustments that can be done make this a light and crisp trigger pull .
Conclusion: If you are looking to hit your target and do it quietly than get this product. If you want to shoot allot of paint in seconds then look somewhere else. This gun is so accurate you don't need to shot 20-30bps. Recommended for woods ball players for sure.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 10:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing out there like it.
Marker Setup: Epic. Still stock for now.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I prefer a longer barrel.(Cocker threads so plenty of choices out there) Most drop forwards will work. Possibly have an electronic trigger upgrade if Jim can work it out.
Strengths: Very easy to use and take care of. Will NOT chop balls. Customer service excellent. Has an overpressure vent than will throw you off an d make you think is is leaking if you aren't paying attention.
Weaknesses: I had a problem with my trigger interfereing with safety. Talked to Jim and he said he has only had one other gun have this problem. Said to send it in he would fix as well as send me the new trapdoor assemblies for different.

I had the gun freeze up on CO2 on a really cold day and there is a drop off on range if you really get down on the trigger while using CO2.
Conclusion: I am very pleased with the gun because I tried it out with compressed air last weekend and it worked better than expected. Needlesss to say I have ordered me a compressed air bottle. I recommend this marker to any who want to see a marker that is great without upgrades and can only be made better as upgrades become available.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phd Tuesday, December 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
68 automag
Marker Setup: Air Soldier Tribal (top secret), nitro duck, reload
Recommended
Upgrades:
n2 tank, other wise its got everthing.
Strengths: Excellant customer service, quiet, accurite, very light, compact, and will not chop balls. Plus it is easy to maintain. I got mine used for a paintball store for a fraction of the price. I called Jim at I.C.E. to get an owners manual and he said " sure I'll send one out". The he asked what the serial number was on the gun. When I told him he offered to update the marker for free. When I got it back It was better then new condition. Thanks Jim!
Weaknesses: No problems, like other LP it uses lots of air. The factory updates to correct any possible problems.
Conclusion: I am very saticfied with this product. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a reliable tourny marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

medic49675 Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
There are no similar products. This marker is unique.
Marker Setup: PTPMicrococker

PTP microsniper SC

ICE epic DV8
Punishers p98sc convertable feed

PPS PG based stroker

Tribal fluster 2.0

PTP micromag rt

Pump minimag

PPS typhoon with pump kit

splatmaster

Kingman hammer

pumped spyder se

sniper 2 aka the Fulgy sniper
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no needed up grades for this marker.
Strengths: Compact
quite
light
reliable
unique
durable finish
Weaknesses: Not really upgradeable, but it is great out of the box.
Review: I don't really know where to start. This is a very well designed marker. It cycles smoothly with zero felt recoil as the only moving part is the trap door which has very little mass. There is no clunking hammer or bolt to cause vibration. The stock barrel is a cp 10" in a nice medium bre that delivers superb accuracy with most paint. the built in regulator works well with co2 or hpa and is very consistant once broken in. The trigger is pneumatically operated and has a nice crips fee with quick reset. I love this marker.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a reliable light compact marker, that will be unique and cause a stir on the field, buy an epic. If not buy one anyway they are very nice little markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ezero06 Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it
Marker Setup: a pretty much stock vert. feed epic
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel if u would like a longer one but the 10" cp barrel is good
Strengths: Amazing accuracy, no chops, smallest gun ive ever seen, comfortable, and light, great customer service
Weaknesses: Uses alot of gas
Review: this is the best gun ive ever shot. and most accurate too. It does shoot more than 9 bps, ive shot it higher than that. And the customer service is great. The gun is mechanical right now but they have been working on an electronic version and hopefully it will be out soon.
Conclusion: im giving this gun a 9 because it uses alot of gas. Otherwise it is a flawless marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 19th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like this
Marker Setup: 2000 cocker with free flow internals dye boomstick / stickies Gen-X2 reg professional 45 chrome grip frame shocktech DF
Recommended
Upgrades:
there is none available besides barrels and the stock CP was just fine.
Strengths: NO maintainence, very easy to clean. Accurate as anything else I've shot. Definately cool looking no one has them. It should never break unless you try to take it apart. Fairly decent ROF with the double trigger option. Extremely small and light. Incapable of chopping balls!!! the grips were comfortable. Overall fit and finish is exellent.
Weaknesses: When my friend screwed his n2 bottle in it went to far and messed up the top thread. Sucks air like a shocker on crack! Did not seem to be very consistant at the chrony. Way to expensive for a blowgun! The trigger was plastic which it should not be on a gun this expensive (although the single triggers are metal).
The dealer price is like $695 for one with shipping straight from the factory. sounds like a firecracker
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want something no one else has or that needs no maintainence. It really is a well designed gun that performs with the best of them but it is just to expensive. A $500 epic would be awsome!!!! but I give it a 7 till the price drops.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media