paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68

Sheridan VM-68 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan VM-68

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan VM-68
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Sheridan VM-68 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Slovakish Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Classic/Compact, GTV1
Strengths: Durability, cheap, accurate
Weaknesses: heavy, velocity adjuster inside body
Review: Old semi but still good for begginers or recreation players.
It is really heavy compare to real rifles witch is good for military paintballers
U can use many home made upgrades and after market parts are also avilable with no problems(in US).
EXC-68 is a VM-68 with x.chamber and bottom line.I thing this version is better than basic VM because gun has better balance and even with really heavy x-chamber is more comfortable in hands than basic VM.
Design of this gun is inspirated in real guns and I thing I like it a bit ; )
Conclusion: Good as starter gun or for recreation or military paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sambad Wednesday, October 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann procarbine, Custom 98, A5
Marker Setup: Sheridan VM68 with a 16" "Mystery barrel"
Recommended
Upgrades:
A stock, a good red dot sight, a sling; a remote is nice, too
Strengths: Super strong, reliable, solid, simple, easily upgraded with home made parts
Weaknesses: Heavy, front mounted gas cylinder, velocity difficult to adjust, slow rate of fire.
Review: The VM was one of the first semi automatics, and was built to last forever, which it will. Unless you actually put it on an anvil and hit it with a sledge, it will last as long as valves, ball detents, and o-rings are availiable. I just keep acquiring them ( I have four) because they are so easy to modify. I have made stocks, trigger guards, etc, for them. For a scenario player on a budget, you cannot get a more mil-simable marker. It is so massive you can drill and tap into it to add on all sorts of stocks and grips and make it look like virtually anything on the cheap. It has so many big strong screws going through the back of the frame that you can hang stocks and sights and such off it with little modification. Plus it already has the Lone Star grip of the M-16.
Even the front gas cylinder mount allows some creative action, since you can put a tapped stopper into it and a few elbows and hook your flex line to it, leaving more room for improvisation. Palmer's still has the rebuild kits, and unless your used VM fell into the hands of a primitive Pete mechanic who has stripped all the screws and shot it constantly while full of grit, you can restore it to like new mechanical condition easily.
Conclusion: I think that you simply cannot find a used marker for under fifty bucks that can touch the VM. If you are a low budget scenario player and a tinkerer, you can easily build something up that will impress the guys on the field, and with a good quality barrel keep up with the Tippmans yet.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rfiddick Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna BL, EXT Pro
Marker Setup: VM68 EXC with venturi bolt, ADCO hotshot, field strip screws, Lapco Bigshot, Car15 stock, PMI remote line, 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Car15 Stock
Field Strip Screws
Expansion chamber if you have the stock model.
Strengths: Durability - All Steel
Feel
Looks
Decent Accuracy
Ambidextrous feed block
Weight?
Weaknesses: Compicated Trigger system
Hard to find parts nowadays
Weight?

Review: Overall this is a pretty good marker. It's a durable marker, and is well suited for woodsball. I put weight as both a weakness and strength cause some people hate the weight, while others like it cause it makes it feel more sturdy. I personally like the weight. It does't feel like a little plastic toy marker like some markers made today. However, if you want to shed a little weight, run a remote line and get rid of the tank. You can also get a Car15 stock with this setup, and then it really looks badass.

For the most part this marker doesn't chop paint, even crappy field paint. I have the venturi bolt, so that does help in this respect. With this gun you can't really get a super high rate of fire without lots of mods, so you're usually not firing fast enough to get any breaks. The marker also has an ambidextrous feed block, so you can switch it depending if you shoot right or left handed.

The stock barrel is pretty good, (10") but an after market barrel helps since the stock one isn't of the greatest quality. It is harder now to get barrels threaded for the vm, but some places still carry them. Lapco Bigshot, Armson Pro Series, Smart Parts AA and Teardrop are still available for it, but you have to look in the right places.

The trigger assembly is incredibly complicated on this marker, and i unintentionally took it apart when i first got the marker, so it took me a long time to get it put back together properly. But as long as you don't mess with it, it'll work fine. For the most part though it's a pretty simple gun.

I've had a few air leaks with the gun, but thats primarily from the age of it, so some of the seals are going, but other than that it runs pretty good for a gun thats like 10 years old. I love how people turn their heads when they see this steel monster. This also isn't a wimpy sounding gun like a lot of others. The VM has a distinct metal on metal clank when its fired, which sounds pretty sweet.

Conclusion: I like this marker. It works well, feels good, and is sort of a legend among paintball markers. If you can get one in decent working condition, go ahead and get it, it's already part of paintball history.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 3rd, 2005 at 11:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elmoknows Saturday, May 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom--- a similar gun except much lighter
Marker Setup: PMI Pirahna TS Pro G3
14'' CP barrel
Volumizer
Anti siphon CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
DROP FORWARD!!!!
Stock Barrel isnt bad but could be better.
Sight
Strengths: Industructable
Accurate
Easily Dissasembled
Feels insanly real
Looks insanly real
Cheap
Weaknesses: Poor Co2 usage
Heavy
CO2 is at the front :(
IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND UPGRADES!!!
Review: I love this gun for playing in the bushes but does need some upgrades to be a real kick butt gun. These can often be turned into crazy military rifles which i think would be awsome if you had the money.
This however is not any sort of a tournament gun! I dont even think it would make a decent back up because of its weight and style. If you were to upgrade a bit (bottemline) you may be able to turn it into something that could compete.

The major downfall was trying to find upgrades, i searched for weeks on the internet and had no luck finding a store that would send to canada.
Conclusion: I would not reccomend this gun for any sort of speed ball playing but its one of the best recreation guns out there. For a price of under 100 its a bargain.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 1st, 2004 at 12:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

amhildreth Thursday, January 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
various open-bolt blowbacks. Spyders, Illustrators, Black Draguns
Marker Setup: My VM is the EXC version. Venturi bolt, factory expansion chamber, bottomline ASA, sight rail, fieldstrip screws
Recommended
Upgrades:
with a stock VM, a regulator, bottomline ASA, and aftermarket venturi bolt are helpfull add-ons. The VM also lends itself very well to usage with a scope or sight.
Strengths: Stable to shoot.Extremely durable.Accurate.Intimidating.
Weaknesses: Heavy. Tough to get parts for.Hard to adjust fps.Poor shots/CO2
Review: The VM comes in 3 standard configurations - [Stock] with horizontal tank under the barrel, [Magnum] with front and rear ASA for running dual bottles, ambidextrous feed block, sight rail, and the [EXC] with factory expansion chamber, raised sight rail, bottomline ASA, field strip screws and ambidextrous feed block. Most VM users immediately add personal touches - making for almost no 2 VM's being the same. The gun is heavy, has a noticeable kick when fired (due to an oversized hammer), a burly look, and comes stock with an unported brass barrel. The fps can be hard to adjust using an allen wrench down the barrel and special Sheridan valve tool until you learn the drill. Vm's are the posterchildren of durable paintball guns. Throw them on the ground, bury them in the snow, wade through a pond, then keep shooting. Overall, if you don't mind doing a little maintenance now and then, they are an excellent, albeit, outdated marker.
Conclusion: I gave this product a 7 in stock-form. The VM68 is a durable workhorse that spawned hundreds of blowback clones (Spyder/Excellerator/etc), and will continue working in all conditions after most others fail. Upgrades become harder to find with each passing year. Being a somewhat modular design, the VM can be personalized in a myriad of configurations. The weight and general bulkiness of the VM tend to keep many players away from using them. That just means a few more for those that know "the real deal" when they see one.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1 Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto cocker 2000(overrated) Brass eagle nightmare(junk) PMI Pirahna (worked well)
Marker Setup: Car stock, 9oz tank, sight rail, red dot mirage sight, 14" pipe and muzzel break
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, but could be better on co2 consumption
Strengths: RUGGED and RELIABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: weight and gas hog
Review: I wish they made guns like this today as rugged and durable, I had mine for over 10 years and wooped alot of high tech butt on the field with it. I sent mine out to crossman sheridan awhile back to get rebuilt at a flat rate or about $29.00 and it still works great. My gun has taken a beating over the years and still rocks. today I use it when my cocker dies on the feild and I can use it for the rest of the day with good results. Although I dont get much out of the 9oz tank and thats the biggest tank I can put under the barrel. Then again I dont spray and pray like some of these posers today with there electro guns and flashy jerseys.
Conclusion: Excellent gun. Nothing I have seen in the many years of playing has been as reliable and taken as much abuse with out flaw.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Elite_rpringle Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like this old girl
Marker Setup: VM (Car Stock, Armoson 16inch, tactical sling), Tippmann 68 carbine (factory Ex-Chamber and Nite Stikk Barrel), and Crosman 3357 Spotmarker
Recommended
Upgrades:
At least a 14 inch barrel, and a nice M16 or Car Stock. Also if you can a nice siterail for some sor of red dot site
Strengths: Nicely balanced, awsome accuracy and power, big intimidation factor.
Weaknesses: nothin
Review: This marker is the finest i've ever owned (mostly personal preference). It's big, it's beasty looking, and you could literally through this thing in a sand pile and she'd still shoot flawlessly. I don't know why sheridan ever stopped making these or people ever stopped buying them because they're really a fine paintball gun.

When I first bought it from ebay i thought the stock bolt (seeming it has a flat face) would chop paintballs like no tomorrow. MAN was i wrong as long as you don't try and spray out paintballs it won't jam on you, i either use just 1 round or i tap the trigger a few times for 3 rounds which is as much as you need. I bought a Starfire bolt for it and was i dissapointed to find that they make em out of plastic now! But i tried it for a few months only to find i couldn't get the velocity much over 230 ( because there is no velocity adjuster in the starfire as there is in the stock bolt ). So alittle advice, don't buy aftermarket bolts unless you find a metal Venturi bolt because the stock bolt is more then sufficient.

One thing i didn't like about this design is there is no site rail built in. The typical VM-68 has no site rail which kinda stinks... but the newer VM-Magnums and the VM EXC's both have pretty nice site rails, also parts can be difficult to find if you don't know what to look for...
Conclusion: I have alot of friends who play speedball and i'm pretty much the odd one out with a big old school gun and they all have 300 to 1000 dollar guns with electronic grips (USELESS!!!). I would set my gun against any one of theres in an instant, this thing is the most accurate gun i've used in my 6 years and i wouldn't go back to any little speedball gun.

It's just to satisfying being in the bushes and shooting someone and hearing them say, "Where did that come from?!"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EruIthildur Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar, but I've used some Spyder products (Victor to Imagine and MR2). I've used the Tippman 98 and A5. I've also used some high end Autocockers.
Marker Setup: VM68 Magnum (Felted down interior)
Dye 14" Barrel
Stock 12" Barrel
Short 8" Black Barrel
Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
A remote or drop forward!
Although the stock barrel is fairly accurate, get an upgrade!
A regulator is just about a must, although I don't have on yet.
Nitro.
Strengths: Deathly Accurate.
Sturdy.
Reliable.
It's rare, which is always neat.
Can be quieted.
Weaknesses: Gas hog.
Heavy (If that bothers you).
Parts are rare.
Review: Out of the different guns I have seen and used, I have yet to find anything that rivals this gun. I do have the Magnum edition which changes a few things. This gun goes back to when my Uncle was younger, he cleaned and oiled the game after every game, it was almost in 'new' condition when he gave it to me.

Some upsides:

I've had three problems the whole time I have owned the gun:
1. Seals needed to be replaced (got the gun with that issue).
2. I put a part in backwards when I was brand new to paintball and couldn't figure it out.
3. A bolt came a little loose after a bit of use and the safety wouldn't go on.

This gun is LASER accurate. I run straight Co2, either fed straight onto the gun (which eats seals [duh!]) or on my remote (lets me borrow larger tanks). I plan on getting a MacDev LegionAir '05 soon. Regardless, at 60-70' out earlier today I bothered to aim somewhat carefully and nailed three shots within two inches of each other. I've never mounted to gun down, but I can get within 6" when I aim at 120' out. BUY PREMIUM PAINT! It pays, you take LESS shots. I usually use Zero Tolerance paint mixed for my climate and current weather conditions. There is a HUGE difference in accuracy even versus Diablo Heat or mid-end paint. I've only broken TWO balls, both of which were $20 for 2000 deals when I was out of my fav. stuff.

I am almost exclusively a scenario game player, so all of my paintball buddies tend to know their stuff for their guns, along with my other 'technical' friend we have had the least problems (although, he disasembles his gun before AND after every match ENTIRELY).

The VM-68 is heavy, which is a good and bad thing. It's sturdy and helps a little with the kick, but for people who don't weighlift like I do, it might be found heavy.

As to the issue of fire rate, people can mod the gun if it is important, but do you NEED to fire that fast? I've played a little speedball and never have had to 'open up' past 3-5 bps.
Conclusion: If you want a good a reliable gun that is accurate, this is a gun for you.

If weight or fire rate is an issue you might want to look at alternatives.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kit352 Saturday, August 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: trilogy comp-

worr hinge frame
slik bolt
phat drop and asa
planet eclipse qev
halo b
68ci 3000psi pure energy ca
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator, modified stock bolt, new barrel.
Strengths: Milsim weight and looks. Very rugged.
Weaknesses: Very heavy (7 lbs)
monster kick
ball detent
gas hog (maybe 300 shots per 12oz.)
Review: I got this gun to add to my growing collection of pb guns. i always wanted one since i was a kid but never could afford it. after watching ebay for a while i decided to get a parts gun and a really good gun. i couldnt find any good guns for a decent price but i did find a parts gun for cheap. a buy it now of $25 dollars with the item description of "used, havent fired, good for collectors only. it didnt have any pics and the seller wouldnt respond to emails so i decided to take a chance on it hoping i could aleast get a decent parts gun on the cheap. when the gun finally arrived i was totaly blown away. not only was it in the original box the gun was in brand new condition. guy bought it years ago (1992) and never even gassed it up. figured no one would want it so he just wanted a little for it to sell quick. i took it apart replaced a few cracked orings (autococker stuff fits for the most part) put it back together and aired her up. this thing kicks like a mule, rapid firing sends the gun all over the place. the best way to shoot is slow and steady so the gun dosent kick off target as easily. the gun is a bad gas hog so you may want to add another tank or get an expansion chamber or reg. you can only fit a 12oz on the front of the gun so you may think about a back bottle setup. im gonna keep mine stock and just live the little quirks of such a unique gun.
Conclusion: It will never be able to compete with any slightly modern gun but its not meant too. back in the day it was the gun to have and paved the way for future guns. if you are getting this gun its to have a unique gun that you dont see to often and maybe playing with every once in while. it makes a good back up gun in a desperate situation. if you plan on using it as a primary you will be slow, heavy, and gas dependant. youd be better off getting a spyder than this. id buy this again in a heart beat but i want it for the nostalga not the performance although its not bad.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

red2k1tib Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman prolite
98 custom
model 98
spider compact
Marker Setup: an autococker barrel adaptor and a variety of barrels. A sliding m-16 style stock.
Strengths: Indestructable.
accurate.
Just plain fun.
It's History.
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Gas hog.
Parts are getting rarer.
Review: This marker is old, and has alot of history. This marker was the tourney gun back in the day. It weighs a crap ton, it eats CO2 like 427 vettes eat gasoline.

I still love it.

The marker is accurate, (equal with all the tippmanns). Its has a decent rof for its class. It's kinda scarey looking, and the horzontal tank under the barrel is crazy looking. It kicks like a mule when it fires, but you can make these guns about 4 feet long with barrels and stocks, and makes for a crazy-fun woods gun. I would'nt play with this gun if it was my only one, I just enjoy getting it out with friends and giving it a whirl. Its many flaws (well considered today to be flaws, considered back then to be awesome) would keep me from playing with it exclusively. I would recommend anyone who wants a cool marker for cheap (check ebay) and to own a piece of early semi-auto history to seek one out and give it a whirl.
Conclusion: Lots of fun, and very nastalgic (considering I played when this thing was considered the best around.) People who want one gun to do all things, should avoid it due to the above, but for just playing woods ball with a large gas hoggin brute of a paintball gun, by all means get one and have fun!! The 9 rating is for when it was a brand new design. Now I would give a 7 or so.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media