paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

PMI Hand-Held Chronograph Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Hand-Held Chronograph
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This sweet little chronograph fits in the palm of your hand so you can take it anywhere. It's a great item for referees to instantly end arguments about whether somebody's gun is hot right on the field. Comes with instructions and a hardy plastic carrying case with foam interior for protection. It measures speeds from 150 to 450 f.p.s., and runs on a 3-volt lithium battery that provides around 30 hours of operating time. Size: 2 1/2" x 3 1/2" x 1 3/16".
Product Availability 
The PMI Hand-Held Chronograph is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Earlan357 Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RadarChron at the field
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 RT and Autococker. I don't feel like listing all the upgrades but there's a lot on each.
Strengths: Easy to use
compact
Weaknesses: none really
Review: Here's how it works. You push the button, hold it under and an inch behind your barrel with the lcd screen facing you, then shoot. The first number that pops up is the velocity in hundreds of feet per second. The second two numbers are the rest of the velocity. So if your marker shoots 279 then it will blink "2" then "79". You have to press the button to reset it for the next shot. If you don't touch it for 30 secs it turns off automatically.

As for accuracy, its about 3 fps off of the fields RadarChron so it's not as good for fine tuning your reg or springs but still effective. It's great for checking velocity during a game if you're a ref or just in your backyard.

I've dropped it many times with no problems. It comes in a little foam lined case too.(I haven't shot it though)
Conclusion: I got mine pretty cheap, $60 on ebay. It's not as accurate as a $200 RadarChron, but it also fits in your pocket and requires no set up. It does what it says it will. I give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evalha07 Wednesday, November 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with Flatline, Tactical Harness, 32 Degrees Xpansion Chamber.
Strengths: Small, Easy to use, Accurate.
Weaknesses: Price? None really.
Review: I play woods ball with several dedicated players who have never set foot on a pay-to-play site. A few of us chipped in to get a chrono for safety reasons, and so that I could get my Flatline shooting at the proper fps. At $85 it is not the cheapest piece of paintball gear you will find, but it is worth the price. The margin of error is acceptable considering that this equipment is less than 100 bucks. All you have to do is fire 4 or 5 paintballs and take an average. This thing is easy to use, it has only one button!

Interesting note: One dude we play with had his '98 shooting at 360 fps. Needless to say, he had to turn it back a bit.
Conclusion: Get one for safety's sake or just for back yard tweaking.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeadEyE Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field chrono's
Marker Setup: 02' Red vert autococker w/ SP AA barrel,Shochtech-supaflybolt,drop foward, ball detent, front reg., ram. KAPP Reflex frame, KAPP twisted cocking rod, ANS 3-way, DYE sticky 3.
Strengths: -Small
-convenient
-fairly accurate ( says it has a range of +-2) dont know about that
Weaknesses: -read out is 27 first then 5 = 275
- press button for each shot
Review: I first got it and took it out of the box. It was nicely packed and I took out the instructions and checked them out. It was very easy and simple to use it. Although sometimes you have to shot more than once to get a read(it is possible that I wasn't holding it directly under the barrle though).
Conclusion: Overall I think it was a good purchase and that it was worth every penny.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skunk Thursday, August 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radar Chron - Better, but also comes with a price.
Marker Setup: AKA Excalibur (Year unknown)
Pure Energy 68/4500
Evo. 2
Strengths: Easy to use.
Easy to carry.
+/- 2fps? Maybe...
Weaknesses: 2 digit display for a 3 digit read?
Push button annoying.
Review: Our field started 3 years back and we have used this small chrono, for $75 the entire time. Its easy to use right out of the box, with no defects or battery problems. Our battery actually lasted 3 years, we havn't replaced it to date.

It has a 2 digit display for a 3 digit readout. What were they thinking? It isnt that bad tho, the numbers blink back and forth for you.

Also the button is a little annoying to press, but you just need to tell whoever your chronographing when to shoot and what their velocity is (for simplicity to the customer).
Conclusion: Great chronograph. BUY THIS OVER A LIGHT CHRONOGRAPH! Light chronographs are CRAP! Everybody who plays can spend however much money on a gun, but then they skimp on the safety part thinking a mask is all they need. Wrong. A mask is tested to 300FPS and after that, your lucky. So buy one of these for $75 and you'll never need anything more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field chronos - more precise but they ARE the expensive kind.
Marker Setup: WGP 2k3 Vertical Cocker
AKA Sidewinder reg
Equation 12" Bizerk barrel
Hybrid Mini Savier Drop (MSD)
Hybrid Grind
Empire Reloader
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Handheld
Accurate enough for home chronos
Weaknesses: Battery life, maybe.
Review: (Batter life, continued) i had to replace the battery a month after purchase & i had only used it a few times.

Aside from that, it does the job. i (like most players) fine-tune my markers at home & it helps to know what their velocities are prior to game day. So the handheld chrono is a nice investment.

Even when i'm not tuning anything, it's fun to blow paintballs through my barrels & seeing how fast i can get em.
Conclusion: There aren't a whole lot of handheld chronos out there (unless there are non-paintball companies making them, too). May as well get this one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dethspec Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 Tippmann stock, no upgrades yet. (Just got it for Christmas! :-)
Strengths: Safety and portability
Weaknesses: I don't see any.
Review: I play a lot of rec-ball. So what we have is a bunch of guys running around with markers that have never been chronographed. This is bad. Most newbies think that more velocity means the gun is more accurate.

Newbies, this is not true. It just makes your gun dangerous to everyone else. Supper high velocity is not needed and makes paintball needlessly more painful, which discourages new players.

This is a great little product. It comes in a nice case that should keep it well protected from drops and bumps. It is VERY EASY to use. Simply stick your barrel in the loop. press the button, and fire a paintball. My dog could chrono his gun with this.

It is not perfect, it is a hand-held checker. It is designer to be easy to use, quick, portable, and as accurate as a hand-held device can be.
Conclusion: If you play rec-ball, you should buy this. It is about $90 at most places. It will work, it is cheap, and it makes our game safe for those of us who don't spend all our time at the field with Refs and chrono stations. Buy it, you will not be disappointed, and you keep the rest of us safe.
If you're a ref, why don't you already have one to check those shmucks who turn their guns up after leaving your chrono station?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

iman88 Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5,e-grip,double trigger,jj edge kit,exp chamber,pycho ballistic drop forward
Strengths: -Easy to use
-Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: -Little pricy
Review: If you play in your back yard with your friends, this is a must have. It is much safer and smarter to know what everyone is shooting at. and it will make your day fun. It is also alittle scensitive(if you touch the top with the end of your marker it wont read it).
Conclusion: This is a great buy its simple to use,looks good and will keep the game fun. However it is alittle pricy but what is 90 bucks when it keeps you safe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smblkc Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radarchron
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C w/14" JJ Ceramic, Pro-lite with 14" SS Sniper barrel
Strengths: Hand-held, accurate, affordable
Weaknesses: Doesn't seem to be the most durable
Review: Have used this chrono several times in the past week. I have found that it does provide a reading accurate enough to ensure the safety of the players. As long as you follow the directions, the accuracy should be pretty good.

The only thing that I don't like about it is the fact that it seems as though it is not the most durable piece of equipment. It is primarily plastic, which can crack if dropped. However, if you take care of it, it should work just fine.

Conclusion: For the price, a great purchase for anyone who plays outside of a commercial field, that otherwise would be without a chrono.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbkid39 Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP cocker w/ ups

NSG Splatmaster (side-arm)
Strengths: * Durable
* Lightweight
* Compact
Weaknesses: None
Review: This chrono is pretty nice. All you do is press the button, take a shot and it will say ex: 2-85, then you have to press the button again and take another shot. Its very durable and compact, easy to carry around unlike the big red chronys. I got mine for pretty cheap, 80$, and I dont regret buying it at all. Everyone uses it at my friends field and its a mandatory thing to have to make sure we play safe.
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone who is making a field. Its a really nice chrony, and can be very useful.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluegoose Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field Chrono's
Marker Setup: Spyder compact, CP reg, Nitro duck 88 cu 45k tank, JJ ceramic
Strengths: Small, portable, easy to use, suprisingly useful
Weaknesses: fairly expensive for something you don't necessarily need
Review: This thing is extremely useful, even more so than you probably think at first. it saves a lot of time at the field since you can check yourself beforehand, especially after tinkering with somethign, and save yourself the trouble of adjusting at the field. It's also great it if you play at more informal fields since many guys who play like that have no idea what there velocity is. it is a tad expensive for something that doesn't really improve your marker and is mostly for convenience but a good strategy is to try and get people you play with at informal fields to give you a few bucks for makin the game safer for everybody.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this if you play a lot at informal fields or tinker a lot. if you only go to pay-to-play fields that have chronos then it's probably not really worth the expense
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media