paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Amp Reactor LCD / Zap Amp Reactor LCD / Zap Amp Reactor LCD / Zap Amp Reactor LCD

Zap Amp Reactor LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Amp Reactor LCD

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Amp Reactor LCD
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ZAP Amp Reactor features single and full auto mode firing, LCD indicator light, electronic safety, low battery flash indication, and 10 balls per second cycle capability. What sets this marker apart from the rest is its revolutionary, externally-adjustable solenoid and sear. The Amp electronic trigger frame is powered by a 9-volt battery (not included), and provides for semi-auto and full-auto modes. Includes owner's manual, barrel plug, o-rings, and adjustment tools.
Product Availability 
The Zap Amp Reactor LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
PBPreston Friday, July 18th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Not many can compete with this gun!
It won't empty your wallet (about $160-165) all my friends came over and we had a tourny, and three people want to order a gun like mine!
Marker Setup: ZAP Reactor LCD
2-Piece Barrel
14 oz. CO2
9 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, it is an awesome gun! I get over 900 shots on automatic for a 14 oz!!! I still haven't broken an O-Ring, and I take my tank off a lot to see how it the O-Ring holds up.
Strengths: AWESOME 2-Piece barrel, doesn't chop balls, sips CO2, shoots far as flatline.
Weaknesses: Trigger 2 sensative and you'll shoot on accident when running.
Review: This gun is the best I've ever shot! I was afraid I would get a bad gun but it is AWESOME.
~
Shooting-10 shoots as far s a 98 with a Flatline
Chopping-10 doesn't chop any
CO2 Efficiency-10 Barely even sips
Battery Life-9 could last a little longer but I always carry an extra
Barrel-10 Awesome barrel, I would pay over $100 for this barrel
Upgrades-7 I found a lot of barrels that fit, Spyder, JT, Brass Eagle<--SUKS, nothing
else i know of though
Conclusion: I loved this gun. I'm not just saying that because I want to make it sound cool, its really cool. It is the best I've shot and I shoot with my friends guns too.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 12:50 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

norman Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS, Spyder Shutter, M98, Mokal Focus......
Marker Setup: AMP Reactor, 14 inch All-American, 16 onze CO2 w on/off, Mach 404
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel & an Electronic hopper are a must. I'd really like to get a palmer stab on it as well
Strengths: Speed - Sooo Fast
Price - A BD for less money
Upgradable - Spyder Upgrades
Weaknesses: The pin holding the bolt in should have been designed like the piranha pin
Review: I can easily keep up with anyone on the field with this baby, and I've played against angels, timmies, matrix's, impulses, bushmaster.....etc. Now obviously this thing is no where as smooth as those but it's also not worth over a grand either (canadian pricing, or american for some of those).

I don't understand why anyone would say that it's not better then a BD because it IS a BD just with a better price, so how can you go wrong.
Conclusion: If you are just starting out in tournies or love to play a ton of speed ball get this marker, just make sure you have an electronic hopper. With a palmer stab, air & and a barrel system would make this baby one mean machine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dafence Monday, October 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Played a couple rounds with an Icon LED
A few spyders (terrible)
tippman 98c (not even in the same category but i thought i would say it anyways)
A-5 simmilar but still different
Marker Setup: Zap Amp Reactor LCD all stock
Empire Reloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL but if you don't have the money the stock should be okay until you save enough money to buy something decent
Strengths: - Sips Co2
- Quiet
- Easy field strip
- Accurate in good conditions
Weaknesses: - Occasionally chops cheap balls
- No owners manual
- Occasionally "Knuckle Balls" paint
- Electronics
- Reliability
Review: I bought this gun because i needed a better gun than my VL triad. I was looking for an accurate, quiet gun that doesn't break down... thats exactly what i got! This gun was awesome! i could finally pick people off from 160ft away when only their heads and guns were showing. this gun from about 100ft away would hit 4 balls within 8 inches of the target with the stock barrel. The Co2 usage was amazing!!! with 9oz i got exactly 525 shots the first time around and the next time i got 753 shots. the only thing that was bad about the field play was that it would occasionally chop balls but almost with any electronic gun it does that unless you have those $1,000+ guns. the other thing that pissed me off was that it came with no owners manual showing you what the buttons do and any parts on it. all it has is a small book telling you to push and hold the F1 button for 4sec to turn it on and other stupid things of that nature. What doesn't make sense is, that they never tell you where in the world the F1 button is!!!!! The other bad thing about it not having an owners manual is that when you clean it the first time you have to be very very very careful because you don't want to forget where a piece goes or anything like that.

Now I am going to go back to the top of my review. I just played yesterday and I am changing this thing. i don't know if the extremely cold weather had anything to do with it but i hope thats the case. when i played indoors last time in October when it was still warm out it shot perfectly but now i saw my balls going upwards and downwards and from side to side. i even accidentally shot the camera man when i wasn't even pointing the gun at him. now i am just taking a guess but when it is 40 some degrees outside it would affect ones gun correct?? that is the only conclusion that i can draw from the performance of my gun. also i was chopping a ton of balls and that affects your accuracy.


(Edited Part) well its has been a very good marker up to this point. HOWEVER... to get you up to date, my gun will NOT turn on. i don't know what caused it but i have a few guesses. either when i was cleaning it, trying to get the paint out of the crevasses, i was using a damp paper towel and possible but very very very unlikely that i got water in the electronics. but i was very careful not to get any excess water in the electronics and the paper towel was hardly wet at all, just enough to get the paint out not enough to hurt the electronics. that or the electronics is just crap! i don't understand this! if anyone has an explanation for me fell free to post a comment.
Conclusion: This gun was very good when it was working. its accuracy was very good but not great and the chopping was annoying but the major highlight of this review is that it won't turn on. the only reason i am not giving this gun a 1 is because how good it performed when it was working and who knows maybe i did something to it to make it shut down but it is a very small chance

*OK i just got it back from the zap company... read my comment to understand why i gave it a nine now*
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bigtime456 Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL maxis: Not even close to this gun,tippmann 98 custom-ok gun
Marker Setup: Zap Amp Reactor, Zap Mach 404 hopper, smart parts progressive barrel-14inch, 20oz. Co2, 14oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really...maybe the bolt, an eletronic hopper
Strengths: it shoots really fast, accurate, LCD, 2 piece barrel, sips Co2, spyder upgrades
Weaknesses: the bolt sometimes doesn't re cock, LCD at night (it glows)
Review: I am really happy with the results. It is an accurate gun and shoots fast on auto(20 balls a sec---4balls a sec). It is awesome!. The only things I wasn't happy about was the bolt didn't re cock sometimes, but now I have gotten some more playing with it and it hasn't done it much since.I like the Co2 ajuster. I like the 4 modes on the gun. Semi,Burst-10 balls a sec-20 balls,Nitro-thats a cool mode, and full auto!! 20 balls!! You will definetly need an eletronic hopper for this gun because it wont keep up with gravity. I have a zap that only gets 11 balls a sec, but when I get enough money I will probably get the VL evoution 2. During the 1st game I played with this gun I got 3 out of 5 people out with it. That day I was the dominant player. The other times Ive played I took out tons of people.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun. I dont know why you wouldn't buy it. It is at a good price and it will get the job done every time you play. Plus every one will be scared of you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 1st, 2005 at 9:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbsniper87 Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Er..... nothing quite like this.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, w/ JCS's 13.5in ported barrel and folding stock, and 20oz CO2 : (
...or... VM68 with sniper and camo packages, and a 9oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Electronic hopper- pick your flavor.
-A marker that functions.
Strengths: -Trigger pull
-CO2 efficiency
-Accuracy
-Didn't chop
-ROF
Weaknesses: -Electronics
-Trigger "slop"
Review: I bought the Reactor based on the positive backing of the sales associates at the store I frequent. The marker seemed fairly sturdy and well built, and the stock barrel's accuracy was pretty good. It didn't chop any balls, but I only put about 250 through it. I liked the pressure gauge, and the trigger was very crisp, but it did have side-to-side play. The select fire switches were a little finicky, but my main complaint was the inferior electronics. The marker would fire reliably in semi auto and burst modes, but in any full auto setting, about 50 shots would completely shut the marker down. Those same 50 shots would take a new battery from a reading of 9.4V, down to 8.1V. When I returned the marker and described the problem, the associate told me that "fried" cicuit boards were very common. Several guys I play with, that had tried Zaps, had the same problem. A few were satisfied. The rate of full auto fire was impressive until the electronics shut down. The mixed qualities, IMHO, qualify this marker for an average rating, as it definately has potential.
Conclusion: I would recommend spending your money elsewhere. You may get a functioning marker, but from what I can summize, the outlook isn't good.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003 at 9:37 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

BlitzKrieger Thursday, October 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Tippman 98 custom
Sheridan XTS
Marker Setup: AMP reactor
Strengths: Very fast
good stock barrel
Weaknesses: Bolt doesn't always re-cock
Pig on C02
Review: I have been using this gun for 6 months now and its a great gun for the price. It has a very sensitive which can be good or bad depending on what you like. Very accurate with stock barrel. My only problems with it that when you have it on full auto some times it won't re-cock and its a pig on c02 i had a full 20oz and i fired of 1 1/2 hoppers and it was empty.
Conclusion: I think that this a great gun for people who have been playing for awhile and want a good gun without paying an arm and a leg for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

evilfrontplay7 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-spyder xtra
-any second level electronic markers
Marker Setup: Zap amp reactor lcd
halo b loader w/ rip drive
evil pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel (the stock barrel is unpredictable)
electronic hopper (20 bps or faster)
Strengths: Fast (20bps)
Accurate (with a better barrel)
Smooth
Easy repair
shot 1576 balls with 9oz
Weaknesses: Too fast (wow)
Lcd hard to read in light
Review: The initial cost of the marker was only $50 from one of my friends who said it was innacurate and chopped balls. I bought a better hopper (halo b) and that solved the chopping some-what and the new barrel honed the accuracy to a sqare foot at 50ft!
The only problems I had was a leak in the co2 and a problem reading the lcd. The co2, as it turns out, was defective from a person refilling it incorrecty (my friends had co2 tanks busted this way also.) I did have a problem with the bolt almost chopping my balls, but since the practice grade never breaks it just stopped and didn't fire.

***STORY***
I was out playing in the woods with 5 of my friends and since I had sucked that day so far I was put on a team with a A5 w/ flatline and a custom98 w/ flatline against a victor a spyder extra and some mechanical no name marker. They found cover and waited for us to come.
I had right side and the tippmans were toward the left (although one was supposed to be in the middle - so I was all alone on my side.) The 98 went up the middle and started taking fire from the spyder extra. I came up the right side and took fire from the victor, and the A5 stayed behind the 98 and fired a shot every so often. The no-name gun went down the far left side and tried to get a better angle on the 98. Heres where I come in. The victor was using short bursts to conserve his paint. The 98 was the closest to me and couldn't cover fire. I stood up (normally a stupid thing to do) in between burts and started firing at the victor since i had no cover fire. I advanced until i could get a good shot at the spyder extra. I took cover from the victor and shot 3 times at the spyder hitting twice but not busting (he called himself out because I hit him in the nuts.) The victor, still hudled in his bunker was reloading. I again stood up and started shooting. he took a break for the former spyder's bunker and started shooting at the 98. I snuck up parallel to the bunker and shot him 4 times after missing twice (this was before my new barrel.) I quickly took the bunker and started looking for the no-name gun. Suprisingly he was still back a way and started shooting. I charged he hit me and I hit him 3 times once didn't break, second time broke on his leg, and the third time I smeared his goggles. All while the two tippmans were "taking a good position."
Conclusion: 1) Don't use cheap paint - the deformities mess up the gun
2) Buy rechargable batteries
3) Post if there is an after market bolt that fits on this thing!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 1:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr_Pim Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about everything, this is the first gun i've ever owned (yeah I know, serious paintballers have their own gun, i wasted my money renting, blah blah blah) basically i never had the time or bulk cash on hand to be able to afford one...then my bro got me this one for xmas. I've always just rented from whatever park i'm playing at so i've run the gammit from garbage to gold
Marker Setup: Zap Amp Reactor LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic feeder, it hasn't jammed or chopped any balls on me yet (high quality balls, woot!) but i can see it happening.
Strengths: choose between semi, burst, full auto
accurate, powerful, light on CO2, nice sensitive trigger.
Weaknesses: none that I can see at this point, stay tuned
Review: best gun i've ever used. I love being able to customise it, I love the safety feature so you can turn it on, but it'll stay dormant till i take the safety off.
people gripe about the f1 and f2 keys and how you can't tell which is which...but seriously, THERE'S 2 BUTTONS! HOW COMPLICATED CAN THIS BE? trial and error...it built nuclear power, surely it can power up a paintball marker.

i love the colour. electric blue! woo....the barrel, i don't know what they did in the creation, but i've only had my shots fly this straight with a 600 dollar gun the owner of the range bought from england.

not sure how she performs in the cold, i expect reduced quality, because EVERYTHING runs crappier in the cold, it's a fact of life.

i love how sensitive the trigger is, i can tap shots out without pulling the barrel off target. some people gripe about this too, saying they accidentally fire while running....well frankly, you're not supposed to have your finger on the trigger while running anyways, it's still a friggin gun!
Conclusion: Light, powerful, accurate, reliable and affordable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB93 Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
ZAP Generator, spyder victor 2, and a Tac-5, Angel G7 Fly, Ion, A-5, spyder pilot
Marker Setup: Zap Reactor LCD Marker
Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel
Vlocity Jr. hopper
20 oz CO2 with butt
Stock electric trigger frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper
Barrel Upgrade
grips
compressed air
Bolt up grade (HIGHLY RECOMENDED)
Strengths: Speed
LCD
Weaknesses: Heavy/HUGE
chops
bolt doesnt always recock
Review: Alright, what we've got here is a electric marker that I would say is so so. You could do better with an electra, vs3 or ion, but this gun is much cheaper. It has 4 shooting modes (SEMI 4-20bps, MULTI, NITRO (similar to ramping), and AUTO (4-20bps). This gun is around 150-170 bucks. I really wish I'd have done more research but this thing is heavy! Also, I shoot in semi and it chops like right away. This gun ehh... if you ask me its really ok good for begining speedballers. Oh and the LCD screen built into the grip includes a shot counter, timer, safety, and all of your firing modes!
Conclusion: Cheap, alright go get an ion. Can't find upgrades and is very unknown of! I'll give it a 7 because it's alright.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 18th, 2006 at 3:55 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bell_grande Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used spyder victor, and aggressor and there nothing compared with the reactor
Marker Setup: 9 oz tank, VL quantem hopper, 15 in barrelk, zap reactor LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
this is the cool part
the zap amp reactor comes with a two piece barrel, the first half is 5 in long, and the second piece is 7 in long, so what i did i bought a 10 in barrel for 5 bucks from one of my friends that he didnt use, i combined the 10 in barrel with the 5 in barrel to get a 15 in barrel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the longest of my friends
i also recomend elctronic hopper to keep up with automatic mode
Strengths: LCD screen lets you switch to differendt modes, semi, multi, nitro and auto
Weaknesses: LCD screen wastes too much battery
Review: i bought this gun for 100 dollars and i would pay twice that amount for it
its great, the only problem seem to be the battery runs fast but I always bring one extra when i go play. when ever i can, i put my gun on automatic mode and shoot balls up to 20 per second, its great when i pin down my friends, they cant keep with me
ive even played against 2 angels and won, well 1 out of 3, come on there angels, and there were expirienced im just a begginer
Conclusion: Great marker for beginners, better than the spyder aggressor and victor, if ur looking for a good gun to begin with, I recomend you to get this gun its worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media