paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Vulcan Series 5000 / Vulcan Series 5000 / Vulcan Series 5000 / Vulcan Series 5000

Vulcan Series 5000 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Vulcan Series 5000

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Vulcan Series 5000
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 5.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Plastic pump gun manufactured by Vulcan. No longer in production.
Product Availability 
The Vulcan Series 5000 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DeeEight Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every pump gun made over the past 16 years. For the dollar there's never been a gun of this thing's value.
Marker Setup: Stock setup for the Vulcan 5200 (which means it has the stock).
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no upgrades available but the dovetail sight rail does at least take standard red dot and laser sights. Useful spot to mount a flashlight if you're clever with .22LR ring mounts.
Strengths: Durable, 10 second complete disassembly, easy to clean, tried and proven internals
Weaknesses: You need to source your own replacement o-rings/springs
Review: Ok, the gun is a molded plastic gun with metal (steel and brass) internals. As already mentioned the seals don't leak any gas from a punctured 12 gram (even after a year) but the screw in part of the grip where the 12 gram goes sometimes jams tight in place.
The gun shoots quieter than say, a Trracer/Maverick does with the stock barrel, and it holds an amazingly tight group at well over a hundred feet (at least the three I've owned have). It has a factory auto-trigger though the pump handle can be a bit fussy and isn't as light to pump as say a phantom but what do you want for under $20 ? The fiber optic sight is a nice touch but of course, only good when there's available light (daytime). The flip open body makes cleaning and spring changing much simpler and I found with my three that the stock spring and a 70F day produces velocity of about 280-290fps for a good 45 shots from a fresh 12 gram, and about 5 more shots with velocity dropping off.
Conclusion: If they were more widely available, or they made an all-metal version of the same gun, I'd buy more of them. As far as pumps go, aside from a sticky pump handle, this is by far the best I've ever seen for so cheap and has features, accuracy and quietness not seen in pump guns until you reach the $100 level usually.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PeterTheGreat Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Talon- Everyone thinks this is a bad gun but its not!
Point Zero Beetle- Good gun by all means
Marker Setup: Talon Ghost with constant air adaption, Daisy red dot sight .
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sight or scope for the end of the barrel, to upgrade it more, you could even polish the internals, put a new spring in it, buy a new VL200 hopper, and try to put a talon constant air adapter on it.
Strengths: see below
Weaknesses: see below
Review: Pros-
-Accurate ( If you think that it isn't, hear this, My friend shot a player from a hundred yards away in the neck)
-Got a stock that holds CO2 and paintballs
-Good if you play like I do, Out in the woods, not speedball, old school style
-Easy to take a part, but won't fall apart like i've heard people exadgerate.
-Fun to play with

Cons-
-Sometimes if you don't pump fast enough it will load more than one, but this can be cool if you swing your arm as you shoot, you can a person many times or even hit more than one person.
Conclusion: It is all up to you, this is my opinion on the gun. If you want to and like this review you should buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunnderstrukk Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tigersharks. phantoms. PMI longbarrels
Marker Setup: 2002 v/f wgp vert feed cocker, kapp reg, the bomb, cp 11.5 inch. shocktech bolt. eclipse blade hinge. 12v revvy. and Egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ummm i dont think ther are any.
Strengths: CHEAP!!! relatively accurate for a plastic barrel.
Weaknesses: Only runs on c02 cartridges. slow to pump.
Review: So i just bought one of these off my friend for farting around. not bad for 10 bucks. they get about 30 shots off of a 12g c02 cartridge. For a plastic barrel its pretty accurate too. i played at the local field with it just to see how it did in action and was surprised. i got about 5 people out within 2 games. and it being pump they were all one balls. its an ok backup if you are low on cashflow. thats about it.
Conclusion: If you really feel inclined to get one...go for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TRIPP Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I only tested a P-68
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant w/ Turbo Board
eVLution II w/ Y-Board
Freak Kit w/ SS Back/AA Tip
CP Lightning Drop
PMI THOR Bottom Line Regulator
PMI Pure Energy 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
I painted the red parts black and wrapped the pumparm in electrical tape.
(These are as close to upgrades as this marker is going to get.)
Strengths: -CHEAP!
-Light as a feather
-Turns alot of heads
Weaknesses: -All plastic
-Falls apart at the flick of a switch
-Double feeds alot
Review: -This marker is alot of fun. It's great if you're just playing walk-on with friends
-It shoots surprisingly straight and far
-I find it hilarious that they put fiber optics on it
-It's an extremely rare gun
-It is really easy to take apart to clean and to fix/maintain it
-Shots per Co2 powerlet varied alot. Between 15-25 shots per powerlet
-They should have put some sort of ball detent in it because it double feeds quite often
Conclusion: If you see one, pick it up. They cost less than $20 cdn. If I ever find another one I'll buy it just so I have the spare parts.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 1st, 2004 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tysonator Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon, Blade
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, 14 inch teardrop, everything else is stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think there are any, actually, other than you might need to upgrade your game to be successful with it.
Strengths: Easy to break down and clean, light, inexpensive, reliable, tough
Weaknesses: Stiff pump action, inaccurrate
Review: This is not a Brass Eagle marker, I don't know who thought that... I picked mine up for squat from a friend who got one on a whim and never used it. It's a very convenient marker, and enjoyable to use in the field. While it is inaccurrate as far as hitting where you aim on the first shot, it is very consistent as far as shots staying in a small grouping, so you can adjust easily. The fiber-optic sight is useless. The pump action is still stiff, even though it's gotten some use. It does get a little looser the more you use it, but you've got to use it a lot.

The detachable stock is cool, because if you're using it as a primary, you can use the stock to hold extra rounds as well as CO2 cartridges. If you use it as a sidearm, leave the stock and the marker is light and compact enough to make it easy to carry in the field.

The marker is definately tough, as I've landed on it a number of times and the plastic has held up quite well. It's fairly quiet, although the action can be a bit noisy if you don;t keep it lubricated.
Conclusion: It was definately worth the zero dollars I paid for it... frankly, I think it's better than the Talons I have used, and at a lower price. It's a fun gun, not something for serious competitions, unless maybe as a sidearm. It's great for woodsball, again, as a back up gun. It's also fun to take it out against guys with high end markers just for the look on their faces, that you have the balls to play with a pump.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Greenfeather Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A variety of Semi-Auto Markers
Marker Setup: Rentals--I do own this marker, but I've never used it on the field.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. There are none possible, either. Actually, I would recommend getting a constant air adapter, but only if you intend on field use with the marker.
Strengths: The maker is cheap, light, and moderately accurate.
Weaknesses: Stiff pump action
Review: First of all, I would like to agree that this is not a Brass Eagle marker. I guess it was assumed that, since it was such a cheap, sub-entry marker, it naturally had to be made by Brass Eagle. I don't support this common misconception, but I understand it. "Vulcan" is the company, and the model is "V2000," or something like that.

Secondly, I haven't used many other markers, except for the rentals at my regular paintball field (Maoki Titans, from the makers of the Fokus. It's the pro shop housebrand) so I cannot provide a fair comparative analysis. Also, I've never fielded the gun, so I don't know how it responds at long distances and under the stresses of a recreational game. My experience with it has been shooting around at targets from a maximum distance of about twenty feet.

That having been said, I think it's a very reliable little thing. The price is excellent, and its features are decent for the price. The barrel is ported, a fibre-optic sight (very useful) is included, as is a well-constructed stock. The stock fits me perfectly and feels very comfortable. It also aids in cocking the stubborn pump. The only problem that I have is that the quick-release mechanism leaves it a little prone to coming unhinged (though still attached, it is just a little insecure.) The number of shots per cartridge is about 50 rounds, which, as I understand it, is decent. The sights have always worked well, and, although the fibre-optic sight has received much criticism, it's always been great--the two stocks (fore and rear) complement each other perfectly. My only complaint is that the stock is fixed to the remainder of the chassis (minus the stock.)

Something else that I'd like to clear up is that, although it is plastic, it is very durable, being molded in only two pieces of plastic including the trigger, handle, and barrel.

Accuracy was good, although I did get a few too many misfires for my taste--maybe one third of all shots.
Conclusion: It's a nice little thing to mess around with in the backyard, but I wouldn't even think about taking it out on the field.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 7th, 2003 at 4:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmfman Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used other guns but none are comparable
Marker Setup: Ported co2 chamber
Custom paint
Strengths: Extremely accurate
Light weight
Easy to conseal
5 seconds to strip
Weaknesses: Not semi-auto
Upgrades are available but very hard to find
Review: My vulcan series 5000 is much more amazing then i thought it would be. from a quick first glance. It looks like a piece of crap but it is accurate enough to make a great sniper. From Icon Z's with progressives to STOCK Tippman A-5's nothing can beat the accuracy without getting tournament grade berrels
Conclusion: It is a very good gun, don't let the pump handle or the low price fool you; if you have the change to get one, then get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 at 5:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

aceospadez Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon, blade, trracer, etc
P.S. its all about the Splatmaster
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Carbine w/ Armson Pro Series 13", star fire bolt, iisports custom hammer, dye stickies, trigger mod
PMI Trracer W/ Armson Pro Series 13"
NSG Splatmaster
Recommended
Upgrades:
i guess that stock that comes with some of em
Strengths: see below
Weaknesses: see below
Review: First of all its not made by Brass Eagle!! its made by some crap company who only made one gun before it went under.

Pros:
- cheap (20 bucks)
- easy to take apart
- the stock was a good idea
- just a lot of cool features for 20 bucks (sights, field stripping, etc)

Cons:
- cheaply made
- TOO easy to take apart (flip one switch and it pops open, especialy during games)
- honestly one of the worst guns ever made
- only takes co2 cartriges
- and everthing else a twenty dollar gun does that they shouldnt
Conclusion: Normally I don't give 1's but in this case I'm trying to help a noob by saving em 20 bucks. I would take a talon over this anyday, it is A LOT more durable. If you are playing on a tight budget this is a bad investment because it will fail you. DO NOT BUY THIS THING THEY CALL A GUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 6th, 2004 at 12:36 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

HotelSecurity Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NSG Splatmaster, Nelspot 007, Sheridan PGP, CCI Phantom.
Marker Setup: N/A
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polished barrel
Barrel extension for Aesthetics
Black spraypaint if you dont like the pump.
Strengths: Extremely Cheap
Reusable barrel plug/optic sight.
Weaknesses: Flimsy Frame
Extremely hard to pump
Inaccurate
Weak, Plastic body.
Review: Firstly, the Vulcan is still in production. Secondly, it's not made by Brass Eagle. Thirdly, it's more or less another version of the Talon. There are two versions of this gun, one being the simple "shortened shotgun" and the other including a full rifle style stock. The stocked version is the same with a plastic shoulder stock, extension at the end of the butt, and a space to hold a 10 round paintball tube. That's actually pretty cool for the price.

The gun is very hard to pump and so a decent rate of fire is rather hard to achieve. Perhaps over time, the pump would become a little easier to work. Aditionally, the gun's front fiber optic sight really is rather useless, but cool nonetheless, and can probably be hacked for use on an airsoft gun or pellet rifle. The safety on the side is indeed functional, the the "device" they give you acts as a barrel plug, a mechanism for unscrewing the CO2 knob, and a "hit gauge', the lattermost being the most pointless of the three. If you lose the mechanism, worry not; it simply takes a little effort to unscrew the CO2. The gun holds 12 gram CO2s very well, because I've had one in the gun for a few months, and it fired fine when I tested it.

The gun uses 12 gram CO2s and may or may not be compatible with the Brass Eagle Talon tank adaptor. Someone who has both guns, give it a shot, I wouldn't be surprised if it worked because of the similar construction of the guns. Also, there is porting on the end of my barrel. Kind of pointless.

Conclusion: Its cheap, and it may help get your little brother to play some backyard paintball, but it's really not worth the money. It's cool how the gun comes with so many neat and cheap ideas, but the gun just isn't really worth it. My Vulcan couldn't hit crap, but someone I know who has one says its rather accurate for a plastic barrel. Perhaps accuracy varies between models/batches.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sencha Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade-worse
Blade 2-way worse
Talon Ghost-comparable, but not as good
Stock Class Phantom-not fair to compare to anything else pump
Marker Setup: Well, right now I am building another custom mechanical 'cocker for myself (none of that electronic 'cocker crap). Otherwise I like a stock class Phantom.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades that I am aware of. Some came with stocks, the "basic" marker did not.
I'm looking at a few specific mods for one of these that is broken.
Oh, get more 10 round tubes unless you use the same trick as me.
Strengths: Cheap
Neat sight
Accurate
Easy to clean
Good internal design (for what it is)
comfy
Weaknesses: Plastic
Sticky pump
Review: Well I got 2 of these a few years ago because they were $10 in a surplus store. I didn't expect much out of them as I only wanted them as a cheap novelty. So I took them home, oiled them up, and put a few balls through them.

The next day out a friend had his gun go down (dam electronics) and needed something for the next round. As I always have so many guns with me i decided I'd let him try one of these...but I only brought 2 ten round tubes. To even up the teams I took the other gun and tube. Between the two of us we got 5 kills in the game. Now a lot of that can be chalked up to experience, but it is impressive to have a cheap gun put a ball where you need it when you need it against other good players. Gets about...30 or so balls per CO2. I don't know for sure because we both used a strange play style with these. I found that it plays best if you use a 10 round tube, + 1 in barrel + 1 in neck, with a pocketful of loose paint. When the last round is loaded, pop off the tube, throw it in your pocket, grab 2 more paint and throw them in your neck and keep going like this. When you have a second then reload the tube. This trick will play with peoples heads. "He's got one ten round tube, so he only got 10 shots."

Some people claim the quick release feature is horrible and a bad design. Actually it will never accidently open up, youd have to be doing some pretty strange things to even have that happen. Its great. I find that when a ball inevitably breaks in your barrel (not common) you can pop off the assembly and give it a great clean fast. But it can be tricky to put back together if you don't know/pay attention to what you are doing, but like all things strange just practice a few times.

The pump sticks because it is shaved at an angle that will jam in the body when the pump is fully extended forward. So the stickiness is only at the very begining. The easiest solution is not to ram the pump so hard forward and you will have no problem.

I've pulled these out off and on through the years just for fun, but one player decided to try shooting it with the pump fully back, so he broke off a little piece that attaches the pump arm to the bolt. Gotta do something new with it now...but for now they'll just hang on the wall in my shop.

Cool novelty, nice shooting, but you will not be able to find these anymore. If you do find one in someones basement and they want to get rid of it, grab it. It never hurts to have too many guns.
Conclusion:
Good cheap pump, not as good as higher end pumps, obviously. One of the best low end pump gun you can buy, if you can find it. So it gets a 7, the best rating a low end pump can get.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media